X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1342 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel. Excellent value for Japan. Location is perfect in a nice neighborhood (Gion) near the center. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Very clean. Common room is nice with free computer. Free coffee and tea. They also sell food, snack, drinks and beer for the same price or cheaper than in the mart. Everything is tiny in this hostel, you won’t have a lot of space but its fine. Highly recommended to visit Kyoto!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

89%

The hostel had a great location. Close to the Metro, bus stop, shops, nice river and not too far from some popular temples. The staff were really friendly and helpful whnwhn I arrived. There was some free bread for breakfast and it had everything that I needed. Good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you liked our location. Our location is one of convienience location in Kyoto. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you someday!

91%

This is a great hostel! Really cheap and the staff is really nice, always ready to help you!! I really enjoyed my stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

100%

Probably the most well thought hostel I've been in. Very well situated, cool staff and very cool common room. Best privacy for a 10 share room (curtains to share the room around beds)

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. Also we have a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

71%

To less space for bags in the room! Nights were very loud! Could hear people talking loud at the reception!Girls started drying their hair 12.30am! Others starting whistling songs when they got up 5.30am! Could hardly get enough sleep every night! Laundry was impossible to use! Available after 6pm... To many people were waiting.. Staff was okay.. Not very talkative.. Place looks a little bit sad.. Everywhere stuff in the stair hall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are small hostel and only dormitly. Also we don't have a rule to use hairdryer etc...We think if you want to get enough sleep, we recommend to find a private room.

97%

Great hostel, great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

80%

Myself and my friend stayed here for one night. It's a nice hostel and good value for the location but we did find it quite cramped. The female dorm was full when we were there and there was nowhere to put luggage and the beds are only centimetres away from each other. The room would have been fine if there was one set of bunk beds removed. That's only a small complaint though and the atmosphere is good and the staff are very friendly.


97%

good place. we will go back and stay again in future.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice and helping staff, very good location and very clean. Yh dorms are just a bit small and there s only a little oven aand a microwave to cook. Nice place to stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

100%

No problems at all ! Great staff Clean rooms and bathrooms Wifi excellent Kitchen great And location is 10 min walk to centre of Kyoto

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

97%

The staff was fantastic and the location was great as well! We had a wonderful time in Kyoto, thank you!

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happt to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

100%

Great guesthouse! The staff is lovely and happy to help with anything and know English very well! The room is very clean and very good location! Fun to meet people there Sure I go back there again

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. we also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you soon!

91%

Staff were really helpful, gave us directions around the city and advice on using the bus system, also offered to do our washing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will se you again!

60%

Great location, good value for money but the room are not clean. The blankets are not washed for he next person. The room had only one window and it was always closed so it smelled terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We cleaned up the room every day. But our room is very small. That's why it looks like not clean. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto.

100%

Ayado is really great! Clean, helpful staff, warm and cozy place! I would definitely go back!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

97%

Very nice and good Hostel! Super friendly staff! Very clean, a cool common room and the location Is also good!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. We hope we will see you again someday.

100%

All the stuffs is very very helpful with good English, The location is super great to go out and get on public transport. Definitely stay there again if i ever go back to Kyoto!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about your comment. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

97%

The place has a good location, each bed has a power outlet and light which is very handy. The staff is super friendly and they try to answer any question you have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

83%

Nothing to complain about. Cheap and Ok totally fine for few days stay😉

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

94%

I stayed in the female dorm and, I can't deny it, the space is tiny. However, I stayed for two nights and could have stayed for a couple more. It does get a little cramped. But you deal with so many situations in dorms, this is hardly the worst. The besa were clean and comfy. Showers in the dorm. Staff were really really friendly and the location of the dorm is really really amazing. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you someday!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback