X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3080 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent location, staff genuinely interested and very professional.


54%

A hostel in a good location, walkable distance from times square and MOMA. Room is fine, but the other things are... well still fine with the cost. However, the staffs are seriously to be replaced or retrained. They keep asking for the card key as they are looking after criminals. And they are unpleasant - especially the girl who might have come from India. This girl never responds and is so arrogant! Can't believe the hostel hired her. Well, will other hostels in NY be same? I DON'T THINK SO.


91%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location as all we needed was a place to sleep after exploring the city. Room very basic but exactly what we needed, although radiator didn't work and we were told that it was dependent on the temperature outside which was 1 degrees Celsius outside as was Christmas time, so not sure how much colder it needed to be but they did give us extra blankets. Would absolutely stay again

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was clean, but the shared bathrooms were an absolute disaster! There was always a clogged toilet and one of the stalls didn't even lock. Glad my stay was only for one night.


83%

Always have a great stay


83%

9th floor women's washrooms could be cleaned more but with that many people sharing can understand the dirt

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

YMCA $90 or Mr Trump's hotel at $900? It's not flash but do can afford to do flash stuff. Easy choice.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Front Desk staff were rude and snappy with customers in the que. The room was average, springs were sticking out of the mattress which made the sleep quite uncomfortable. We found an over flowing bin of garbage and extra garbage bags covering the closet and spilling everywhere which stunk the room out. In shared bathroom only 1 (out of 3) toilet locked, floors were filthy and only 1 (out of 3) sink had flowing water...but only cold! Bearable for our one night stay but couldn't have stayed longer

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay for budget travelers. My husband and I were hoping to have one double bed instead of bunkbeds. Room was clean and staff was very polite and helpful.


94%

We had a perfectly adequate room. It was not massive but then we were there to sightsee not hang out in the bedroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Relaxed efficient atmosphere.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Security: companion locked her key in her room & was given a new one without any question or proof required. Value: Like most things in NY, it's absurdly overpriced, even compared to much better hostels in the most expensive cities in the world (Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo, London, etc). Both rooms were poorly insulated - glad it wasn't winter! Bathrooms were fairly clean but doesn't provide place to put your things. Shower curtains don't cover the cubicle.


83%

the staff is very attentive and kind. The location is amazing: right in the heart of Lincoln Center. On the other hand, the facilities (bedrooms and bathrooms) seem very old, and, who knows, could pass for a beautification. In any case I definitely loved and will certainly be back.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I had 5 nights booked here but I checked out after one night. The room was freezing cod and the mattress was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on. The thin sheet and blanket were no way near sufficient for the temperature of the room. Frankly it was depressing. I understand the term basic but as someone who has stayed in many hostels this goes way below that. I would never recommend anyone stay here.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Problemas con la provision de toallas varias veces. Un dia habitacion sin limpiar. Otro dia una cama arreglada y la otra no. Suciedad de varios dias bajo la cama. Ambiente agradable, cordial. Excelente ubicación. La foto que se muestra en internet no se corresponde con la habitación que disponen para el huésped. El personal en su totalidad muy amable y cordial. Volveria a alojarme alli a pesar de estos inconvenientes. Saludos

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location but quite expensive. For a single room, it is no good without a private toilet at this price. Also, the bed inside the room is too light in weight, some motions would swing the bed away easily and quickly.


80%

We spent little time here - simply sleeping and showering. I did enjoy a swim in the pool. I slept well. The staff were most accommodating and friendly. I would definitely stay at the hostel again.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stayed here before and So easy that's why I came back

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

It is not a hostel. It is just a guess room. The staff is very unfriendly. Unfortunetely the staff is not willing to help and provide guests with basics information such as how to goto to the airport, nice places to eat or places to go out.


63%

Just a big building where you have a bed. If it where other city, no way it costs more than 15usd.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback