X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1366 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The location is wonderful. Ideal if you are having. Ashley stay in Amsterdam. I have stayed in a lot nicer hostels where the staff make much more of an effort to tell you about the city but it can't be beaten on pride and location


83%

It was a very nice hostel. We were 14 people in the room but it went very well and we slept extremely well. The beds are comfortable and the people working were nice. The stairs are very steep

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location was excellent, right in the center of everything. We walked everywhere during our 3 day stay in Amsterdam. Other than that - facilities, staff, etc. it was what would be expected from your average hostel. For the price we paid we weren't expectig any 5 star accomodations anyways. The Irish pub below the hostel is fantastic and the food is a good price. We hung out there every night. For those on a budget who want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam, I'd recommend this place!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

My two girlfriends and I were originally placed in a room with six other men, they were disrespectful of our space and used our beds while we were not in the room. The room also had an unbearable smell due to them. We spoke with Andreas at the front desk and he immediately switched our room into a much more suitable room. He truly saved our trip and made the rest of it worth while - he was just the best.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pulizia dei bagni assolutamente pessima, non so se fosse dovuta al fine settimana intenso, ma di farsi la doccia tra slip e asciugamani sporche non era il caso. Ragazzo della mattina scorbutico, quello della sera accettabile anzi ben disponibile. Prezzo per stare insieme ad altre persone che non si conoscono e che fanno "tutto ciò" che vogliono fino alle 4 del mattino, un po' alto.


57%

Can't fault the location of the hostel, but can fault the following: * No lift. That in itself isn't an issue but the stairs are extremely tight & steep (think of steps on a boat). I offered to help a few other guests with carrying their luggage up/down because the staff wouldn't offer to do this. * The Wifi coverage is poor, especially after 9PM. * Showers & toilets are stinking * 1 member of staff very rude to a few guests * 1 guest decided to check out 2 days early because he disliked it


86%

Don't be put off by negative reviews, The White Tulip is a perfectly decent hostel. The dorms are huge with a secure locker under each bed. Wifi is available in throughout the building. The showers could do with an extra hook or rail but you have plenty of room (even if there is a funky sulfur smell in the bathroom sometimes). It's very reasonably priced and in a good location for accessing the city centre and train station. I've stayed in better, but I've also stayed in much worse.


71%

The bathrooms could have been cleaner. Some people in my group were staying in a mixed room and the people were so weird/old that they felt uncomfortable enough to sleep on the floor of our private room. The staff noticed this and brought extra mattresses to the private room which ended up working out well. Staff were helpful! the discount on the pub next door was super nice!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I chose this hostel because of its closeness to train station. But since it is at the center of the most touristic place, it was really disturbing. It was really noisy, dirty. The bathrooms were exceptionally dirty. My sheets were dirty aswell.


66%

It was third time there. There was nothing wrong, it is on really excellent location but it is not so much clean, especially toilets and showers. And there were some stupid british guys who had no respect to sleeping people. That was only negative point. Highly recommended!


77%

In general, the hostel was cool, very good located and good staff to.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were very friendly and did all they could to help, food was good downstairs and cheap. Room size was good for its money and showers and toilets cleaned dailly. Execellent place to stay for its money! Would deffo go back.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It was great location staff was very nice but no atmosphere


74%

The description on the website said there would be a smoking terrace but the reception staff told me there was not.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Beds are comfy and the staff are super friendly. Bathrooms could be cleaner and with hooks or shelves in the showers.


80%

Great location, not great for communal facilities, only a couple of rooms but the bar below was really good, 20% discount there was very welcome. Toilets and showers were great, old building so no elevators but a few mind your head signs needed for tall peeps like me! Receptionist wasn't always there to let you in during early hours, which was a little annoying, and some group options to meet people would be cool like walking tours or pub crawls. Altogether, a neat little hostel, would recommend


49%

No common room to hang out in, bad toilets and in general cramped without any good atmosphere. But what do you expect, its in the middle of the tourist area with bars, junk food, coffeshops and red light just outside the front door.


37%

Such a dirty hostel, rooms are so small, upper bunk beds are almost touching the ceiling, very bad staff, almost nothing is cleaned!


89%

Very nice people, great location in Day and night time, friendly staff and all in all a good place to go to! :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff is beyond helpful and are very kind. Even the people at the pub next door are awesome! The location was great, and I would definitely stay again!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback