X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5541 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Cracking location and enjoyable atmosphere. Would definitively go back again!


94%

Second stay here. Love this hostel. It's in a great location in the centre and easy to get to from the airport by metro. Great rooms with ensuite with very comfortable beds. Great kitchen and laundry facilities . Everything a hostel should be.


94%

Great hostel. Great location, friendly staff who were really helpful and good price. Good for travellers although as a big hostel it can be hard to meet others but if you make the effort then you're fine. Pub crawl really good, would highly recommend. Facilities mostly good, especially chill out area, but wifi is pretty poor. Breakfast okay although for 3€ I would probably eat out. Overall would definitely recommend!


97%

Such a cool place to stay. If you're looking for a party hostel, I would choose this, only fault would be the wifi but other than that it's an awesome hostel.


71%

The hostel itself is ok but super big. Can't recommend it for solo travelers.


86%

It really is the cleanest hostel ever. The location is PRIME! Facilities were great, with spacious rooms and hair dryers in the bathrooms. The only downfall was the wifi. It was horrendous. I wasn't able to stay connected for more than 2 minutes. The cafe down the road has great wifi, but it's a little inconvenient.


77%

Good hostel, very large, a lot of people about and friendly atmosphere.


77%

Had a great time in this hostel. The location is great and the people I met in my dorm made the trip all the better.


100%

The hostel was fantastic - it was in the best location if you are looking for a lively area with lots of places to go out for drinks. The staff were so helpful at booking trips like the spa parties, and they were happy to help you out at any time of the day. The rooms were so clean and spacious and I would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel but the wifi was absolutely terrible everywhere in the hostel.


77%

The internet is the onlt problem in this hostel. Anything else is great


54%

When i got there the bathroom was dirty and wasn't cleaned until about 3/4 days later (it was a wet room instead of a normal shower so this was disgusting after a day). It just didn't seem that clean in general. The downstairs bar is layed out very badly- all cramped up in a tiny corner then randomly massive empty space ... for what? The staff weren't very apologetic/nice when a member of their staff did something unforgivable to my friend which i won't mention for legal reasons. WOn't stay.


63%

My atmosphere rating may be misleading. If you're looking for a huge party hostel wombats is a bit clinical but great! If you want more of a quaint, quirky and homey place then not so much. Rooms are spacious with large windows and plenty of natural light. Nice to have laundry available for about 8euros but be warned the dryers don't always do their job. About location: on a buzzing street, lots of youths about so expect street noises well past 1am. No coffee or tea available after 11am?!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!Thanks for the feedback,it`s cool that you liked our rooms&the area around.We are a hostel with ca. 500beds,so we can`t offer the same coziness like a 25bed hostel,but we try our best to provide a welcoming&friendly athmosphere with our international staff,cool bar&funny designed lobby.The laundry is 4,5€ only,next time pls let us know if you have technical difficulties.Our breaky is from 7to11am,I think this time is long enough if you wish to have breaky,but we also have vending machines.

86%

As with all Wombats hosels, it was in a great location with good and clean facilities. Staff were helpful however quite slow. Wifi was very poor and definitely needs improving. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The place is really amazing, everything is excellent, staff is super comprehensive (I extended my stay twice and they even let me be in the same room), atmosphere is amazing, I partied three nights in a row until 5 am because you meet so many friends there, only problem wifi is very badly


94%

Everything amazing but my porno would not load wifi was horrible!


91%

More of a hotel than hostel. The place is clean and tidy. There is a large common area with a bar, foosball and optional breakfast. Nice place to stay, but too many people for a tight atmosphere. Location is perfectly central


89%

Staff extremely helpful - very pleased! However, shower broken/sprayed over entire bathroom floor but was cleaned daily. Wifi terrible, pushing it to say wifi is available at this hostel :( overall, good stay!

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome hostel. Awesome staff. Awesome time in BP. Only recommendation would be for maybe an organized pub crawl because the bar atmosphere wasn't the best, it was pretty clicky. Anyways, this hostel is worth the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks for your tip and we are happy to let you know that we have just started our own pubcrawl last week ands it was just amazing.Sorry you just missed it. :( Hope to see you soon again so we can party through Budapest finally. Cheers

100%

We had the most amazing time in Budapest! We loved our stay at Wombats, excellent service! We also met the coolest people in the hostel so that's a great plus!


(304 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback