X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1124 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice friendly place with a good common room to meet loads of nice people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here and meet loads of people. Also we had a good time with you!! Thank you!! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!!

100%

Awesome place to stay, will do so again next time I come to Kyoto.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about that. We are always waiting for you. We hope we will see you soon!!

80%

Staff was super friendly. They had a lot of info about Kyoto but most things cost money. The bus pass that they sell at the front desk is definitely worth it!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that our service made your stay more comfortable. We had a good time with you!! Thank you!! We hope we will see you again!!

43%

I wouldn't recommend this place at all. The smell was horrible. The bed was stained. It was a terrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We clean up the room every day. We try to get out of the smell. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip.

77%

Good Location and nice staffs. Too packed-up rooms it has though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad taht you enjoyed our lcation. Well, we are small hostel and when it is full, you will feel bit packed. But we can't change the facilities. we hope we will see you again!!

69%

The lockers are way too small

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we have only small locker for valuable like wallet and passport. But we can keep a laptop in our cabinet. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto.

91%

This is an excellent hostel in Gion. It is a bit of a pain to get to Kyoto Station, since it requires a subway transfer but the neighborhood is very historic and beautiful. The facilities are clean and the staff is very friendly, although one person spoke fairly limited English. Bread is provided for breakfast everyday and food can be purchased in the common room for cheap. My only complaint is that space in the 10 person dorm is quite limited and can be very cramped when full.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your cmment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. Also thank you for giving us your complaint. we are small hostel, we know the guests sometimes feel cramped. But we can't change the facilities. We hope you will enjoy the rest tripof Japan.

66%

We stayed one night. Clean, nice staff, good place to sleep, difficult to foster social environment cause of limited space and layout. Directions to hostel were very vague and could be more precise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we have small hostel and we don't have much space. But some people enjoy this limited space. Also we always send the direction by e-mail 10 days before the guests arrive. We hope you will enjoy in Japan!!

89%

Friendly and helpful staff. Forgot to mention to them that I cannot access their website from abroad, it says "403 Forbidden, I do not have permission to access". Thank you so much for the help we received during our stay. It is a very warm hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We also were happy to meet you. Thank you!! About direction, thank you for letting us know about that. we will check it. We hope we will see you again!!

91%

We had a very good stay in this hostel. Very friendly and helpfull staff. We stayed here only for one night (because of a festival the hostel was booked out for the other days) but we could leave our luggage here for three days! This was very convenient because we did not have to carry our heavy luggage all the time. Very good location in Gion.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are very glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. well, we also wanted to spend time with you. But we hope we will see you some day!!

97%

Perfect hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about your simple word. We hope we will see you again!!

80%

very good except for the drunk who almost attacked me on the first day, would reccomend

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed your stay here. If you have time to come back to Kyoto,please stay here again!!

60%

Average for a hostel, but good enough for a place to sleep. The staff was awesome and it was pretty easy to get to. Mixed dorm was a bit cramped, could use 1 less bed. Showers and bathrooms were clean, the bed however, not so much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed your travel in Kyoto. Also Thank you for giving us your opinion. Well, we have a small hostel. we know somepeople feel bit cramped in the dorm. But we can't change the facilities. There are many hostels in Kyoto. You can find your favorite one there.

100%

This place is great. The lounge and cheap beers allowed us to meet some great people and all the guide books available to read were a great way for us to find some hidden delights around Kyoto. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. It's a little small in the bedrooms, but hey it's Japan. To be honest I don't know why this rating isn't higher. I recommend it and hope you get a great crew of people staying with you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your comment. Also we are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay with us again!!

94%

Good location and was really fun people there. Beds are the most comfortable I've slept in in Asia. Only annoyance is the sinks and showers are in the 10 bed dorm, feels like you're causing a lot of noise to so many people at night when you need to brush your teeth or shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. well, we have small hostel, so we have to put the sink and showers in the dorm. We can't do anything. But we hope we will see you again!!

94%

This was really an amazing hostel, I had a very good and pleasant stay here. The staff was incredibly nice, the location was perfect, cause you're close to a station and in the middle of a lot of amazing sights and the room was very clean and the showers had hot water and were also very clean. Best value for money I ever fot so far. I have already booked another stay in this hostel, so I can definitely say that I'm a satisfied customer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. Also we had a good time with you. Thank you!! We are looking forward to seeing you again!!

94%

The location of this hostel is simply amazing!! The staff are friendly and the facilities are clean. Loved my time here! Thanks A-yado for making Kyoto so much better for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. Also we are glad to hear that A-yado made your stay much better. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again. We hope we will see you again!!

63%

Not that secure, didn't have to use my key once during my stay. Mixed dorm room a bit cramped, would definitely be better with one bunk bed less in that room. Staff is nice. Common room is nice. Location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Also thank you for giving us an advice. Well, we always tell the guests to use the keys. Also we check the room several times a day. so we try to do some things for security. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip in Japan!!

86%

Close to all temples and gesha district. Beds are big and showers good. Hostel could do a few organised activities or have suggestions on sites.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto. Well, we think our location is one of the best in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere. Also thank you for giving us your opinion. We will try to do our best.

57%

The density of the bed in a room is really high. It's not really comfortable to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have only 10 beds dormitory. We think if you feel crowed in the room, you'd better to stay a private room. There are many hostel in Kyoto. You can find your favorite one.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback