X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1186 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The hostel is located on the 3rd and 5th floor of a 5 stories building. Didn't see it coming. It is also quite far from the main street and it was quite hard to find. In terms of cleanliness, it's OK, but it could use some improvements. The staff are helpful, but maybe not to the Japanese standard that I usually find in other cities. But maybe because the hotel is quite well known, it has attracted people not used to dormitory life. Come on people - turning on hair dryer at 11 PM is a big NO!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Also thank you for giving us your opinion. We send the email how to come to our hostel 1week before arrival. so guests normally arrive easily. Also we are very small hostel and have only dormitory. so there is something troble, we will sort it out! If you have a chance to stay here, please tell us directly.

83%

Very nice hostel. Dorms are cozy, good privacy in the bunk beds. Showers are good and the common area is nice. Best of all was the staff, super helpful!

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We had a good time with you! We hope we will see you again!

94%

Excellent hostel overall, location can't be better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

97%

It was maybe the best hostal for Kyoto, and one of the best ones i've ever been. It was clean, with a nice atmosphere and great personal. They help you with everything you need. It is situated in Gion, which means a great area of Kyoto, near also to Pontocho, if you want to go out. Furthermore, the price was really good, and they have a common area with computers and entertainment. I have a nice experience there.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. Also we also had a good time with you guys. Thank you! We hope we will see you guys again!

77%

Rooms were overcrowded. common room was also full and people sat in the stairwell or had to hang out in dorm which was stuffy. A pity as otherwise a good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we have only room and common room. Somethimes if it is full, you might feel overcrowed. But on the other hand, it is easily to make friends. We hope you enjoyed in Japan!

74%

Location is OK for such a big city, the format of the hostel (few apartments inside a building, familiar to those who travelled in provincial Chinese cities) is a little odd but works; common room is small, but staff do everything they can to be helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are samll hostel and have only small common room. But we think small common room is that you can make freinds easily. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto!

89%

Bunk beds are great with curtain for added privacy. Good location to everything you need. Would recommend this hostel to anyone

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will se you again!

89%

Excellent place to stay if you want.to experience the real older part of Japan. You can see Geisha and its an excellent place to walk around amidst the fact that.there.are lots of drinking areas.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, our location is one of the best location in Kyoto. You can see Geisya nearby and easy to go to major places. We hope you enjoyed your stay here.

83%

Amazing staff! So helpful! The hostel itself is tiny. It has 2 rooms, a 10-bed female dorm and 10-bed male dorm. One floor up is the kitchen/living area. Modest, but has everything you need. The room felt cramped. The sink is inside the room which was a bit awkward, especially if you need to wash up late when most people have gone to sleep. I had a REALLY hard time finding the hostel b/c they don't give directions on what to do after you get off the bus stop. PLEASE add these for future guests!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment and thank you for giving us an advice for future guests.We normally send a recomfirm mail 1 week before and give them a direction. But you booked on the day and we couldn't send it. Sorry for that. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto.

91%

I met some fantastic people in this hostel. The receptionist was extremely helpful and gave me loads of good advice on where to go in Kyoto. The location is more than perfect - right in the heart of Gion. Only problem I had was finding it... it's on the third floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here and met nice people. Also we are happy that our staff made your stay more comfortable. We hope we will see you again!

63%

dormrooms to many beds inside,no space.i stayed here 3 years ago when it was not busy. then the guy inthe lower bed was f... a Girl!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We changed the beds 10 month ago. Beds were more comfortable than before. also bit biger than before,so some one feel there is no space.

100%

Met such wonderful people at this hostel!! Staying here is super advisable. We sort of turned the 5th floor lounge into a party room. though we tried to clean up after ourselves, and im sure it wasn't perfect, the staff were very nice to us about all of it! Very close to the old district, super accesible to the rest of the city by walking, bus, or train. And for the amount of people in the hostel, everything was always immaculately clean! Great value for money. Definitely stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. We are glad that you met many nice people and enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you someday!

86%

The location is great and the staff is helpful.i wish i stayed there the previous day asas well instead of some other expensive place that i found in a hurry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed our location. Also we are glad that our staff made your stay comfortable. We hope we will see you again!

60%

Narrow space both in the dorms and at the lounge area/kitchen. everything was stuffed. Lounge area/kitchen closes at 1 am, which is a downside. Average cleanliness. The main entrance is always open. Don't expect to be comfortable here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have small hostel and 10 beds dorm only. If you would like to have more space, better to go other place. There are many hostel in Kyoto. You can find your favorite one.

89%

good location on the gion area wich is a very traditional part of kyoto.close to many temples,shrines and many other places of interest. staff was helpfull and the dorms (beaside being small for so many beds) was very clean. recomendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we think our lovcation is one of the best location in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere and you can see Geisya nearby. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

86%

Very helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Location is close to major attractions like Yasaka Shrine & Kiyomizu-Dera. It is reasonable priced. I will definitely stay in this hostel again when I visit Kyoto in the future!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. Also we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you next time!

86%

Great location, I had a good week, met some nice people, a good security locker for small valuables forget a laptop ect (it was a tight fit). Comfortable bed's - close quarters - good value and fun for what you pay. I'd recommend the hostel it's small but it works.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

74%

I had to leave a night earlier than I had booked and they wouldn't give a refund,even so I told them first thing at 8 a.m. in the morning.You can't cook in the kitchen, only hot water for instant noodles, a toast-grill and a microwave.I really liked the privacy curtain on our bunk beds in the dormitory, which was actually really great.Sinks, toilets and showers are in the dormitory which is on the one hand very convenient, on the other very loud in the morning.Staff was friendly and english ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We can't give you back the refund even if you tell us in the morning in the day. Accordding to our cancellation policy, we had to charge a cancellation fee. On the other hand, we are glad you liked our curtain. We hope you will enjoy in Japan!

97%

Location is good, just 10 minutes walk from the Gion District. Staff were very nice and friendly, and the facilities provided are very thoughtful. Definitely recommend this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. Also we had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!!

83%

Nice location (geisha district), easy to find (close to bus stop), walking distance to a few attractions. Good use of the space of the room. Cheap and cold beer for selling. No problems with the hostel. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you liked our location. Our location is one of the best in Kyoto. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback