X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2897 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Had a horrible encounter with which may have been the head of security, he was plain right rude, and not helpful at all. Going out of his way to make my time harder. There was no atmosphere what's so ever, and had old men walking around the corridors at night, whom were permanent residents, making me feel uncomfortable. I would never stay there again, and wouldn't recommend it.


77%

One of the worst beds i've ever slept in - also had a loud noise coming from outside all night. On a positive note - location and facilities were great.


69%

Ho soggiornato qui nel periodo di capodanno e la stanza era freddina. Nessuna colazione a disposizione, ma nei dintorni vi sono numerosi cafe. Comoda la posizione, vicino a central park e a portata di 2 stazioni di metropolitana. Non vale la pena prendere la camera singola deluxe (io l'ho scelta solo per questioni di disponibilità), perché è una stanzetta davvero mediocre ed il rapporto qualità-prezzo non è equo. Ad ogni modo, va benissimo come struttura d'appoggio per girare la città.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Shower room too small.


89%

The majority of the cubicle doors in the male bathrooms had broken locks. The showers had poor water pressure and generally only one temperature - either hot or cold. I was very disappointed in the bathrooms. However, they were clean which was good. The bedrooms were nice and also clean.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

1) Seria muito bom se a reforma fosse estendida para o 9º andar, pois há grande diferença nas condições e estruturas em relação ao 10º e 11º andares, especialmente nos banheiros e corredores. 2) Às vezes o aquecimento parava de funcionar em alguns quartos, obrigando os hóspedes a notificarem o problema e esperarem pela solução; 3) Sugiro o aumento da frequência da limpeza nos banheiros, para dar conta do grande fluxo de pessoas nos períodos de alta temporada.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Our floor (Level 11) had 50+ rooms on it with 1 shared male bathroom containing 3x showers, 3x toilets and 3x urinals. This is not enough for all the people on the floor. On top of that the bathroom was always filthy (probably because the volume of people using it).


80%

Os quartos poderiam ser realmente limpos e não apenas a organização das camas.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Don't stay here if your traveling alone as no one wants to engage in conversation people are sleeping in the common room stayed at the YMCA over Christmas so can't complain too much as prices are inflated around that time everywhere. Another big one was that there was no kitchen so eating out every night.


49%

Staffs are not friendly nor kind at all, bathrooms and shower rooms are inconvenient for using and they are dirty and old. The room was super cold so that I caught a cold. No chair in the room, and when I asked for a chair the staff said very unkindly that they don't provide chairs. The bed was very unstable so when I sat on the bed, it once almost fell down. I will never stay here again!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I spent a night in the private deluxe on the 13th floor and it was a good experience. The bathrooms on the floor were clean since there are housekeepers which clean them several times per day. The room and the mattress were good.


94%

LOCATION.LOCATION< LOCATION! Bang for the BUCK!


77%

good located, staff isn't friendly bu haven't been much at the hostel except for sleeping and shower.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location with good amenities but the atmosphere here is terrible. No events or common room or kitchen to meet travelers. Would only stay here if your with other people otherwise single travellers won't meet anybody.


83%

Stayed in the private twin bunk bed room. Room was what you'd expect for the price. Not sparkling clean but not dirty. The bed were comfy enough. Had a little TV to watch whilst getting ready. Only negative I can really say is the showers were the best. No real shower head more like a single spray of of a hose. It was often hot and cold, sometime freezing cold. The location of this hostel for me is fantastic. Few blocks from Columbus circle and the subway. great place would stay again!!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The rule of using bathroom is very confusing. And 11th floor's shower didn't give me warm water. So, I tried to use 12th or 13 rd bathroom, but I couldn't open the door. Please show us clear information.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The rooms were fine but the location was great. Enjoyed our stay.


71%

Wir hatten unser Zimmer in der 8. Etage. Das Zimmer war sauber, jeden frische Handtücher. Die Sanitäranlagen mit 3 Duschen, 3 Wachbecken und 3 Toiletten für so viele Zimmer nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Die Verkäufer im Shop sehr unfreundlich, wenig hilfsbereit, sehr unmotiviert.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

I felt very safe being alone in NYC, but the motion sensor light in my room kept waking me up during the night!


49%

Es un lugar que no es un hostel. Es un alojamiento... si solo buscan dormir y tener baños limpios es muy bueno. La ubicación no es mala pero pocas cosas que busca un viajante de hostel encuentra cerca. Muy aburrido nadie me explico que había un lugar en común para compartir.... lo descubri en el ultimo día.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback