X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2765 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great gym in the same building.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience, especially if you take advantage of the group-exercise classes during your stay. New York can be stressful, so I'd really recommend taking some of the yoga classes, using the gym, and sauna, and all the other services offered (for free) as part of your stay. Staff was very friendly, helpful. Location is superb. Subway just 3 blocks away. A 24-hr drugstore/market 1 block away and a Whole Foods store 4 blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Not a bad place to stay in the NYC if you dont plan to spend in the hostel more time than necessary :) The rooms are rather spartan, long corridors and not exactly smart facilities. The worst thing were in my opinion the showers. Only three for the whole floor and very little space for you stuff. Common room is on the ground floor but not very much of hanging around. Otherwise really good location near the Central park and Columbus circle subway.


89%

The room was very good, bathrooms need better upkeep as the soap dispenser was not working and there were no paper towels. Staff at the hotel was nice, not very outgoing but not rude either. For the money I thought it was a very good deal and would stay there again.


89%

The staff were super friendly, and the rooms were lovely, but the bathrooms were always so wet everywhere on the tiles.


91%

Staying at the Y isn't for everyone but for someone like me, it's perfect! Clean and safe is what I want when I'm in NYC. I'm out all day and most of the night exploring the city and seeing shows. The location is perfect to dash back late afternoon for a snooze and quick shower and change of clothes. The only drawback is that is does get a bit warm and humid in the rooms. The detergent used in the sheets can cause an allergic reaction. The pillows could use upgrading as they are flat.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It didn't have the normal "backpackers" atmosphere. but it was clean and right near Central Park. Overall a good experience.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Almost good and clean, perfect location, but too small rooms, we were in two rooms during our stay because made a different reservations and it was impossible to combine our bookings into one, we have to checkout then move to room from another reservation, and in first room there were no mirror, it was little bit uncomfortable for two girls. In second room were mirror but was terrible noisy beds, such nosy that we woke up during night cause of it. Excepting this three points, hostel is nice.


60%

Our window wouldn't close and we told the security people three times about it and three times they wrote down our room number and promised us to send the janitor to fix it, but every time we returned to the room the window was still open. Also, when we arrived late at night the hostel staff wasn't there anymore so we had to check in at the security desk, they gave us a form to fill in and when we were unsure what to write they asked us if we were stupid. Staff not so helpful but location great.


66%

their mattress is kinda bad

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Restrooms were dirty all the time.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The best things about this hostel is the location and the gym facilities. The rest simply is just a bed for the night, and you can feel the springs through the thin mattress. There is no change area for the showers as the curtains open straight into the shared basin area. The bathrooms could do with an overhaul but were much cleaner on level 8 then on 9. The cleaning staff do an amazing job considering the amenities. You pay for luggage storage which is only available on check-in or out. No ice.


74%

The location of the hostel is amazing, plus the facilities at the gym are brilliant. As per previous reviews, the accommodation itself is very very basic and could do with an overhaul. The beds are not the most comfortable as quite thin so you feel the springs a little. The female shared bathroom on level 9 was not very good and would flood everytime that someone has a shower. But overall I would still stay here again as it is still one of the cheapest for the Manhatten area and was central.


57%

it was really cold at night. The room was not so clean, and the price is expensive for the hostel.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The window in my room could not be completely close, if the heater wasn't working it was very cold and during windy days it was very noisy.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

No place to really rest for customers, no kitchen,...


86%

The room is small but everything you need is there, bathroom was clean but we saw a cockroach is the hall. Very good location! We enjoyed our stay here!


54%

the Manager was totally ignorant, I called him to tell him some thing he should have appreciated, and in return he called police and threw me out. Even the Police Office said you Manager was lacking in mental ability Sincerely, Russell Kent Phone 570 325 5889 ,

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a pretty cool place to stay at. I wouldn't mind if you had a little breakfast included. Book here now! It's a place for young people, though.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel in great location. The rooms were small and very simple. Few bathrooms to share, just 3 bathrooms per floor. But the price is very good.


(103 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback