X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2845 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

This YMCA boasts, among other things, a wonderfully equipped gym. If only they would renovate the communal showers and toilets on the guests floors... These are old, grubby-looking and often not very clean. Some toilet doors are jammed, others don't close. In the 2 days we stayed here, we met with a couple of haggard-looking bums in the shared bathroom that I'm quite sure weren't staying at the Y. To sum up: great potential, lost on poorly kept and secured common bathrooms.


80%

This was my 4th stay at the Westside Y and things have really improved since my first visit. The rooms on the 13th floor are nice and bright and the bathrooms were kept clean at all times. I took a look at the 8th floor and it seems they have not gotten the renovations done there yet. You can't beat this place for location and the price is great for NYC.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Mattress could be more comfortable. too firm and a bit lumpy

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Will recommend this place to people that look for a cheap, clean and safe room in a good NYC location. -Nothing more, nothing less!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Nos dieron una habitación normal cuando habiamos reservado una de "lujo" y ademas nos queria cobrar casi 100 $ mas del precio. La limpieza deja mucho que desear, no nos hicieron la cama en los 4 dias, ni cambiaron las sabanas. Las camas son malisimas y hacen muchisimo ruido. Las ventanas no cierran bien, hace frio y se escucha todo el ruido de la calle. La mitad de los baños estan con desperfectos, unos la ducha rota, otros el grifo, la puerta..... El hostel deja mucho que desear.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Easily the worst hostel of a three month trip...you will feel every spring in your back while you sleep not to mention the bed was curved to make falling off the top bunk easier. No safe or sink in the room, you will be sharing the bathroom with maybe 30 or more other rooms (so potentially 60 or more people). The bathrooms had no locks on toilet doors and three showers which ran hot cold hot cold no matter how you position the leaver. Also no where to put your belongings while having a shower.


100%

I always enjoy staying at the West Side YMCA when I visit New York City to study percussion instruments at the Manhattan School of Music. The staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and quiet and the location on West 63rd Street is ideal. In addition, guests are welcome to use the Y's world-class athletic facilities, including the swimming pool.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Our last night was booked at Hostelworld. The charge was USD 110. Deposit was USD 13. The rest amount USD 97 was to be paid at the hostel. When we got to the hostel, we was charged USD 110 anyway. Thats not fair, is it? We have had many nights at this hostel and is very satisfied, but this not the right way to do it!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

--took three days and nights of asking to get a blanket --room on top floor next to where the staff hangs out gets noisy

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Très bonne adresse pour profiter pleinement de New York. Emplacement top, chambre petite mais confortable et propre. Très bon rapport qualité/prix pour Manhattan. Je conseille vivement cette adresse.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful, the facilities were very clean and the location was perfect. The mattresses were not comfortable as the springs seemed to go right through. Perhaps thicker mattresses would greatly enhance the stay. Would consider staying again.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Location, locationlocation! Basic yet excellent I cad to change a date and they were mos acomaadating at the management level. Big bang for the buck!!


91%

Stayed here several times before. Accommodations are basic, but clean/secure. Can't beat the location, which is amazing for this price range. I was on one of the floors with shared bathrooms and showers this time. There is a morning rush to use the showers, but if you can avoid that, it's fine. Shared bath floors not recommended for people who like the privacy of a hotel, but I didn't mind. For a few dollars more you can stay on a floor with semiprivate bath/showers. Lockable doors for privacy

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nous avons bien été reçu. Nous sommes heureux de notre séjour. L'emplacement est idéalement situé. Nous recommandons cette adresse à nos proches. Merci pour le service rendu.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I chose this hostel for its location and wasn't disappointed. Security was good as was cleanliness. The shared showers were 3 in a row which didn't lead to any kind of privacy. The bed had a plastic covered mattress which was really noisy. The bed was on castors and moved very freely on the hard floor. There was an in house racquetball court which was fine except at 6am. The noise was like a constant drip. There are what appear to be resident, elderly homeless men.


86%

very nice time and experience, thank you, see you next time

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The room that was given to me (419) had a very poor mattress. I am 68 years old, I have a bad back and I could not have slept on such a sagging squishy mattress. When I complained at the reception and asked if either the mattress could be changed or if I could be given another room, I was told all mattresses were alike and that no change was possible. Fortunately, a colleague of mine accepted to switch rooms and I could benefit from a much better mattress (as for him, he did not sleep so well).

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I have already answered this questionnaire & may I add that your translation in French is... poor?


83%

An very central and convenient place to stay.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location, the shared bathrooms could have been a little bit cleaner. Very goos location .


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback