Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The White Tulip Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cgasaway5214
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

The hostel is right behind one of the big cathedrals in town so it is pretty easy to get back to once you know the area enough. It is slightly small for a big guy like me 6'1 when trying to get in a top bunk so try to get a bottom bunk to avoid hitting your head on the ceiling. Besides that it is a good place for single travelers or a small group. It is more expensive than a normal hostel but hey.. It's Amsterdam!!! Had a great time thanks

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • shmuelwilansky
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Staff were really nice and friendly Accommodations were clean and comfy Would recomend to anyone going to amsterdam that needs a chilled spot and ambience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

I don't really understand the people complaining about noise. It's in the heart of the tea light district, so I just assumed it would be a loud/late night atmosphere. I thought the location was fantastic and it was great value for money. If you're a heavy sleeper you'll be fine! Bathrooms a little gross but oh well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Cons: there is no common room for meeting people. I am not sure if it was just the group of people we were staying with but for our stay the bathrooms were TRASHED. I don't think the staff could stay on top of the mess. Wifi is ok. Pros: fantastic location, friendly staff, great lockers. Nice beds!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
6.6

The staff was the best part of my stay. The security lockers were large but they are very difficult to use since they open at the top and would not stay open in order to get anything I would need from the lockers. The social atmosphere was good but there's no kitchen or social area to meet people unless it's in the dorm rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
7.7

Great location!!! Super close to Red Light District!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
6.9

Fantastic location. Some of the staff was very helpful (British girl), others somewhat rude and unhelpful (Latvian guy). The bar downstairs is nice and the rooms were pretty good but there's no common space. Good for a group or someone who already knows what they're doing and wants to be close to the Red light district/Old City but definitely not a place to meet people or hang out. The luggage storage system should be improved from just stacking in a really cramped closet. Right next to Wok2Walk

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2017
7.4

It was a good very basic hostel in a great location. There were no showers on our floor (Third) so we had to go down a floor, otherwise no issues with our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • louis12
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel, not sure what all the negative comments are about? Wifi is solid, bed is comfy, staff are nice, rooms arnt too packed and facilities do the trick. There is no doubt you're staying in a hostsl, but a clean and well run one none the less. 100% would recomend and re-visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
6.6

The staff was very unhelpful. Notice that the price that appears on Hostelworld is before the city tax, which is 5%.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.