Hostelworld.com

Belfast International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5,210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5,210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
Belfast International Youth Hostel Located at 22-32 Donegal Road, , Belfast.
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Northern Ireland
Belfast BT12 5JN 22-32 Donegal Road
81% 5210
54.5891735 -5.9357500
Belfast International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
4.0

The counter staff were very rude and ignorant

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit to Belfast. It was a very busy at the hostel at the start of a long holiday weekend and on the night of the international football game between Northern Ireland and Belarus. Your 80% score for security seems slightly ironic: it is not always easy for staff when guests arrive with (a lot) more people than they have booked for, assuming that booking a room means free access and use (of our limited car parking spaces too) for all of their friends. Our check in procedure/ residents only policy is quite strict (and detailed online) for security reasons too, and when guests refuse to comply then it becomes awkward for front desk staff. We are well organised (we have to be due to the number of people we are dealing with) and generally everything runs smoothly and guests leave happy - sorry once again that this was not your experience. David

26th May 2016
7.7

Overall is alright. Great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2016
4.6

If you like refurbished creepy hospitals then this is the hostel for you. There is no sink in the bathroom, but that's ok, it's next to your bed. Wifi only worked in the lobby after it make you check in on Facebook. Also the security guard wouldn't let us bring in food after 11pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello from Belfast. It's always disappointing to read a negative review: I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your low score for staff is particularly disappointing as, although you had booked beds in separate dorms (the last beds available on a busy night) we had reorganised your booking before arrival so that you could stay together. We have a wide range of rooms here - yours a standard 4 (bunks, lockers, a washbasin) with the shower and toilet just opposite. You do not have to check in or like us on on Facebook to use our free WiFi: there is a code which allows you to bypass the Facebook check in. Our kitchen area closes at midnight and we ask guess not to bring back takeaway food after that: hot food in dorms causes issues (smells, stains on bedding too), complaints - and after a night out food debris is rarely cleared away - so it's decision we made to help keep the hostel clean and tidy. If you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thank you. David

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.1

A very handy hostel for me, as I was only staying overnight and just needed a place to crash. Great value. My only issue is was WIFI signal throughout the hostel. In my room I couldn't pick it up and was a bit of a hindrance at times, so the only place I could pick it up was at the reception area. But that's all really. But overall, a solid place to stay, lovely breakfast in the morning before heading off. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.9

Security is really good. Clean beds, washrooms and shower rooms. The staff is very helpful as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

The location is great and the staff members are very knowledgeable and helpful (especially important since Google maps doesn't seem to report public transport in Northern Ireland). Only downsides are that they're a little pricey for not including breakfast, locks or too many outlets (only two in a room of 6). In general though, they were clean rooms, stayed in an ensuite 6 bed which with large enough bathroom and 2 sinks. Nice facilities on site too with TV room, library, cafe and tour office.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
6.9

In a six bed dorm that could definitely use a makeover

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

Everything was great. Helpful staff, beds were comfortable enough, great value for money. We asked for recommendations on places to eat and were not disappointed! The Causeway cafe was amazing value. Only in town for one night but it served well :) Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your excellent review. I am really happy that you enjoyed Belfast and your stay at the hostel. It's always good to get 100% from guests who have used our standard twins: bookers are occasionally disappointed that our standard twins have bunks (as described online) so it's great when the rooms score well. Enjoy the rest of your travels. And keep hostelling. David

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.7

Great location, very accessible and safe. Near lots of restaurants and attractions. Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Warm and friendly staff. Perhaps just there at a slower time, but atmosphere didn't lend itself to meeting people/ making friends as much as I would have liked, but that's the only complaint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2016
7.7

It felt like a bit of a dodgy street but is close to everything. The tour that operates from the hostel is brilliant and definitely worth it. Everything else was great, especially the staff who were super helpful, giving us the best intro to Belfast ever!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.