Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chelsea International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 6578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 6578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
3.7

Dirty. Loud. Rude staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • michaeljonolson9382
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
9.1

Bang for the buck. Nothing to brag about but if your in NYC and staying at a hostel then you're not spending much time them unless your sick. I was impressed with how clean it was. I could hear the cleaning lady each morning scrubbing the floors. Super simple living quarters as I stayed in the single private room which consisted of two lockers, some hangers, a bed with sheets, pillow and blanket, a bath towel and a sink. Shared toilet and shower. I was very happy with the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gmbettencourt8484
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 81 reviews
11th Apr 2018
5.7

Loudest hostel ever, and I have stayed at over 40 around the globe! Seriously, I needed a single room for a couple of nights before a conference and could barely sleep because the common spaces were so loud, the building had no insultation, the street traffic, and a loud French school group that talked by shouting. The hostel didn't even provide soap for the sinks. My mattress was lopsided and lumpy and the frame was falling apart. Don't stay here. I can't believe I paid that much for so little.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sheny5240
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
4.9

The bedrooms are nothing more than rat holes in a sewer with 4 cheap cots, no tv and no microwave. One gets a very limited bathroom, and no tv or microwave. Storage fees are separate. In the bathroom, one gets a cheap bar of soap, like that of a prison. Need a hairdryer? Pay an extra fee. As each guest leaves, another empty bed comes as it would in a hospital after the staff removal of a corpse. Everyone gets one towel stacked with the sheet as a refugee would in camp. Breakfast is a mere b

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Stuartwalkeraroundtheworld
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2018
7.7

Only issue with location was the NYPD 19th precinct across the street

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
8.3

It was very noisy. Common area was right next to our room and people were very loud. Also when people came in during the night the outside door would slam shut and wake us up. You would here people going up and down the stairs with their suitcases. We had to go up some stairs to check in and then go down stairs to our room. It is not easy with a suitcase if you are an older person. It is not right next to subway, we had to walk 2 or 3 blocks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2018
8.0

Great location near Chelsea Market and the High Line. Very basic facilities-I had a private room and it was just a sort of camp bed, locker and chair. No drawers or lamp or anything. But it was clean and the shower was powerful. Pretty pricey for what it is but it is in a great central location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • julesohmighty2884
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2018
10.0

Beds are not the best rooms are a bit lonely but I slept okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tomclay_23
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Mar 2018
7.4

Decent location a few blocks from subway stations. All essential things included with room, cheap and cheerful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2018
5.7

Positive: Location, clean toilets and comfortable beds. Negative: They never clean your room. There is only 1 shower and 1 toilet in each floor. The breakfast is so poor. Once you are there is it possible that they make you pay more for "taxes". In my case I paid everything by hostelworld but the staff from the hostel said they don't receive any of this money and that I have to pay more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×