X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Monkeys in the Trees Reviews

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
775 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Not a bad hostel but with some minor changes it could be so much better. The kitchen could be upgraded a bit and some power sockets next to each bed would make this place a lot better! Showers are average as well.


23%

This hostel was very far away from central London and really filthy. I've been to a lot of hostels, but never to a disgusting one like this. The staff is lazy& unfriendly, the showers& toiletts are very dirty& almost falling apart& it seems like there is no one ever cleaning anything in this place. I can only tell you: don't go to this hostel, it's not even worth the low price! We only stayed there for one night, didn't get our money back& moved to generator hostel, which was very clean& good..

Owner Comment (Hide)
You were unhappy with the hostel as you did not like our location, you were here for less than 10hrs, arriving late at night and leaving the next morning. We are in a great area, that you do need to catch transport , which is clearly obvious in our description . As for staying at another hostel, that is double the price to us, it is unreasonable to compare us. We offer a great hostel at a good price and it is a shame you did not appreciate this. Our staff have won award for customer service.

46%

To say that there's a kitchen is pretty much a cruel joke. There is a dirty little room with a sink, a microwave and a fridge and that's it. Horrible! I've stayed in plenty of hostels but that one was by far the worst! Also, the credit card machine thing wasn't working so people had to get cash in order to pay for the stay. Not too bad but rather inconvenient! Showers were not clean (hair everywhere- disgusting!!). Only the bar was alright and the staff friendly!


69%

There is only one microwave at common kitchen. No fire, No stoves so we cannot cook anything.... ah, I see, here is England....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the comment, we do not have a stove/Oven in the kitchen due to health and safety restrictions. We hope you had a great stay other than this. Monkeys in the trees

54%

PROS: downstairs bar is nice, breakfast has EGGS!, staff is nice, beer is cheap! CONS: slow internet, tiny closet rooms with 6 beds in them, water in the showers is inconsistent (it freezes you then burns your flesh), location is far out so its a metro+bus to get anywhere If you really want to feel like monkeys in trees, this is the place!


1 2 3 Next » last »
(45 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback