Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jade Emu International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Actually, spent about 9 days total. Had double room which was like a nice hotel room at a huge discount since longer stay and off-season. Great location. Many local expats hang out there. Every night has something. Ping Pong night, poker night, killer pool night etc. Free library. Cheap laundry, either by machine or service. 5-6 Happy hour and buy 1 get 1 beer. Great place. Friendly staff. Goof food. Will be staying there again on next visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
10.0

The value for money is wonderful - especially staying at the boutique part of Jade Emu hostel (clean, huge bed, nice showers). When we first entered, it had a very hostel vibe but we enjoyed the quiet of the boutique part since we were a couple looking to have a more relaxed time. The staff members were so helpful in helping us book trains/buses back to where we needed to be and really friendly. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would recommend to others - couples or solo backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
9.1

Awesome hostel with huge outdoor social area complete with pool table, table tennis and table football. Staff spoke impeccable English and were always happy to help answer questions. Rooms were okay, good secure locker underneath for valuables. Hostel is very big, spread between two buildings so if you're looking for a small cosy hostel you should look elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
7.7

Lockers were broken. It was extremely loud in the mornings (but it's Chinese culture I guess so it's kind of out of our control). There were very few toilets and showers. But at the end of the day it wasn't expensive so it is what it is. Kind of confused as to why the rating of the hostel is so high. Regardless, the staff was really good, spoke decent English, and was pretty accommodating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.6

The location is great and the staff are fantastic. Unfortunately my room had a lot of damp and smelt very bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.7

Great Location Too Noisy but I did not care.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.4

Definitely the best Hostel that I stayed in during my trip in China. One of the cheapest hostels I've went to but the one with the best facilities and the best vibe. Staff was also super nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place. Right outside the old city. Came back after 5 years and it is even nicer then before. Clear that it is cared about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Jun 2017
10.0

I can't recommend this place enough. I first stayed here in a dorm in 2013, and when I came back again last week it did not disappoint. We had booked two twin rooms, and on arrival were told they unfortunately only had doubles. Normally this would be an an issue in China, but without batting an eyelid we were upgraded into the boutique twin rooms which were great. On top of that the staff are all helpful and friendly, as is the owner. Stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Verry nice ambiance and location, in front officiel the oldtown!! Expat living in the city go chill there and you can finds lot of nice people. Nice staff too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×