Hostelworld.com

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
7.4

The location is perfect (very central) and the staff was friendly and helpful. This hostel is however a "party hostel" so there was loud music in some of the rooms, people smoking... The cleanliness of the beds and the bathroom was ok (but not more than that). The luggage storage room was very dirty and did not seem very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Staff helped us find restaurants, massages, and a ride to the airport. Very fun and friendly environment. Breakfast was amazing. Everything was clean. There was even an option for a pub crawl starting in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Great value, quiet at night, your belongings are safe and secure in your room although the lockers do not lock so you'd want to trust those in your room. Within walming distance of food, coffee, bars and piblic transport. WIFI is good, breakfast buffet is cheap at 3euro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
7.1

Booked a 6 bunk room. The toilet and shower are in the same room so it gets messy, moreover there is 1 bathroom/room so if someone is in there it may take a long time. Beds were clean but sheets weren't on so I had to put them on myself. The staff that we met when we checked in weren't really friendly but the ones who came later on were. They put people from same ethnic background in the same room as I was, even though people from other countries checked-in on the same day, felt bit racist.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, excellent location but a little too big so it's hard to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've been. The staffs were friendly. You need to pay the breakfast, but it was good. Clean and safe place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.1

Talk about Value and I will say "Wombats" !!! We paid 10 euros/night in 6 girls' only dorms & it was SPACIOUS and clean and we absolutely LOVE IT !!! The ladies we met in the dorms were so much fun, actually the funniest as well in our trip. The whole hostel was outstanding and we highly recommend it. We felt like staying in a luxurious hotel room. Didn't like the location at night though (Felt not safe) but it's the city center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
10.0

amazing location, clean and the perfect base to explore. Would recommend and stay at other Wombat hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.1

The staff were friendly and the rooms were big. The bathroom look clean but the bed looked a little grubby. I ended up checking out and going back to the hostel I'd stayed at previously because there was no atmosphere at all. I didn't see anyone else there and would have been in a dorm on my own, which as a solo traveler isn't ideal. The Vienna wombats was amazing though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.1

Generally positive! My room was nice, I highly appreciated the cleanliness. One thing is to improve the luggage room situation, the locks are missing, the reception can give more detailed info about how to use it etc. All the rest was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.