X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tres Mundos Hostel Reviews

Calle 6 Norte, Entre Avenida 20 y Avenida 25, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostel is located in great walking distance to the beaches of Playa! Upon our arrival we were welcomed by great staff, who were super frineldy and helped us with all questions we had. On the street there is some great taquerías as well where you can get great food for good prices (we ended up having dinner there all 3 days of our stay ;) )


86%

Had a fanastic stay at Tres Mundos Hostel! Great atmosphere! great staff! i can definitely recommend Tres Mundos! :) /Markus

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

when i checked in the guy said i couldnt pay by mastercard which i eventually found out was not true, he didnt even mention anything about breakfast or the other wifi that was available on the third floor. The hostel was empty. For most of my stay i guess i was the only guest. Everybody else was working there for accommodation and tbh not that friendly. No hot water and disgusting smell coming from the bathroom pipes at night ?? Other than that, the hostel itself is new and clean. Okay locat

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your feedback! we have a card terminal for payments, usually there is no probs, sometimes it doesnt work for some reason, not sure why you couldnt pay by card at that moment. we have one wifi access point, all other networks are private. during your stay we had between 15-20 paying guests, it might have felt empty because the hostel is big and not always people are that social. thank you for your stay and happy traveling!

89%

Great hostel, far enough back that you don't hear all the noise from the parties on the main street. And still close by that you can walk everywhere in town with ease. Will be back here if i am in town again.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything perfect, thanks guys for a nice stay!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Felt unwelcome the staff were rude the room smelt like smoke and the aircon was a bad fan

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fun hostel full of color and great people!


20%

I had a booking with them but when I was there, they don honor my booking and the manager never show up, I will never recommend this Hostal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hallo, we apologize for your trouble. in almost 3 years of our functioning there was never a case such as yours and we always honor the hostelworld booking. its difficult to track down what happened now because the receptionist that apparently attended you was fired not long afterwards for various problems which he caused. we try to choose our guys wisely but in rare cases there are problems and we apologize for our failure in your case. if you ever pass our way again we'll give you a free nigh



View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback