X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6293 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was great, staff members were all super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was awesome and the rooms spacious and tidy! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THank you so much for your nice comment, we hope we will see you again:)

83%

Great place to stay around New Years. Partying vibe is a bit down, but that's to be expected given the sheer size of the hostel. Clean rooms, reasonably comfortably beds (please, you're in Budapest, you're not going to sleep much!), and bathrooms were good too. Internet was somewhat frustratingly intermittent for a few days but otherwise services and offerings were decent. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your nice words, we are always happy for these nice feedbacks:) Hope to see you again in Budapest

94%

If the kitchen was open for people to cook their own food.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wombats is the best hostel I have stayed at throughout my whole 'Eurotrip'. Everything is excellent: Food, Location, Staff, Facilities. I would have loved to stay there for one more night!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much, we wish all of our costumers would be as happy as you:)

100%

Everything was great. After a long day we took our room which was clean and everything was perfect. We could took a hot shower. They let us to leave our luggage there, even though we checked out before. So we could have a wonderful day in the capital. The hostel is highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for you nice comments, we hope to see you again soon:)

80%

The service was pretty good and the hostel was really nice. The beds were confortable, the localization was really good and the breakfast was nice. We had to change the room, so the first bathroom was in a 6-bed bedroom and there was no box to take a shower only a curtain which didnt touch the floor and that made the bathrom everyday wet and a mess. At least they would clean that up everyday morning, so it wasn't quite of a big deal. The second bathroom in the oder room had a box, so no problem.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great time at Wombats. The cheap drinks at the bar downstairs was a bonus! Will definitely be back if I'm in Budapest again.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice feedback, we can't wait to see you again! Cheers from Budapest

100%

I'I've already stay in other 2wombats I just Love this hostel it has everything great staff, great location and great interiors

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thankis for the nice words we hope to see you again soon:)

100%

Come from USA. Stayed in Wombats: Munich, Vienna and prauge, they r great hostels. WiFi is a bit spotty but overall very goodgood value for your money. Staff is helpful, clean kitchen for guests, bathroom in dormroom is cleaned daily, and shower is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for the nice words and we wish you to have good experiences on you trip like you had here:)

86%

I seemingly lucked out with my room situation. I had a lot of privacy considering it was an 8 bed room. Just beware, for the 8 bed dorm, you have exactly one bathroom which consists of the toilet and shower. Can be difficult when you have to share in the morning. At least twice I had to pee downstairs. That being said, the bar, lounge area, and breakfast seating was spacious and it never felt crowded even with so many people around. Really great recommendations from staff and a great vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for your feedback, we are happy that you were staisfied with our common area. Also we are sorry for you bad experiences with the bathroom, we have the toilet downstaires for these accidents. We hope to see you again:)

91%

Was difficult to get a towel. Had to ask 4 times before there was one available. Our washroom was a bit dirty, expected with 8 people but I thought there would have been someone cleaning it each morning, which i am guessing there was but it wasn't done thoroughly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the bathroom was dirty. Our cleaning ladies cleaning each room every day (sometimes just in the afternoon), also please notice a shared bathroom can be dirty easily. Anyways if you feel like this next time, please just come to the reception and we can make some extra cleaning in the room. Cheers from BP

100%

We are in the corner of the hotel, so the wifi is not so good. But all others things are very nice!

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for the nice comment, and we are sorry for the wifi problems, we hope you visit us again:)

94%

Epic hostel and a great place to party and meet people


100%

The location of the hostel is perfect, as it is 5 minutes walk from the metro Deac Ferenc Ter and is easily accessible. The Synagogue, the basilica, the fashion street, the chain bridge are nearby and can be reached by walking. The castle district and Fisherman's bastion are just on the opposite side of the bridge. The staffs were really really awesome. They were helping, fun loving and friendly. The bar in Wombats is also very good and the common area is a great place to meet new friends.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super hostel

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Where super guests are coming!:) Thank you

97%

Love Wombats! have stayed at the Munich and Vienna locaciones and have had a great time at all 3. Wonderful common área, GREAT cheap breakfast, and awesome location. Lockers and location are a major plus too! I met some of the coolest people because of how well their setup is. Cheers Wombats!


97%

Excellent! Clean, excellent breakfast, nice premises, excellent facilities, excellent location and cheap

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for that excellent comment:)

83%

The location is great, the staffs are quiet funny and friendly , but the facilities aren't that new and I was bitten by some insect on my bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We like to be funny, thanks for your compliments. We are sorry that you wasn't satisfield with our facilities, we think they are not too old, we had everything brand new when we opened in 2012. Also we are sorry for your bites, we hope they already get better by the time. We hope to see you again, and you will enjoy next time more:)

100%

Thank you to made my vacation awesome great staff very helpful espicially the bearded man :D thank you so much for your help.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for you feedback, I will tell the bearded man that guests like him (or her?):)

100%

The best hostel in town, very close to the metro and the city center! The staff and atmosphere is great, very cheap prices at the bar and in the surrounding areas are lots of cheap restaurants and bars. The location is great as I said before and as well is very close to pubs, night clubs, etc. The breakfast is great, only for 3 euros you eat all you want... Is worth it! The cleaness and security are greatI would definitely recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your amazing comment :) Hope to see you again in our Hostel. Happy new year! Regards from Budapest

(275 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback