X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2764 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This was a GREAT location, felt fairly safe and was pretty clean. Not on par with some hostels in Europe, but definitely not the worst place I've stayed. The gym facilities and private rooms are a bonus but the non-renovated floors could use it. The bathrooms had great hot water pressure but the toilets/shower/sink situation was a little tight to use. Definitely not a hostel vibe if that's what you're going for but good for people who need to be in town for a day or two for business.


80%

The hostel was okey. Only stayed for one night. The showers was awful. Tiny and the water came out With a power that made you wounder if it was needles.and there where no space to get change in the shower area. If you dont wanna strip down in front of everyone.Nice and fresh lobby. Storage for your bag is posetiv. They got free wifi aswell.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Na experiência que tive, as instalações deixam muito a desejar, um quarto não dos mais agradáveis e um banheiro compartilhado dos piores. Se eu voltaria? Não. Recomendaria? Não. Sonia Regina Cassapian.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I prefer windows that can be opened to the outside air rather than having to use the window-mounted air conditioner, but otherwise everything was all right.


37%

It is the dirtiest place i've ever seen!!! The staff is mannerless, almost embarassing. Aweful experience!!!!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This is in a great location and the facilities really are very good. However the shared bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Really dirty, filthy toilet cubicles and often no toilet paper. The room was good and the air conditioner was excellent!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I recommend you guys, give us more options when we book. Cause I was surprised that we're not allow to do even minor changes . Then all good

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It's really good that the staff always ask for the YMCA card, so that nobody else can enter the hostel

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

el Hostel es muy bueno, relación precio/calidad equivalente. Muy bien ubicado, mi habitación estaba limpia, los baños igual. Es la segunda vez que me quedo ahi y lo volvería hacer sin duda alguna. Lo único que pediría es que el personal sea mas amable, algunos muy simpáticos, pero hay otros que fueron muy pesados, especialment una sra que si hablaba español (yo no hablo ingles) y le preguntaba a ella para que me ayudara y no era muy amable, creo que hasta le molestaba que le hablara en español.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I love staying here. The location is unbelievable. I love that I can wake up and literally cross the street and go for a walk in central park, or walk a block and grab breakfast at Wholefoods. Every subway line is there too. It can't be beat. The rooms are small, but there's satellite TV and A/C. I would, however, recommend paying the extra few dollars for the upgraded floors. They seem to be quieter and more comfortable. Love that the pool and gym are free to use too. Best value in NYC!


66%

Muy buena la ubicación del hotel. Las habitaciones pequeñas pero con lo necesario. Los baños compartidos del piso que me tocó en suerte habían sido remodelados (los de otros pisos no). El personal es cordial y solícito. El detalle desagradable fue haber encontrado cucarachas sobre la cama en dos oportunidades durante mi estadía.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Il faut pas avoir peur d'avoir mal partout le matin à cause des ressorts du lit..


86%

Very good hostel if you are alone or with friends and want to spend some days in NYC. Fabulous position, close to Central Park and close to Columbus Circle with subway station (lines A, B, C, D, 1 with connection to the north Manhattan / Harlem / The Bronx and to lower Manhattan / Brooklyn). Broadway and Times Square are 5/10 minutes walking. There are a lot of places for breakfast nearby, also drugstore and places where eat. Rooms have TV, AC, and wi-fi connection. Bathrooms are cleaned

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

La limpieza es PESIMA. No limpiaron los baños ningún de los tres días que estuve, y había hasta caca en los baños. Totalmente asqueroso. Nadie me daba una respuesta al respecto y de verdad era antihigiénico el lugar. El precio es elevado, sólo estas pagando por la ubicación. Porque las camas son normales, huele mal, lugar feo. Y totalmente asqueroso, vuelvo a repetir, no limpian NUNCA. Es antiguo y sucio. NO VALE LA PENA pagar por este lugar

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Corredores feios e fedidos mas o meu quarto era limpo e agradável de se ficar. Banheiro bom.


66%

There are big diferences between floors. The 10th was really great with bathroom facilities new, but the 8th floor smelled and the bathroom was always dirty. Besides that everything was good. Daily cleaning and fresh towels.


83%

Pratique, pas cher, emplacement idéal c'est la bonne affaire en ce qui concerne l'hébergement à New York. Il manque tout fois l'hygiène...et là ça fait mal !


63%

Prezados, Esqueci quando na data do checkout roupas em uma sacola no hotel. Enviei email para o hotel mas não fui respondido. Esqueci no total 5 bermudas e duas camisas no total de 198 dólares. Não obtive nenhuma resposta do hotel. Este foi apenas o ponto negativo do hotel.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Each floor holds at least 20 rooms , yet the men's washroom had only 3 showers . Can get occupied and dirty quickly , no place to hold personal items in the shower unit.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The restrooms should be clearned often.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback