X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4977 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great value for money!!!!

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel is great, except for two things: 1) I was there in January, super cold, and there was not hot water on my private room. I had to go to another floor to find a bathroom with hot water. ... and most importantly 2) No wifi on the bedrooms!! THAT SUCKS! I needed to be in touch with friends who were arriving at different times in the city and I had to sit downstairs waiting for the messages because wifi only worked in the lobby! WHY??!! Just for that, I wouldn't stay at Belfast International Y


77%

Location is very good Only thing I would like to recommend is that there should be an option for us to pay in advance because I came from Republic of Ireland and I don't carry pounds with me so prefer to pay room rent in advance. The guy on reception at my night of stay was true gentleman. I am sorry can't recall his name.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Customer service was excellent! You all are very welcoming and I enjoyed speaking with you. Bathrooms have a bit of a mold/musty smell which was not ideal. It might be difficult financially, but it would be wonderful if wifi was accessible throughout the hotel!


89%

The staff were lovely and helpful. The twin ensuite room was basic but comfortable and good value for the price. The sink in the bathroom drained slowly so might need to be looked at. The shower was hot and good. The room was nice and warm. There was street noise (cars etc) but it didn't bother my friend and I. Overall a great stay and I would come back and recommend to others. Thank you!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were fantastic and very helpful.


91%

Globally speaking I had a wonderful stay at the hostel. Everything was clean and modern. It was not noisy. Perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your high review score! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hostel in Belfast. Yours is one of the first reviews we've had since we refurnished our ground floor common areas (after redecorating at the end of last year) - 'clean and modern' is indeed what we were going for: we wanted to brighten up the area and provide more seating. It is always good when we get good reviews from people who have booked our standard twin rooms, and when everything was exactly as expected from our description. I hope you will think 'hostel' first when you are looking for accommodation for your next trip! David

57%

Only having the heaters on a timer may be cost effective for hostel but mid winter, its cold all day not just between 7pm-11pm. window seals need to be checked as well. In my room the seals didnt work & there was a draft.Very cold all night. When i asked if heater were broken only told that they turned on at 7pm, didnt mention that they turn off after few hrs. Was very cold for rest of night. Maybe key system could be updated to tell if people present in rooms & heater on during those periods.


100%

what a nice place to stay ,was in BF. often before, now i know this place this is my home in BF in the future,location is perfect ,just outside tourist area ,Royal bar ,a good place to talk with local peoplle opposite the GH. very nice,big,clean rooms and dorms, nice attached restaurant with good breakfast at very reasonable prices. staff is very friendly and helpfull ,even when i came home a bit late , the guy who had nightshift ,helped me with my travel plans for the next day,GO ON guy,s


43%

Moved hostels as didn't enjoy this one at all. Found a cheaper one which was much cleaner, friendlier staff and better location


54%

My husband and I had a private double room. The bunks were very old and there was absolutely no where to sit in the room. The bunks were too small to sit in... Making things like putting on shoes, really difficult. The showers are on really quick timers and the shower had no hooks. I had to put my clothing etc. on the floor. The room actually reminded me of a jail cell.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Bit like a hospital

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - for your perfect score for our security - and for high scores too for our staff, location and cleanliness. Can you let me know where we lost points on 'value for money' as you rated us as clean, safe, well-located accommodation with good staff? It's always interesting to get the detail. We redecorated and refurnished our ground floor recently, to make it a more open and usable space, but appreciate that one person's 'clean and modern' will be another's 'a bit like a hospital'. Take care and safe travels. David

57%

Pretty much what I expected from a Youth International hostel. More of a quiet and subdued atmosphere. Seemed very secure. Only problem was a broken plug socket in the room and the fact this left only one socket between 6 people. Maybe extension cables in the rooms would be an idea? The tour office in the same building was great and good quality wifi but only on the first floor. More sockets/extension cables downstairs would be good too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds from how you begin your review that you don't tend to like HI/YHA hostels: but I am glad you gave us a try anyway. Midweek in January is always going to be a little quiet I am afraid: the quietest month of the year for tourists in Belfast. As a big, city centre hostel security is important to us so I am pleased that you noted this: on busy nights limited staff is dealing with a lot of people so we organise the hostel in a way so that everyone stays safe and happy (we hope). Thank you for commenting on our good quality wifi too - although quiet nights tend to lead to a better wifi experience of course (a common experience in hostels of a similar size). We refurbished our reception area recently and we are now looking at ways of providing more sockets in that area: and we are checking sockets in bedrooms at the moment to see what we have to replace (unfortunately plugs are forced into sockets which they are not designed for sometimes, causing damage). We can't use extension cables in rooms or public areas as they are seen as a trip hazard, and as an International Hostel we comply with all current legislation and guidelines. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip, or safely back home. Take care. David

66%

The rooms were very small. There should have been a table and a chair and a cupboard

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time the leave a review after your recent stay in Belfast. We have a very wide range of rooms at the hostel - our twins and doubles with private shower/toilet give you a little more space then the standard twin you booked (described online as "small, half the size of a standard 4, and designed for those seeking a budget room but some privacy, not extra space or comfort). None of our rooms have wardrobes, tables or chairs I am afraid as space would not allow them to be furnished in this way (although our dorms have lockers: and our ensuite twins and doubles bedside tables). I hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast. Safe travels. David

77%

Good value for money, but old building with gloomy nuance. Perhaps you should paint your building with more fresh color and also pick fresher color & design of blanket etc

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

very well set up, very stylish for a hostel, it was exactly what we needed cheap and close to city centre have no faults for it defo will stay again


91%

Hostel was immaculate and the staff were very friendly. Very secure place to stay. Heating, toilets and showers all worked perfectly and there was a decent amount of space. Only real off putting thing for me was seeing a rat running around outside close to the entrance but obviously that is no fault of the hostel. Would recommend 👍


100%

Very helpful and knowledgeable staff.. I was happy that all the little bits like towels and hair dryers were available for use free of charge. Also good setup in the rooms with each bunk havin thier own light, and there is a good amount of power outlets in each room.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was very impressed and pleasantly surprised. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and safe hostel. Very quiet - good night's sleep. Exactly what we were looking for!

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review: many thanks. I am pleased that you and your sister had a good visit and had a good night's sleep on a busy Saturday. We all work hard to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. I hope you managed to do and see everything that you'd planned, but if not it's a good reason to come back and see us. Enjoy your Christmsa break. David

100%

Great value for money. Staff were very helpful and its location is perfect, within walking distance to the city centre. I would stay again and would recommend it.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great value. Helpful staff. Perfect location. Thank you! It's really good to read that you would recommend us and return yourself: our standard 2 bedded rooms sometimes get negative feedback due to their size but they are ideal if you are on a budget, want to book a private room rather than a dorm for a night or two, and don't need space to settle in or unpack. I hope you will keep hostelling in 2016! David

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback