X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2782 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

I paid US$85/day for an individual bedroom. It was ok, simple, but comfortable, clean, new bedsheets, new towel everyday, bed made... But - The staff at the reception told me I couldn't pay what Hostel World says, it wasnt available anymore - while it was on the HW site. That "I wouldn't be able to do it" 1 (ONE) restroom for floor 2 with only 3 (THREE) shower cubicles, being 60 bedrooms per floor, is IMPOSSIBLE. The cubicles get dirty easily. And the water WAS NOT HOT, during the hard winter.


91%

The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. I also found that it was very well located for transit to the places that I needed to visit.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Lighting in rooms too dim for reading. Only sheet and cover, no blanket, and I was cold. Pillow thin and lumpy. Bathroom 80 steps away. TV did not work. Staff helpful. Handy and reasonably priced restaurant. Clean common area. Like the diversity. The location and price make this a good choice.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I wish they would re-model the restrooms.


83%

The location is awesome, just next to Columbus Circle. The Y is value for money. The rooms are VERY basic, linens a bit itchy, and the common bathrooms sometimes a bit so and so with sometimes clogged showers, but the location is unsurpassed for me. That's why I keep coming back to the Y. Staff is very nice and they have security on the front desk.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I really like this YMCA , which is a stone's throw from Lincoln Center. To be clear, the room was clean enough, but the bathrooms were not. I do appreciate how hard it is to keep up with shared baths, but being honest, it's a problem.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It´s great the place. Little old the place but great, in my room was only to power suply an donw a desk... if wanna swim there you need your cap. or hav to buy one for 6.5 dollars there is no kitchet properly.. only microwave..


91%

The only thing to let the hostel down was the cold water to the shower, we stayed there for four days and did not have any hot water showers at all.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Water in sink was piping hot. Showers were sadly cold. Room was chilly, take sweats to sleep in. In spite of this I would stay here for the convenience of location.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

the location ant place are ok. rooms are very small but i guess it's the manhattan rule. but why the heck do they have to control your internet activity? some cites THAT WERE NOT PORN, but were 'gay friendly' and 'gay updates' were shut down, isn't that basic homophobia? and the Wifi was quite ridiculous also besides that, i had a great time over there

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is horrible. When I arrive at check in Ms Wade was extremely rude and unprofessional. I was given a Key to Room 919. When I got into the Room there was no Towels, no Hangers in the Closet, no Remote Control for the TV. In addition, if you want to do Laundry there is no Laundry Facility. Their advertisement is a lot of fiction. There is no Internet Access in your Room. You must go and use the Internet Service in the Lounge area. Also if you want to watch porn on the Internet you cannot

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guyana
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

bathrooms were extremely dirty..


60%

We had just cold water for 5 days, even though they promised us twice to fix it. Staff was unfriendly and not really helpful! But the location is perfect for NY!!!


83%

It was hard to get any sleep because people were loud and partying most of the night.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The 9th floor bathrooms were in disrepair. Should be set to fix and all bathrooms have operational, especially if it comes to public restrooms. thanks

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

very bad hostel; we did not mind the old fashion room wiat all, but the bathroom was disguisting, not cleaned and only one sink was working: Hozever, location is great

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Absolutely basic. Excellent location though.


63%

Shared bathroom is very inconvenient.


77%

May look gloomy at first, but it's cool to experience an ascetic life for a few days. Using shower takes guts!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The place had no atmosphere. The room was cell like. Although I had good service from 2 staff members the rest weren't friendly or unhelpful. In the store they left me waiting by the machine to pay and ignored me on 2 occasions and the second time I asked if the lady was serving and was told to wait. That's very poor service. I'd stay again but only if I had someone to share a room with. You need wifi in the building. That a major minus.

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1605 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback