X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1169 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Amsterdam is a great place to have a vacation, if you want to relax. The white tulip is a great place to stay while you are in amsterdam. The location is very central and the staf is helpful, very friendly. But the most important thing is the atmosfer. If you want to stay in a quiet place, this is not for you. But if you want to party and meet new people, this is your place.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good location! Friendly staff! Our 8 Person Private Room was relatively clean with minor shortcomings. Showers and toilets were great but crowded because one of two bathrooms was closed due to renovations (should be completed within a short time). All in all great value for money - i will stay there again.


74%

This Hostel have excellent location, internet around the rooms , but have little many bathrooms and is very small as well... The guy with beard in the reception is not very friendly and arrogant, my opinion! But is normal, very cheaper hostel!

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

We get room, but it didn't closed at all. Receptionist said that it will be repared duaring one hour. But we wait it to night and nobody didn't come. We we get your bags and tried to get out, but receptionist said that we will live with open door. We leaved this hostel without money back. Give me back money!!!!!!

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We were really worried about our stay from the numerous bad reviews on different websites but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Although not spotless, the 5 bed room we stayed in was far cleaner than we anticipated and fresh bedding was left for us as well as a clean en-suite and toilet room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel is in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend for a short stay.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

There was near church which bells was ringing every fifteen minutes. Jesus! It was not cleened room.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My roommates would come in at all hours of the night, but sleep interruptions aside, were respectfully quiet. It could get loud outside. The rooms are clean enough. The showers were pretty smelly the first night, but they fixed that. They give you a discount for meals and drinks at the bar the next door. Lockers/padlocks free with deposit. In other words, the hostel is what one should expect when staying cheap in the red light district. Come for the location, nothing else!


94%

Great hostel, staff very helpful and friendly and location was great, inside the red light and in walking distance of everything we needed! The only thing that would have made it better if there were facilities for travellers to make their own food, even just a kettle and a microwave apart from that great hostel!


89%

Second time at white tulip, had a great time. Would definitely recommend and would stay again. Rooms could do with daily clean however and bins being emptied. Otherwise really good

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

-lockers, relative high security, perfect location (coffeshops, clubs, bars, shopping) -nice staff (but would be nice if there is less staff, not everyday another guy - & what's about the guy who always stepped in our room, saying that he has to check? - exhausting) -cleaning should be done earlier & more frequently (in the morning there was puke everywhere) - 20% discount on drinks (bar below) and 10% on waffles you need a good sleep, but if you are in amsterdam for party, it's perfect


74%

The position of the hostel is excellent since it's positioned in one of the most lively area, crowded especially during the night. The hostel was clean, both the dorm and especially the bathroom. The receptionist, a guy of about 30years old, was very funny we had so much laugh with him. Pity for the lack of the kitchen. I'll surely come back next time!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There are small rats in the hostel, but they do not harm people. Location is superb, the hostel is in the heart of the city. Too much noise to sleep in 14 mixed dorms. There are fake street drug sellers just under the hostel, do not talk to them. I recommend staff to be more active on giving tips about the city for newcomers

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's a REALLY nice location, but don't have kitchen and normally we wait for the room more than 2 hours after the check-in. It's not the cleanning guy's fault, actually is the administration fault because one single guy CAN'T do ALL the cleanning. The reception guy named Andris was really nice with us, the only one who we could speak and resolve the problems, he is patient and lovely with all the clients. The other ones are not so "pleasant". But if you don't have money THIS IS THE PLACE!!!

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was not clean at all. There was no good securitysystem, one of my friends who didn't stay there, could just walk in, nobody asked her anything. But the location was great, in the center of the city, near by the station. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was great and the irish pub next door was definitly a great place to hang out. I enjoyed my stay there, but didn't like the dirty walls and sheets. Also the matrasses weren't comfortable at all, you could feel the iron springs.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Small place, not good for meeting people. A little noisy. Not enough sockets. Not so clean bathrooms and shower rooms; too expensive for a hostel - and you have to spend at least 3 nigths. But really safe, good staff - helped me a lot finding things to do.


66%

I think this Hostel is quit okay for its cheap price. But there is no real community room, no kitchen etc. Just bed abnd bathroom.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't have made our stay better

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of it all! Friendly staff and a great Irish pub below which does lovely food and decent drink deals! Would certainly recommend!


40%

Please, if you put at the disposal of towels, make sure that they clean the same thing for sheets and pillowcases. create more comfort in the rooms, bedrooms that those in common. Bedside tables, coat racks, table lamps, colorful blankets, make the environment less oppressive and more comfortable. Very friendly and hospitable guys cleaning


83%

Great position, staff and good price!

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback