X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2783 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

It's the worst place that I've ever been to. Terrible smell all around, bathrooms very dirty, very old building. I world never reccomend this place to anybody.


94%

The bathroom and shower room was really hot. There did not seem to be ventilation.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was with a ventilation system right behind the window that made 24h noise inside. The hostel niether warned about it (the people could still book the room but knowing of the inconvenience or pay more to have a good stay without spoilt vacation & headache all the week) nor did anything to protect the room from that noise (sound-proof window frames with some indoor ventilation). And the staff was so indifferent saying formally that they are overbooked. Some guests were robbed.


66%

Location location location - that's what you get. The rooms are very small, not very comfortable and the bathroom is small and damp - but! You get value for you're money in a highly expensive country, and if you can settle and are planning to spend little time in your room anyways, then it's definitely worth the money (when it's New York). Some of the staff were super nice, other was irritated and seemed super tired.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was in an excellent location: close to lots of main attractions and to the subway. Room was basic but clean and value for money based on it's location.


46%

I found the Y lack that basic hostel feeling. I checkout the common room and found all these old guys pass out and sleeping in the common area. The building was old and drably and you felt that it was nothing more than a place to crash. I had a twin private and it was actually 2 bunk beds for $100 per night (a bit pricy for what you get). I got there after 11 pm and was told to give my passport to security as a surety which I wasn't comfortable with but will get it back once I paid for my room.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This was a GREAT location, felt fairly safe and was pretty clean. Not on par with some hostels in Europe, but definitely not the worst place I've stayed. The gym facilities and private rooms are a bonus but the non-renovated floors could use it. The bathrooms had great hot water pressure but the toilets/shower/sink situation was a little tight to use. Definitely not a hostel vibe if that's what you're going for but good for people who need to be in town for a day or two for business.


80%

The hostel was okey. Only stayed for one night. The showers was awful. Tiny and the water came out With a power that made you wounder if it was needles.and there where no space to get change in the shower area. If you dont wanna strip down in front of everyone.Nice and fresh lobby. Storage for your bag is posetiv. They got free wifi aswell.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I prefer windows that can be opened to the outside air rather than having to use the window-mounted air conditioner, but otherwise everything was all right.


37%

It is the dirtiest place i've ever seen!!! The staff is mannerless, almost embarassing. Aweful experience!!!!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This is in a great location and the facilities really are very good. However the shared bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Really dirty, filthy toilet cubicles and often no toilet paper. The room was good and the air conditioner was excellent!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I recommend you guys, give us more options when we book. Cause I was surprised that we're not allow to do even minor changes . Then all good

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It's really good that the staff always ask for the YMCA card, so that nobody else can enter the hostel

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I love staying here. The location is unbelievable. I love that I can wake up and literally cross the street and go for a walk in central park, or walk a block and grab breakfast at Wholefoods. Every subway line is there too. It can't be beat. The rooms are small, but there's satellite TV and A/C. I would, however, recommend paying the extra few dollars for the upgraded floors. They seem to be quieter and more comfortable. Love that the pool and gym are free to use too. Best value in NYC!


86%

Very good hostel if you are alone or with friends and want to spend some days in NYC. Fabulous position, close to Central Park and close to Columbus Circle with subway station (lines A, B, C, D, 1 with connection to the north Manhattan / Harlem / The Bronx and to lower Manhattan / Brooklyn). Broadway and Times Square are 5/10 minutes walking. There are a lot of places for breakfast nearby, also drugstore and places where eat. Rooms have TV, AC, and wi-fi connection. Bathrooms are cleaned

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

There are big diferences between floors. The 10th was really great with bathroom facilities new, but the 8th floor smelled and the bathroom was always dirty. Besides that everything was good. Daily cleaning and fresh towels.


63%

Each floor holds at least 20 rooms , yet the men's washroom had only 3 showers . Can get occupied and dirty quickly , no place to hold personal items in the shower unit.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, fair prices. Excellent gym services.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This is the worst place we have ever stayed-the rooms were dirty, small and smelly. The pictures of the hostel were completely deceiving- there is nothing new about the place and should be updated. The bathrooms were disgusting and unclean - showers not even remotely private and not enough showers and toilets on each floor. The whole floor smelt damp. Staff were very unhelpful and at points verged on rude.


74%

It's a beautiful building, but the hostel doesn't invest in the guestrooms. It looked poor and weary. Nevertheless I enjoyed my stay: I could swim foor free (nice after a long day of walking in town), the location is excellent; nearby I could find everything you need to have a good time in NY such as busstops, subwaystations, Central Park, a good soulfood shop round the corner. Every day my bed was made up and I got a clean towel. They didn't vacuum the room. Bathroom and toilets: renew it!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback