X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2730 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Some good renovations over the last two years, so brighter and better condition and furniture too. It is a superb location and well run. My room had a closet but no hanging bar or shelves! Showers had nowhere to put soap and shampoo.


83%

You get what you pay for. Not more, or less. Great location though, just one block from Central park!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

First you can start by taking down either very old or 'staged' room photos- It doesn't look anything close to that level cleanliness or esthetics / The Westside YMCA is a very scary place to stay and perhaps a ripe place to catch catch SARS or MERSA-. The entire hostel needed repairs, upgrading, carpet and for God's sake, more than the nasty filthy 4 stalls shared bathrooms for 50 guest rooms on each floor!! The dorms were a clean enough 'crash pad' but you get an F for the bathrooms. GLOOMY!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is excellent, price is good for NY - for any other city it would probably be overpriced. The rooms are tiny and very basic, a crazy person was walking up and down the corridor in front of our room for hours talking to himself (he seemed harmless, but it was annoying) and staff is slooooow. However, if you plan to be out and about all day while exporing the city and just need the cheapest place to crash, this is probably a good option. If you want anything more, look somewhere else.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, just a stone's throw from Lincoln Center, Central Park, and Columbus Circle. Room was OK - the door didn't fit the frame well, and let in quite a lot of sound from the hall. Staff were mostly OK, with the exception of the housekeeper who woke me up by knocking loudly on the door, even though I had put the "do not disturb" sign out. For what you get it is expensive, but compared with hotel prices in New York, it's still good value, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The water temperature in the bathrooms were very different and often either very cold or very hot

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and reasonable price. This was my second time staying there. Accommodations are very much like a college dorm, but that's all I needed. I know everyone has a different mattress/pillow preference, so be aware that the ones provided are on the firm side. Bring your own pillow if you prefer softer/fluffier.


77%

Great location for the price!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great gym in the same building.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience, especially if you take advantage of the group-exercise classes during your stay. New York can be stressful, so I'd really recommend taking some of the yoga classes, using the gym, and sauna, and all the other services offered (for free) as part of your stay. Staff was very friendly, helpful. Location is superb. Subway just 3 blocks away. A 24-hr drugstore/market 1 block away and a Whole Foods store 4 blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Not a bad place to stay in the NYC if you dont plan to spend in the hostel more time than necessary :) The rooms are rather spartan, long corridors and not exactly smart facilities. The worst thing were in my opinion the showers. Only three for the whole floor and very little space for you stuff. Common room is on the ground floor but not very much of hanging around. Otherwise really good location near the Central park and Columbus circle subway.


89%

The room was very good, bathrooms need better upkeep as the soap dispenser was not working and there were no paper towels. Staff at the hotel was nice, not very outgoing but not rude either. For the money I thought it was a very good deal and would stay there again.


89%

The staff were super friendly, and the rooms were lovely, but the bathrooms were always so wet everywhere on the tiles.


91%

Staying at the Y isn't for everyone but for someone like me, it's perfect! Clean and safe is what I want when I'm in NYC. I'm out all day and most of the night exploring the city and seeing shows. The location is perfect to dash back late afternoon for a snooze and quick shower and change of clothes. The only drawback is that is does get a bit warm and humid in the rooms. The detergent used in the sheets can cause an allergic reaction. The pillows could use upgrading as they are flat.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It didn't have the normal "backpackers" atmosphere. but it was clean and right near Central Park. Overall a good experience.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Almost good and clean, perfect location, but too small rooms, we were in two rooms during our stay because made a different reservations and it was impossible to combine our bookings into one, we have to checkout then move to room from another reservation, and in first room there were no mirror, it was little bit uncomfortable for two girls. In second room were mirror but was terrible noisy beds, such nosy that we woke up during night cause of it. Excepting this three points, hostel is nice.


60%

Our window wouldn't close and we told the security people three times about it and three times they wrote down our room number and promised us to send the janitor to fix it, but every time we returned to the room the window was still open. Also, when we arrived late at night the hostel staff wasn't there anymore so we had to check in at the security desk, they gave us a form to fill in and when we were unsure what to write they asked us if we were stupid. Staff not so helpful but location great.


66%

their mattress is kinda bad

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Restrooms were dirty all the time.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The best things about this hostel is the location and the gym facilities. The rest simply is just a bed for the night, and you can feel the springs through the thin mattress. There is no change area for the showers as the curtains open straight into the shared basin area. The bathrooms could do with an overhaul but were much cleaner on level 8 then on 9. The cleaning staff do an amazing job considering the amenities. You pay for luggage storage which is only available on check-in or out. No ice.


(91 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback