Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jade Emu International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • maloukeylon2142
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2017
8.6

Pool table dart place ping pong table ... prety much all you need

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2017
10.0

Probably the best place we stayed in, in our trip around Japan,Vietnam and China. A perfect 10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

A wonderful find - I love this place, great traditional Bai architecture house close to the West gate. Only two small complaints - 1) the coffee was very small and not really worth the Y20 - please develop your coffee making skills! 2) the shower floor was really slippery and on a slight slope so a bit dangerous (there was a warning notice, but it might be worth putting on a non-slip surface to avoid the inevitable happening). I'll give it a 10 anyway - I'm definitely coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Second time we stayed here. Really cool place close to the center of the old city and even closer to the bus coming from the railway station. Good food as well, especially the BBQ buffet last time. About 250(+?) really good and recent movies available on the local network that can be downloaded too. Only down part is the unannounced electricity shutdown that occurs from time to time because of the construction works in the area. Would definitely recommend this place to other backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2017
10.0

I was recommended this hostel by a group of travelers we met in Lijiang. The location is right across from the Old City but just enough where you're away from the hustle. The hostel is in its own little community and has really outdone itself. Great activities area. My friends and I stayed here for a few days during break and made so many friends! Food is really good here, great social area, also they have their own book shop. Staff is super friendly as well, check it out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • herlathing967
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.3

We upgraded from a standard double to a rather lovely room in the boutique behind the main hostel. Bar and common area very good, we had breakfast most days and was consistently tasty with great coffee. The girls behind the bar were always helpful and could answer most questions we had about Dali. It was very quiet when we stayed but still had decent atmosphere. Overall would 100% return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel all round.. can't find fault! Food maybe a little pricey, but had an extensive menu and was of good quality. Thanks.😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Stayed 2 nights. All Staff are friendly, most speak a good level of English, food are good portions but there are some cheaper places to eat. Very close to the old town and an easy bus ride into the newer Dali. Doors are locked and require a code so security isn't an issue. Only qualm would be that the bathrooms aren't the best designed so everything gets wet and need a bit better ventilation. Could use a common room that is sealed when it is colder/windy however there is a free movie room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel in Dali. The courtyard area is really nice, and it's set out of Old Town which is good to get away from the crowded streets. The workers are really nice, the food is affordable. My only complaint if for the bathroom in the 8 bed dorm. There is no fan or window, so when someone showers, the bathroom stays damp all day. Just kind of icky. Otherwise, would recommend to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.