X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tres Mundos Hostel Reviews

Calle 6 Norte, Entre Avenida 20 y Avenida 25, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
120 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Especially the rooftop terrace and the large communal area are wonderful!


94%

We loved it! Very friendly staff and lovely rooftop terrace with hammocks.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

okay, get what you pay for


80%

you have a nice chillout area, a rooftop terrace and a kitchen. the private rooms are a bit expensive for not more than a bed and a fan in the room. the doorms are okay but without AC.


66%

I had no problem! A nice sleep-and-shower place. A little far from whats interesting in the city, but you can go walking. I didn't feel my stuff were safe alone there, while I was out. And I think the place overall (bedrooms and bathrooms) could be more clean. But staff was very, very nice and helpfull.


71%

Nice hostel a little far from the city center worth the price


54%

The bathroom and the sleeping room were very dirty and in a bad condition. It was loud the whole night because of the thin walls so I couldn't sleep a lot. The staff was friendly.


43%

Staff was not very helpful. Breakfast was poor. Room was awful. Very bad ventilation, hence a very warm room. Bunk bed without ladder.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Instead of tres mundo it's better to say trashy mundo. its a dirty place . showers toilets dorms . staff is very lazy. breakfast and coffee. only allow to eat two toast from a filthy toaster with only cheap jelly . Coffee has nothing to do with coffee. We stayed there 8 nights because we paid the dubble price as normal because of Xmas . Refund was not possible . NEVER AGAIN


49%

Highly recommend not staying there! No hot water, breakfast is a joke, it's dirty and no good atmosphere. More expensive by booking it through the web site

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you didn't mention any hot water problem when you were here, hard to help you out now that you've gone, at the moment the water works fine. our breakfast is explained on hw website, our prices are lower the ones of others so we can't have a buffet one, its 2 toasts with jam and coffee, to help you start the day. we clean every day, 3 times minimum and i make sure its clean its our priority. im sorry that the atmosphere didnt suit you. happy traveling!

74%

The hostel is located in great walking distance to the beaches of Playa! Upon our arrival we were welcomed by great staff, who were super frineldy and helped us with all questions we had. On the street there is some great taquerías as well where you can get great food for good prices (we ended up having dinner there all 3 days of our stay ;) )


86%

Had a fanastic stay at Tres Mundos Hostel! Great atmosphere! great staff! i can definitely recommend Tres Mundos! :) /Markus


71%

when i checked in the guy said i couldnt pay by mastercard which i eventually found out was not true, he didnt even mention anything about breakfast or the other wifi that was available on the third floor. The hostel was empty. For most of my stay i guess i was the only guest. Everybody else was working there for accommodation and tbh not that friendly. No hot water and disgusting smell coming from the bathroom pipes at night ?? Other than that, the hostel itself is new and clean. Okay locat

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your feedback! we have a card terminal for payments, usually there is no probs, sometimes it doesnt work for some reason, not sure why you couldnt pay by card at that moment. we have one wifi access point, all other networks are private. during your stay we had between 15-20 paying guests, it might have felt empty because the hostel is big and not always people are that social. thank you for your stay and happy traveling!

89%

Great hostel, far enough back that you don't hear all the noise from the parties on the main street. And still close by that you can walk everywhere in town with ease. Will be back here if i am in town again.


100%

Everything perfect, thanks guys for a nice stay!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Felt unwelcome the staff were rude the room smelt like smoke and the aircon was a bad fan

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback