X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5385 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Too loud a the night. But everything is so nice!!! Nice staff and nice hostel!! I am so satisfied about this hostel!!! Thank you guys!


97%

I love Wombats


91%

Nice place to stay in Budapest. The hostel is well-located within the jewish quarter surrounded by shops, bars and clubs. As it had been really hot, I would have appreciated a working air conditioner in my room. Staff has been always friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks so much for the nice feedback,we are more than happy that you had a nice Budapest-expereince!:-)There is AC in all of our rooms,and they are ON 0-24 during the summer months,you just need to adjust it manually in your room if it`s too cold or not cold enough.Next time pls let us know if you have technical difficulties with anything,we are always ready to solve any kind of issues.Hope to have you here again in one of our super airconditioned room. :-) cheers

100%

Amazing! Staff were great, it's so clean and spacious, the lounge is a great way to meet other travellers and the bar is a great addition to the experience. Rooms are spacious, perfect sized bathrooms with AC and lockers. Would recommend to everyone! And breakfast is well worth spending money on.


74%

Perfect location for all the old ruin bars and close to buda to explore the castle. Room was decent with ensuite which was nice. Found some of the staff members to not be that clued up on local events on or have that much local knowledge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for your feedback,we appreciate it.We are surprised and we feel sorry to hear your imression on our staff.Most of them are locals and has great knowledge on the local events and sights, but we are also happy to hire foreigners to make it international.They also know the area very well,but some of the new ones probably need some more time to be as perfect as the others.But there are always 2 or 3 of them in each shift,so next time pls ask all of them if you are not satisfied yet.

91%

As I have already stayed in Wombats Vienna, I've chosen again this kind of hostel. The rooms and bathrooms have been clean, staff was really nice and the hostel itself was well-located within the jewish district. As you arrive you will get a voucher for a welcome-drink at the hostels' bar. I highly recommend this hostel for staying in Budapest.


100%

Wombat's is unbelievable,never been to such a clean hostel. Spacious rooms with AC and private bathroom!.Security lockers for your personal belongings.Staff was super friendly and helpful,always ready to help you out with insider tips.Got a welcome drink upon arrival and had some fun in their bar,also the neighborhood was great to go out. Definately recommended, it's a fun place to stay in Budapest.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very very loud guests when we stayed. Noise was unacceptable, screaming swearing and shouting homophobic and racist terms. We informed staff (who had all ready been informed by other guests) and they did very little to deal with the situation which was very disappointing. Apart from this the hostel itself was super just a shame about inconsiderate guests.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant situation, however I`m sure that our staff tried their best to keep the noise level down.We are very sorry if they didn`t manage to do that properly, we`ll make sure it wouldn`t happen again. Noone feels more sorry than us for such behaviours,we can`t accept when our guest don`t respect each other. :( Hope to see you next time to provide you a much better WomExpereince.

97%

really good! i recommend it to everyone


100%

Great healthy breakfast. Worth the extra money. Excellent staff.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Wombats Budapest is good value for money & the location is super central! There is a metro within 2 minutes walking distance and a tram down the other end of the street. There are restaurants and clubs in the surrounding buildings, as well as cheap supermarkets. The rooms were clean, spacious and all had power points on the beds & safety lockers. The hostel also has a great bar & a huge guest kitchen for cooking your own meals! The staff are super friendly & helpful too! 100% recommend!


94%

Best wombats of all! Second time there, no regrets! Gotta love Budapest


71%

Wombats was a perfectly adequate place to stay for a night in Budapest. It's got a wonderful location right by the Jewish district, which is fascinating. It was very helpful to have a secure luggage room. My only concern was with some possible water damage in the building - it leaked quite a bit during a big downpour - but they seemed to be taking care of that. It's also very well located for nightlife and food! I enjoyed my stay - it was a great place to meet people before a night out!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks a lot for the great feedback we are super happy that you had a nice stay.Pls don't worry about our building,it was the biggest rain/ice of the year and probably in the whole history of the hostel,and yes we took care of the problems already! :-)Hope to see you next time in Budapest! :-)

89%

The only reason why I evaluated 'facilities' with 'average' is because wi-fi internet was horrible. At least during the days I was there, I really had difficulties to connect. Set aside this, it was an awesome experience! Very good hostel and super kind and nice staff.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Cleaning people woke us up early every morning. The wifi worked half the time, and the only other option for Internet was to pay to use the desktops there. They allowed some sketchy older local people to stay there, definitely need an age limit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry for your troubles.The cleaning staff is only supposed to enter the rooms after 10 am, if they did it earlier,they should have a reason and it was only for your convenience,but still sorry for that.We do not have and age limit,but we try our best to make everybody happy.Next time if you don't feel comfortable with your roommates,just pls let us know and we find you another room.Sorry for the not perfect wifi,we are working on it!Cheers

94%

Everything was very, very good, except the wi-fi, which was pretty much unusable. They were working on improving it, though.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hostel. Well located. Good vibe at the bar. Good value for money. The AC in our room did not work, but we didnt mention this to reception as we didn't spend much time inside anyway. Could maybe do with other facilities to compete with Europe's best hostels, outdoor areas, terrace, pool etc... On the whole, I would stay again


89%

The usual great Wombats experience. We also stayed at the Munich location, which was awesome. Pros: right by the city center, metro, supermarkets, weekend festivals, ruinbars. Staff gave great sight and dining suggestions. Cons: not many people at the bar, which was not the case in the Munich location. Had to go out for a social scene.


97%

Huge hostel in a perfect location! Very sturdy bunk beds with a shelf, outlet, and reading lamp for each bed. There are big lockers in the room that lock with your key card! The breakfast is cheap and worth it, and you get a free drink voucher for the bar. I had trouble with the wifi dropping occasionally, but it reconnected pretty quickly. I would absolutely stay here again or in any of their other locations!


94%

The internet was terribly slow!


(262 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback