X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5688 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The only reason why I evaluated 'facilities' with 'average' is because wi-fi internet was horrible. At least during the days I was there, I really had difficulties to connect. Set aside this, it was an awesome experience! Very good hostel and super kind and nice staff.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Cleaning people woke us up early every morning. The wifi worked half the time, and the only other option for Internet was to pay to use the desktops there. They allowed some sketchy older local people to stay there, definitely need an age limit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry for your troubles.The cleaning staff is only supposed to enter the rooms after 10 am, if they did it earlier,they should have a reason and it was only for your convenience,but still sorry for that.We do not have and age limit,but we try our best to make everybody happy.Next time if you don't feel comfortable with your roommates,just pls let us know and we find you another room.Sorry for the not perfect wifi,we are working on it!Cheers

94%

Everything was very, very good, except the wi-fi, which was pretty much unusable. They were working on improving it, though.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hostel. Well located. Good vibe at the bar. Good value for money. The AC in our room did not work, but we didnt mention this to reception as we didn't spend much time inside anyway. Could maybe do with other facilities to compete with Europe's best hostels, outdoor areas, terrace, pool etc... On the whole, I would stay again


89%

The usual great Wombats experience. We also stayed at the Munich location, which was awesome. Pros: right by the city center, metro, supermarkets, weekend festivals, ruinbars. Staff gave great sight and dining suggestions. Cons: not many people at the bar, which was not the case in the Munich location. Had to go out for a social scene.


97%

Huge hostel in a perfect location! Very sturdy bunk beds with a shelf, outlet, and reading lamp for each bed. There are big lockers in the room that lock with your key card! The breakfast is cheap and worth it, and you get a free drink voucher for the bar. I had trouble with the wifi dropping occasionally, but it reconnected pretty quickly. I would absolutely stay here again or in any of their other locations!


94%

The internet was terribly slow!


83%

Breakfast was very basic. Not a lot of selection.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed two nights and the only thing I can say is that is was really perfect ! Great location, it's clean, spacious, very nice atmosphere and decoration, the rooms are really cosy and the staff is super nice and understanding, I totally recommand this place !!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Standard large hostel. Very good facilities and really well organised. The staff were really helpful.


74%

I like the kitchen, the backpackers could cook lunch/dinner themselves. Also, the location is good.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel has crappy wifi but all in all a good stay- right next to the Jewish quarter and very convenient location, good ambience and lockers were very good.


69%

The Wifi just drove my friends and I crazy! Yes we did connect the wifi, but the signal was so weak that we were unable to open a webpage, check any email, find places on Google maps or send message. We literally had five unplugged days!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Sorry for the inconveniences,our wifi is truly not perfect,but it is working fine at the common areas and it also depends on the devices.For some guests it`s just perfect while others has difficulties. We also have guest computers for a symbolic fee to use and you are also welcome to use our computers in urgent cases or if you need to print.Sorry again and hope to see you again sometimes to welcome you with a perfect wifi system!

89%

We had a nice time, and the staff was very helpful. Very close to metro and tram, and plenty of nice places to eat and drink within walking distance. My complains are the following: The toilet in our room smelled like drainage. The light at the toilet flickered, and at least half of the individual bedlights were not working. We reserved one mixed room for four beds, and we were placed in a 6-bed room, with an additional person that we didn't know.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the troubles. Next time pls report it immediately at reception if there are anything to fix in your room, cause we are happy to solve the problems anytime.Sorry for the room type mix up as well,next time pls tell us immediately so we can provide you that room type what you have booked. We often upgrade reservations to make the guests happy and never "downgrade" them,it must have been a mistake..Hope to welcome you again with perfect service! :-)

77%

Wifi did not work. We went to two different Mueseams that were closed because we couldn't pull up websites. Front desk was very friendly and helpful but didn't know locations or directions. Only one toaster at breakfast for everyone to share, hostel cleaning staff was pushy and used toaster before guests. Would not stay again. People drinking in rooms all night, being loud. Too big, felt like a corporate hotel more than a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for your feedback&we are sorry for your impressions.We are working on our wifi system&it already works fine in common areas.In Budapest all museums are closed on Mondays and I`m sure our staff would have informed you about this if you asked or checked in any guide books.Also,they all live in Bp and know the city well!Sorry for the brekfast rush,it must have been an extraordinary case,usually the staff eat separately and don`t bother the guests,we are sorry for that!All the best

89%

Great staff and facilities! Nice atmosphere and wonderful people.


77%

This is an old hotel turned hostel. If you are traveling alone find another place to stay. You only stay here with you're other 30 classmates from HS. There's a bar and breakfast and kitchen and 500 other people there with you. It's a clean place with staff willing to help but they cater mostly to big groups. Close enough to a metro station and lots of places to eat. The biggest hostel I've ever stayed in. Big doesn't always mean good.


83%

The rooms were okay and the staff was nice for the most part. The bar wasn't very active and there wasn't much of a social atmosphere. There really aren't any organized events so it's a bit harder to meet people as a solo traveller. Okay place to stay as a group, but would not recommend if you're trying to meet people.


66%

Don't expect the atmosphere of a small hostel. Wombat is like an hotel. Also, if you have the misfortune to be sleeping on the first floor, let me tell you that you won't get any sleep. There is music at the reception that plays 24/7 and you can hear it all. They were kind enough to let us change room but music should stop at one point in the night... Also, if you want to go to Budapest to enjoy the bars, this is the place for you. It is surrounded by bars... This was not for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are very sorry for any inconvenience you might have had in our Hostel. We always try to keep the music low from 11pm although it may be played until late in the bar (on weekends mostly). We are sure that music does not reach the 1st floor but being in the city center brings other sounds from the outside as well, bars and restaurants are all over the city center.

86%

The facilities are good and location is excellent. The staff was friendly and willing to help. The room and linen were clean and nice but the bathroom (in an 8 people room) wsa not as clean as desirable although the facilities were good.


(349 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback