Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 6354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 6354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2018
9.7

Really nice guys at the reception. Location can't be beat! The rooms are very small but that's NYC! Shared bathrooms spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2018
9.1

Nice little hostel in Chelsea. Prime location for a great price, and includes free breakfast! The staff were nice and helpful, the room was warm and clean. Each room is accessed through a courtyard that is kept locked. That felt safe. It had everything I needed for a 3 night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Jan 2018
8.0

Good basic clean hostel, with free breakfast, in a good location close to subway stations. Cool neighbourhod (Chelsea), but not much fun at the hostel itself, so good place just to come back to sleep. P.S. Very safe street, cause there's a police station just across the street from the hostel, so there are cops and cop cars everywhere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2018
9.1

Located in a very accessible area and close to subway lines that take you where you want to go. It's walking distance from a lot of cool places too. The place is pretty minimal though. I found it annoying how there was no sink in with the toilets but that was manageable. They provided breakfast (bagel, fruit) and offer storage in the lower level for a few dollars depending on size. Overall it was a good place to come back to just sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Stefanie13
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2018
9.4

I just loved staying in this hostel! The location is great, the people working there are the cutest and the breakfast is good (for the money you pay) I spent there 4 days and I really enjoyed it and felt very safe and comfortable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexanderdimakis6495
  • Greece, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2018
7.4

The older guy at the reception is super rude, while the younger one is extremely kind and helpful. The heating in the room can’t be controlled and I was sweating when I was there. You are also not allowed to open the window.. the breakfast was “funny” and finally I really appreciated that I was alone in a room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
8.0

Great place! Heating was way too high in the room. Booked a shared room and got a private one ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • connorjames_s2816
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2018
6.9

You get what you pay for, nonetheless a delightfully basic little spot that did the job for one night! I’d recommend to anyone that will get out and see the city both Day and Night, if you want luxury then spend a bit more and get a hotel, this hostel is nothing more than a handy place to drop your bags and spend your money seeing the city and having a good time! Would recommend to explorers...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2018
6.6

This place was overpriced, the rooms were old and dingy. I stayed here in January so it was freezing cold, rooms were poorly heated and there was a crack under the door that let all the cold air inside, it got so cold inside I had to sleep with my coat on. The location was good though, we felt safe and we were close to many New-york attractions.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • laurenjhines5519
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
8.3

The value in this location can’t be beat! The facilities are very clean. Some reviewers say the staff were unkind but I found them especially friendly, for hostel staff AND especially for New Yorkers. You have to oay to use the computers, even just internet (printing is even more). Breakfast was literally a community bag of dried cereal; absolutely not the lovely offerings detailed in the description. Still, this is a great place. It’s across the street from a police station, very safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×