X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

A-yado Gion Reviews

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1303 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great value for money because it is so cheap. The female dorm is a bit cramped but the mixed dorm is a lot more spacious. A place with more secure luggage storage after checking out would be great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed your stay here!

77%

Great value for money because it is so cheap. The female dorm is a bit cramped but the mixed dorm is a lot more spacious. A place with more secure luggage storage after checking out would be great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Also thank you for giving us an advice. We have a small hostel. there is no space any more. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto!

77%

poor breakfast, no life, bit warm at night. rest is ok

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. The breakfast is our service. We don't take any money for that. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto.

89%

Located very close to many interesting spots, such as Gion and Yasaka Shrine, and not too far from the rail station. And while the main draw for me was the price, the staff were quite accommodating and the kitchen came pre-stocked with purchasable items such as sodas, beers and instant ramen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

97%

Great hostel, lovely and very helpful staff. Not a large communal area but very cool having snacks/beer to buy there. Great location, can walk to a lot of sites and very easy to get to using their directions

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Also we had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again someday!

86%

It wasn't my first choice, it was my only choice as I travelled during the golden week, but it turned out to be quite good. The place it's a little bit small, but the location is great. Very accessible by bus from the Kyoto station, very close to the main bar/restaurant area (10-15 min walk), and conveniently located to some of the main attractions of the city. Also, beds are nice, very cozy. If you are a backpacker I'd definitely recommend it. It's great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

69%

I found the staff quite disrespectful. Other than that, this was a nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We don't understand what happen to you and our staff is disrespectful. But if you feel so, sorry for that. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto!

71%

The location is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad you liked our location. We hope will come back to Kyoto again!

91%

Nice hostel with nice staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear about that. We hope we will see you again!

83%

Great location, very clean, free tea and coffee, hot showers, free shampoo, shower gel and conditioner, wifi throughout! Not a party hostel but that's fine in Kyoto as you will but out and about! Also the hostel sells snacks and drinks at a cheap price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you liked our facilities. If you have a chance to come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!

71%

Cheap and did the trick.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto. If you have a chance to come back to japan, please come down to Kyoto city again!

97%

Good location, Gion is fun if not a expensive and the common area is a good place to meet people. Staff are really helpful and English is good. Room space is a bit cramped but you make do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy our location and your stay here.Also we had a good time in Kyoto. We hope we will see you again!

71%

This hostel was one of the last available, and was my second time to saty here. It's excellent value for money, and a great location. However, I found it hard to meet people here. The room was a little cramped, especially when other travellers had big suitcases. The common area has food fr sale which is good. And breakfast is also included!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have very small hostel. So it might e hard to meet many people as you said. But some people enjoy it. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto!

94%

At the first sign, we think this is a small hostel (because of small lobby) but we was wrong. They have everything we need, staff very nice and friendly. Love it :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear about that. Also we had a good time with you! We hope we will see you again!

80%

Thank you! Very good stay and wonderful help from the staff. Highly recommended for Kyoto!

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. I hope we will see you again!

83%

Excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Bunk room is very tight and with a lot of noise from outside during the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Our loctation is the centre of GIon, so it will be many noise from outside. If you want to sleep well, our guest house might not be good place. Anyway, thank you for staying. We hope we will see you again someday.

71%

Wonderful location, but the hostel itself lacks good vibes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto. we hope see you again!

46%

The hostel is in a good spot but the dorm room was stifling, so many beds packed in, no room for luggage, windows shut, no natural light, airconditioner on at all times. The living room was bare and dull, the kitchen was unclean. It wasn't the hostel's fault but there was also a terrible snorer in my room, nobody slept. All of this added up to such a bad experience that I checked out early and went to Pan and Circus - a beautiful hostel nearby which I can wholeheartedly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We feel sorry about your stay. The renovation works has been conducted on this building. That's why we can't open the window. We hope you had a good time at other hostel.

91%

Gion area is the best place to be when in Kyoto! Few blocks from the bus stop so its convenient to go around the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, our location is one of the best location in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere by bus and walk. Anyway, we are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We hope we will see you again!

77%

very good location. Staff were helpful, it was great that they sold drinks and snacks at the hostel for a cheap price. Security wise I wasn't too happy as the guests in the hostel kept leaving the door to the hostel room unlocked which I understand isn't anything to do with the hostel but made me very wary of my bags. Also there were people doing construction nearby at 1am which made sleeping a little difficult Otherwise all over a good hostel and good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Well, we always tell the guests that please lock the door when you leave the room. But some guests don't do that. We will try to check the room and lock the soor more often. We hope we will see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback