Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belfast International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Belfast International Youth Hostel Located at 22-32 Donegal Road, , Belfast.
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Northern Ireland
Belfast BT12 5JN 22-32 Donegal Road
81% 5716
54.5891735 -5.9357500
Belfast International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Too noisy until very late. I didn't sleep well. Noise curfue would be appropriate. Additionally, people entering the room and turning on the main lights late at night was a problem. This woke me up. The main lights could be disabled and only the bed lights used in bedrooms. Very bad nights sleep. Otherwise good. Potentially good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello from Belfast. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some night time noise: we don't usually have too many issues and guests tend to be respectful of our quiet time after 23.00. We have a member of staff working 24 hours a day to advise if there are any problems. Hostel dorms are shared spaces: I personally would never turn on a main dorm light when returning late but unfortunately not everyone follows dorm etiquette in the same way. Thank you for your high overall rating despiute the issues you had. See you again. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

I had to go to Belfast on the last minute for my USA visa and was finding accommodate very expensive in the center of Belfast so chose this hostel it was perfect never stayed in a hostel before but this one was brilliant the staff were really helpful would definately stay again great if your on a budget

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review: it's always good to read that we have converted someone to the idea of hostelling as an alternative to increasingly more expensive city hotels. HI hostels are a good choice, not-for-profit, and one of the original social enterprises perhaps. See you next time you are in Belfast. David

19th Sep 2016
4.3

Not really close to town centre. About 20 min walk. I know it's a hostel so you can't expect much, but the room wasn't very clean and the staff wasn't welcoming or helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry to read that our hostel didn't meet your expectations. The person who stayed in the ensuite twin room you were allocated the night after you rated us 100% - but your comments have been noted. The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the Europa Bus Station, about 15 minutes on foot from City Hall, 10 minutes from the University/Botanic Gardens/Ulster Museum - a great location for a small and relatively compact city like Belfast. Safe travels. David

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.1

Helpful staff, very convenient location. A shower curtain would be useful to keep the bathroom dry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Very nice staff. Clean rooms. Accessible to everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.4

Lockers WITH LOCKS or operated by inserting coins (for those not carrying locks with them) in the rooms would be very useful. The computers available for internet access tended to crash easily, but it was good to have them at all for those non-smart-phone etc. owners. Otherwise, all perfect. Extremely friendly staff, v. nice atmosphere, v. good facilities. Great central location, bus station, city hall, University Quarter in easy walking distance. Highly recommendable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.9

Really nice staff! They helped out with pretty much everything in the best possible way. Security was almost too much with key cards necessary for every single door. I loved the connected causeway café where one could get amazing breakfast for little money. Dorms were tidy and practical, though the 23 bed dorms are kind of too big. There's always going to be someone making noise at night. Location is quiet enough to keep windows open at night and not too far from the city center either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lreilly3286
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.9

Showers were very basic and were rusty in parts. Over all it was clean but was kinda shabby and dated. Cheap price however, you get what you pay for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
5.7

The hostel needs a really good deep clean! The communal kitchen was filthy - cooker extractor hoods thick with grease, greasy dust on the radiators, poorly equipped. Stairwells/stairs dirty. Bathroom sanitary ware clean but pipe work thick with dirt/dust and shower drain blocked so bathroom floor flooded. Hot drinks machine out of order. Staff on the Friday/Saturday were helpful and friendly, the gentleman on the Sunday clearly needs an update in customer service.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.0

Needs some maintenance work and decor needs redone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.