Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A-yado Gion

  • 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,779 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,779 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
A-yado Gion Located at 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto.
A-yado Gion
Japan
Kyoto 605-0082 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm
85% 1779
35.0063516 135.7753676
A-yado Gion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
6.9

I spent two nights in A-yado. It's not a bad hostel but for the same price I stayed in another hostel in Kyoto which felt like a 5 star Hotel so I think A-yado could be cheaper. You sleep in a 12 bed dorm which is packed tightly. The bedsheets looked not so nice, had a few stains. The commonroom feels kind of messy aswell, it's not really dirty but it just looks like everything has been used for a long time. The toilets and shower are clean though. You could find a better deal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
9.7

Great location in a lively area. Good bus links and staff helpful giving guidance on how to get to major sites. Rooms are on small side but doesn't cause major issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.7

You'd be hard pressed to find more hospitable staff than at A-Yado. They specifically helped us with reservations over the phone, provided free maps, as well as being a limitless well of advice for our short stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are really glad to hear about that. We had a really good time with you! Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Sep 2016
5.4

Not a great hostel. Very thin curtains between beds meant I was kept awake by the person next to me as her light was on until 2am. Very very packed dorm room. Smokey smell. Common room was the worst I have seen in Japan. No cooking facilities just a toaster and a kettle.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff were really helpful and great location! I think the room is a bit crowded but I managed. It was not a major concern.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.1

A-yado was located in the beautiful Gion...but the building is a bit weathered....The staff are polite but not really open to casual chats..the communal room, which is on a new level to the dorms, didn't feel all that comfortable and I guess I just didn't feel a homely vibe or anything....but nice just to have a rest and sleep :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are sad that you didn't feel a homely vibe. But we hope you will find nice hostel in yor rest trip of Japan!

9th Sep 2016
8.6

Friendly staff and clean rooms despite being a bit crowded. Don't expect much in terms of breakfast--it's 1 slice of bread but there's coffee and tea! Great location in gion!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.9

Okay location and staff. Everything look clean, but the toilets smell quite funny. In the ladies room the bunk beds are too packed. Theres too many bunk beds, so theres no space at all to leave the suitase.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We have a small hostel. We can't make the room bigger for the space any more. Also we put a fragrance in the toilet fot the smell. Anyway, we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Japan.

5th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome place, will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Aug 2016
8.3

I stayed in a 10 bed female dorm. The dorm itself was tiny and included two showers and two sinks. Beds were comfortable and the curtain added some privacy given it was such a small space. The staff were awesome and so helpful with directions and advice. The shared common room was super social and a great way to meet other people. Such a great social atmosphere and the location was perfect- right in the Gion district close to public transport. Despite tiny room size, I would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.