X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2876 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

LOCATION.LOCATION< LOCATION! Bang for the BUCK!


71%

Great location with good amenities but the atmosphere here is terrible. No events or common room or kitchen to meet travelers. Would only stay here if your with other people otherwise single travellers won't meet anybody.


83%

Stayed in the private twin bunk bed room. Room was what you'd expect for the price. Not sparkling clean but not dirty. The bed were comfy enough. Had a little TV to watch whilst getting ready. Only negative I can really say is the showers were the best. No real shower head more like a single spray of of a hose. It was often hot and cold, sometime freezing cold. The location of this hostel for me is fantastic. Few blocks from Columbus circle and the subway. great place would stay again!!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The rule of using bathroom is very confusing. And 11th floor's shower didn't give me warm water. So, I tried to use 12th or 13 rd bathroom, but I couldn't open the door. Please show us clear information.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The rooms were fine but the location was great. Enjoyed our stay.


71%

Wir hatten unser Zimmer in der 8. Etage. Das Zimmer war sauber, jeden frische Handtücher. Die Sanitäranlagen mit 3 Duschen, 3 Wachbecken und 3 Toiletten für so viele Zimmer nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Die Verkäufer im Shop sehr unfreundlich, wenig hilfsbereit, sehr unmotiviert.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

I felt very safe being alone in NYC, but the motion sensor light in my room kept waking me up during the night!


49%

Es un lugar que no es un hostel. Es un alojamiento... si solo buscan dormir y tener baños limpios es muy bueno. La ubicación no es mala pero pocas cosas que busca un viajante de hostel encuentra cerca. Muy aburrido nadie me explico que había un lugar en común para compartir.... lo descubri en el ultimo día.


100%

muy buen lugar...

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Definitely would stay here again! So different from a typical hostel, you don't get a hostel vibe. It's just like having your own dorm room. The shared bathrooms get messy in the Am. Cleaners come and sort this asap. TV, bed, closet, drawls; amazing for a hostel. It gets a bit cold during the night, so just turn on the heater..Or bring an extra blanket. Still amazing for the price you pay, access to the gym was great, location is amazing, waking up to Central Park EPIC! Very close to Metro.


77%

Die Lage und das Umfeld des Hotels sind wunderbar. Zudem wurde an der Eingangslobby immer eine Kontrolle durchgeführt, ob man auch wirklich in den Zimmern wohnt. Die Mitarbeiter waren, soweit wir sie benötigten, immer freundlich und hilfsbereit. Natürlich ist die Unterkunft nicht mit einem 5 Sterne Hotel zu vergleichen, aber in Sachen Ausstattung steht das Hostel in nichts nach. Jeden Tag wurde das Zimmer gemacht und man bekam neue Handtücher und Seife. Insgesamt eines der besseren Hostel.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the location is worth every penny!

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent location and great price.


94%

Adorei a experiência neste hostel.


94%

Fui en fines de Noviembre y la calefacción era genial y los baños con muy buena presión y temperatura del agua. Siempre pasaban a limpiarlos en el piso 12 por lo menos.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff never answer the phone, and the lady who works at nigh is really rude.


74%

The ubication is the best, I dont believe that any other hostal is better than this one.


80%

This hostel was the best place I could have chosen to stay for our trip to N.Y. The location was fantastic, price could not have been beat, and the rooms were clean. We stayed on the 9th floor. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend their money on other things besides the cost of a hotel.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

This YMCA boasts, among other things, a wonderfully equipped gym. If only they would renovate the communal showers and toilets on the guests floors... These are old, grubby-looking and often not very clean. Some toilet doors are jammed, others don't close. In the 2 days we stayed here, we met with a couple of haggard-looking bums in the shared bathroom that I'm quite sure weren't staying at the Y. To sum up: great potential, lost on poorly kept and secured common bathrooms.


71%

The staff on the front desk were extremely rude and not helpful with a problem I had at the time. Employees need to have better customer service skills


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(115 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback