X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5703 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent location - walking distance to many places and very close to a central metro station. Hostel itself was nice and clean, and had a bar in the foyer which was great for meeting people.


94%

Perfect time staying expect an incident when there was a keys confusion and came back to someone else staying in my room having got door numbers confused :/

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

hostel was in a great location and rooms were good, just like any other wombats hostel which is always good. helpful staff.


100%

Loved it! Really clean and really nice place to set up camp!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Somebody stole my luggage from luggage room. Staff was useless about this situation. First and last time in Wombats. I never recommend this place

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are extremely sorry for your troubles and totally understand being so disappointed.Unfortunately we can`t take any responsibility for anything left in the luggage room like all the signs say,but it`s offered to everyone to leave the valuables at the reception safe.We did check the camera records,called the police but ubfortunately the rest is their job and we couldn`t help much..Sorry again and hope to see you again to show you how great this place can be.Cheers

91%

It was nice, clean and has a decent bar. Friendly staff


57%

In my room there were some of the boards under the bed that was missing. It meant you couldn´t lie there in one of the sides because then there was a hole in it. Also there was a smell fra the sewer in the bathtub. The standard of cleaning also was not fully good. All in all I think the standard was not fully good according to the price.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Sorry for your inconveniences,next time pls let us know immediately if there are any technical issues so we can fix it right away.Also,you can always ask for extra cleaning in case of something is not perfectly clean,however it should have been,sorry for that too.We make sure it never happens again!Hope to see you again though to show you you how clean and comfy we usually are.All the best from Bp

69%

No atmosphere at all, top deck tours and contikis run through there. Breakfast was pretty pricey for what you get. Nice hostel though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!We are sorry that our hostel was not your favourite during your trip :(We are a big hostel and do have regular group,but usually they have their strictly scheduled program in the city so they don't spend much time in the hostel during their 2 days stay.But when they do,they really cheer up the mood in our bar.:-)Our all you can eat breaky costs only 3,3euros, which we think is quite cheap considering that a coffee is 1,5-2euros at most places in donwtown.Hope to see you again sometimes!

94%

The Internet connection is very bad, it freezes and drops frequently, and it's very slow.


29%

We booked Wombats City Hostel Budapest through Hostel World, and were extremely disappointed because when we arrived, they said they had not received our reservation and were fully booked. At that point, I asked the front desk to help us find another location nearby, because it was 10 PM, but they were not helpful and said most of the city is probably booked, and "good luck". My friend and I then had to struggle to rent a hotel room, which cost us $130 CAD above and beyond any deposit. Horrible.


89%

Arrived to dirty bed sheets and we had to ask to have new ones. They also had a power cut but offered half price discount for the night we stayed. Very good hostel and amazing staff! Would definitely recommend for location and atmosphere!


77%

A huge hostel making it hard to meet people outside your dorm. Rooms are spacious, mattresses are rubbish being very thin. Location however is amazing for exploring Budapest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!We are very sorry that you didn`t enjoy it here that much,next time you should maybe try our walking tour,pub crawl or just hang around the lobby,kitchen or bar a little bit to meet some more travellers.Sorry for the mattress too,we gonna double check all of them in your room and replcae it if needed,cuz usually they are very comfy.Pls visit us again sometimes so we can show you the real Wombats expreince! :-) Cheers

77%

The hostel was clean and staff were friendly. I had booked for three people but when we arrived we had only two. We checked in after midnight and when we arrived to the room there were only two beds free and an extra one on the floor. We were lucky there were only two of us as if you've paid for a night you expect a bed. Other than that no complaints.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The wifi was a tad slow. Otherwise it was pretty nice. I was annoyed when there was a large check in que and the staff chose to have a shift change in the middle of it. It would have run a lot smoother with an extra 30-60min overtime.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Sorry for the instabile wifi,we`ve been working on it for a while now and we should see the results soon.Our staff did have to change the shift at the certain time,so they have no chance to choose.A huge hostel which runs 0-24h can`t afford to work with tired and overworked staff,we have to keep the 8 hours long shift schedules so we can welcome you with friendly&smiling receptionists and it took only 10min anyway.After Sziget Fesztival it`s always extremely busy,but sorry again for that.

94%

Great place to stay, great location and the facilities are really good. Except for the wifi, I had better wifi in remote areas in Costa Rica! There was a bad storm when I was there and there was no power, hot water of wifi for the night. Apparently this has never happened before so I think I just got unlucky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Yes,those really exceptional days we had to survive,thank you for your understanding.Sorry for the wifi too,we are working on it continously and it already works fine for most of the guests in the common areas.Pls visit us again sometimes to see how a perfect day without storm&flood looks like in Wombats Budapest. :-)All the best

89%

I love this Hostel and the only reason I didnt give it a perfect score is that there was a torrential rain storm with lots of floods and power cuts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for the cool feedback and we are really sorry that you had to experience this huge storm in Bp.Unfortunately the whole city`s pipe system was not prepared for this amount of rain and most of the the buildings in the center were affected and had to survive 1-2days without electricity and hot water.We tried our best to solve the problems as quick as possible,but unfortunately under such circumstances it took a while.Thanks for your understanding and hope to see you again!

86%

I loved Wombats. The rooms were wonderful. A good size and comfortable beds. My only complaints would be that because they are a chain and such a large hostel, they don't have the same cozy feel as other hostels and going down to the wombat is really the only way to meet people in the hostel.


89%

Overall a really good hostel, very busy and great to meet people - bar crawl was a great night. Staff could have been a bit more helpful, and would be useful to have some facilities to shower/change before check in (eg when arriving from a sleeper train!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks a lot for your feedback and we are happy that in general you had fun with us.Really sorry though for the bad imression of our staff,if you have time pls let us know what exactly made you feel like that so we can try our best to avoid it in the future.Also,since ALL of our rooms has private bathroom and we have more than 400beds,it wouldn`t be possible to provide a huge common shower for everybody.:( BUT we try our best to get ready with the rooms as quick as possible!Cheers

100%

This hostel was excellent. Location was perfect. Staff were really friendly. A lot of activities offered also like pub crawls and walking tours. Couldn't ask for more

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Wombats was recommended to me by a few people, and it didn't disappoint! There is such a fun vibe about this hostel, really modern & extremely clean. Lockers were the best we experienced, it locks by your key card so no padlocks needed. Rooms were spacious and there's even a full length mirror!! Kitchen facilities are also amazing, everything you could need and free of charge.


(359 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback