Hostelworld.com

The White Tulip Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.4

We stayed on the first floor of the hostel which shared a bathroom with the Irish bar downstairs - even though we were told we would have our own bathroom with the 10 person bedroom we were in. This meant that any random person could come up from the bar, however, we were never allowed to have friends come up. Throughout the entire night strangers would sit in the area outside our room and use our bathroom, which also led to people knocking on our door or trying to open it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Our 10person room does not come with a private bathroom, but with a shared bathroom. Due to temporary construction in the bar, the shared toilets are in the weekends also used by barguests. This is a temporary situation, and we apologize for any convenience it may have cost you. I hope you did enjoy the rest of your stay, and me and my team hope that we will see you again in the Dam, to offer you a drink in our beautifully renovated bar=) With kind regards, Timon Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.4

Fantastic location in the hear of the red light district & close to the train station. Staff were ok room was very basic only comment would be I feel it is slightly pricey for how basic the hostel is

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Loved the front desk staff. Extremely helpful and great to talk to. I will definitely be returning here my next time in Am Dam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Brilliant location, pretty helpful staff. Since I went in the low period it wasn't as busy and humid so it was fine. But in my room(10pax) it does still get quite muggy. As expected being on a busy street and next to a red light district church and what else it will be loud. If you can't handle it or loud boisterous chavs don't book here. Also toilets were crampy small spaces, no common room, fairly narrow steep stairs make sure you can carry your own luggage comfortably.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words! In high Season it is a bit warmer in the DAM, so we can open a window more often then in the winter period to make sure it does not get humid;) Hope to see you back in the summer=) With kind regards, Timon Hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
6.6

More space amk!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hahasunji
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

Location is fantastic! Everything you need in walking distance. The rooms are clean and so are the bathroom facilities. There isn't a large common area but little ones outside of rooms which are fine. Everything was great until it came to sleeping (for me) The church rings their bells every 5 minutes and for so long omg. Also we couldn't turn the heater off so the room was ridiculously hot. I was mostly naked and still sweating. If you're not a hot sleeper and don't wake easily then you're fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.9

I had a great stay here, it located at the center of Amsterdam. The staff was very helpful. I think the only problem is the stair is a bit narrow for walking. And since it's right at the center, so some noise from the street is unavoidable. Overall, I like this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Good value for the money. Hohohoes are close ;) big plus!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.0

Really central location, very clean, which was great. Only real downside is that there's no kitchen and also nowhere to just hang out. Otherwise, great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great stay, and we look forward to see you next time you are in Amsterdam! Smile, Reception Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Hilarious, friendly welcome by staff! The shared bathrooms didn't bother me at all, showers had hot water and you got towels given to you for free if you ask. (Bonus) Good sized trunks underneath your bunk for your possessions but bring a padlock to lock it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We had a great time with you guys! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Cheers, Johnny

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.