X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2998 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Séjour excellent, le lieu a répondu à mes valeurs, emplacement idéal, chambre éclairée, lieu idéal pour des personnes qui aiment l'aventure et qui ne cherchent pas le luxe!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Shared bathrooms need to be cleaned more often.


60%

If only money counts, this is definitely the place to go. Location is wonderful. However, bed was bouncing, mattress was really too smooth, shower places did not have enough hiding one from each other, staff cleaned the bathroom while you are taking a shower (in a place that is not well covered).


80%

Since the YMCA West Side is not a hostel why not have mini refrigerators in the rooms? Just keep them turned off until they are occupied. The 13th floor looked super depressing, and so was the room color. Why not use (http://www.dailyinfographic.com/the-psychology-of-colors-infographic) to make your guests more relaxed in there rooms? A little color will go a long way.


69%

La posizione era ottima, la camera pero piuttosto piccola e durante la notte c'erano rumori molto fastidiosi che mi hanno reso molto difficile dormire. Per quanto riguarda la pulizia il bagno lasciava a desiderare, tant'è che ho dovuto acquistare un disinfettante per il wc e per la doccia. Il personale a volte sprezzante. Inoltre il letto faceva uno strano scricchiolio molto fastidioso.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Mis à part le fait que le YMCA est bien situé dans Manhattan, je n'ai pas trouvé mon séjour extraordinaire. Nos lit n'étaient pas du tout confortables. Toutefois, la chambre était très propre. AutLes cabinets de toilettes sont tellement petits que lorsqu'on tire la chasse, ça nous éclabousse dessus. De plus, concernant les douche, il n'y a aucune intimité ni espace pour déposer nos effets personnels. J'ai trouvé que c'était un grand irritant. Pas de cuisine commune... décevant.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Excelente ubicación. Dormitorios muy pequeños y básicos.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place to stay at when visiting New York. Compare to other hostel the price is OK to be in New York. Good location and there are a lot of things to do at the hostel like gym, swimming pool, and much more. As a backpacker I didn't use these facilities.. What i was missing was a kitchen. The staff where OK. I would love if they where more helpful. I asked the best way to get to the airport from there and the guard said taxi or Google it. That was a kind of annoying answer.


74%

It was good although I wish it was cheaper. $ 90 was a lot especially since the sheets could be cleaner and since housekeeping only included changing linen and not cleaning the room. Staff was very friendly and cordial and the location was perfect. But it was way too expensive especially for a longer stay !

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Overcharged me but refunded when I showed them the mistake . On the whole a pretty good place to stay opposite Central Park. No cooking facilities.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Toda esta excelente. La atención buena y el ambiente también. La ubicación es lo mejor del hotel. El único problema es la limpieza. No pasan diario a hacer el aseo y el cuarto nos lo entregaron con el piso sucio.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Firstly our room smelt poorly(imagine week old Doritos) and when asked staff were unable to help, when our room was cleaned out sheets were not always cleaned and had stains, during a trial evacuation the lifts were disabled and a cleaning cart was blocking the fire stairs. One day we didn't get any towels and had to ask security for them as reception was closed. The air conditioner in our room barely worked and there was no airflow in our room.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

the staff was rude. The housekeeping was poor( only go 3 times in 5 days) the security very rude as well! The shower only 2 available on my floor, the vendor machines on the floor was damage.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Half of the restrooms are likely to be unstable or broken...

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location of the hostel is excelent. Near a subway station and Broadway avenue. perfect for those who want to explore New York City at its best. The staff wan't that great, though. Not very friendly, and the cleaning people did a lot of noise in the morningi n the corridors. The men's bathroom was oftenly closed for cleaning, forcing me to go to other floors to take a shower. And when it was available, more then once, the toilet was in extremely bad conditions.


77%

My first impression of the room was that it was very spartan, with basic furniture and a bit of space to store your stuff. Decorations of any kind were non-existent, but for a mirror and a TV. In any case, the room fulfilled its purpose. The people at YMCA were generally nice and helpful, and the place felt safe. The room, corridors and bathrooms were clean enough. Location was great, next to Central Park and close to the Subway. A bit expensive for a hostel but still cheaper than most hotels!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Dear Sir or Madam, We reserved Deluxe twin private shared bath room two beds for two night, total is 236.00 $ and deposit 30.32$ on 13th and 14th, Jun 2015. it clear showed and I only should pay 207.68$ when I arrived. But when I arrived at West Side YMCA, 5 West 63rd St.N.Y.10023, New York. The staff told me it is only for one person, I should cancel it and reorder another one room and charge me 280$. It means I spend 72.32$ more for that! Please gave me a explain! Best Xingwang

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay, across the road from central park and easy to walk to places such as times square. The hostel was super clean and there always seemed to be a cleaner on our floor (13th). Not a place to stay if you want to meet other travellers but perfect if youre wanting to travel solo or in a pair. Would stay again :).


69%

Wer für den Preis mehr als ein 3 x 3 m2 großes Zimmer mit Doppelbett mit vergilbten Wänden, Gemeinschaftsbäder-/Toiletten am Gang erwartet & auf eine benutzbare Hotelküche spekuliert wird sicherlich enttäuscht sein. Doch das Reinigungspersonal ist stets bemüht, die zahlreichen "Restrooms" zu Reinigen, was einfach aufgrund der Größe schon ein riesiges Unterfangen ist, man fühlt sich aber durch das Sicherheitspersonal im Hostel gut aufgehoben und es gibt einen Zimmer-Reinigungs-Service.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Excellent emplacement (proximité de central park, 15min à pied de times square, métro à 5 min) Sanitaire commun (douche + toilette) pas propre et vétuste. Climatisation général de l'immeuble extrêmement bruyante et insupportable la nuit!!! Impossible de l’arrêter!! Donc très dur de se reposer de sa journée! (C'est le gros point négatif). Le wi-fi ne marchai pas. A savoir que le café n'est pas gratuit, en faite c'est une boutique accolé à la réception qui en vend. Pas de coffre fort!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback