X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4325 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really nice hostel! I only stayed there for one night, so i didn't had the chance to go to the coffee inside. They have a big variety of breakfast (what is not included, but really cheap and you also can pay in €,£,$) in addition to that, they also have vegetarian "sausages" or "bacon"....all in all a really good hostel, the only bad thing is that there aren't enough opportunities to charge your phone in the rooms and there's no wifi in the rooms as well.


40%

Hi we did not have a great experience staying here. My son & I stayed in a private room on the 3rd floor, the corridor smelled of urine. The room itself did not smell fresh or clean. The sheets didn't appear washed. My son who is 8 is allergic to cats, woke up the next morning with his eyes flared up?! I am not one to complain but I would not stay here again. The ground floor was fine & the guy at reception friendly.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, would recommend. Was pretty quiet while I was there but the main area but large enough to still meet a good amount of people to go out with. Only problems were no wifi in the rooms or eating area and the kitchen tools were a bit grubby.


80%

Clean rooms and friendly staff.


40%

Stinky, dirty and the wifi worked in one spot on the main floor- not even in the cafe, making it difficult to find a place to sit down, even for 10 minutes to plan things.


94%

The receptionst whom my friend and myself met on arrival and departure was fantastic, he was so helpful, chatty, and I feel made our trip the little bit easier with ideas of where to go and what to do! If every receptionist was like him then there would be many happier hostel/hotel customers. The room was spacious (we stayed in a twin bed room) and clean.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comments. It's good to know what we could be the benchmark for good customer service! Our staff always read our online reviews, so I know you will have just made someone's day. Thank you - and we hope to see you again in Belfast. David

94%

Good place to stay. Had a enjoyable stay. Would stay here again definitely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time at the hostel in Belfast, and that you would definitely stay here again. 100% scores for location, staff, cleanliness, value for money and facilities is superb. We would definitely be happy to host you again too! Enjoy the rest of your travels. David

80%

The hostel was clean and tidy and not too far from the town centre. The staff were polite and knowledgeable. The small cafe on site was cheap and offered plenty.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to leave your comments after your stay at the Youth Hostel in Belfast this week. It's always good to read that we are getting the basics right. I hope that your holiday is still going well and that will recommend us to people you meet on the road. Take care and happy hostelling! David

54%

My room was very small and rather dirty as well. there were a lot of gross stand on the wall at my bed . there is also a street light that shines directly into the window of the room I was in. the breakfast available at the causeway cafe is very good but is not included.


86%

Better access to the top bunks would help. But then I am 70!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were excellent, very helpful. As for the hostel I only saw three hours of I as I ended up mass debating with some Canadians into the early hours. They call me the phantom. Last in, first up that's the way I like to

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay. It's always good to read positive comments about our staff: they work very hard so they will appreciate your feedback. We have a lot of Canadian guests at the moment, and it sounds as if you kept them entertained! Last in, first up seems like a good philosophy: meaning you make the most of your time when you're travelling. Enjoy the rest of it, and see you again, David

77%

Handy and affordable, although a noisy location on a saturday night (even with our room facing the other side of the building).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good location. Good value. Thank you for that. I realise from reading recent reviews that there were some problems with noise outside the hostel over the last 2 weekends. We are hoping that this was something out of the ordinary, but will monitor this as time goes on and act where we can to lessen the impact of noise of our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your comments. David

91%

Everything was great, the staff especially was very nice and helpful. The hostel is located in the center of the city. Breakfast was amazing for the price it costs!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup ! Thank you for giving both the hostel, and Causeway Cafe, such a brilliant review. We are lucky with our location, just a 10 minute walk from the bus station. I will pass your comments on to the team/s. Causeway Cafe has just launched a new menu, and as you say it's amazing value for money. Hopefully we will see you, your family, or friends in the future. Enjoy the rest of your holiday, David

91%

Only problems we had was that there was no hand soap in our bathroom and the room was next to the lift so we didn't sleep much because of it, due to other guests being noisy, but that isn't the Hostel's fault. Really good that the tour company we booked with for the GoT and Giant's Causeway tour were situated inside the hostel

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . It sounds as if you had a busy time if you managed both a Game of Thrones and a Giants Causeway tour during your visit! It's great you made the most of your short break. That said, with tours leaving from literally outside the front door, we make things easy for you. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed occasionally by the comings and going on a very busy Saturday night - but am pleased that this didn't spoil your weekend. Come back and see us sometime, David

74%

The room was a bit like a prison cell, but this is made up for by the large kitchen/cafe area where the Wifi access is too, which is great. The staff were absolutely brilliant. The showers could definitely use a slight re-design to add a shower curtain and so there is an area to put clothes and get changed. The adjoining Causeway Cafe was amazing. the Belfast breakfasts were really great value and so filling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review after your stay in Belfast - and thank you too for emphasising the positives: large kitchen and dining room, WiFi access, brilliant staff, amazing cafe. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you will keep on hostelling! David

51%

It was okay... Nothing flash at all try somewhere else first

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review . The world of hostels, like the world of hotels, is very diverse with something to suit all tastes and requirements. We exist to provide a budget bed or room in a clean, safe, welcoming environment so that those of limited means, or those who enjoy the hostelling experience, have the chance to explore. I am sorry to read that you wouldn't recommend us - but hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Europe. David

80%

The only problems we had was that room 302 was very close to the lift, and we could hear the ding dong of the lift whenever someone reached the landing. Maybe you could disable this dingdong. It is not very useful! Also the door of the bathroom didn't shut.. and it would be good to equip the bathroom with something to wipe the floor with. When someone has a shower, the floor gets flooded, and you then have to wade through puddles to get to the toilet....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your high score despite the issues you had: thank you for pointing them out to us too: it's always a first step to having them resolved. I've just been up to the room and the shower drain is now running better, so hopefully our wet room now doesn't get quite so wet. The bathroom door is on our 'to do' list for this afternoon. The volume in our lift is the lowest possible: disability legislation means we can't disable the audible message. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

86%

Very convenient for a cheap alternative.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment . I think we are indeed a cheaper alternative to a city centre hotel: your standard twin cost only £30 for the night, unbeatable perhaps for city centre accommodation. (Did you know that with a HI/YHA memberhip your stay could have been even cheaper?) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in the UK and Ireland - and carry on hostelling! David

57%

Was in a private double room. I at least expected a living area or a curtain that separates the toilet area from the shower. There wasn't even soap in the bathroom to wash hands.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay with us in Belfast. Our shower rooms are designed as 'wet rooms', as described on the Hostelworld website: this was a design decision made to maximise a relatively small space, but I understand that it is not to everyone's taste. In common with most Youth Hostels toiletries are not provided so as to keep the cost to guests relatively low - and I am pleased to see that you rated us highly on value for money. Safe travels. David

86%

Not sure what other hostels were like in Belfast, but this one was a very well maintained, well staffed hostel, good for meeting people but certainly lacks the atmosphere of other trendier hostels. Staff were very helpful, kitchen was very large and had everything you would need. Good hostel, main criticism is that the wifi was patchy at times and only really worked in the lobby area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI . Thanks for your feedback: it's good to hear what our guests think. The staff at the hostel is a hardworking team, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, so your comments are very much appreciated. As a HIHostel we aim to provide welcome, comfort, cleanliness, security and privacy - it's great to know that we ticking those boxes. Our wifi provider is currently looking at improving our network, particularly on busy nights: hopefully it will be better on your next visit. David

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback