X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
828 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good location, friendly staff, a bit noisey at night

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staying on the boat was awesome except for two things: a) you can hear every step, so I often felt as if someone was wanting to enter our room which scared me. b) the wifi didn't really work at all. It should be 50Mb/day, but I got disconnected after 10 minutes and could not get back on.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely coming back to this hostel! So close to everything, great staff, clean...and come on IT'S ON A BOAT!!! AWESOME!!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

generally very good hostel, and give us amazing boat alike experience, also very nice staff


83%

great hostel and totally worth the price, the room is a little small though, hard to find a place to stand


71%

The boat was very clean and the staff were great. Rooms were alittle too small for the price paid and really hot to sleep in. Also, I know its a doc by the water but there were lots of rats running around at night time with one coming on the boat during the middle of the night on the top the deck as I was out there because it was too hot to sleep.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great staff, always ready to help. Rooms are small, but perfectly fine for two persons, toilets and showers clean, everything working fine! Definitely recommendable!


51%

This hotel can be treated like a peculiar tourist attraction, but definately not a comfortable place to stay. The rooms have less than 4 square meters. Although we were there in the end of September the room was so airless that it was almost impossible to sleep. The bedding seemed unclean and wasted/very old. Other thing is that the walls are very tiny and you can hear people from other rooms all the time. The breakfest was very basic, consisting with cheapest products.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It said double room when we booked but we had bunk beds and there is no where safe to store your bags before you check in. Also the walls are quite thin so you can hear your neighbours. But overall great location, staff, cleanliness and facilities and somewhere a bit different to stay

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, great value for money. The lady that runs the whole thing was really friendly, definitely stay again.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel only 5 min on foot from central station. And the crew was great. Highly recommended


86%

Very please to staff who where very happy to help you and direct you around Amsterdam. I would recommend any nod to stay here if you don't mind the hostel vibe. Thank u soooo much for the experience of saying on a boat in Amsterdam

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a fantastic weekend staying on the Amsterdam Hostelboat - the owners were super friendly and welcoming, the boat and the rooms were immaculate and the facilities were spot on. Will definitely recommend this hostel and be back ourselves!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The place was clean, with a good location and nice owners. It's easy to go to the city center and also close to a place to rent bike. For me it was all i need, despite a bit noisy because it's a ship (the morning you can be awaken by the other room)

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was a nice stay on the Amsterdam boat. A good location, near the center and our hosts were very welcoming. I RECOMMEND IT!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

What a lovely, lovely place to stay. The owners are so friendly and relaxed they made us feel so welcome. I would not hesitate to recommend the boat to others and if I ever go back this is where I will book. Thank you.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Apart from ventilation of the rooms, it was awesome.


100%

Had a wonderful stay! Stayed in a private twin room. Very hot at night, but otherwise lovely :)

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a wonderful time at the Amsterdam Hotelboat! It was located in a spot that was very easy to find coming from the airport, but also was close enough to walk to all the major attractions. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast, internet access in the common room, and free day all day long. Also, the owner was great! She offered suggestions on what to see/do and packed us a breakfast on the morning we left because we had to catch an early flight.


100%

Loved the boat. Cheaper and better than most hostels and other hotels.


(41 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback