X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3026 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff seems to be tired

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The room is great. Clean, nice space. However, I have never ever faced a bathroom like this. It is small, you have ZERO privacy and it is COMPLETELY disgusting... I wish I had the option of uploading images, so I could show the rest of the world the absolutly gross aspect of West Side YMCA's bathroom at 11:30pm of a Monday. You come "home" after a busy work day and have to deal with this kind of situation. Honestly, I know I paid for a room with shared bathroom, but no low price justifies that!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

El punto fuerte del Hostel es la buena ubicación. Estuve en una habitación privada y la verdad es que la atmosfera y la habitación parecía mas un hospital que un Hostel. No tiene instalaciones comunes ni actividades grupales. Lo recomiendo solamente para aquellos que estén pensando en quedarse en un hotel de bajo precio (esto es algo similar).

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Great value for money! They don't have to pay city tax so it is cheap and right on Central Park you couldn't get a better location for the price!! Rooms and facilities are very basic but comfortable and clean. I bought some salads and didn't have any cutlery so I asked a staff member in the lobby and he went and found me some plastic forks and spoons. I would stay here again.


57%

I felt so disappoint on this hotel. Even though it has a perfect location- near the central park, its service is bad. The room is so small, 2 people can barely stand in the open space. The door and wall are pretty old. In a word, if you are expecting a fabulous tour in NYC, do not choose this hotel.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Todo fue excelente.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

All'ottavo piano del Ymca l'atmosfera e' a dir poco da carcere minorile.. Letto a castello, muri bianchi, porte in metallo e finestra (non apribile) vista muro!!!


40%

Staff very rude and arrogant. I do not recommend

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hostel. The only thing I had a slight issue was the community bathrooms. They could have been cleaned/serviced a little bit more often.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms were not very clean and there is mold in the bathrooms of the deluxe floor. In my opinion that is not very deluxe. Location is a+. Subways are very close and you are next to central park. Fitness, pool and sauna were very good. And the prices are good!


100%

Great stay would defentley stay again.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a great location, close to Central Park, Lincoln Center and Columbus Circle. Only a 4 block walk to the subway station. We felt safe staying here and walking around the area. There are many restaurants just a block or so away on Broadway and Columbus Avenues. Make sure to bring your own washcloth, since they provide a bath towel, but no washcloth.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Adoro o YMCA é minha 7 vez. pena que não há um programa de filiação q seja vantajoso pra quem é brasileiro e vai uma vez por ano

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

only two showers at the male bathroom worked for the wohle floor.


91%

Séjour excellent, le lieu a répondu à mes valeurs, emplacement idéal, chambre éclairée, lieu idéal pour des personnes qui aiment l'aventure et qui ne cherchent pas le luxe!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Bathrooms were very dirty


77%

Shared bathrooms need to be cleaned more often.


60%

If only money counts, this is definitely the place to go. Location is wonderful. However, bed was bouncing, mattress was really too smooth, shower places did not have enough hiding one from each other, staff cleaned the bathroom while you are taking a shower (in a place that is not well covered).


80%

Since the YMCA West Side is not a hostel why not have mini refrigerators in the rooms? Just keep them turned off until they are occupied. The 13th floor looked super depressing, and so was the room color. Why not use (http://www.dailyinfographic.com/the-psychology-of-colors-infographic) to make your guests more relaxed in there rooms? A little color will go a long way.


69%

La posizione era ottima, la camera pero piuttosto piccola e durante la notte c'erano rumori molto fastidiosi che mi hanno reso molto difficile dormire. Per quanto riguarda la pulizia il bagno lasciava a desiderare, tant'è che ho dovuto acquistare un disinfettante per il wc e per la doccia. Il personale a volte sprezzante. Inoltre il letto faceva uno strano scricchiolio molto fastidioso.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback