X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2782 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The bathroom and shower room was really hot. There did not seem to be ventilation.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

L ubicación es excelente, la habitación es buena, tiene ventana, aire acondicionado, lcd. Lo ordenan y limpian todos los días, y te dan una toalla limpia cada dia. Las duchas comunes son buenas. Lo que habría que mejorar es la limpieza de los baños.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

die Sportmöglichkeiten sind gut , die Hygiene und der technische Zusatnd der Waschräume ist nicht so gut, aber das hängt natürlich auch sehr von den Gästen ab. Der roomservice war gut. Die Zimmer sind sehr spartanisch, was in NY vielleicht auch nicht anders geht, die Klimaanlage sehr laut und das Deckenlicht ist sehr grell. Vielleicht ließe sich am Licht was ändern (Leselampe am Bett), das würde schon viel ändern. Das Internet war fast immer überlastet und kaum benutzbar

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Achei ótima a localização, porem o quarto e o banheiro não são muito limpos.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

auberge bien placée de central Park a cote de Colombus circle a 15min a pied de time square chambre propre et correcte peu bruyante en revanche les sanitaires sont sales et vétustes douche eau froide ou eau bouillante personne ne parle Français dans l'hôtel donc si vous êtes comme moi "nul en anglais" prenez vos précautions l'hôtel ne nous a pas réserve la navette retour pour l'aéroport alors qu'on leur avait demandé la veille et il nous avait dit OK

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was with a ventilation system right behind the window that made 24h noise inside. The hostel niether warned about it (the people could still book the room but knowing of the inconvenience or pay more to have a good stay without spoilt vacation & headache all the week) nor did anything to protect the room from that noise (sound-proof window frames with some indoor ventilation). And the staff was so indifferent saying formally that they are overbooked. Some guests were robbed.


77%

L'ostello in ottima posizione. Le stanze erano sempre pulite ma i bagni sul piano non sempre lo erano, forse a causa degli ospiti maleducati che lasciavano la carta ovunque tranne che nel cestino dei rifiuti. I rubinetti dei lavandini erano quasi tutti rotti. Lo spogliatoio con sauna e bagno turco, la palestra e la piscina erano in ottimo stato. Gli impiegati erano tutti molto gentili.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Location location location - that's what you get. The rooms are very small, not very comfortable and the bathroom is small and damp - but! You get value for you're money in a highly expensive country, and if you can settle and are planning to spend little time in your room anyways, then it's definitely worth the money (when it's New York). Some of the staff were super nice, other was irritated and seemed super tired.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was in an excellent location: close to lots of main attractions and to the subway. Room was basic but clean and value for money based on it's location.


100%

Confortável, ótimo atendimento, super bem localizado, limpo, incluindo banheiros!


89%

tres bon accueil! chaleureux, tres bons cours en groupes,

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

I found the Y lack that basic hostel feeling. I checkout the common room and found all these old guys pass out and sleeping in the common area. The building was old and drably and you felt that it was nothing more than a place to crash. I had a twin private and it was actually 2 bunk beds for $100 per night (a bit pricy for what you get). I got there after 11 pm and was told to give my passport to security as a surety which I wasn't comfortable with but will get it back once I paid for my room.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This was a GREAT location, felt fairly safe and was pretty clean. Not on par with some hostels in Europe, but definitely not the worst place I've stayed. The gym facilities and private rooms are a bonus but the non-renovated floors could use it. The bathrooms had great hot water pressure but the toilets/shower/sink situation was a little tight to use. Definitely not a hostel vibe if that's what you're going for but good for people who need to be in town for a day or two for business.


80%

The hostel was okey. Only stayed for one night. The showers was awful. Tiny and the water came out With a power that made you wounder if it was needles.and there where no space to get change in the shower area. If you dont wanna strip down in front of everyone.Nice and fresh lobby. Storage for your bag is posetiv. They got free wifi aswell.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Na experiência que tive, as instalações deixam muito a desejar, um quarto não dos mais agradáveis e um banheiro compartilhado dos piores. Se eu voltaria? Não. Recomendaria? Não. Sonia Regina Cassapian.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I prefer windows that can be opened to the outside air rather than having to use the window-mounted air conditioner, but otherwise everything was all right.


37%

It is the dirtiest place i've ever seen!!! The staff is mannerless, almost embarassing. Aweful experience!!!!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This is in a great location and the facilities really are very good. However the shared bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Really dirty, filthy toilet cubicles and often no toilet paper. The room was good and the air conditioner was excellent!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I recommend you guys, give us more options when we book. Cause I was surprised that we're not allow to do even minor changes . Then all good

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It's really good that the staff always ask for the YMCA card, so that nobody else can enter the hostel

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback