X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4026 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Clean, simple and nice. I did the walking tour that they offer for free at the weekends and was really impressed.


91%

Simple, no-nonsense hostel that covers all the essentials and doesn't waste time with the frills. 6-dorm bed was very comfortable, and the building was remarkably quiet and peaceful even on a Friday night - I appreciated the efforts to prevent drunken hooliganism before it happens! Wi-fi in the common areas was fast. Thank you to both guys at reception for efficiency and understanding. I'd be happy to stay here again.


83%

Great cafe, very reasonable prices! Friendly staff- overall good experience.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

As someone who came to belfast for only one day to see someone in the day and stay there in the night i think it was great i might come back soon.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words - we would certainly love to welcome you back! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

All very good, although we ended up with a bunk bed instead of a twin room, but we did get it for cheaper so it worked out ok. Very professionally run and doesn't make people uncomfortable and doesn't fall into the stereotype travelling youth hostel scene

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we were pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Very nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review - we do appreciate it. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

49%

Dirty shower, bad smell in bathroom and bedroom.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You will see there is another review from 7th Nov that mentions a bad smell. We were able to locate the source shortly after and it was dealt with. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

The Staff were great, location is good. The hostel itself is pretty dirty and has an unpleasant odour in the sleeping areas.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You will see there is another review from 7th Nov that mentions a bad smell. We were able to locate the source shortly after and it was dealt with. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

Staff realy nice and helpfull

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave us a review! Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

It was My first time in the Hostel.I found it worth staying.I like the atmosphere,the library,the hygiene,Food! I had my Breakfast in £1.50! I just wish twas early.I had to wait till 1300 hr . Thank you for everything.Good job :)

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be back again! Happy travelling Belfast International Youth Hostel

66%

The bathrooms were very dirty


63%

Very small rooms with no cupboards, coat hangers or anything to put your stuff away. Smelly bathrooms and hallway. Self-catering kitchen could be better looked after to. Causeway cafe was nice though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do have a hard working team of housekeepers who work daily to ensure high standards. Nevertheless be assured that your feedback is valued. Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

very nice breakfast café (not included) in walking distance of city centre only drawbacks: no showercurtains and window didn´t open

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. Your window should certainly have opened and we will investigate this. Nevertheless we're glad that you enjoyed your stay, Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

94%

My two daughters and I had a great stay at the Hostel. WE stayed one night. Also went on the Dead End tour of Belfast and a play at the Grand Opera House. The hostel was safe, clean and nice people!! Thank you!!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

My stay in the Belfast International Youth Hostel was short but pleasurable. The atmosphere was nice and the staff polite. I plan to stay again for my next Belfast visit.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Advertised as closest to the central bus station, but it's a 10 minute walk from there. Since the station is located near the heart of the city, you are just moving further away from the city center. The bathroom facilities were basic at best; and the taps were press-on, so that you literally can't wash both hands at the same time. There was no shower booth. The beds were short (and I'm not that tall), and the whole room was pretty basic (no desk). Only for budget travelers who don't expect much


83%

We very much enjoyed our stay and the facilities were very good. I would like to see cerial or pudding bowls and more mugs in the kitchen. Also I wish some hosteller's would dry their plates up / wash out sink. Most though were very good.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback - we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and will take your comments re mugs and bowls on board. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

97%

We stayed there for friday night, staff were very helpfull and location is great too.Very easy to find from bus station.We were very happy to stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us with such a positive review - we do appreciate it. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Belfast! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

Rooms were adequate. Price is just right for a place to rest your head and beds were suprisingly comfortable. The shared bathrooms were basic. Would have liked mirrors and shower heads a little further away from being stuck on the wall at a bad angle. A fresh lick of paint would go a long way but overall happy with my stay. Would stay again for a short trip to Belfast as it is located just 7-10 min walk to city centre and good security.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and be assured that we will take your feedback on board. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

not much atmosphere in the hostel, but if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep in a comfortable place its a good choice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(176 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback