X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5682 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

didn't enjoy my stay here. it is well located which is a plus but the staff are really unhelpful and one lady in particular was soo rude! the dorm I was in was a good size but the window was broken and the a/c didn't work - the room got so hot and it was hard to sleep. a single bathroom was in our dorm and was pretty dirty. there didn't appear to be any communal bathroom facilities on the floor either so if someone was in the bathroom you had to hope they wouldn't take long. wouldn't recommend!


83%

A very good place, ideal for socializing. The elevator was not working, WiFi was very poor.


89%

Super fun and super nice staff i think i fancy them all, not just the reception people everyone is just so lovely. Bar is good and fun and huge cool area to hang out. Amazing location near loads of ruin bars and clubs and can easily walk home alone at night and not feel scared at all. Only downside was the heat (the weather did just get super hot though so not entirely the hostels fault) because a lot of the air con was down. Also wifi not amazing connection all the time.


97%

Classical Wombats, they are always good choice :) Everything ok, very nice building and all. After a crazy pubcrawl I was unable to check-out before 10am, but it was not a problem at all, thanks for that ;)


89%

only two drawbacks: 1) elevator was not working; 2) WiFi was very poor


83%

Everything was excellent about the hostel, except for two facts: 1) it is summer and air conditioner didn't work at any room, so me and roomates were melting at night and 2) the elevator which didn´t work either and made me carry a 31kg-luggage up to the 3rd floor.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for the kind words,and sory for the inconveninces.:(The AC does work in each room,but during the heat alert in Hungary it couldn`t cool down the rooms perfectly,sorry for that.Also,thanks to the massive storm&flood in Bp downtown last week,our whole enginery was destroyed in the basement and unfortunately it takes a while to fix such a difficult elevator system and all the other engines.Pls visit us again sometimes for some more fun moments! :-) Cheers from Wombats Bp Staff

69%

Awesome location right near all the bars and cheap eating. The wifi though was pretty much non-existent, especially at night and there was no fans or air conditioning in the rooms so it got extremely hot over night.


94%

Had a comfortable stay and met great people in a clean and open environment. Awesome way to end our europe trip!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyyyy,thank you for the great words,we are soo happy that you enjoyed your stay!!! :-))

83%

We had a great stay and the central location of the hostel was a big advantage, especially if you're here for a limited time. Also the staff are friendly and very helpfull!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I loved staying this hostel. but it would be great of you have a sign to find your hostel easier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for the feedback and we are happy that you had fun! :)Sorry to hear about your difficulties with the given directions.We`ll double check our sites if there is anything confusing and you could also let us know if you found some false info.Our house number and the Wombats flags are clearly visible from the street,so hopefully that is fine.Hope to see you again sometimes!

83%

hostel was in a great location and rooms were good, just like any other wombats hostel which is always good. helpful staff.


100%

Loved it! Really clean and really nice place to set up camp!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Somebody stole my luggage from luggage room. Staff was useless about this situation. First and last time in Wombats. I never recommend this place

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are extremely sorry for your troubles and totally understand being so disappointed.Unfortunately we can`t take any responsibility for anything left in the luggage room like all the signs say,but it`s offered to everyone to leave the valuables at the reception safe.We did check the camera records,called the police but ubfortunately the rest is their job and we couldn`t help much..Sorry again and hope to see you again to show you how great this place can be.Cheers

91%

It was nice, clean and has a decent bar. Friendly staff


57%

In my room there were some of the boards under the bed that was missing. It meant you couldn´t lie there in one of the sides because then there was a hole in it. Also there was a smell fra the sewer in the bathtub. The standard of cleaning also was not fully good. All in all I think the standard was not fully good according to the price.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Sorry for your inconveniences,next time pls let us know immediately if there are any technical issues so we can fix it right away.Also,you can always ask for extra cleaning in case of something is not perfectly clean,however it should have been,sorry for that too.We make sure it never happens again!Hope to see you again though to show you you how clean and comfy we usually are.All the best from Bp

69%

No atmosphere at all, top deck tours and contikis run through there. Breakfast was pretty pricey for what you get. Nice hostel though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are sorry that our hostel was not your favourite during your trip :(We are a big hostel and do have regular group,but usually they have their strictly scheduled program in the city so they don't spend much time in the hostel during their 2 days stay.But when they do,they really cheer up the mood in our bar.:-)Our all you can eat breaky costs only 3,3euros, which we think is quite cheap considering that a coffee is 1,5-2euros at most places in donwtown.Hope to see you again sometimes!

94%

The Internet connection is very bad, it freezes and drops frequently, and it's very slow.


89%

Arrived to dirty bed sheets and we had to ask to have new ones. They also had a power cut but offered half price discount for the night we stayed. Very good hostel and amazing staff! Would definitely recommend for location and atmosphere!


77%

A huge hostel making it hard to meet people outside your dorm. Rooms are spacious, mattresses are rubbish being very thin. Location however is amazing for exploring Budapest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!We are very sorry that you didn`t enjoy it here that much,next time you should maybe try our walking tour,pub crawl or just hang around the lobby,kitchen or bar a little bit to meet some more travellers.Sorry for the mattress too,we gonna double check all of them in your room and replcae it if needed,cuz usually they are very comfy.Pls visit us again sometimes so we can show you the real Wombats expreince! :-) Cheers

77%

The hostel was clean and staff were friendly. I had booked for three people but when we arrived we had only two. We checked in after midnight and when we arrived to the room there were only two beds free and an extra one on the floor. We were lucky there were only two of us as if you've paid for a night you expect a bed. Other than that no complaints.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(345 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback