X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4975 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Good hostel, a bit lacking in atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, and particularly for your 100% score for our staff. On Saturday nights people tend to be out rather than in, so sometimes I guess things can seem a bit quiet and lacking in atmosphere in our common areas, even when we are full. I hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast and will recommend it as a great place to visit to friends and family. And keep hostelling! David

71%

The building seems a little old. Our private room was really small, but that's not a big issue for us. The toilets weren't really good. They looked dirty and not well maintained (no soap or anything). The shower stays on for too little time (could be 10 sec more). If you're lucky, you can get some Wifi in your room, but don't be so sure. Breakfast is paid and a little expensive. Also, you have to leave a document on the reception, don't know what for.


77%

Your bed is quite bad. When I laid down, it liked my back falling in a hole. It caused my back pain.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your relatively high score, with 80% in most review categories, despite not finding your bed very comfortable during your stay: it's always good to read a balanced review. We replaced a lot of our mattresses in 2015, and luckily don't have too many recent complaints about lack of comfort: I'm sorry that you didn't have a relaxing night at the hostel. I hope you are safely back home and have managed to catch up on your sleep. Take care. David

94%

I will like that the internet work everywhere

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
94%! Thank you for such a high review score. Our standard 2 bedded rooms are occasionally criticised in online reviews as they are small: but of course they are designed to give guests a private room, while paying only slightly more than the cost of 2 dorm beds. At the moment we only offer wifi access in our public areas/common rooms: we hope that it encourages people to spend less time in their rooms and more time in public spaces: part of the ethos of hostelling being to bring people together.

83%

Nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly. I arrived early and they were able to hold my bags for me. No complimentary breakfast, which is supplied by a lot of other hostels. The Internet was down the whole time I was there. My room was cozy and warm.


71%

the person at the desk was wanting me to check out early even though i bought my luggage down at 6.40am ! and i said i was not checking out yet he said i will do it now and told me to come over to check out ! ! and plus he blasts the pa sound system with fighting scenes which he must have been playing a game on the computer and put it thought the loud speakers !!


77%

I guess we were there during a down time cause there wasn't much of an atmosphere, but the place was clean, bright, and the the Causeway next door is a delight. Forget what the mattress complainer was saying earlier, the double beds are bliss.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay. Monday nights in December are possibly the quietest nights of the year for us: so there weren't too many people around when you were here. Our weekends remain busy all year round though. That said quiet times give us the opportunity to do some refurbishment: so I'm happy that you noticed our bright new look, new comfortable mattress and so on. I hope you will come back for another visit. David

43%

thewifi is suck, is is only can use in lobby. And the charge me extra, as I has been paid GBP 7.20 for the down payment, BUT the manager still insist that I'm not paid, they charge me extra GBP 3.60 with poor explaination.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We only offer wifi in public areas at the hostel, on the ground floor and the first floor, as detailed on our booking page. The size of our building means that it is not currently cost-effective for us to provide wifi on all floors. You changed your booking a couple of times before arrival, but your deposit amount for your original one night stay was only £3.60 which was deducted from your balance on arrival. Sorry that the explanation was not clearer. David

91%

The staff at this hostel are particularly helpful and nice. They guided me throughout my stay and were happy to help anytime. They are very professional and handle all queries well. This is also a very clean hostel and have everything one needs.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Youth Hostel in Belfast: it is always great to read that our staff has helped our guests make the most of their visit to our city. Thank you too for the 100% score for cleanliness: we have a very hardworking team who aim to make sure, often under pressure, that bedrooms and common areas remain clean and tidy. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Northern Ireland. David

80%

Always a handy place to stay, will be back!

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. There is no greater compliment really than someone deciding on, or planning, a return visit! See you next time. Safe travels. David

46%

One member of the staff was very arrogant. They force you to leave your Passports at the reception as a security deposit even though it's forbidden by European Union Law!! He told us that we should have chosen another place if we have a problem with giving away our passports - an advise that we can pass on to every traveller!

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments: I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you however for rating us highly on security: we feel that our ID policy enhances security at the hostel: this policy is clearly stated on booking websites, so it always makes it very difficult for staff when a guest arrives and refuses to comply with our check in procedure: we don't ask for a passport, any photo ID or hostel membership card is fine: we're very flexible. Safe travels. David

91%

Very small, poor bedroom


83%

Wifi expired before my check out time! Really early! like 7am i couldn't use it anymore! And it only works on the ground floor!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. The hostel currently only offers wifi in our public areas, as detailed when booking. Some bedrooms will pick up a signal from the routers, but on the fourth floor that's impossible I'm afraid. We do not limit access to wifi in our public areas: you just need to ask for a new password when it expires. I am happy that we scored highly in all other respects, with a great overall score of 83%. I hope you enjoyed Belfast and will return. David

94%

Pleasant hostel with plenty of space:-) friendly staff also:-)


74%

The hostel is good, but the day I arrived they were cleaning or putting new carpets and the smell at the hall could be felt inside the bedrooms, it was quite strong actually.


66%

The heater didn't work and consequently the bedroom was very cold. Wi-Fi doesn't work in the room, only at the common rooom. It was not very useful for us.


46%

the kitchen needs improving!


100%

I stayed at Belfast International Youth Hostel for two nights. I was especially happy with the size of the kitchen, the cleanliness throughout the hostel, the spaces to spread out and/or meet others, and the comfortable beds. Yet, one thing that really upset me was that I was in the hostel in the middle of the day during cleaning, and they used a really harsh cleaning chemical on the floors that made me sick. I suggest using a chemical without perfumes, and a more ecofriendly cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your perfect score after your stay in Belfast. It's great to know that you had a good time and appreciated all the facilities we offer. We are in the process of redecorating our common areas, with new furniture still to come, so hopefully it will be even easier to hang out and meet other hostellers in future. I suspect we may have been using some different products to neutralise the paint smell in some corridors - hopefully your issue was something temporary. Safe travels. David

49%

The staff is awfull

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Actually spent four nights here. Everyone was helpful and informative, great cafe actually within hostel with outstanding menu options. Food and beer all around and short walk to all city centre activities. Would highly recommend to other avid travellers, great christmas market currently here and of course the titanic quarter was great too. Irish people are very welcoming, enjoy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comments about the hostel, our welcoming staff, the cafe and Belfast in general: you had a perfect stay it seems. Our location close to the university means that there are lots of options for 'food and beer' - and we are also only just a 15 minute walk to City Hall, where the Christmas Market continues until 20th December: it's a great time of the year to be in Belfast! Come back and stay next time you visit. David

(189 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback