X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Urbany Hostel BCN GO! Reviews

C/Gran Via, 563, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
965 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This is my second stay here; it's a decent hostel. For me, the best part is the location-- it's in the middle of things & if you need to get to the airport at 5 AM (like me) then the night bus stop is right there. Also, the beds are nice (curtains+outlets+lamp... plus the wifi reaches the rooms). However, the place doesn't have a great atmosphere.... the lighting and decorations strain your eyes and the staff, while not abrasive, are not welcoming or particularly friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying at Urbany, we are always happy to have returning customers. We are sorry to hear about the staff. Urbany works help to create a welcoming atmosphere for a guests, and we are sorry to hear you did not experience this. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona, and you'd come back once again. Kindest regards, the Urbany Team.

86%

About the breakfast, I think it could have more options like egg and lechuga etc. And in the bathroom (for dorm), I cannot find the mark indicated which way is hot water or which is cold water, so sometimes I wait for so long for hot water but it turned out the cold water.. I think except these points, others are nice.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying at Urbany. About the showers, we are working to improve our systems, and we apologize in the meantime for the inconvenience. Thanks for your review as it helps improve our services. We hope you had an amazing time in Barcelona. Come and visit soon, all the best, the Urbany Team.

100%

Urbany BCN GO! Hostel was an incredible place to stay in Barcelona. The staff created a very welcoming atmosphere with activities planned each night - and with the amount of travelers staying at the hostel any given night you were sure to have a good time. The hostel offers free entry to some of the best clubs in Barcelona and is situated very close to the main Rambla and all the night life. All in all this hostel was amazing and one I will certainly be coming back to.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying at Urbany. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. Urbany works to create a welcoming and friendly international atmosphere with activities aimed at our target audience each day, and we are always happy and guests enjoy this activities. We hope the rest of your stay in Barcelona was just as incredible, come back and visit us soon! Kindest regards, the Urbany Team.

43%

for starters, upon arrival our room was a MESS, which forced us to move rooms right away. When we entered the second room it was EXTREMELY SMALL (not enough room for four bags)... The lights were sensored so when you lay in bed at night the slightest motion will set them off. Do not come here without dry shampoo because the shower turns off and on EVERY 30 SECONDS with very low water pressure..... great location. but thats about it. better off elsewhere!

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. Thanks for your review as it helps us improve our services. Hopefully your stay in Barcelona was wonderful. Wishing you all the best, the Urbany Team.

83%

nice and modern but for me overpriced. a bit small lobby for such amount of people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying at Urbany. Urbany works hard to give our guests comfortable accommodation at the most affordable prices, and we are sorry to hear this wasn't the case with you. We hope your stay in Barcelona was great, and you'd come back soon. Kind regards, the Urbany Team.

94%

I had a wonderful stay here! The staff was great, especially Querube and Emma who were friendly and welcoming :) My only complaints are the neon lights in the hallways and the push sinks that waste water at times. I would definitely come back in the future!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying with Urbany. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the staff were friendly and welcome. Thanks for your review as it helps improve our services. We hope your stay in Barcelona was wonderful. Yes do come back and visit soon! All the best, the Urbany Team.

74%

ToIlets and showers in rooms and don't seem to be cleaned often beds not very private and no one seems to have respect for the place or others staff included

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying at Urbany. We apologies for the inconvenience you felt during your stay. Thanks for your reviews as it helps improve our services. We hope the rest of your stay in Barcelona was amazing. Kindest regards, the Urbany Team.

86%

We had a very nice stay in this hostel with a very good location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for choosing to stay at Urbany Hostels. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Barcelona soon! Best regards, the Urbany Team.

86%

Hostel is very well located and very clean however I would not recommend it for solo travellers.


100%

Great hostel. Everything you expect plus more and all at a bargain rate. Beds curtained off, with separate power sockets. Bar down stairs. Activities run by the hostel. Only downside is you have to like them on facebook for wifi which not all people are in favour of, but the wifi is excellent once connected

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Here at Urbany Hostels, we are always happy when we receive reviews from happy customers like yourself. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and for staying at our hostel. We hope you had a wonderful time here in Barcelona. Come back soon! Kind Regards, the Urbany Team.

80%

Not bad except they had a receptionist working on the bar that didnt know how to make drinks or pour beer.


83%

Great location and ticked all the boxes. Facilities was great; liked the bed side light and charger port as well as the underbed locker.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for staying at Urbany. We are happy to hear you liked your stay with us. Hopefully your time in Barcelona was as pleasant. All the best, the Urbany Team.

91%

Excellent location, clean rooms, friendly staff and nightly activities.. Security is good, I didn't use the kitchen but it looked okay. The beds had a curtain and a private desk, lamp and two sockets.. Overall a great place to stay, I thoroughly enjoyed my time there :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you very much for your review, and for staying at Urbany. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you back soon. Best regards, the Urbany Team.

83%

Horrible shower. It's too hot or too cold. You have to pay for towels.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfying experience with the showers. We are working on fixing and improving the water temperature, and apologize for the inconvenience. All extra changes are clearly mentioned during the booking process. Thank you for your review, as it helps us improve our service. We hope you enjoyed Barcelona. Kind regards, the Urbany Team.

80%

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and have a variety of outlets.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying with us at Urbany Hostels. Our staff works towards making your stay as pleasant as possible, and we are happy to hear we were able to accomplish this. Hopefully, your stay in Barcelona was as friendly. We hope to see you back soon, best regards, the Urbany Team.

71%

Breakfast, staff and atmosphere are great! Bedroom and bathroom size, as well as clealiness aren't that good. Great localization!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing us a review. Our cleaning staff try their best to keep the hostel as best as possible, but it is true since people are coming and going on a daily basis, using the showers at any time etc, they could be messy moments during the day, we apologize for that and we are working to improve it. We hope to see you back soon!

89%

Great location, good value for money. Lockers under every bed, individual card system in everywhere. Very good atmosphere for young travelers like me! In bigger rooms there are curtains for more privacy. Best thing was individual light, plug and usb in every bed! Strongly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to read comments written by satisfied guests, and as you commented "create a great atmosphere", privacy and safety are really important for us. We hope to see you back in our amazing city. Best regards, Urbany team.

60%

So many problems: the jacuzzi that they advertised was closed for the winter (which is the best time to use a jacuzzi); only the bottom bunks had privacy curtains; the light in the shower wouldn't turn off at night, so people struggled to sleep; showers sometimes only had cold water, other times only had hot water, and required you to push a button ever 15 seconds; guests were required to "like" the hostel on Facebook and check-in to use the free wifi, which made us feel like hostages. Dislike.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please allow us to apologize because your experience wasn't on the standard for Urbany Hostels.You are right because it´s wrong the description we do about the jacuzzi, actually it´s a pool. For incidences like the light you comment we have a 24 hours reception to inform. With the shower we have a system to save water, the sustainability and the environment are important for us but we apologize for the inconvenience that can cause. We use facebook or your email as a login to use the free WIFI.

86%

The staff was the best, very nice and I felt welcome from the first minute of my stay. I slept twice in a female dorm. The lower beds have curtains which is extremely nice for privacy in a dorm. All beds have their own socket, usb charger, light and a little table plus a locker underneath. Bathroom cleanliness was average for a hostal and I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast - however, this hostal is well worth the stay as the fees are very low, & staff is nice.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much!! We really are happy that you appreciate all our effort to make sure customers have the best experience as possible. We hope to see you back in the hostel. Best regards, Urbany staff.

89%

Good hostel, but the showers are not working properly. Good breakfast for €3.50. Comfortable beds with curtains, plugs and individual light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! With the shower we have a system to save water, the sustainability and the environment are really important for us but we apologize for the inconvenience that can cause,at the moment we are working to improve the system. We hope to see again. Best Regards, Urbany staff.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback