Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 6854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 6854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • dewroberts249964
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
2.6

Place and service Trash bro! Don’t stay here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • murielrouget2283
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
5.7

Unpleasant welcoming, rooms look like jail, only value is cleanliness and location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2018
2.9

Hidden fees (2 of them), overpoliced common spaces, and the rudest check-in person I've encountered made this perhaps the worst property I've stayed in, ever. It felt downright dystopian.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2018
9.7

Hostel was clean and staff were friendly. Location was fantastic - easy walk to High Line and Meat Packing District and to Subway station. Breakfast of Bagel, Fruit and cereal included. Their Credit Card machine was down when I checked in so had to pay in cash. Coin lockers available for storing bags.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2018
7.4

Real good value for money in NYC - great location! Facilities are pretty basic - you get what you pay for and there’s not organized activities/planned things at night but you can easily strike up a conversation. Felt super safe :) one of the hostel staff (a bit older, American, beard, called me sweetie) is the coolest and nicest guy ever and they were all helpful with any questions I had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jenkins_charlotte1659
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2018
8.6

Affordable for location. First hostel experience, clean, good WiFi, nice outdoor area. Could do with more power outlets in the rooms and the stairs a bit of a pain with a case. But overall a really enjoyable experience, met some lovely people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2018
7.7

Shower and toilet facilities are awful, there’s nowhere to place your clothes and the shower is a tiny room. Also lots of stairs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sineenardkor4919
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2018
8.9

Clean room. Near police station and subway station. Provide breakfast. Very good to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • njackson
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
7.1

2 bed dorm. Lockers too small for average backpack. Bed comfortable. Room was hot, but had air-conditioning (which was very loud). Shower very small, nowhere to hang things. Toilet is outside room, but with no sink to wash hands unless you come back into the room. Staff not that friendly, but same as the rest of Manhatten. Walking distance to subway and and Times Square. Breakfast not worth it. Bad coffee and bagel so stale I couldn't eat it. Much better value to be found in NYC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2018
8.9

Pretty basic but everything was fully functioning. Very nice staff and I loved the location (not in a crazy busy spot, but tons of restaurants, subway stops, etc. nearby and within walking distance of Times Square). My main complaints would be that the top bed sheet was child-sized for some reason (??) and having some curtains to go over the cheap blinds to keep out light in the morning would have been really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×