X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5700 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was very hot and we have suffered all night

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was cool looking and the staff were really nice. But as far as I could tell, there was no A/C anywhere. We reserved 2 different rooms, paid extra for A/C in both rooms, and it never worked in either room. I heard this similar complaint from other travelers about their "A/C" room. In addition, no fans or any thing else was provided. All in all, it was a very sweaty stay. Which I don't always mind if I'm prepared for it, and of course unless I specifically pay extra to avoid it.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and we are more than sorry for the unpleasant stay.In Hungary we still had the heat alert on during your stay,plus we had to suffer the comlications of a massive strom lately,that's why our elevators and AC didn't work.However you don't pay extra for the AC,it is installed in each and every room and it is a free,extra service,what we couldn't provide this time and we are reallly sorry for that. :( Hope to welcome you again sometimes with full service. Cheers

89%

Such a shame that the air conditioning wasn't working as it made sleeping rather uncomfortable. Other than that, it was a great hostel. Right in the middle of all the action.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

didn't enjoy my stay here. it is well located which is a plus but the staff are really unhelpful and one lady in particular was soo rude! the dorm I was in was a good size but the window was broken and the a/c didn't work - the room got so hot and it was hard to sleep. a single bathroom was in our dorm and was pretty dirty. there didn't appear to be any communal bathroom facilities on the floor either so if someone was in the bathroom you had to hope they wouldn't take long. wouldn't recommend!


83%

A very good place, ideal for socializing. The elevator was not working, WiFi was very poor.


89%

Super fun and super nice staff i think i fancy them all, not just the reception people everyone is just so lovely. Bar is good and fun and huge cool area to hang out. Amazing location near loads of ruin bars and clubs and can easily walk home alone at night and not feel scared at all. Only downside was the heat (the weather did just get super hot though so not entirely the hostels fault) because a lot of the air con was down. Also wifi not amazing connection all the time.


97%

Classical Wombats, they are always good choice :) Everything ok, very nice building and all. After a crazy pubcrawl I was unable to check-out before 10am, but it was not a problem at all, thanks for that ;)


89%

only two drawbacks: 1) elevator was not working; 2) WiFi was very poor


83%

Everything was excellent about the hostel, except for two facts: 1) it is summer and air conditioner didn't work at any room, so me and roomates were melting at night and 2) the elevator which didn´t work either and made me carry a 31kg-luggage up to the 3rd floor.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for the kind words,and sory for the inconveninces.:(The AC does work in each room,but during the heat alert in Hungary it couldn`t cool down the rooms perfectly,sorry for that.Also,thanks to the massive storm&flood in Bp downtown last week,our whole enginery was destroyed in the basement and unfortunately it takes a while to fix such a difficult elevator system and all the other engines.Pls visit us again sometimes for some more fun moments! :-) Cheers from Wombats Bp Staff

69%

Awesome location right near all the bars and cheap eating. The wifi though was pretty much non-existent, especially at night and there was no fans or air conditioning in the rooms so it got extremely hot over night.


94%

Had a comfortable stay and met great people in a clean and open environment. Awesome way to end our europe trip!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyyyy,thank you for the great words,we are soo happy that you enjoyed your stay!!! :-))

83%

We had a great stay and the central location of the hostel was a big advantage, especially if you're here for a limited time. Also the staff are friendly and very helpfull!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I loved staying this hostel. but it would be great of you have a sign to find your hostel easier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for the feedback and we are happy that you had fun! :)Sorry to hear about your difficulties with the given directions.We`ll double check our sites if there is anything confusing and you could also let us know if you found some false info.Our house number and the Wombats flags are clearly visible from the street,so hopefully that is fine.Hope to see you again sometimes!

91%

Excellent location - walking distance to many places and very close to a central metro station. Hostel itself was nice and clean, and had a bar in the foyer which was great for meeting people.


94%

Perfect time staying expect an incident when there was a keys confusion and came back to someone else staying in my room having got door numbers confused :/

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

hostel was in a great location and rooms were good, just like any other wombats hostel which is always good. helpful staff.


100%

Loved it! Really clean and really nice place to set up camp!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Somebody stole my luggage from luggage room. Staff was useless about this situation. First and last time in Wombats. I never recommend this place

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are extremely sorry for your troubles and totally understand being so disappointed.Unfortunately we can`t take any responsibility for anything left in the luggage room like all the signs say,but it`s offered to everyone to leave the valuables at the reception safe.We did check the camera records,called the police but ubfortunately the rest is their job and we couldn`t help much..Sorry again and hope to see you again to show you how great this place can be.Cheers

91%

It was nice, clean and has a decent bar. Friendly staff


57%

In my room there were some of the boards under the bed that was missing. It meant you couldn´t lie there in one of the sides because then there was a hole in it. Also there was a smell fra the sewer in the bathtub. The standard of cleaning also was not fully good. All in all I think the standard was not fully good according to the price.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Sorry for your inconveniences,next time pls let us know immediately if there are any technical issues so we can fix it right away.Also,you can always ask for extra cleaning in case of something is not perfectly clean,however it should have been,sorry for that too.We make sure it never happens again!Hope to see you again though to show you you how clean and comfy we usually are.All the best from Bp

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(351 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback