X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5107 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Vibrant hostel , large communal kitchen, convenient location. Wifi is the big negative factor for the otherwise better than average hostel, it is so very weak and keep dropping out every minute even it is used in the designated location ( such as the communal area.)


91%

Staff, location and breakfast were outstanding but t was really frustrating to not have wifi. It didn't even work consistently in the lobby which made booking next travel plans very difficult. This is so necessary for travellers!!


37%

Been traveling Europe for months and this was the WORST stay. Found a bed bug in the bathroom and were told that no one who could deal with them was on staff until morning. One employee said that they don't give refunds because it's not the hostel's fault and it's the risk you take. Long story short: we found more and stayed up ALL NIGHT washing everything. THEY SAID THEY HAVE BED BUG INFESTATIONS ONCE A MONTH. Forced them to call a manager the next morning and got a refund and apology.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!We are more than sorry for your unpleasant stay,but I think we tried our best to compensate you.We provided you free laundry,a different, super clean room and refunded the whole stay.Pls understand,that refunding such amount is managment responsibility,so such cases always need to be discussed with them.And with staying is hostels you risk this problem,cause "they" travel in backpacks,sleeping bags etc,so this issue easily turns up in the cleanest hostels as well.Hope to see u next time!

91%

Excellent location and staff but too much noise at night. If you're looking to party in Budapest, great place, if you want to have a nice rest and wake up early to walk all day then it might not be the best option, although the price is excellent..

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Don't stay anywhere else ! Nice Staff, big rooms and walking distance from everything !

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I chose to stay in girl dorm, really. But didnt expect to stay in mix wing. Cant sleep all 3 nights as some male teenager shout, slammed the door, sing songs every 20 minutes. If you are party guys, do stay here. But if you want a place to stay calmly, choose another place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the noise.:( Next time pls come to reception asap so we can solve the situation.We could even provide you a different room.Otherwise we do have GIRL rooms, but no GIRL "wing" and even if we would have, female guests can be noisy as well..:-) Anyway, really sorry again and hope to have you here again to provide you you a more quiet stay. All the best

80%

Nice space, but lacking in more "local" charm. Great facilities, amenable staff. Mostly English speaking travellers throughout.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Someone puked in the lobby bathroom and it took a day to clean. The wifi simply didn't work and what's the deal with no hand soap??

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are extremeply sorry for your expereinces. :-(Usually we are proud of our cleanliness.If it happened in the middle of the night after guests returning from clubs,it could happen that only our 1st cleaning staff noticed it early morning,but it`s max. few hours later, not a day.We do provide hand soap,next time pls feel free to ask if it runs out in your room or if you need any extra cleaning.We are working on our wifi to make it more stabile,it will be fixed very soon! All the best!

86%

The hostel is good located and the staff is really helpfull! The bathrooms are in the Bedroom so it can be a little noisy and the wifi doesn't work so good in some bedrooms.


94%

The internet is really the bigger problem in this hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was incredibly noisy when we were trying to sleep at night. Felt like the walls were paper thin!! We were on 4th floor. I've stayed on other floors before and it's not been like that. Maybe 4th floor is better for dormitories and not 2/4 person rooms.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! we are really really sorry for your bad sleep. :(( we are working on a new solution with some special sound proof material for the corridors to avoid such inconveniences in the future.it will be done very soon.also, you can come to reception anytime and we'll try our best to provide you a nice&quiet room. cheers from budapest!

97%

Really nice location right in front of nice bars and restaurants. It's gets really crowded around the hostel area at night, everyone goes out around there, what makes it safer to walk round at night. Right near a bus/metro station that connects you everywhere.


80%

Perfect location, terrible Internet, bathroom not very clean. But worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are working on the wifi issue, it will be fixed very soon. Usually we are proud of our cleanliness, so next time pls ask for extra cleaning anytime at the reception. In more bedded dorms it could get messy very quickly, even if we clean it pertfectly every day.Hope you had a nice stay anyway and we'll see you again. Happy travels!

80%

Wombats in Budapest was better than I expected. It was not too loud for a party hostel - although if you need to sleep and are there on weekends I would say use earplugs (we had an early flight). The AC was not working although we reported it to the front desk - it never was fixed and our room was very warm. A few rogue hairs on the sheets was gross but they do give you fresh linens so not sure about that. Staff was sleeping at 5:30 a.m. when we went down to catch the shuttle.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry for too hot room.We have the heating still on, cuz it can be chilly in April in Hungary,but you could have easily adjusted the thermometer in your room separately. We'll check it out right away, if it wasn't working perfectly, but next time pls feel free to report any technical defaults 0-24 at reception.We'll also talk to the nightshift members to get a clear pics of what happened that night. Hope to see you next anyway! All the best

69%

when we booked with hostelworld.com it said we could check in at 12 pm. reality showed us that the staff was too incompetent to let us check in at time and let us wait until 5 pm!!! staff was very impolite, rude and disrespectful.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and we are very sad for your bad experiences.:(You can indicate your arrival time on HW,but our check in starts at 2pm,like it says on HW and on our website.Sorry for the late check in,but you tried twice before 2pm and once exactly at the shift change time,which meant 10 more min waiting.Sorry again,especially cuz we try our best to get the rooms ready as early as possible.Regarding the staff,a private mail would be nice to explain the exact problem.Cheers

86%

The Hostel was boiling hot, the radiators seemed to be pumping heat 24/7. Fortunately we could open the windows. I guess its just between summer and winter right now. The hostel is very large, IMHO a bit too big for what I usually like, it seemed quite an anonymous place - lucky there were 9 in our group! Generally the staff were helpful, the hostel was clean, the beds comfortable, and the price good - so its a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thanks a lot for your feedback and we are sorry for too hot room.We have to have the heating son, cuz it can be chilly in April in Hungary,but you could have easily adjusted the thermometer in your room separately. We'll check it out right away, if it wasn't working properly in your room, but next time pls feel free to report any technical defaults even in the middle of the night. Hope you enjoyed Budapest anyway! :-)

91%

Wombats is in an amazing location - near to the river, shopping centre, restaurants, clubs etc. We didn't have to use the trams or underground at all once we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was really clean and spacious. The bar was really cheap and there was lots of communal space to meet other travellers. Only downsides was that the doors to the rooms were quite thin so you could hear people in the corridor and the wifi wasn't very good.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for the nice words! :-) We are working on the wifi and the noise problems,so next time you come, everything will be perfetc! :-) All the best from Bp! :-)

89%

Massive hostel. Too big for solo traveler. Great though for groups. Still had a good time!


100%

Wombats was very convinient and at a really good location, just walks away from the main shopping area and sights and also pretty neat restaurants. Great location for access to many pubs and ruin pubs too.


94%

Awesome, big hostel in the middle of all the action. Suuuper clean, and good breakfasts.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(195 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback