Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A-yado Gion

  • 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2017
8.3

For the price this is a pretty fantastic hostel. My biggest complain in the cleanliness. The air conditioner in the common room on the 5th floor is crazy f*cking moldy, but when I told the staff about it they didn't clean it. As far as I know it's still moldy. That's pretty disgusting...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Sorry about the air conditioner, we will check it and clean it up soon. We hope you had a good trip in Kyoto! If you have a time to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
9.1

Amazing stuff, well English speaking! Before I arrived to Kyoto, I got an email from the hostel about the location and duration to the hostel, it was really helpful. When I got to the hostel, they suggested the best way to travel to all those places where I wanted to go on my last day of staying. It was a really hot summer, and they even let me took a shower after i checked out from the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are really glad to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

25th Jul 2017
9.1

Super nice staff. Close to metro station. 10 min walking from the touristic hotspot. Cheap and clean. Suggestion: please improve the wifi signal on the 3rd floor mix room pls. Thx!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We ar glad that you enjoyed our location. We think our location is one of the best location in KYoto. It is easy to go anywhere. About wifi, we will try to improve. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Jul 2017
10.0

Comfy bed, great location, friendly staff! On of the best hostels I've stayed in Japan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear about that. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

8th Jul 2017
8.9

Overall it's a very good hostel. Situated right in the middle of the most touristic part or the city. Its a great location to just walk out and start doing tourism with out taking any bus or subway. The showers are inside of the bedroom and the toilets are in front of the reception, which it's kind of problematic. There are 2 showers but share the same door so if someone get inside and lock it you have to wait till the other guy is finished eventhough there is one empty. I would recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that we liked our location. About the facilities, we can't change them. Please understand that. We hope we will see you again!

1st Jul 2017
9.4

Good social area, decent price & nice staff. Only downside was the floor where the beds were didn't have wifi working

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy here. About Wi-fi, it will be sometimes bad connection. Butwhen you come to the reception, we will fix it. We hope we will see you again!

16th Jun 2017
9.7

The experience was great, lounge area made it easy to meet new people. Only problem was the AC wasn't as cold as I wanted it to be, but I came in the midsummer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you met nice people in our lounge and enjoyed. We also had a good time with you! Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
8.9

A-yado Gion is in such a great location. It is on a quiet street close to the beautiful Gion area, and is a few minutes away from some of the busier streets of Kyoto. The staff was super friendly and told me which places I should visit over my three-day stay. Their common room was a great place to meet new people, and even had beer and snacks to purchase (at a very affordable price), to save me from having to walk to the shops. Overall I had a very pleasant stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

14th May 2017
9.1

good location, they provide one slice of bread for breakfast, very very small lockers aren't good for much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time here. W have only small locker for valuable, but we can keep the laptop in our cabnet. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
5.1

I stayed at this guesthouse one night. It wasn't what I expected for the money I paid. The bed shits were not clean and the bed are really small. The staff is good and helpful but busy. There is a nice living room but the things is that it's upstairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. You said " I will put a good review on the HostelWorld if you give me a discount" when you checked in. But we didn't give you any discount, so you put a bad review. It is not fair and rude to negotiate for getting for a discount in Japan. We hope you will not do like that at other hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×