Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belfast International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Belfast International Youth Hostel Located at 22-32 Donegal Road, , Belfast.
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Northern Ireland
Belfast BT12 5JN 22-32 Donegal Road
81% 5989
54.5891735 -5.9357500
Belfast International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Great shower, very good location near lots of places to eat about 10 minutes walk from bus station. Walls are quite thin so slightly noisy as is the road. Though that's the only negative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Best Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. Starting the year with a perfect 100% rating is amazing! See you next time you are in Belfast. David

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.1

This is a great hostel. Super quiet and clean. We are a young couple and we got a twin room, great value for money and super comfortable beds. Only a 10 minute walk into town if that. They have very helpful staff and a phone to use for free to call any tour. We felt well rested and relaxed after our trip and would gladly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Dec 2016
7.7

I wasn't expecting much from a hostel in Belfast so I can't say it was a disappointment. A no frills, functional hostel that is fine for a place to sleep but doesn't offer much else. Ensuite bathroom had one of those annoying push-button showers with no screen or anything so water goes everywhere -- seriously outdated. Belfast is afairly walkable city so location was good (less than five minutes by foot to Bus Station) and Staff were friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.0

The wifi didn't work in the bedrooms and the number of showers and toilets I thinks is not enough for the numbers of rooms. And it's missing a "mind your step" sign in the bathrooms :) I stepped 2X there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Excellent value for money. Clean,comfortable, centrally located, friendly staff, quiet, safe. What's not to like?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If this is our last review of 2016 it's a great one to finish on (tempting fate now, I know!). A perfect 100% - thank you. We have all worked very hard this year to improve our guest experience, and our reviews and ratings have improved across all platforms. Hopefully we'll see you again in 2017. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
6.6

Stay was good however comments made by staff where inappropriate at times when leaving they said "is that you away I am sure you are glad"

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello from Belfast. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Our staff are usually rated very highly online for being friendly and helpful: I cannot imagine anyone making inappropriate comments, so perhaps some of the craic, or banter, got lost in interpretation? I hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Dec 2016
2.0

Just not suitable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Can you please contact me with more information regarding your comment? Other guests who stayed on the same night actually scored us 94% and 100%. A bed in a small (4 bed) dorm, on a Saturday night, for £14.50 is really good value for money even if other expectations are not met. I helped you print a boarding pass on Sunday when you checked out and you didn't indicate that you'd had a bad stay. Please contact me with more information. Thank you. David

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
9.4

Great value and friendly staff, not allowing food in after certain times was a bit bizarre but a great stay none the less. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great comments and especially the positive feedback for our staff. It's always good to hear that a guest would stay with us again on a return visit to Belfast. We restrict food and drink to our kitchen and dining room area, which closes at midnight. After that we ask guests not to bring fast food back (to avoid lingering smells, damage and stains on furniture, bedding and so on - it's difficult for us to absorb additional costs at the rates we charge). See you again I hope! David

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
7.7

Good, clean hostel with good security. In a slightly dodgy area but it's close to city centre and the university area making it very convenient. Facilities are not as modern as other YHA's I have stayed in but not bad. Overall no complaints considering it is so cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. 10 out of 10 for both 'value for money' and 'cleanliness' is excellent and very important to us. We are constantly renewing and updating, doing what we can. As you say we are close to both the city centre and the university, which doesn't suggest dodgy. The street between the hostel and the KFC on the corner is owned by a hotel around the corner and due for redevelopment so it perhaps doesn't look great at the moment, but hopefully that will change. I hope you enjoyed your time in our city. David

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.