Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Northshore Hostel Maui

  • 2080 Vineyard St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th May 2017
5.7

Please add some shelves, some chest of drawers or a wardrobe instead of filling the dorms completely with beds. One guest had a huge pile of clothes on the floor, and other guests wouldn't have any space to put luggage or anything else...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
8.3

A nice funky hostel with great staff. The place is nice and clean too. It's easy to find but the neighbourhood is a little sketchy from what I could tell. Nice enough during the day but not somewhere you'd want to go for an evening stroll. we saw some pretty rough looking locals yelling at each other and acting pretty aggressive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
4.3

This hostel is noisy, hot, and too crowded when at capacity. My room at the front of the property was hot and uncomfortable, as it faced west. My "private" room faced onto the balcony, which used by all guests - so not very private and was cramped and shabbily decorated. No shelf or drawer unit into which I could unpack. The only mirror in my room was so high on the wall as to be almost useless, I had to kneel on the bed to see anything.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.1

This hostel has all kinds of walks of life. Scott is very accommodating with a very unique sense of humour. He eventually warmed up to us and made a lot of jokes. Bathrooms are really clean too which is a plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Notsobigkahuna
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
7.7

I was at all 3 hostels on Maui, this place was chill. Perfect if that's what you're after. Parking was great too, not so much at the other 2 hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michalmajewski
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Good stay! Bathrooms are clean, good facilities. Free local and int calls etc. AC in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Feb 2017
5.4

Very disappointing. Clean place and clean bathrooms but apart from that nothing special. Expensive for what it is. The staff was not helpful at all. boring place with a boring atmosphere. Everybody had to whisper to talk because the manager did not like the noise.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.6

I only had a short stay at this hostel but would recommend. My only piece of advice would be to give a little more information to guests arriving after the check in desk closes, it took us a while to find the keys to our room, if the key location as well as the door codes was sent in the check in email it would have made things a little easier! Besides this though, no complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel needs more restrooms, at times you had to wait to use a shower or a toilet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

We didn't get the room we booked through hostelworld so it ended up being more expensive. The city itself isn't that great so definitely consider renting a car or look at where the bus go. It wasn't my favorite hostel, but it was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.