Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A-yado Gion

  • 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,840 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,840 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
A-yado Gion Located at 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto.
A-yado Gion
Japan
Kyoto 605-0082 3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm
85% 1840
35.0063516 135.7753676
A-yado Gion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
6.9

Expectation VS Reality

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

The room may feel a bit cramped. But the location and other facilities are really great. It's situated right at the famous Gion street. Kitchen area is nice. Free coffee and tea with bread. You can buy some cup noodles and other snacks at the kitchen too. I only stayed there for a night. So can't comment much. But it has everything I needed for a night. The staff was also very friendly and took time to explain everything about the hostel in English and Japanese.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your saty here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Walking distance to 2 train stations and a bus stop, location is A-yado Gion's best asset. Add to this the numerous restaurants within the area. Room is not for travelers with big bags though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a good time in Kyoto. If you have a time to come back to Japan, please come to Kyoto again!

21st Nov 2016
6.0

The dorm room had very poor air circulation, i didnt see a window. Ended up with a hacking cough and had a clogged nose during the night. Several of my room mates were also coughing alot. The mattresses on the bunks were below average and should probably be replaced with new ones. Above average noise level, which is understandable when booked at full capacity. They had a bunch of drinks and snacks for cheap which was cool, but not good kitchen facilities to cook food. Very nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We have windows each dorm, and we open it every day. Anyway we hope you had a good time in Kyoto.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.0

Very good location in the old part of Kyoto. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby and easy enough to get to sights from here. Staff is friendly and the place is kept clean. The showers and bathroom are in the dorm so sometimes is a bit noisy with people getting ready.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed your stay here. Also we had a goo dtime with you. Thank you. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.9

Friendly and very helpful staffs. Just a short walk to the bus/train stations, convenient stores, restaurants, bars and karaoke. You can rent kimonos and even selfie sticks from the hostel. They also have guide books and maps in English. I had a relaxing 2 nights stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a relaxing 2 nights here. We also had a good time with you. Thank you! We hope we will see you again!

17th Nov 2016
9.4

Fantastic location. Really close to the Gion area and near some really amazing temples and shrines. Also about a 5 min walk from Kyoto's downtown and subway stops. Didn't find there was much of a social vibe but I wasn't looking for that in Kyoto so you may a different opinion than me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed our location. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.7

Great location in the center of Gion, very friendly staff. The lockers might be small but the staff will watch after everything that is too big. Common room closew at 1am, which is unfortunate, but there is a/the barstreer only 5min away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. We can keep the valuable like a laptop in our cabinet. We also had a good time with you. Thank you. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Good! Location excellent! Staff great! Small so if you want to meet lots of people might be tricky! But overall really good and I had a lovely stay as you can see from my review score!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here. We also had a good time with you. We hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. In a great location, with very helpful and friendly staff. Hostel is really clean and has lots of amenities. Will definitely stay here again if I come back to Kyoto

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoy your stay here. We also had a ggo dtime with you. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.