Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tres Mundos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
Tres Mundos Hostel Located at Calle 6 Norte, Entre Avenida 20 y Avenida 25, Playa del Carmen.
Tres Mundos Hostel
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 6 Norte, Entre Avenida 20 y Avenida 25
73% 227
20.6268199 -87.0764994
Tres Mundos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
8.0

If you want to have a beer before the bar opens, you're out of luck - so don't think you're gonna chill with a beer in the afternoon. The bar opens whenever they feel like it. Supposed to open at 6 but the first night it wasn't even open by 8. Other than that, the beds are comfortable, the showers have hot water, and the internet is pretty solid. Would recommend for a day or two, but not much longer. They charge to refill your water bottle which is kind of strange in Mexico.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You stayed for two nights and the first night was monday, the quietest day of the week and the barman asked to open late. Any other day we open at 6pm. Before that ask for your drink anytime at the reception. We charge 5 pesos (20 cents) to refill a 1,5L bottle, drinking with cups is free. It's normal in every hostel in Playa and anywhere I personally traveled around Mexico and surrounded countries.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The rooms are good - the aircon gets turned on at 9pm. There's lockers for valuables. There is a bar but the nights I was there - there was not much of a party vibe and no one was at the hostel drinking. It's in a good location and has a good common area with couches and wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are not a party hostel, we are a laid back backpackers hostel. So our bar is for people that appretiate more reggae, deep house,... caribbean kind of vibe, and the good night sleep after it closes. There are a lot of party hostels around but people there complain about all night party and loud music which we want to avoid. We have people having fun around the bar every night though.

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.9

A cheap hostel close to the centre, but highly uncomfortable beds and unsanitary bathroom. i was disturbed by other guests talking for hours in the night right next to my bed. Ok to stay for a nigght but not for longer.If you want to use safetybox, brig your own padlock.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our bathrooms are cleaned every day twice, in high occupancy days it depends a lot on the guests how long they keep it clean before the next clean. Our older mattrases we are in a process of changing for a new and better ones. I'm sorry about the guests talking, we have signs to encourage people to respect and not to make noise in the dorms but we can't be responsable for the unconsiderate people, it's recommendable to travel with earplugs when staying in hostels.

29th Dec 2016
4.6

Expensive private non-airconditioned room. Bathrooms way too dirty. Staff border line rude. Location was good

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry but you stayed over the new years in a private room, so obviously it's the most expensive nights of the year, even though I'm quite certain it was the cheapest private around at that time of the year. The bathrooms we clean twice a day, and I personally made sure that it's properly clean. We are sorry if the guests don't try to maintain it that way before the next clean but it happens. I'm sorry for our staff, they are trained to be helpful and polite, I don't know why you had a bad experience.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Pros: good location 5 min walk from Ado bus station and main strip/beach. Good lockers and security at night. Aircon makes sleeping good 9pm-9am Cons: Bathroom cleanliness was poor was only cleaned properly once during our stay. No hot water for shower, no soap for washing hands. Note: breakfast is basic. Sweet bread and small piece of fruit. Toast not toasted. I feel for the price we paid the hostel was below average, however we my have paid a premium due to the time of year

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. All bathrooms we clean properly every day, in times of high occupancy a lot depends on the guests how long they keep it clean. It's posible to request cleaning if its needed and we are happy to help. It's weird you say you didn't have a hot water in the shower, we do have hot water and I didn't have complains, I checked it now and it works, again, if it's a full hostel and a lot of people shower at the same time there might be some temporal issues, maibe that is what happened. We have a free breakfast, toasts and fruit and coffee or tea, it's a standard hostel breakfast. As you came right before/during new years eve, the price was obviously much elevated, but still we keep our prices quite accessible, and make sure we have one of the lowest in that period. We are sorry for any issues and hope to see you returning soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
7.4

This was a nice, chilled hostel in a good location with very friendly staff. We rented a private room for nearly 50 pounds, it shared one wall with the toilet (and you could hear everything when someone used it) and another wall with a room used to store cleaning products, so we got woken up really early every morning by staff talking loudly to each other right outside our room or by people using the toilet which wasn't very pleasant.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Dec 2016
7.4

Ok for the price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Dec 2016
4.3

no receomended! pay a few euros more and take something nice! Breakfast- very poor, every day the same, 2 pices of bread, a little fruits, jam and butter Room was small and dirty. Trashes on the wardrobe. Beds were very very bad and old. The shower was horrible- dirty and without pressure. Staff ok but not really helpfull. Lokalization super- near the shop walmark and the sea. Security was only only very basic. Big positives was the patio with hummocks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.6

I stayed only one night in this hostel and I had a very pleasant time - a good sleep (the dorms are quiet) and amazing treat on behalf of the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Dec 2016
9.1

Hostel is in great location and the staff was friendly and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.