X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4505 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Very well located hostel with decent facilites. However the cleaners pushed water onto my bags completly soaking them in bathroom scunge... not on.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. You need to smoke out the front door but there were locals waiting at the front trying to sell drugs/ask for cigarettes. Maybe management should look at this security. Apart from that it's a great hostel. Would stay again


83%

Only thing bad was the WIFI. The hostel is really really clean. The social atmostphere is bad as there isn't much other than a bar but not very outgoing.


91%

Great location, lots of bars, shops and restaurants around. Walking distance to everything! Great hostel


83%

There were some problem with the bathroom: the shower overflowed and made the floor wet, and there was no hand soap for hand cleansing (I don't think the soap would cost that much for a room). Asides from this point, the hostel was very nice!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

One word...bedbugs

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

FAVOURITE hostel from our entire trip around Europe by far! Large, clean dorms with nice en-suite bathrooms. The location was great, very central and close to places to eat (pizza, Mexican etc). The staff were very friendly and happy to offer recommendations or give directions to certain places. The atmosphere was great - lots of other friendly backpackers up for a good time. We went to the bar every night and met new groups of people with whom we then went out with. Great free walking tour!


100%

Very good hostel. Everything was perfect: security, location, staff, etc. I recommend this amazing place for everyone.


100%

Awesome hostel good location clean and good atmosphere


69%

The hostel is clean and has a good location. But for me it was just to massive. There were a lot a bachelor party's, waiting to check in, no atmosphere, not a good place for a single traveller to meet other travellers.


100%

We recently stayed here while we were travelling. The hostel is in the perfect location in the centre of the City. The staff were lovely, very helpful and welcoming. There is a bar in the hostel which is a great way to meet other travellers. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the nice words, hope to see you in our other houses as well! :-)

83%

Great location, large hostel so atmosphere somewhat lacking. Staff were helpful with the exception of one. Clean rooms. Would stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your feedback, we try our best to make the hostel even more cosy despite of the size. Also, it would be very useful if you could tell us via private mail what made you feel that our receptionist wasn!t helpful. We`d like to avoid such situations in the future.Hope to see you next time.

91%

hairdryer is important for travelers! if broken,they should be fixed. in the meantime, a good idea would be to have some in the reception.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback and we are really sorry if you had difficulties with the hairdyer. All technical problems should be reported at the reception and usually fixed in a few hours maximum!There are exceptional cases when we need more time, but there always should be a solution by changing rooms etc. So sorry again if you were not satisfied with our solution or it took too long time.Hope to see you next time anyway!

91%

Great location, you can find whatever you need around. didn't see any bad sied about there.I also recommend all Wombat's Hostels.They are really good at their jobs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, visit us in London as well! :-)

69%

Not as great as I'd hoped. Wifi was not worth logging on to, not unusual though. Staff weren't helpful and atmosphere wasn't as good as slightly smaller hostels. I prefer Maverick Hostel.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback and sorry for your expereinces! It would be a great help for us if you could tell us via private mail what made you feel that our receptionist wasn`t helpful.We`d like to make sure that it won`t happen again! Regarding the atmosphere: of course it can`t be as cosy as a small hostel, but we try our best to make more than 400 guests feel like at home. The bar, the guest kitchen and the cosy lobby is also just for that!

91%

great really hostel. just need to hire more staff. salaries in budapest aind that high.


77%

A very well located hostel that feels really large. Can be a bit overwhelming as most stayers are in big tour groups. Staff were next to useless and not particularly enthusiastic about much. Otherwise my room was great but some of the other boys got bedbugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your feedback and sorry that you didn`t enjoy your stay that much. To avoid such complaints in the future, pls tell us in a private e-mail what made you feel that our receptionists were not helpful enough. And yes, we have big groups regularly, but we are always careful and try keep the balance with having as many individual travellers as possible. Hope to see you again sometimes!

91%

Clean, secure and modern. A little bit noisy at times but that's no big deal. Would stay again.


91%

very Kind welcome, detailled introduction, completely satisfying of course it is a hostel for Young People, therefore we accepted the noice Level in and around the compound, also the furnishing style good choice to set up a hostel in Kiraly utca

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Only bad point : way too big, it looses the spirit of a hostel


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(367 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback