X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3843 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Brilliant stay enjoy it.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at our Belfast international Youth Hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again soon! Cathy

94%

The staff were fabulous, they were very helpful about places to visit, and they made the stay all the more enjoyable...well done, gents! The facilities were basic but clean and functional....more value for money than we had expected. Thanks for looking after us!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. I cannot tell you how thrilled we are when we receive such lovely feedback from guests, especially about our staff! It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and I very much hope you will come back again! Cathy

100%

We had an excellent stay in Belfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Security was very good- enclosed car park. Located right in the city centre. Within walking distance to a concert in Boucher Street. Very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the on-site cafe in morning was delicious. Would recommend to all. :)

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving such a fabulous review of your stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It means so much to us when guests appreciate the hard work which we put in! I hope you enjoyed the concert! Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again sometime in the future. Cathy

74%

From previous reviews of this hostel I was skeptical to book with them, but once I saw for myself I was delighted with what I payed for. It seems many people want to pay nothing but get everything. I've definitely payed for more for hostels of a far lower standard in all fields, but this place was comfortable and very helpful with any queries I had. The person at the desk even gave me some of his milk for my tea ^.^ For less than 20 quid this place was more than adequate. :D


63%

Shower equipment was so bad.......


86%

Wasn't able to connect to wi-fi in the lobby and pity no wi-fi coverage in the rooms, very nosy rooms because of weak windows for both sides of the building (as i stayed in other side of the building before too). Otherwise fine hostel


83%

Nice hostel and friendly helpful staff. Yet, it's a shame that the game room is no longer available and that no computers are free to use at the moment.


83%

Phil was the greatest--helpful, friendly, efficient. \I like this hostel and \I would return. As a travel blogger, not having wifi in the dorm rooms is a drawback, and some free tea and coffee in the common rooms would be nice. But there are plenty of clean shower rooms and wc's, the place is clean, the laundry facilities are a big help, and all in all a great hostel.


63%

I worked in a hostel for over 4 years and when I check someone in I do not go off talking to someone else! Otherwise the room weren't big but comfortable enough, the atmosphere was nice and it is good to get free parking in the middle of a city.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

No nice common area. Besides, good value for money.


80%

The staff were excellent and very helpful. The general feeling of the hostel once up in the corridors and the room was that it was run down, but provided exactly what we wanted: a bed to lay our heads on! All in all, a great stay and the hostel provided a welcoming atmosphere even if we felt a bit on edge after coming up from Dublin in the beginning

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Have to go to the ground floor to get the wifi. The kitchen is well-equipped but not smell very good. I stayed at a 22 people dorm, The room is bright and clean. There are three showers, sinks and toilets in the bathroom. However, one of the door of the toilet can't be locked and the water in one sink/shower is not running down properly. The bunk bed is really small and it makes noise every time I turn. No plug by the bed, but there are some in the room. Small locker under the bed.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It's in a great location, can walk anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - many thanks for your review of your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location central. We very much hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future! Cathy

66%

The only problem WIFI

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very loud at nite even with window closed.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi was poor and only available in small area in lobby. Advertised as free parking but no spots available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your review! Unfortunately as a not for profit organisation and running the largest hostel building in Belfast, it is just not economically feasible for us to be able to offer a free wifi service throughout the whole of the hostel. Many of the hotels in Belfast actually charge up to £20 per day for wifi access! We also want to encourage our guests to come into the common areas and mix with other travellers and not just sit in their rooms online! Cathy

43%

Poor customer service, including the manager who was extremely rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. We take all criticism from guests very seriously. The majority of people who stay with us comment on how friendly and welcoming our staff are, so it very disappointing to read that this was not your experience. If you would like to discuss this matter further then please do not hesitate to contact me at marketing@hini.org.uk. Cathy

86%

Good affordable hostel within waking distance of many of the major sights in belfast. Giant's Causeway and black cab tours (must see) can be booked at and leave from the hostel. The communal kitchen is ideal when trying to save some money. One of my friends who is quite tall however, had some trouble fitting in the beds.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff where so lovely and took care of the flowers and made sure they where kept alive! So close to the town walking distance and overall It was great vaule for my money! Definitely be coming back to this! ♥

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of your recent stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

71%

The staff were very good and security also, what we did not like was the noisy plumbing and a bad smell from the shower. The area around the hostel is a bit rough but convenient to the city centre.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(169 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback