X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3972 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Duvet cover instead of sheet would have been nice. There was a lot of dust on shower extractor fan. Overall very good place.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Value for money, very clean and comfortable. Would like better reception for wifi in the rooms.


77%

-cleaning the toilets more often -put wifi on each floor

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, lovely staff. Large hostel, very clean (it always smelled good!) and maybe not the most festive atmosphere, but it was comfortable. The only downer for us was the location. Everything happens around the Cathedral Quarter, or so it seems, and it's a good 25 minute walk from the hostel... Overall, really nice place though! We enjoyed :)


46%

- My couple was not allowed to check-in in our PRIVATE room after 23:00 h, although this is a violation of their terms and conditions: "Latest check in if you have booked beds in a shared DORMITORY room: 23.00" - Staff was extremely rude and rejected to explain this in a polite way avoiding any explanation - For the 38 £ - 42 £ a night they ask for, it is reasonable to go spend the night in a proper hotel - Did not receive any formal apology or compensation to this day, AVOID this hostel!


80%

Maybe you could post notices on hall & bathroom doors for people not to slam when they walk through especially during the night when people are asleep. Also the bathroom/shower room on the second floor could use a soap dispenser at the sink.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

- NO Internet in the room - Tiny beds


94%

Great location. Felt safe. Really friendly and helpful staff. Only niggle - you could do with new mattresses.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleased with my night here, the location is very central, the staff was helpful with all my questions.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It is cold during the night stay with no heating and tiny single bed cover, it is no warning enough. The bed mattress is old and so hard.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Got help from a local man on the street to find a nearby restaurant for lunch. Staff at Reception did circle St Georges Market on the map as a place to eat but it might be best to circle a nearby local area too - I think we ate on Botanic Avenue - French Bistro place , which was good. Directions were good but Shaftesbury Square didn't look like a square.


97%

This was the second time that I stayed here. It is a great value and will definitely stay here again if in the area. The facility is very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is cheap and tasty. My 60-year old parents also stayed here and enjoyed their stay so definitely good for all ages!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

rooms smell bad, noisy, internet doesn't work properly, staff not helping


89%

hope to have internet access in the bedrooms.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

All was good except for the pillow (waaaay too thin, even doubled up)

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was so helpful and the rooms/bathrooms were clean. My only complaint is that the wifi doesnt work in the rooms at all. You have to go to the lounge downstairs to use it. But overall had a great experience


60%

I STAYED IN Room 402, and I noticed there wasn't a lock on the shower door, pretty important. There wasn't any hook to put up a towel, or clothes. . you could easily fit a small wooden bench into that shower. The wooden floors make for a noisey nighttime experience. Everything else was fine. Cheers


86%

very nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

80%

Really lovely staff and ridiculously GORGEOUS cafe for breakfast etc. - yum! Room was basic, but really clean - v v happy! Thank you guys :0)

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Meet our expectations


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(189 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback