X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2730 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Each floor holds at least 20 rooms , yet the men's washroom had only 3 showers . Can get occupied and dirty quickly , no place to hold personal items in the shower unit.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Les serviettes de douche n'étaient pas changées régulièrement. Utiliser les miennes me contraignait à les faire sécher dans ma chambre ou il y a eu de l'humidité.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

muy bien, solo los baños deberían de ser más limpios y arreglados, ya que algunas regaderas no funcionan


83%

Good location, fair prices. Excellent gym services.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This is the worst place we have ever stayed-the rooms were dirty, small and smelly. The pictures of the hostel were completely deceiving- there is nothing new about the place and should be updated. The bathrooms were disgusting and unclean - showers not even remotely private and not enough showers and toilets on each floor. The whole floor smelt damp. Staff were very unhelpful and at points verged on rude.


74%

It's a beautiful building, but the hostel doesn't invest in the guestrooms. It looked poor and weary. Nevertheless I enjoyed my stay: I could swim foor free (nice after a long day of walking in town), the location is excellent; nearby I could find everything you need to have a good time in NY such as busstops, subwaystations, Central Park, a good soulfood shop round the corner. Every day my bed was made up and I got a clean towel. They didn't vacuum the room. Bathroom and toilets: renew it!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Chambre extrêmement bruyante. Lit superposé mais non attaché, une fois le problème signalé personne n'est venu le réparer. Salle de bain commune, pas d'eau chaude pendant les 4 jours de notre séjour, que de l'eau gelée, avec des rideaux de douche cassé, donc mieux vaut ne pas être pudique. BEaucoup trop cher, j'aurai préféré être moins bien placée.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Pela localização é mesmo excelente, além da proximidade com o metro, e da proximidade com a Brodway, 5th Av e etc, é muito bem amparado de cafés, mercados, restaurantes, farmácias e tudo mais. Muitos trajetos eu escolhi fazer até mesmo a pé, vale muito a pena! MAS sobre o hostel em si, apesar da estrutura grande, os quartos são bem mais simples do que aparentam as fotos, as janelas são fixas e não ventilam, os corredores tem mal cheiro, e a pior parte - os banheiros. (continua)

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We (my teenager and I) really enjoyed our stay in this YMCA. Rooms are small, old and kind of dirty, BUT this all is worth it because the staff is SUPER and there are two beautifull authentic swimmingpools in the building! We loved it, also because Central Parc is five steps away and you still enjoy a quiet and nice nightsleep in this beautifull (but busy) city that never sleeps!


46%

The bathroom was really awfull! No locker at toilet, small shower with nothing to set the temperature, dirty...

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Basic but met my needs. Great location w/ many perks I'd stay again!


83%

The room was quite clean and comfortable. Cleaning staff was friendly and did a pretty good job keeping bathroom clean and stocked.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

it has a great location just few steps from central park. Besides the bathroom it has very good facilities.


74%

Rengøring glemte at lukke vores dør to dage i streg - vi mistede heldigvis ingenting.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

位置很棒,但房間非常小,待一兩個晚上可接受


77%

Overall great experience and good value given the location. My only complaint would be that the cleaning staff came in on multiple occasions in the early mornings, to clean the room whilst we were still there.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location for the price, but if you have enough money just rent a room with private bathroom. And nobody will tell you but even if the check in is at 3 pm you can store your luggage in a room if you arrive earlier.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

No good for those looking into meeting other travellers, they charge you to store your bags in a room that is not even locked..2 bucks per bag They provide you with clean towels everyday which is nice...but toilets and showers are small


51%

Staff wasn' t helpful. They dont want give you any information abaut the hostel and the city. In the bathroom was mess all the time.


74%

If its about location, this place is for you. It's walking distance from the best nyc has to offer, including Central Park, Times Square, the subway, and many museums. You won't beat the value for the location. I had one issue with the air conditioner and let the staff know, and after leaving sight seeing for the day, when I returned my room had a new ac unit. Also of course you'll have access to the gym and pool area, but I was so busy sight seeing I didn't have time to try them out.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(141 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback