Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jade Emu International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.9
The Jade Emu International Hostel Located at Area 10, West Gate Village, , Dali.
The Jade Emu International Hostel
China
Dali 671003 Area 10, West Gate Village
87% 863
25.6897014 100.1576030
The Jade Emu International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels Ive stayed in. Great beds (nearly double bed sized) good common area with pool table etc. Where there was always people to socialise with. Good wifi with vpn. Very reasonably priced drinks. The best breakfast (scrambled eggs on toast) I've had in China, and for just ¥15 too. Also the building itself is beautiful, and th staff have very good English and are very friendly but also professional. I stayed here for longer than intended because it was so great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Roperayrlington
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Honestly can't fault anything. Owner let me use his PERSONAL phone to call OVERSEAS when I had a banking problem that could've sent me back to London two weeks prematurely- cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place. Caters to westerners well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Top hostel, nice clean rooms, great communal space with relaxed atmosphere. Good location just outside the old city walls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.0

This is a nice place. The staff is nice and helpful, and its location is great. It's also a good social spot. There are lots of people and the common areas are very nice. The food is good but pricey. The rooms are small, all the locks on the lockers are broken, and the bathrooms are not clean. If something is broken, you may have to wait a day for it to be fixed. It's a nice hostel and i liked it, but it's not incredible either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
7.4

-Right across the street from the old town -Beds are comfy and wide; has outlet -great hangout area -cool free activities -- i participated in tea ceremony -staff not knowledgable -dorm door screeched everytime opened; kept us all awake -bathroom is extremely dirty (and floor); saw ants all over the bathroom; they don't seem to clean it regularly, just replace the toilet paper -avoid courtyard rooms if you don't like noise -have lockers, but didn't let me use them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
6.9

Slow service. Broken tap in the bathroom, after asking many times per day to repare it nobody came

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.3

Nice common area, great place to meet fellow travelers. But there were lots of little kids around and being very noisy. when u get a dorm without the private bathroom, the showers are very poor. But the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Loved our stay at the Jade Emu. The owner was very lovely (and amazing at ping pong), and we loved the breakfasts which were very good value. Location was perfect- just on the outside of the Old City, so easier to get to, but also a 5 minute walk from a beautiful town. Room was very nicely decorated, and quite comfortable, although we noticed there was less privacy than we liked: curtain overlooking a laundry site didn't close properly and bathroom roof was thatched so didn't stop sound.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.4

I had a really good stay at this hostel - good bar and food, nice and helpful staff and always seems busy, so a good place to meet travellers! However the bathroom was really dirty, even after being 'cleaned'. Otherwise though, really nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.