X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
923 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The rooms are quite small but what do expect for a boat. Everything was very clean and we slept with ear plugs to avoid the noise. The rooms did get quite warm overnight but for the price it was fine. The owners were very friendly. It was great to experience something of this kind.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a five-star location -- it's a fair walk from the main attractions -- but much-more-than-adequate beds, washrooms, and breakfast. A few things to keep in mind: * Look for the dock with "Amsterdam" as one of the ships. Should be the first one you pass. * Pot/drugs are forbidden aboard * "Free wifi" = 50 Mb. In other words, look elsewhere if you plan to watch some SpongeBob under the influence. Otherwise it's definitely workable.


74%

Great experience to stay on boat. Nice breakfast. Only drawback is room is really small.


94%

People working here (I think it was the owner and his wife) are really helpful and friendly, and they make you feel welcome. Only problem with the place is the noise, and I don't mean the party noise or something like that, but since it's a boat you can clearly hear steps and so on. But after around 1am it gets pretty quiet.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely amazing! One of the best hostel/hotel's i have ever stayed in, definitely coming back!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Honestly one of the best Hotels I have stayed in, the atmosphere suited me and my friend really well and it was a really enjoyable experience. The beds were comfy and the choices for breakfast were delicious. The location is just perfect, especially when the sun is setting. The owner was just very lovely and approachable. There were also excellent maps provided and just an all round fantastic stay here.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Beds were very unconfortable and the location is a bit far but renting a bike does the job. Room was very small so the room has very little air since the window is small and 2 people stays in a small room that has small window. The view from the window was very nice. However, Breakfast was not good, we had the breakfast only first day and we had to eat somewhere else because it was bad.for the other days. As a result if you are looking for comfy spot skip all of the boat hotels.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very cool staying on a boat in the Amsterdam canals! It's about a 10 minute walk to Central station and a 15 minute walk to other busier districts in the city. The boat was very clean and well run. The rooms were a cozy 2m square in size with a top and bottom bunk. My wife and I slept comfortably on the bottom bunk together. Breakfast included bread, butter, jam, cheese, sandwich meat, cereal, yogurt, milk, coffee and tea. There was a little shop in the reception area that sold beer and wine.


97%

Very good moments in this place, perfect for holidays!!!!! People at the reception is fantastic. Hotelboat was a good idea for this trip!!!!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Rooms are small (you are on a boat after all), sink in the room is nice. The mattress left a lot to be desired and the wifi only works in the dining area on the top deck - it does not work in the room, and you are limited to 50mg per 24 hours (it does NOT reset at midnight) after that you have to pay. This made it very difficult to communicate with friends and family back in the states. Breakfast was average. Staff are awesome, but the internet thing really made it hard to enjoy my stay.


100%

We loved our stay at the Hotelboat! The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were excellent, and the location wonderful. Would definitely recommend!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

5 minutes from central station. Really near the Botanic Gardens etc. Only downside is the no smoking policy... come on guys its the DAM!


100%

Fantastic atmosphere staff very friendly good location thin walls but what can you expect on a boat, comfy beds overall would book again


49%

The rooms were very small, but expected for a boat. The walls are paper thin and could hear the people next doors conversation. Morning was the worst as everyone else woke you. Great if you are just staying for a night or two but don't want to plan spending anytime in your room


91%

The accommodations were exactly as described in the listing, and the location was great (within easy walking distance from the train station). We were leaving the city early in the morning, and the hosts allowed us to checkout the night before and provided us with a to-go breakfast. They were very accommodating! The only negative was that we were unable to get the wifi to work on either of our 3 devices.


100%

Great spot, comfy houseboat with friendly staff and good accommodation


91%

Loved the boat, great breakfast...and the manager was very friendly!

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent value for money, very clean, nice atmosphere, kind people. I recommend it without second thoughts.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was Super cool there.staff is so Nice and the view amaising.the bed is very comphi.8 min Walk from The Trainstation.my Nr.1recomendation in Amsterdam!!!:)

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location for this hostel. Although the rooms are small (what do you expect you are on a boat!?) they contained everything you needed. Would reccommend to others and good value for money.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback