Hostelworld.com

A-yado Gion

  • 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
A-yado Gion Located at 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto.
A-yado Gion
Japan
Kyoto 605-0082 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm
87% 1663
35.0063516 135.7753676
A-yado Gion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • raimondakekyte4256
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st May 2016
10.0

Having been to a few hostels already I liked this one the most. it is very clean and has good facilities. They even give you a key for the lockers and the house which is just amazing. The common room is very cosy which is always a plus. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hostel is also good, I enjoyed walking down the small streets and enjoyed the atmosphere. Overall although only stayed there one night but I'd definitely recommend it for anyone else :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy here even though you stayed for 1 night. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you agin!

  • WilcJes
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2016
9.1

Great location. A little small, but definitely worth the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you liked our location. We think our location is one of the best in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2016
8.0

The place was a bit cramped, but i didin't mind, since it was pretty well maintenanced and clean. A good place to stay and the upper floor common room is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your reply. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

11th May 2016
8.0

A-yado Gion Hostel was a good overall hostel. A nice place to stay with basic accommodations while in Kyoto. The location was relatively centralized in the city, close enough to public transportation and Kyoto Station. The rooms are dorm style, with shared facilities. The staff spoke English well and were helpful. The free coffee and tea were a nice touch along with the convenience of being able to buy snacks and drinks at the hostel. The common room had wifi, computers and books for guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you someday!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
10.0

Great location: Gion is probably the nicest area to stay in Kyoto. The staff here a lovely - available 24/7 and are willing to help you with any queries. The dorms are big, but private with the ability to close your space off with a curtain. Bathrooms are fine and clean. The communal area is great with food avaliable (free breakfast of bread), computers and a comfortable atmosphere . You should definitely stay here !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoed youre stay and our location. Our location is one of the best location in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.4

this hostel has the best location. there are a lot of attractions close by as well as great food. I saw a Geisha while I stayed in the Gion area. the rooms are small but the staff are super nice and energetic. There are snacks and noodle cups you could buy fom them and free coffee, tea and bread for breakfast as well as tons of books you can look at to learn about Japan and Kyoto. oh! and obviously free wifi. i would stay here again! =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are very happy to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. Tahnk you! We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.9

Not a lot of room to store luggage. We found the staff very accommodating and helpful, but some of the other guests displayed unacceptable behavior (coming in at 2:30am, talking loudly, and sharing YouTube videos when all the lights were off and other guests were trying to sleep). The hostel is in a great area in Gion, gorgeous even when slightly sprinkling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We have only 10 beds dorm and our receoption is closed at 0:00midnight. So after 0:00midnight, we can't do anything for the guests behavior. Sorry for that. We hope we will see you someday!

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

The place was great! The staff was very nice! I stayed in the girls dorm for two nights and was overall happy. Some reviews say the place was too small, but I found it ok compared to what I paid. And the place was clean. One thing that annoyed me was the internet connection, it seemed like there weren't enough channels to connect to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. About the Wifi, sometimed it will be a bad connection, but if you say to us at the reception, we will fix it soon. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.1

Very friendly and helpful staff. Helped me get accommodated right away. I loved its location in Gion. The walk to the different train/subway stations was never more than a 5-10 min walk, making it very easy to explore Kyoto. Kyoto is arguably the most beautiful city I have ever visited, so make sure you book as many nights as possible here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you. We hope we will see you again!

  • xtibbersx
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.3

Staff and facilities were good... Annoying that it was next to a karaoke bar, made it hard to sleep at times... Found a cockroach on the stairway... Yeah.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Our hostel is in the small building, so we can't do anything about karaoke bar etc....please understand that. We hope you will have a good time in Japan!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.