X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5378 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Someone puked in the lobby bathroom and it took a day to clean. The wifi simply didn't work and what's the deal with no hand soap??

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are extremeply sorry for your expereinces. :-(Usually we are proud of our cleanliness.If it happened in the middle of the night after guests returning from clubs,it could happen that only our 1st cleaning staff noticed it early morning,but it`s max. few hours later, not a day.We do provide hand soap,next time pls feel free to ask if it runs out in your room or if you need any extra cleaning.We are working on our wifi to make it more stabile,it will be fixed very soon! All the best!

86%

The hostel is good located and the staff is really helpfull! The bathrooms are in the Bedroom so it can be a little noisy and the wifi doesn't work so good in some bedrooms.


94%

The internet is really the bigger problem in this hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was incredibly noisy when we were trying to sleep at night. Felt like the walls were paper thin!! We were on 4th floor. I've stayed on other floors before and it's not been like that. Maybe 4th floor is better for dormitories and not 2/4 person rooms.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! we are really really sorry for your bad sleep. :(( we are working on a new solution with some special sound proof material for the corridors to avoid such inconveniences in the future.it will be done very soon.also, you can come to reception anytime and we'll try our best to provide you a nice&quiet room. cheers from budapest!

97%

Really nice location right in front of nice bars and restaurants. It's gets really crowded around the hostel area at night, everyone goes out around there, what makes it safer to walk round at night. Right near a bus/metro station that connects you everywhere.


80%

Perfect location, terrible Internet, bathroom not very clean. But worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are working on the wifi issue, it will be fixed very soon. Usually we are proud of our cleanliness, so next time pls ask for extra cleaning anytime at the reception. In more bedded dorms it could get messy very quickly, even if we clean it pertfectly every day.Hope you had a nice stay anyway and we'll see you again. Happy travels!

80%

Wombats in Budapest was better than I expected. It was not too loud for a party hostel - although if you need to sleep and are there on weekends I would say use earplugs (we had an early flight). The AC was not working although we reported it to the front desk - it never was fixed and our room was very warm. A few rogue hairs on the sheets was gross but they do give you fresh linens so not sure about that. Staff was sleeping at 5:30 a.m. when we went down to catch the shuttle.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry for too hot room.We have the heating still on, cuz it can be chilly in April in Hungary,but you could have easily adjusted the thermometer in your room separately. We'll check it out right away, if it wasn't working perfectly, but next time pls feel free to report any technical defaults 0-24 at reception.We'll also talk to the nightshift members to get a clear pics of what happened that night. Hope to see you next anyway! All the best

69%

when we booked with hostelworld.com it said we could check in at 12 pm. reality showed us that the staff was too incompetent to let us check in at time and let us wait until 5 pm!!! staff was very impolite, rude and disrespectful.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and we are very sad for your bad experiences.:(You can indicate your arrival time on HW,but our check in starts at 2pm,like it says on HW and on our website.Sorry for the late check in,but you tried twice before 2pm and once exactly at the shift change time,which meant 10 more min waiting.Sorry again,especially cuz we try our best to get the rooms ready as early as possible.Regarding the staff,a private mail would be nice to explain the exact problem.Cheers

86%

The Hostel was boiling hot, the radiators seemed to be pumping heat 24/7. Fortunately we could open the windows. I guess its just between summer and winter right now. The hostel is very large, IMHO a bit too big for what I usually like, it seemed quite an anonymous place - lucky there were 9 in our group! Generally the staff were helpful, the hostel was clean, the beds comfortable, and the price good - so its a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thanks a lot for your feedback and we are sorry for too hot room.We have to have the heating son, cuz it can be chilly in April in Hungary,but you could have easily adjusted the thermometer in your room separately. We'll check it out right away, if it wasn't working properly in your room, but next time pls feel free to report any technical defaults even in the middle of the night. Hope you enjoyed Budapest anyway! :-)

91%

Wombats is in an amazing location - near to the river, shopping centre, restaurants, clubs etc. We didn't have to use the trams or underground at all once we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was really clean and spacious. The bar was really cheap and there was lots of communal space to meet other travellers. Only downsides was that the doors to the rooms were quite thin so you could hear people in the corridor and the wifi wasn't very good.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for the nice words! :-) We are working on the wifi and the noise problems,so next time you come, everything will be perfetc! :-) All the best from Bp! :-)

89%

Massive hostel. Too big for solo traveler. Great though for groups. Still had a good time!


100%

Wombats was very convinient and at a really good location, just walks away from the main shopping area and sights and also pretty neat restaurants. Great location for access to many pubs and ruin pubs too.


94%

Awesome, big hostel in the middle of all the action. Suuuper clean, and good breakfasts.


80%

Wifi doesn't works! Even in the reception, the signal is really bad!


94%

We enjoyed our staying in the hotel, everything was really very good which was not easy because it is a very large place where a lot of people come from all over the world.


86%

Wombats is very nice because it is almost a Hotel: big rooms, big bathrooms, really good breakfast, very good location as well. The staff is ok, they help you but don't make that much of an effort that you see in smaller hostels or guesthouses. Also did not felt very comfortable to use common areas compared to other places. Finally, the wifi is terrible. Really, don't count on it. If you REALLY need it, you will have to go to Starbucks-like places. Even so, is a very good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thanks a lot for your feedback.Yes,we are a big hostel and we try to get the best out of it: great comfy lobby to chill,proper seats&tables to get breaky together,big enough kitchen for more people to cook at the same time, bar for concerts and parties etc. Also,beside the busy check in/out times our staff is happy to socialize with all of you anytime and they are always ready to help you with anything 0-24h.And we are working on our wifi, sorry for that! :( All the best from Bp

97%

It was great staying at Wombats. The hostel has a perfect location for young party crows as it is very close to the nightlife. the hostel staff was great and so are the rooms. The biggest problem is internet. At peak times, there is no possibility of getting on internet. There are a lot of users but since it is such a large hostel, they should do something about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We are aware of this unfortunate problem and we are working on it!!! Should be fixed very soon! Thank you for your feedback anyway and hope you had a nice stay with us. Cheers

100%

i will definitely go to any other wombat hostels and will look for them and many more. jack and jackie karisma, chicago

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wohoooo, thank you! You'll be very welcome in any Wombats! :-)

77%

Great bar to meet people. Good breakfast in the morning. Hostel is to large if you are looking to make friends and network. Also most Hungarian staff members are very very rude. It is like you are asking them for a favor every time you ask a question. But that's not a surprise all Hungarians are rude and disrespectful. Great country terrible people.


97%

Great bar, good clean rooms, and a good overall environment. Almost more of a hotel then a hostel, but still worth it. Even some good places for lying down to cure the inevitable Budapest hangovers! Only negative is that the wi-fi is absolutely horrible here. They claim it's because we were there at a busy time, but still...something that needs to be improved given the capacity of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we try our best to welcome you next time with a perfect wifi service!!!! :-) Cheers

(261 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback