X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2813 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

An very central and convenient place to stay.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms with private bathrooms are best particularly for older guests.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I had stayed at the WSY a couple of years ago and I did notice that they remodeled and refurbished the whole place, which was very nice. They also now have boards inviting you to join classes and use the sports facilities, the amenities are better now too. The only thing I can say was a bit off is cleanness as the baths were not cleaned during our stay. The room doors are also pretty old and quite noisy when shut or opened to the point it makes it hard to sleep at night.


71%

Horrible shower, two non functioning toilets. Bad cleaning - there was a m&m on the floor the whole time we were there and the floor was not clean.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Internet was tremendously slow. Spoilt the whole hostel experience.


40%

Cleaning staff did not clean our room 3 days in a row! Unfriendly staff. Bathroom shared with the whole floor... 1 of 3 available showers did not work. 3 of 4 sinks did not work. Just a good location close to central park! However just for good location it is too expensive

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The stuff isn't very friendly, but if you only need a place to sleep is a very good choice. Excellent location, very clean.


43%

This place was extremely disappointing considering how much you pay for it and in comparison to every other hostel we stayed in the USA, this place is pretty terrible. There is no kitchen so you have nowhere to make or store food, there is nowhere to do laundry you have to walk ten minutes to get to the closest laundromat, there are no maps of the city and the staff aren't helpful, the bathroom was gross and the shower had a leak coming from the ceiling, the room is tiny, doesn't feel like a hostel


91%

It was great! I Really enjoyed.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It's the worst place that I've ever been to. Terrible smell all around, bathrooms very dirty, very old building. I world never reccomend this place to anybody.


94%

The bathroom and shower room was really hot. There did not seem to be ventilation.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

ocation is perfect, 2 minutes walk from Central Park. There are no dorms as it's not a hostel but a guesthouse. The beds are bunk beds though, and the upper one is dangerous, small and with no rail guard. Restrooms are all shared, but there are plenty of them and fairly clean. No kitchen, no breakfast, but they do have a common area and a small store to buy some basics. The place is also a sports club and guests have full access to the gym, pool, etc., even group classes.


80%

Great location and pretty good price for a private room, even if they are tiny. I did have a friend who had cash stolen from here so keep your valuables locked up


83%

Overall excellent and I've already made referrals to friends. However, the common bathrooms (men's) are in need of remodeling and plumbing repairs.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was with a ventilation system right behind the window that made 24h noise inside. The hostel niether warned about it (the people could still book the room but knowing of the inconvenience or pay more to have a good stay without spoilt vacation & headache all the week) nor did anything to protect the room from that noise (sound-proof window frames with some indoor ventilation). And the staff was so indifferent saying formally that they are overbooked. Some guests were robbed.


66%

Location location location - that's what you get. The rooms are very small, not very comfortable and the bathroom is small and damp - but! You get value for you're money in a highly expensive country, and if you can settle and are planning to spend little time in your room anyways, then it's definitely worth the money (when it's New York). Some of the staff were super nice, other was irritated and seemed super tired.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was in an excellent location: close to lots of main attractions and to the subway. Room was basic but clean and value for money based on it's location.


80%

We were not expecting a maid serve and were surprised when there was a note on the bed when we returned in the evening. How we were expecting a kitchen area and was disappointed that there was not one.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

I found the Y lack that basic hostel feeling. I checkout the common room and found all these old guys pass out and sleeping in the common area. The building was old and drably and you felt that it was nothing more than a place to crash. I had a twin private and it was actually 2 bunk beds for $100 per night (a bit pricy for what you get). I got there after 11 pm and was told to give my passport to security as a surety which I wasn't comfortable with but will get it back once I paid for my room.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This was a GREAT location, felt fairly safe and was pretty clean. Not on par with some hostels in Europe, but definitely not the worst place I've stayed. The gym facilities and private rooms are a bonus but the non-renovated floors could use it. The bathrooms had great hot water pressure but the toilets/shower/sink situation was a little tight to use. Definitely not a hostel vibe if that's what you're going for but good for people who need to be in town for a day or two for business.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback