X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1145 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

my stay at a yado was amazing! i love the staff!;D they are very friendly, helpful and speak very good english. its right in gion also, so you can reach major visiting points in kyoto by foot. but a busstop is also close;) the hostel provides everything you need and get even a little free brekkie. thank you and all the best=)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are very happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you! Thank you! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

83%

The hostel is in a convenient place.The staff is always helpful and cheerful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. We hope we will see you again!

94%

Great location and affordable. Although the building is a bit older, all necessary facilities there, staff is very helpful on getting you started in Kyoto

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about your comment. We had a good time with you! Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

100%

I have nothin to complain about. The best hostel that i had on my japan trip!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. When you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again! We always welcome to you!

97%

Very comfy & clean, all staff are very helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear about that. We hope we will see you again!

86%

A quality hostel. I was disappointed with the atmosphere, but I only stayed one night so there's a good chance I just caught the place on an off night. Beyond that, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and you can tell they've made an effort to create an environment that is inviting and conducive to socializing. Just didn't come together the night when I was there. One huge plus is they have all beds curtained off, so it's a great place to get some privacy while still meeting others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that our stuff helped you. Some people think our atmosphere is not good, but on the other hand, many people says they like it. so depends on people. We have all beds with curtain. You can have a privacy. We hope you will enjoy in Japan!!

80%

Great and helpful staff. Apart from the reception desk, which is quite old, the bedrooms look really nice and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. It has been 5 years since we opened. But we always clean up the room. We hope we will see you again!!

94%

Nice staff, clean hostel, great atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you next time!

100%

This was a great hostel. Best one I stayed at in my recent trip to Japan. They cleaned the bathrooms twice daily. The bed sheets were soft and fluffy. They also had multiple outlets for charging electronics. The staff was nice, helpful, and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about your word that best one you stayed in Japan so far. We also had a good time with you. Thank you!! We hope we will see you again!!

89%

I love the community area on the top floor. Got to meet some interesting people. The beds are comfortable and I like the curtains and individual bed lights. They provided small lockers to keep valuables, so that made me feel secure. It's in a great location in Gion. The staff was very friendly and were flexible with us. Would stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THank you for your comment. WE are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here and meet nice people. We also had a good time with you. Thank you!! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!!

94%

Nice friendly place with a good common room to meet loads of nice people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here and meet loads of people. Also we had a good time with you!! Thank you!! If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!!

89%

As far as small hostels go, I think it was really good. The location was great, within walking distance to the sights of the Gion area. The common room had snacks and beverages for purchase at a reasonable price and there was wifi. The staff were polite and helpful. Clean shower facilities and beds. Some hostels provide bicycle rentals, but we found a cheap rental shop nearby. All-in-all I was satisfied.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THank you for your comment. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy staying here and our service made your stay more comfortable. We hope we will see you again!!

100%

Awesome place to stay, will do so again next time I come to Kyoto.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really happy to hear about that. We are always waiting for you. We hope we will see you soon!!

69%

clean place to stay, although the common room is a bit to clean almost a waitingroom for the dentist. Security code to lock the door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed staying in Kyoto. Well, we clean up the room everyday and we just would like evryone to relax when they stay here.Also we don't have a security code to lock the door. we only give the keys to our guests to lock the door. If you have a chance to come back to Japan, please come to Kyoto again!!

80%

Staff was super friendly. They had a lot of info about Kyoto but most things cost money. The bus pass that they sell at the front desk is definitely worth it!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that our service made your stay more comfortable. We had a good time with you!! Thank you!! We hope we will see you again!!

43%

I wouldn't recommend this place at all. The smell was horrible. The bed was stained. It was a terrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We clean up the room every day. We try to get out of the smell. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip.

77%

Good Location and nice staffs. Too packed-up rooms it has though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad taht you enjoyed our lcation. Well, we are small hostel and when it is full, you will feel bit packed. But we can't change the facilities. we hope we will see you again!!

69%

The lockers are way too small

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we have only small locker for valuable like wallet and passport. But we can keep a laptop in our cabinet. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto.

91%

This is an excellent hostel in Gion. It is a bit of a pain to get to Kyoto Station, since it requires a subway transfer but the neighborhood is very historic and beautiful. The facilities are clean and the staff is very friendly, although one person spoke fairly limited English. Bread is provided for breakfast everyday and food can be purchased in the common room for cheap. My only complaint is that space in the 10 person dorm is quite limited and can be very cramped when full.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your cmment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. Also thank you for giving us your complaint. we are small hostel, we know the guests sometimes feel cramped. But we can't change the facilities. We hope you will enjoy the rest tripof Japan.

66%

We stayed one night. Clean, nice staff, good place to sleep, difficult to foster social environment cause of limited space and layout. Directions to hostel were very vague and could be more precise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we have small hostel and we don't have much space. But some people enjoy this limited space. Also we always send the direction by e-mail 10 days before the guests arrive. We hope you will enjoy in Japan!!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback