Hostelworld.com

Belfast International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
Belfast International Youth Hostel Located at 22-32 Donegal Road, , Belfast.
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Northern Ireland
Belfast BT12 5JN 22-32 Donegal Road
82% 5328
54.5891735 -5.9357500
Belfast International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jun 2016
4.6

The room was shown to be a decent size space with light and two twin size beds. Unfortunately, when we got to our room it was no larger than a closet and had a bunk bed with very little space to move. Toilets were clogged and the showers were dirty. the location was good, but that was about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to read you were disappointed. We have a very wide range of rooms to suit all budgets. You booked well in advance so would have a had a lot of choices. The room is described online as "small (half the size of a standard 4) and designed for those seeking a budget room but some privacy, not extra space or comfort". We are careful not to mislead. Safe travels. David

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.3

Very friendly helpful staff. Room a bit small but common areas were nice and big.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very positive comments about the hostel staff and our newly refurbished common areas. It's good to have positive feedback after we've completed some work. We have a lot of different room types at the hostel - from very large dorms, to 4s and 6s, standard 2s, and doubles and twins with private shower/toilet - something for everyone we hope. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.7

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Staff at check in was lovely and very informative :). We got back to the hostel on the evening and it was after 11 so we had to show our i.d to get in, the guy on night shift was about to let us in then said that because we had food with us to eat it outside, we were going to sit in the lobby with it and don't understand why that would be an issue? Apart from that hostel was great. Maybe recommend having more than 2 plug sockets in a 6bed room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review score: hopefully we can make it to 100% on your next visit. We ask guests not to bring food back to the hostel after our kitchen/dining room close at midnight: even during the day we ask guests to keep food in the dining area so that reception/lobby is not filled with fast food smells. An attempt to keep things clean and fresh! See you again. David

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Here is really great. With kitchen and luggage reserving service. The staff is very great and nice, Very helpful. However, there is a bar nearby, weekend may have party there, a little bit noisy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great comments, particularly about our hard-working hostel staff. I am sorry you were disturbed by some outside noise: a city centre location can have positives and negatives, particularly at the weekend. I hope you enjoyed Belfast and will recommend us as you travel. Thanks again. David

24th Jun 2016
9.4

Besides wifi not being in the rooms, this hostel is outstanding. Excellent location to great bars and the bus. Really nice staff. Tours out of the hostel are great and facilities are good! Breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is very delicious. I felt very well looked after. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Outstanding! Thank you very much. It's always good to read that our continued hard work (to provide a clean, comfortable and safe place to stay) is paying off. I hope you will keep hostelling as you travel. David

24th Jun 2016
8.3

Good hostel, no complains. Great location, central and at walking distance from the city Hall, the city centre, coach and train stations. Clean and comfortable beds, friendly staff. There were individual lights for each bed but a few weren't working. I would definitely come back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your 83% score and great comments. Good hostel, great location, clean, comfortable, friendly - thank you. It's particularly good to get positive comments about our big dorms: I know people sometimes don't like the idea, but these rooms are spacious and designed to give some privacy. Thank you again. Safe travels. David

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jun 2016
7.4

The staff was amazing - so helpful in all regards! The facilities were okay. They were pretty clean (minus the vents in the showers - EW), but they were OLD. Beds were fairly old and some didn't have lockers. The rooms smelt musty from the shower - bad ventilation. It was good for what you paid for, but i would rather pay a bit more for a few updates such as more hooks, lockers, ventilation. The cafe attached was cheap and yummy!!! The location was okay, better than other hostels so reasonable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Everything was great. The staff was extremely helpful. The cafe is excellent. I appreciate the free towel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.0

Quite nice, quiet, comfy beds, not too far from city centre. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast, unfortunately, wasn't included but you can use the kitchen at any time and the café does nice meals too. Would stay again (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much. Knowing you would choose us on another visit means a lot! We don't include breakfast to give guests the flexibilty of using the cafe or looking after themselves in the self-catering kitchen: I think our rates remain competitive, even without breakfast, if you compare rates in similar room types in other hostels. I hope you will keep hostelling. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
5.4

Hi there, I am afraid I cannot rate anything higher. The staff were incredibly lovely and the hostel was very warm which I appreciated, but I chose to only stay one night with my friend. I believed that I had booked a twin room as it appeared on the photographs of two beds in a decent sized room. Sadly I didnt have this experience. I opened my door to what I can only describe as a prison cell. It had a bunk bed with a metal cabinet in one corner. I did not sleep well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello from Belfast. I am sorry the room was not as expected. It is described on the booking site as "small (half the size of a standard 4) and designed for those seeking a budget room but some privacy, not extra space or comfort". Did you ask staff if you could move to an ensuite twin or double which cost slightly more? We have a very wide range of rooms at the hostel to suit all budgets. David

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.