X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4061 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It is valuable to live there!

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The heater in our room did not work. (


86%

Showers and toilets usually are the trickiest thing in hostels. We were lucky it was not very busy during our stay so we had the shower room to ourselves and always hot water. They were extraordinarily clean and spacious!!

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we do appreciate it and were pleased to read that you were impressed with the facilities! Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

No heating in the bathroom, only one hairdryer in the whole hostel. Nice kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. There certainly should have been heating in the bathroom and we will investigate this. We hope that you enjoyed visiting Belfast! Belfast International Youth Hostel

97%

Stayed just one night but everything was fantastic. Kitchen, rooms, bathrooms, common areas, etc. were all clean and great. Only small thing which I'd like to see change is the wifi is only available in the main lobby area. But my stay was perfect and the value is unbeatable. Location is right in the heart of The area of pubs and where things are happening. Just a 10 min walk from bus station so vey convenient for my one night stay.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. As you have probably seen in responses to other reviews, we have purposefully kept wi-fi out of the rooms in order to encourage guests to meet and interact with each other as part of the international hosteling ethos. Nevertheless, be assured that we will keep this under review. Best Wishes, Belfast International Youth Hostel

63%

Was left out in the freezing rain one night waiting for the security to let us in. Awful smell in reception .

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. Staff were really helpful and make the visit a positive experience. The self-catering kitchen was very well organised. I would certainly recommend the hostel to anyone staying in the Belfast area.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a considerate review - we do appreciate it. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Cheaper prize per night, but no breakfast included.


97%

Great location walking distance of shops and eating places. - short walk from Great Victoria Street- Europa Centre. Friendly staff free wi-fi and comfortable rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review - we do appreciate it very much. Happy Travels! Belfast International Youth Hostel

49%

The heating was too hot. There was no way to switch it off. No internet in the room. Issue with the hot water in the shower, I had to ask someone to fix it and they didn't seems happy to help. The smelling of the toilets in ALL the hostel was disgusting.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review. Just to point out that there is a valve on all the radiators to raise or lower temperature. We provide free wi-fi on the ground floor only and not in bedrooms in order to encourage guests to interact as part of the hosteling ethos. We have a dedicated team of housekeepers who clean the toilets daily. Nevertheless, be assured that we do welcome all feedback and we hope you enjoyed Belfast as a whole. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Very welcoming and friendly staff who made us feel comfortable and at home within seconds. Clean rooms great for the price! Showers and toilets close by to the rooms. Towels were provided and the Wi-Fi codes were all included. Great location close to the city center and the best bars! Also fab food in the cafe at the hostel. :)

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review - we'd love to have you back again! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Unfortunately the internet only worked on the ground floor.The password changed every day and everytime I wanted to go online I had to enter the datas again. A little bit annoying but ok. Beside that everything was fine. The showers could need a little table or shelf where i can put on my stuff. The same with the rooms. No table or chair. Beds,sink and a shelf like a locker but you couldn't lock it. however, we had a nice stay, the staff was friendly.It only takes a 20-25 mins walk to the centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We provide free internet on the ground floor and not in the bedrooms in order to encourage guests to interact as part of the hostelling ethos. We hope that you enjoyed visiting Belfast and thank you for your feedback. Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

Clean, simple and nice. I did the walking tour that they offer for free at the weekends and was really impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - we do appreciate it and we're glad that you enjoyed the stay and the tour! Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

Nice place to stay easy to reachable any place, many restaurant near by.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

Simple, no-nonsense hostel that covers all the essentials and doesn't waste time with the frills. 6-dorm bed was very comfortable, and the building was remarkably quiet and peaceful even on a Friday night - I appreciated the efforts to prevent drunken hooliganism before it happens! Wi-fi in the common areas was fast. Thank you to both guys at reception for efficiency and understanding. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your kind words which we will circulate around the staff! Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

Great cafe, very reasonable prices! Friendly staff- overall good experience.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It wa a nice place to stay, the rooms were clean and quite spacious. The atmosphere wasn't great, no real opportunities to socialise but it was quiet and mid week when I stayed. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only near reception so they need more than just 2 couches to sit on for iPhone users. Has a good self catering kitchen though which was nice since breakfast isnt included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback which I assure you we will take on board ahead of 2015! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

As someone who came to belfast for only one day to see someone in the day and stay there in the night i think it was great i might come back soon.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words - we would certainly love to welcome you back! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

All very good, although we ended up with a bunk bed instead of a twin room, but we did get it for cheaper so it worked out ok. Very professionally run and doesn't make people uncomfortable and doesn't fall into the stereotype travelling youth hostel scene

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we were pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Very nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review - we do appreciate it. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback