Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 7275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 7275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mhillhouse397
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2018
8.0

I felt my stay was good value, especially in relation to other prices I was looking at when I was planning my trip. The walls were quite thin and my room was fairly basic, however for what I paid I was happy with what I received and quite liked the location. Would definitely consider staying again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chongnanyang4368
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2018
2.0

They only accept cash! !!And do not allow me see the room first. The staff there has very bad attitudes. I won’t be there anymore. Please don’t be there!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2018
10.0

Very nice close everything 8 minutes to most busy area 34 street you are going to save a lot money incluye breakfast staff luciano including lady nigth time have 2 beautiful pet keep away from rats 2 beautiful cats 20 pound c/u beautiful I recommend 100% chelsea very beautiful are across from new York police deparment100% safe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2018
5.1

Nice to have a room rather than bunk beds but quite old facilities and expensive baggage storage, and basic breakfast. I guess you pay for location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2018
6.0

Pros: The location is great and the set up is good if you're going with friends. Cons: The staff are rude and don't seem to care about anything, if you're looking for a lively hostel or to meet people I would suggest staying somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • victoriawells1508690
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2018
8.9

Had a wonderful experience, start to finish at the Chelsea International Hostel. The staff was helpful and friendly, my 4 person room was clean and had plenty of space for a hostel stay. I would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ajgi57854
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2018
9.4

Enjoyed our stay , great location , great staff, for what we paid cannot fault it . We had breakfast there once, but there are a few places near that you can also try , local shops open 24 hours across the road also Take a small padlock if you can , you will need it for the locker in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sassishell4177
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2018
4.9

My friend and I stayed in room 9R a 4 bed all girls dorm with ensuite firstly the door into the room was very tight and needed to be shoulder barged to open and slammed to close the door into the bathroom did NOT close and would just about push too not a great experience for my friend who felt very uncomfortable and thirdly I now look like I have the plague as I have a total of 27 bites on my legs from bed bugs yes bed bugs the location of your hostel is fab but you need a good clean & updating

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • lindqvistsven9501
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2018
8.6

The location is everything in New York... The bathroom was pretty old-school and the hot water fluctuated while showering. You obviously stay here if you plan to see the city, not to hang out in your room. I had two good nights' sleep as the beds were nice and clean and it was quiet at night. The breakfast was a nice service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2018
8.0

There's no soap in any of the washrooms which I found incredibly bizarre and really gross. I haven't stayed in too many hostels so maybe that's the norm (?) but I've never experienced that before. With that said, bring your own soap and don't forget to bring flip flops for the shower because the shower floors aren't the cleanest. Apart from my issue with the cleanliness, location is great, staff I encountered were all nice and I felt safe. Easy access to subway. Walking distance to cool places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×