Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 7,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 7,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Wombats City Hostel Budapest Located at Kiraly utca 20, , Budapest.
Wombats City Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest Budapest 1061 Kiraly utca 20
89% 7633
47.4991624 19.0580713
Wombats City Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cozmik_faerie
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Dec 2016
10.0

i've stayed here more times than i can count, the location is perfect. the staff always friendly, and the facilities are great. great bar for starting an evening in. good kitchen facilities, nice area to chill out. decent sized rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel! Great location, in close walking distance to all the sites and bars. The rooms are super clean and there is activities all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the nice comment. We hope you will stay with us again sometimes. Yours, WomCrew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

As soon as I walked through the doors I thought 'wow'- the hostel is huge!! The staff were welcoming and helpful with recommendations for places to visit/eat. The dorms have loads of space, are clean and comfy. The en-suite was huge too with a good shower. The facilities were cleaned every day which is great. It was quite easy to meet people whether in the dorms, kitchen or hostel bar. On my last night there was a huge group of students who checked in so it got quite noisy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this amazing review:) We hope we will see you again sometimes. Happy travels, WomCrew

  • rebiscoito
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.9

We loved our double room! Very clean and big. People at reception were a bit arrogant, I felt like I was bothering them every time I wanted to ask for help. Maybe they were like this because the hostel is too big, so it's very impersonal. Apart from that, which wasn't a big problem, the hostel is super cool and the location is perfect! I'll definitely stay there again if I ever go back to Budapest. It was great for a couple, but I could also stay there alone and meet other cool people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for if you felt like our receptionists were arrogant with you. Sometimes everyone has a bad day, but of course it should not affect our guests. It’s good to hear that you liked almost everything else in our hostel, and we hope we will see you again sometimes. Happy travels, your WomCrew

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.1

I can't recommend this hostel enough. It was warm and welcoming and so lively that spending time in the hostel itself was great fun. I lived in a mixed 4 bed dorm, where the bathrooms and rooms were clean. There were lockers for everyone, charging points, and so much space in each room. It was spacious and comfortable to sleep in. The common area was the best, and they have perhaps the best set up common kitchen. This hostel is sorted in every aspect. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for the nice feedback. We are so happy when someone likes us this much Happy travels, your WomCrew

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
9.4

no regret

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Nov 2016
6.3

I had been to Wombats in Vienna which was great and expected something similar. Unfortunately it wasn't. As soon as I entered the hostel, which is huge and impersonal, I was welcomed by 30 teenagers running around and screaming. This group was supposed to leave but was replaced by a new group. This hostel is for school groups and as a single traveller you feel out of place. I would not recommend it unless you like to see teenagers getting drunk for the first time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are really sorry for the bad experiences what you have had here. It’s true, during spring and autumn we have several school groups in the house, but we try to separate them from the individual travellers, we put them on the same floor to not bother other guests. Of course we can’t tell them to not use the common areas. We are sorry if you felt impersonal, we organise concerts and pubcrawls to make new friends in the hostel easily. We wish you happy travels, your womcrew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.7

Really nice, secure hostel. Quiet during the day but more lively when the bar opens. Right in the centre, awesome location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you:)

31st Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel in a great location, with a very helpful staff. The only "flaw": the size of the place which can make it a bit hard to talk to people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the nice words:)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.0

Good place to have a group of people and go out, not much of an atmosphere for solo travellers. But great location, in the centre of everything and easy access to all the amazing Ruin bars and food streets

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry for the weak atmosphere, when there is not too many guests in the house and even they go out for exploring Budapest it can be a bit hard to make new friends. Otherwise we hope you have had a great time in Budapest, and you will visit us sometimes again. Yours, WomCrew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.