X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5520 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This is a great hostel, its very clean, the rooms are spacious, the bar downstairs is always fun and the reception staff are really helpful. I was a solo traveller in Budapest for a few days, and I would personally say that this hostel is probably suited better for groups of friends, rather than solo travellers as its full of lots of groups of friends who seem to stay in big groups. Its a good location though!


80%

The beds in this hostel are comfortable. Everything looks decent. There is a big room downstairs to relax. The Luggage storage gets overcrowded and bags just get thrown all over the room though. The beds have individual lights and everyone gets a locker in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice comment and sorry for the luggage room traffic jam. When it's getting full usually we use an extra room to extend our storage capacity. If it got full kind of suddenly, we might have ralized too late, sorry for that! Next time pls let us know asap! Cheers from Budapest

94%

Sometimes a little bit chaotic, but very friendly, helpful, and responsive staff.


91%

great hostel, great location, great people

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel with clean facilities. The wifi is terrible however and half the washer/dryers were broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback and sorry for the wifi. We are aware of this problem and working on it!!!All dryers and washing machines work fine though, but there are several small things (too much clothes,the filters,wrong program chosen etc.) you should take care of (also listed in the laundry room), otherwise they stop working..But we are always happy to assist you wth your laundry, so pls next time just let us know!Cheers from Bp

97%

Hostel was really great, very clean, nice big rooms, great location. Would recommend the walking tour - it was great! The only thing that let it down was the wifi, it was terrible. I couldn't even get it to connect unless I was right down next to reception. Really not good enough.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Well located but the money value is very poor as the bathroom shower had hair on it, there was a strange smell in the bathroom, in the morning around 8 someone entered the room without knocking and just closed the door and went out. This never happened to me in any hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for feedback,however we are very surpised and disappointed,cause usually we can be proud of our cleanliness.We are very sorry and pls next time let us know asap so we can provide you a different room and investigate what happened.Also sorry for early wake-up,it must have beeen a mistake on the cleaning list, which happens quite rarely,but you were very unlucky with it. Sorry again and hope to have you here another time so we can show you how cool usually we are..Cheers

77%

It is a huge hostel and the facilities are amazing. However, since it's so huge, it is not cozy and people don't seem to socialize a lot. It is not ideal for single travelers but if you are traveling with friends, I would definitely recommend this hostel.


83%

Great hostel, perfect for partying in budapest

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the lockers, which were big enough to fit my entire 60L backpack; the key card system for the front door, hallways, room door, and locker; the shelves by the beds with outlets and lights. The staff were also all super friendly. Only negative was the wifi, which was atrocious. I tried for hours over multiple days and got it to work for a total of maybe 20 minutes. They need to say they don't offer wifi or change their network!


89%

Wifi is very bad. The room was very good and clean and the breakfast was good. Good place


74%

Wifi is terrible, probably the worst I've ever encountered in a hostel! Need to get this sorted asap guys. It's a very big hostel with lots of big tour groups coming through so a little bit difficult to meet people. Location is perfect close to metro stations and the Jewish quarter. Excellent value breakfast for only 1000 forint. Cleanliness wasn't amazing, there were hairs all through my bedsheets.


89%

The only reason I marked ' atmosphere' as 'average' was because the majority of people in the hostel were either on their phones, sobering up at breakfast or running down the hallways in the middle of the night, screaming drunk. But that isn't really the hostels fault obviously. In terms of 'value for money', Wombats is very expensive. Not sure whether I'd spend that much money on a hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! You are totally right,we would be also happier if the guests would leave their phones in the rooms to socialize a bit more,but it's really not our business,however we organize walking tours,pub crawls,concerts,quiz nights etc.,where hopefully they focus on each other and on the amazing Budapest.Also,you booked a 4 bed dorm, which is the most expensive dorm type in every hostel,maybe next time try a bigger room.But we are happy that you were satisfied with everything else, thank you!

100%

Cracking location and enjoyable atmosphere. Would definitively go back again!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Second stay here. Love this hostel. It's in a great location in the centre and easy to get to from the airport by metro. Great rooms with ensuite with very comfortable beds. Great kitchen and laundry facilities . Everything a hostel should be.


94%

Great hostel. Great location, friendly staff who were really helpful and good price. Good for travellers although as a big hostel it can be hard to meet others but if you make the effort then you're fine. Pub crawl really good, would highly recommend. Facilities mostly good, especially chill out area, but wifi is pretty poor. Breakfast okay although for 3€ I would probably eat out. Overall would definitely recommend!


97%

Such a cool place to stay. If you're looking for a party hostel, I would choose this, only fault would be the wifi but other than that it's an awesome hostel.


71%

The hostel itself is ok but super big. Can't recommend it for solo travelers.


86%

It really is the cleanest hostel ever. The location is PRIME! Facilities were great, with spacious rooms and hair dryers in the bathrooms. The only downfall was the wifi. It was horrendous. I wasn't able to stay connected for more than 2 minutes. The cafe down the road has great wifi, but it's a little inconvenient.


77%

Good hostel, very large, a lot of people about and friendly atmosphere.


(299 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback