X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6292 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staff member Mohammad was great! He orchestrated a Christmas potato goulash cooking contest among the guests. A great fun way to spend Christmas away from home! Everyone had a ton of fun.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your nice comment. The cooking contest was amazing, thanks to our superb guests! Hope to see you again and happy new year! Regards from Budapest

86%

Great location and facilities but it is so big that it's difficult to socialize if you are alone!


57%

There was a disgusting humidity smell in the hole building and we couldn't sleep that well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your comment. we are really sorry for your bad sleep, we can understand how important it is. Next time please come to the reception tell us your problem and we can figure out a solution for it! We hope to see you again, cheers from Budapest

80%

The best thing about this place is the location. It's situated in the heart of the Budapest night scene. Staff are really friendly and helpful as well. Having said that, there are some things that need improvement. Hot water was only available for 1 out of the 3 nights we stayed here, when we asked for towels the front desk couldn't secure us one till hours later, and the lobby smelled rotten.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We are happy that you were satisfied with our Hostel! Next time if you have some issues, like there is not hot water in the room, just come down to the reception and we will try to fix it as soon as possible. Sometimes we are out of towels, but in a few hours we always provide them to our guests. Only thing that I can ask is to be a little patient :) We really hope to see you again ! Regards from Budapest

69%

Rooms are OK. Staff not very helpful. But an OK place in the overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your comment. We are happy cus you liked the hostel what we have, and also so sorry if our staff wasn't helpful. Around Christmas time the reception is super busy, maybe you were there when a lot of people were around, and that's why we can not help you in the way we should. Anyway, we really sorry for it, and hope next time we can show you how helpful we are:) Happy New Year:)

100%

We stayed in a private room and it was fantastic!! It was clean, big, and absolutely nothing was wrong with it. It felt like we were in a hotel room! The staff were also very friendly and helped us when we needed. The location is also fantastic with the hostel less than 10 minutes walk from everything you need from food, the major sites, and of course, alcohol!! Definitely recommend the Wombats again in Budapest. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!! 😄


80%

Terrible wifi connection.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for you feedback. We try to upgrade our wi-fi, and hopeful it will be better. If you come to Budapest next time please choose us again and check it:) Have a nice day!

100%

By far the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is perfect and you can walk to practically everything in the city. It's clean and has a very friendly staffs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much in the name of our stuff. Really nice to hear that you were so satisfied with our Hostel! Regards from Budapest

100%

Excellent!!! Very clean, nice staff, amazing location! I have no complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your nice words! Regards from Budapest

100%

This hostel was awesome. Perfect everything.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your nice comment!Hope to see you again in our Hostel!

100%

Awesome hostel. Very clean, great location, cool staff. Loved the breakfasts.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we like awesome guests like you too

86%

Wi-Fi signal at the dorm room is relatively weak.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your comment. We know about our Wi-fi problems, and we are upgrading it, and believe me it's much better than it was! It's stable in the common areas, and not dropping you out in every two seconds:) So we hope when you come next it will work better in your room too. Cheers from BP

80%

Bathroom could have been cleaner. Dirty toilet seat and a lot of hairs left on floor and in shower.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comment, and so sorry for your bad experience with bathrooms.. please don't forget, if you are in a shared dorm and there are other people the bathrooms can be dirty soon, but our lovely cleaning ladies cleaning them everyday. If you notice this next you can ask for an extra cleaning:) Hope to see you again, cheers from Bp!

77%

Everything was beyond my expectation except for the fact that I suffered a lot with bedbug problems. If this problem was to be resolved, I will be more than glad to visit again and recommend this place to others as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are super sorry for you bug issue, we are constatly working on this but they try to hide from the cold hungarian winter, so they get on trains and buses, and ends in hostels.. We are happy to give you wash and dry tokens to get rid of them, give you a new room to be safe from them. We hope to see you again, and we can show you how good to be here :)

77%

Good place to stay if you want to stay close to the center of town. Facilities aren't anything special but everything was clean and tidy. There is a lot going on outside well into the night so the noise may be an issue if clubbing isn't your thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all of the nice words :)))

86%

The hostel was in the perfect location for access to both Budapest's nightlife and it's major tourist attractions. Located right in the center of the old Jewish Quarter, the location couldn't have been more central. The rooms themselves were nice, too, and the lockers (with key-card access) are lovely and very convenient. Additionally, I was surprised by how clean the bathrooms were. My only complaint is that there was occasionally a mild sewer smell, but this may have been a temporary issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your nice comment. Always good to receive so freindly words from our costumers. We are really sorry about the smell, but as you wrote already, is a temporary issue. Hope to see you again in our Hostel!

100%

Loved it! Second time here and I couldn't fault it. Great facilities - laundry, clean bathrooms, secure locker/storage in rooms, huge guest kitchen which was well equipped, amazing location which was close to the metro but also the city centre. The staff were welcoming and super friendly - really knowledgable too and willing the share experiences and recommendations. Even happy to have a late night/early morning chat after a big night out ;) My favourite hostel after many years of travel! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the nice words

100%

Clean, great staff, good value breakfast, good location!!

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you thank you thank you! :)))

63%

Beside the unfriendly and sometimes even rude stuff the hostel is ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comment. We like to be ok, and we are sorry if our receptionists were unfriendly with you. Sometimes we have bad days, just like everyone else, and we try to keep it out of the hostel, but you know how bad mood deamons work.. Hope to see you again and we can show you our friendly and absolutly not rude side:)

91%

The location is amazing! And so are the staff However the heating was temperamental and the pillows and breakfast are not memorable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you for all the good words, believe me we were cold too so our maintanance made the heating system more hotter, yay! Seems real winter just arrived to Hungary, huh? So hope to see you again in our super cozy hostel, (and maybe we have some hidden better pillows in the back cupboards ;)) Cheers from BP

(278 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback