X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5109 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Almost everything was top notch. Very clean, and the staff did a good job. For all good ratings I gave, this could be attributed to a low degree of interaction; didn't spend much time in the hostel to be honest! Security did seem rather low. While signs were posted saying that the facilities are for hostel stayers only, there was no visible security for that. I could definitely see someone very easily getting access to a room that they are not supposed to.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the useful feedback, hovewer you shouldn `t have worried about the security. It isn`t that easy to get into the floors and rooms cause all doors are locked all the time and only our guests has acces with their magnetic keycards.You also have your own security lockers for your valuables.Plus we have security cameras checked by the reception 0-24h and securiry guards also help us every evening to keep the strangers away. Hope to welcome you again in Budapest! :)

89%

The breakfast was awesome! And so cheap! I do like hostels where you get your own locker in your room without having to pay extra. So I appreciate that you get that here, and it is locked with the same card that you use for the doors, which is really good. They are also acctually big enough to fit your whole bag and things, which is not always the case. Overall a really good stay, with clean sheets plastic packed. Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank youuuuu, we are super happy that you enjoyed your stay! :))

100%

Wonderful. Felt like a hotel. Nachmarkt is a fun area--walking distance to the museum district and full of great shopping and restaurants. Definitely returning if given the opportunity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for the great review, we`ll pass it on to our colleagues in Vienna! ;) All the best

100%

Budapest is amazing and hostel is the best ever! I loved all! ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you, hope to see you again soon! (:

100%

Perfect hostel, clean and very nice staff ! Nothing to add..

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All around amazing - as always with wombats!! Great location - close to an amazing market with great food. Walking distance to everything. Friendly staff, nice bar to meet people, clean and big kitchen for making food, and amazing rooms! Stay here if going to budapest for sure :)


77%

The bar was alone all the time, and they closed too early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!We are very sorry that you were unlucky with socializing in our bar.Unfortunately (and luckily as well) there are too many cool places all around the hostel with free concerts,cool dj-s,amazing looking ruin bars,so sometimes it is just impossible to "keep" our lovely guests in our bar.Also,it is just the start of the season,so it is calmer than usually.So on these nights we need to close the bar earlier unfortunately.Hope you enjoyed your stay anyway! All the best from Budapest

94%

Your wifi service is terrible! That is your single faut.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Corridors ABSOLUTELY need a perfuming because of the smell like in the hospital! Pool and "balilla" need some reparation! Besides these two things, everything was near the perfection, room cleaning too!!! Well done, now we are WOMBATS too!!! 😁

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The wifi was horrible, enough to ruin the hostel for me. Some staff were great, and gave great recommendations for restaurants, but others were just really mean and didn't seem like they wanted to help.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and we are more than sorry for your inconveniences. :(We try our best to develope our wifi system,but you could also use our guest computers anytime or if they were busy we would even let you to use ours at the reception/office to book/print tickets etc. I know it's not the same,but it could help. It would be a great help, if you could tell us via mail what made you feel that some of the receptionists were mean.Thank you in advance and hope to see you again!

97%

Perfect hotel for yound travellers located in the city center! I highly recommend!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

WIFI terrible

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

General sewage smell in room and non-existent wifi but did not deter experience!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The common areas were great. The room not so much since 3 times in the middle of the night a loud mechanical noise woke us up, only stopping when we changed the temperature configurations.


89%

Big and spacious dorms! very good Location - right in the City centre-couldn't be any better! big common area and cool bar! but wished there were more Events organised by the hostel for socialising..


94%

good location


97%

Very nice and warm welcome at the reception, unfortunately there were no towels at that time, but that was the only missing thing about WOMBATS in Budapest.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and sorry for the missing towels. :( Since it's an extra service we can't guarantee to have enough towels for all of our guest 7/24, but even if we run out of them usually you can get your towel latest the next day with the new delivery. Hope you'll visit us again sometimes.

91%

Everything was wonderful except for the fact that it was very cold in the room! I stayed in 4 female dorm and all 4 of us had to wear thick clothes to keep ourselves warm! It seemed like the central heating system wasn't working fine in that room. Also the water pressure in the shower was very low. But other than that, everything was pretty awesome. Especially the staffs were very kind and the breakfast was great considering its cost.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the useful feedback and we apologize for your expereinces. Next time please report it right away at reception if you expereince any technical problems. We could have solved it easily or provide you a different room.Hope to see you again sometimes! All the best

94%

PERFECT! :)

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location and friendly staff. Only downfall was that there were other ignorant guests up yelling in the corridors until 5am each night.


(194 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback