X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3932 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

All was good except for the pillow (waaaay too thin, even doubled up)

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was so helpful and the rooms/bathrooms were clean. My only complaint is that the wifi doesnt work in the rooms at all. You have to go to the lounge downstairs to use it. But overall had a great experience


60%

I STAYED IN Room 402, and I noticed there wasn't a lock on the shower door, pretty important. There wasn't any hook to put up a towel, or clothes. . you could easily fit a small wooden bench into that shower. The wooden floors make for a noisey nighttime experience. Everything else was fine. Cheers


86%

very nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

77%

Meet our expectations


97%

Great hostel!!! Friendly staff


46%

Wifi only available in the lobby/common area??? I've never stayed at a place where that was the case especially when paying £15 per night. No breakfast included either. Plastic cover on mattress underneath the fitted sheet? Are you kidding me? It was so uncomfy and made sounds every time I moved. Tried to save a bit more money by staying there but you might end up spend more on roaming 3G charges. Ha! Staff was okay but not the greatest either. Overall I wouldn't stay there ever again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review. Many hotels in Belfast actually charge up to £15 per day for WIFI access - the fact that we offer a free service at all is quite uncommon for Belfast city centre. We do list on all our literature and booking sites that the free wifi is only available in common areas. By doing this we are also trying to encourage our guests to embrace the ethos of hostelling and come out of their rooms and mix with other travellers. I hope you enjoyed your trip to NI nonetheless

97%

Security is good and the cafe is clean. It is really value for money.


89%

The hostel is within easy walking distance of the Europa bus terminus and Great Victoria Street railway station so it is easy to find and get to. Airport buses link to this point while any travellers wishing to go to other parts of Northern Ireland or Dublin can easily get a connection. The twin room was cleaned and ready for me. I bought a breakfast each morning at the hostel, where there was a very wide choice. The kitchen facilities were great and I brought in other meals.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review! I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient and accessible to all transport links. It is also great that you were able to avail of our self catering facilities and found these to be of an acceptable standard! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast and hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon. Cathy

71%

The place is generally good, good location, close to some good bars and clubs. The kitchen was really below average. It smelled, knives were dull, so slicing some tomatoes could get really frustrating. Can opener didn't work, so i had to use a knife, which was quite risky. On the first day, 2 out of 12 stove heads worked. Wouldn't recommend for people wanting a good modern kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us! I am very sorry that you felt our self catering kitchen was lacking in facilities. I am delighted to report that we have actually just installed a new oven and that we are in the process of acquiring new cookware so the issues that you have raised should be addressed very soon. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Cathy

74%

Rooms had beds and toilets were clean, alright. But the overall atmosphere was sad and boring, not fun nor positive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel! I am delighted to read that you found your room and bathroom facilities to be clean and up to a good standard. It is obviously disappointing to hear that you thought the atmosphere was lacking. Obviously this is something we will strive to improve on. Best Wishes Cathy

51%

The common rooms are not really lively - hard to meet people. Seems there's lots of people actually living there, or sthing like that - cause there were really few tourists. The place is, in my opinion quite badly located for tourist sight seeing - you have to necessarily walk at least 15mn or take the bus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. We are actually located in what is known as Belfast's "golden mile" - it is indeed a 15 minute walk to Belfast city centre but only a 5 minute walk to many transport facilities. Many of our guests comment on our excellent, convenient location to all a tourist heart could desire - I am very disappointed to hear that this was not the case for you. Cathy

100%

I really like this hostel. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and I feel safe there. It is also in a great location; 5 -10 minutes walk to city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review!! We try to make each guest feel welcome and do what we can to ensure that they have an enjoyable stay. We are delighted when guests take the time to tell us when we succeed. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and we very much hope we can welcome you back to stay with us. Cathy

57%

The place in OK conditions. Does not have the "Hostel Spirit" since it is basically a building with rooms, where everybody gather in the lower ground since it is the only floor with internet (yeah, not joking). My room was just two bunk beds, a sink and two lockers in poor condition. It was enough but my first thought was a prison cell, ahah!! The shower does not offer a proper protection to keep your belongings safe from water if you're not careful. At the end, it deserves a positive grade...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel. We only offer FREE WIFI on the ground floor as an attempt to try and get our guests to integrate with one another and embrace the hostelling ethos. It is disappointing to hear that you felt that we lacked "spirit" and this is something we would most definitely like to improve. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland! Cathy

66%

Pretty standard HI hostel. Not much in terms of atmosphere. The staff was realy good... lent usa lock for no charge. It's a bed at a decent price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thank you for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be useful and that they were able to assist you. I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland. Best Wishes Cathy

100%

Amazing hostel!!! Staff trying everything to make your stay comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It means so much to us when guests take the time to let us know the things that we do right. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to one of the hostels within our network sometime soon. Cathy

69%

There was no working oven in the kitchen! The hostel is really big, but the only oven they had was out of order. Someone, I guess an angry traveler, had written a note next to it saying that it had been broken since April! Considering it is now September, this just seems ridiculous. Also, 1 of the 2 microwaves they had was also broken, and the other one didn't rotate. But, it was cheap and near the city center, and they did have a really good cafe there. TL;DR the kitchen was a joke.


89%

Nice welcoming and helpful staff. Great location for exploring Belfast. Housekeeping very good. Nice cafe open till lunchtime daily a bonus. Handy vending machines. Clear rules


89%

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely, the hostel was really clean and secure and the beds were the most comfortable hostel beds I've slept in! The location is great, really close to the centre and the bus station. The only drawback was that there was only wifi available in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

We really enjoyed our stay at the Belfast International Youth Hostel. But especially the curtains, the windows and the bathrooms need to be cleaned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback