Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Via Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • elmahgoubyassin8522
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
6.9

To be honest the place was great, but it was just too far outside the city center. It is very easy to get to the city center, but it takes like 20 minutes which is not convenient. Overall I think it’s a great place however I don’t recommend it for first timers in Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2018
8.9

It’s expensive. All of Amsterdam is. The facilities, staff, etc were very good here. Only issues I had were: (a) on third floor I could still hear the doof doof from the disco music downstairs until very late. (b) Fellow dorm guest have no thoughts for others. Call me old fashioned; but in my books, leaving your mess all over the place, and talking loudly on your mobile phone after midnight while others are trying to sleep, is just plan bad manners and inconsiderate. A sign of the times maybe!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • calebmcdougall27970
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
8.6

This is a great hostel. Very clean. Lockers in rooms do not have locks, but you can get one at the main desk for a small fee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • applez121916
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
9.7

We had a great time at Via Amsterdam. The place is so cozy. The staff are so approachable and helpful specially when we had issues about our room booking. Great place to stay! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joe_sandora6809
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2018
8.0

Staff was great, facility was clean and overall nice place. The downside was that we were hoping to meet others and have a lively atmosphere. There was according to bookings.com there was 47 different countries of origin that were all visiting on the same days as us which would’ve been a fantastic way to meet people from all over the world but groups seemed to keep to themselves and it lacked the right atmosphere. Great stay, but if your looking to meet people this may not be the place for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
8.3

Really lovely hostel, very aesthetically pleasing and kept spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and lovely. Unfortunately, we found that the hostel lacked the sense of atmosphere we were looking for. There wasn’t much social interaction going on between groups of people from what I could see. Myself and my friend kept to ourselves for the trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2018
6.6

The location is outside of the centre, but very easy to get to. Compared to the rest of our trip, the prices of accommodation in Amsterdam is very disappointing. However we chose to pay extortionate prices to stay here. The building is modern and pretty decent. But the room (101) was hot as soon as we checked in, no aircon so we had to open the window that leads out onto the street. Loud af all night, then a dude snoring his a off. Zero sleep and woke up with 50 bed bug bites and no staff cared

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mladennijemcevic1195
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
7.7

As a person who does not like hostels and usually avoids them I was very satisfied. The hostel is big, modern looking. It is very clean. The staff is great and will help you at all time. Rooms are quite spacious, clean and well organized. There are lockers in the room which are spacious enough . Bathroom is in the room and also very clean and really big. Only problem is that it is not so close to the city center. It is easily reachable with metro and bus from central station but it takes to long

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2018
7.4

The hostel was okay, clean, had a nice hanging out area. It's a bit far away from the center. There were no sharp knives in the kitchen which made cooking a little more challenging.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stefandonoghue128759
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
8.3

Amazing place for traveling peoples, and also for short holidays, beautiful hostel near metro station for city center, lovely, friendly, helpful staff, easy to mix with fun new people and they host lots of crazy events for all sorts of different people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×