X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1163 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Location is OK for such a big city, the format of the hostel (few apartments inside a building, familiar to those who travelled in provincial Chinese cities) is a little odd but works; common room is small, but staff do everything they can to be helpful


89%

Excellent place to stay if you want.to experience the real older part of Japan. You can see Geisha and its an excellent place to walk around amidst the fact that.there.are lots of drinking areas.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Met such wonderful people at this hostel!! Staying here is super advisable. We sort of turned the 5th floor lounge into a party room. though we tried to clean up after ourselves, and im sure it wasn't perfect, the staff were very nice to us about all of it! Very close to the old district, super accesible to the rest of the city by walking, bus, or train. And for the amount of people in the hostel, everything was always immaculately clean! Great value for money. Definitely stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. We are glad that you met many nice people and enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you someday!

86%

The location is great and the staff is helpful.i wish i stayed there the previous day asas well instead of some other expensive place that i found in a hurry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed our location. Also we are glad that our staff made your stay comfortable. We hope we will see you again!

60%

Narrow space both in the dorms and at the lounge area/kitchen. everything was stuffed. Lounge area/kitchen closes at 1 am, which is a downside. Average cleanliness. The main entrance is always open. Don't expect to be comfortable here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have small hostel and 10 beds dorm only. If you would like to have more space, better to go other place. There are many hostel in Kyoto. You can find your favorite one.

89%

good location on the gion area wich is a very traditional part of kyoto.close to many temples,shrines and many other places of interest. staff was helpfull and the dorms (beaside being small for so many beds) was very clean. recomendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we think our lovcation is one of the best location in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere and you can see Geisya nearby. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

86%

Very helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Location is close to major attractions like Yasaka Shrine & Kiyomizu-Dera. It is reasonable priced. I will definitely stay in this hostel again when I visit Kyoto in the future!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. Also we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you next time!

86%

Great location, I had a good week, met some nice people, a good security locker for small valuables forget a laptop ect (it was a tight fit). Comfortable bed's - close quarters - good value and fun for what you pay. I'd recommend the hostel it's small but it works.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

97%

Location is good, just 10 minutes walk from the Gion District. Staff were very nice and friendly, and the facilities provided are very thoughtful. Definitely recommend this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. Also we had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!!

83%

Nice location (geisha district), easy to find (close to bus stop), walking distance to a few attractions. Good use of the space of the room. Cheap and cold beer for selling. No problems with the hostel. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you liked our location. Our location is one of the best in Kyoto. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

83%

I had a good experience at the hostel (good location, helpful, very clean, comfortable bed) but they need to send out better directions on how to get there (for example, in what direction to take the 206 bus)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a good experience here. Also thank you for giving us your advice. We will try to sort it out!

89%

my stay at a yado was amazing! i love the staff!;D they are very friendly, helpful and speak very good english. its right in gion also, so you can reach major visiting points in kyoto by foot. but a busstop is also close;) the hostel provides everything you need and get even a little free brekkie. thank you and all the best=)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are very happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you! Thank you! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

83%

The hostel is in a convenient place.The staff is always helpful and cheerful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. We hope we will see you again!

94%

Great location and affordable. Although the building is a bit older, all necessary facilities there, staff is very helpful on getting you started in Kyoto

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about your comment. We had a good time with you! Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

100%

I have nothin to complain about. The best hostel that i had on my japan trip!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. When you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again! We always welcome to you!

97%

Very comfy & clean, all staff are very helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. We hope we will see you again!

86%

A quality hostel. I was disappointed with the atmosphere, but I only stayed one night so there's a good chance I just caught the place on an off night. Beyond that, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and you can tell they've made an effort to create an environment that is inviting and conducive to socializing. Just didn't come together the night when I was there. One huge plus is they have all beds curtained off, so it's a great place to get some privacy while still meeting others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that our stuff helped you. Some people think our atmosphere is not good, but on the other hand, many people says they like it. so depends on people. We have all beds with curtain. You can have a privacy. We hope you will enjoy in Japan!!

80%

Great and helpful staff. Apart from the reception desk, which is quite old, the bedrooms look really nice and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. It has been 5 years since we opened. But we always clean up the room. We hope we will see you again!!

94%

Nice staff, clean hostel, great atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you next time!

100%

This was a great hostel. Best one I stayed at in my recent trip to Japan. They cleaned the bathrooms twice daily. The bed sheets were soft and fluffy. They also had multiple outlets for charging electronics. The staff was nice, helpful, and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your word that best one you stayed in Japan so far. We also had a good time with you. Thank you!! We hope we will see you again!!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback