X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2814 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

An very central and convenient place to stay.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Zimmer wahr nicht gereinigt! Der Eingangs bereich wahr sehr modern und schön, jedoch das Stockwerk mit den Zimmern wahr sehr heruntergekommen und in den Stockwerkbadezimmern herschte eine regelrechte verwüstung !

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Chambre vieille et délabrée, climatisation très bruyante même éteinte. Douches communes pas très pratiques ni très intimes, manque d'espace et d'endroits pour poser les affaires. Auberge bien située.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms with private bathrooms are best particularly for older guests.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I had stayed at the WSY a couple of years ago and I did notice that they remodeled and refurbished the whole place, which was very nice. They also now have boards inviting you to join classes and use the sports facilities, the amenities are better now too. The only thing I can say was a bit off is cleanness as the baths were not cleaned during our stay. The room doors are also pretty old and quite noisy when shut or opened to the point it makes it hard to sleep at night.


71%

Horrible shower, two non functioning toilets. Bad cleaning - there was a m&m on the floor the whole time we were there and the floor was not clean.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Internet was tremendously slow. Spoilt the whole hostel experience.


40%

Cleaning staff did not clean our room 3 days in a row! Unfriendly staff. Bathroom shared with the whole floor... 1 of 3 available showers did not work. 3 of 4 sinks did not work. Just a good location close to central park! However just for good location it is too expensive

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Es un espanto, el pasillo tenia olor a perro muerto. Parece un geriátrico. Las piezas son muy chicas. Los baños una verguenza. Una canilla sola andaba para q la comparta mucha gente. De los peores hostel q estuve. Ah e internet no andaba...


69%

The stuff isn't very friendly, but if you only need a place to sleep is a very good choice. Excellent location, very clean.


77%

Ótimo custo benefício em NYC, será ainda melhor quando reformarem todos os andares. Isso pois há uma discrepância muito grande entre os andares que já foram reformados e os que não!

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitivamente volvería a quedarme en este hostel.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This place was extremely disappointing considering how much you pay for it and in comparison to every other hostel we stayed in the USA, this place is pretty terrible. There is no kitchen so you have nowhere to make or store food, there is nowhere to do laundry you have to walk ten minutes to get to the closest laundromat, there are no maps of the city and the staff aren't helpful, the bathroom was gross and the shower had a leak coming from the ceiling, the room is tiny, doesn't feel like a hostel


91%

It was great! I Really enjoyed.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It's the worst place that I've ever been to. Terrible smell all around, bathrooms very dirty, very old building. I world never reccomend this place to anybody.


89%

Hola! Es la segunda vez que me alojo en el hostal, personalmente lo encuentro muy satisfactorio en relación precio-calidad. Excelentemente bien ubicado. Tal vez el único pero, es que el movimiento del hostal comienza muy temprano, lo que puede ser lógico, pero como tengo mal dormir me afecta un poco, hay muchas habitaciones, por eso hay mucho que limpiar. En un Hotel propiamente tan eso no se nota. Pero insisto, tengo sueño liviano :)

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The bathroom and shower room was really hot. There did not seem to be ventilation.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

ocation is perfect, 2 minutes walk from Central Park. There are no dorms as it's not a hostel but a guesthouse. The beds are bunk beds though, and the upper one is dangerous, small and with no rail guard. Restrooms are all shared, but there are plenty of them and fairly clean. No kitchen, no breakfast, but they do have a common area and a small store to buy some basics. The place is also a sports club and guests have full access to the gym, pool, etc., even group classes.


86%

L ubicación es excelente, la habitación es buena, tiene ventana, aire acondicionado, lcd. Lo ordenan y limpian todos los días, y te dan una toalla limpia cada dia. Las duchas comunes son buenas. Lo que habría que mejorar es la limpieza de los baños.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

la ubicacion excelente!! el lugar para dormir esta bien, el tema es que el personal nocturno es poco amable y no hablan español, deberia haber mas personal bilingue.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(150 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback