X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4329 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very convenient for a cheap alternative.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment . I think we are indeed a cheaper alternative to a city centre hotel: your standard twin cost only £30 for the night, unbeatable perhaps for city centre accommodation. (Did you know that with a HI/YHA memberhip your stay could have been even cheaper?) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in the UK and Ireland - and carry on hostelling! David

57%

Was in a private double room. I at least expected a living area or a curtain that separates the toilet area from the shower. There wasn't even soap in the bathroom to wash hands.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay with us in Belfast. Our shower rooms are designed as 'wet rooms', as described on the Hostelworld website: this was a design decision made to maximise a relatively small space, but I understand that it is not to everyone's taste. In common with most Youth Hostels toiletries are not provided so as to keep the cost to guests relatively low - and I am pleased to see that you rated us highly on value for money. Safe travels. David

86%

Not sure what other hostels were like in Belfast, but this one was a very well maintained, well staffed hostel, good for meeting people but certainly lacks the atmosphere of other trendier hostels. Staff were very helpful, kitchen was very large and had everything you would need. Good hostel, main criticism is that the wifi was patchy at times and only really worked in the lobby area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI . Thanks for your feedback: it's good to hear what our guests think. The staff at the hostel is a hardworking team, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, so your comments are very much appreciated. As a HIHostel we aim to provide welcome, comfort, cleanliness, security and privacy - it's great to know that we ticking those boxes. Our wifi provider is currently looking at improving our network, particularly on busy nights: hopefully it will be better on your next visit. David

94%

Really nice place, I would strongly recommend to select this hostel to stay in Belfast definetely!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola. Thank you making time to leave a review after your visit to the Youth Hostel in Belfast. It's great to know that you would recommend us to other hostellers heading this way. Muchas gracias - hasta la proxima vez! David

77%

Nice Hostel and double room was including own shower and toilet! Kitchen and hosel were clean :)

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay in Belfast. We are lucky to have a lot of different rooms types at the Youth Hostel, including 3 rooms with double beds and private shower/toilet - great value at £38 per night midweek, and £42 per night at the weekend. I am pleased that you point out the cleanliness of the hostel: our housekeepers work hard so it is always good to know that it is appreciated. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. See you again! David

69%

The rooms were dirty, especially next to the window.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your comments on Hostelworld. It is good to know that you rated us highly for staff, location and facilities. Our housekeepers work hard to keep things up to standard, but I will mention to them the issue you had in your room. I hope this didn't impact too greatly on your stay - and that you enjoyed your time in our city. Happy hostelling! David

49%

Poor tools in the kitchen in bad conditions. Really uncomfortable beds, the mattresses should have been changed decades ago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to write a review after your stay in Belfast. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this visit, but hope that it hasn't put you off hostels and hostelling. Our kitchen is relatively spacious and well-equipped - we are aware that they were some issues at the weekend with disappearing cutlery, but this has now been resolved. We replaced a large number of our mattresses recently, but I can assure you that we have taken your comments on board. Safe travels. David

80%

Noisy pub at the back, but bought earplugs (room window didn't close properly). Some showers had light or hot water but not both; secure car park was great; on-site Causeway Café superb for breakfast. Shortage of spoons in the kitchen (they already know that!) Hostel is central but not in a particularly up-market area. The HINI website map has the "1" for the hostel in the wrong place, also the markers for Lavery's Bar and the Opera House (didn't check the rest). I'd stay there again.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Hope the orienteering went well. Sorry you were disturbed by some outside noise: our central location means that this happens occasionally (happy you got sorted with some earplugs! I always pack them when I travel). We replenished our cutlery on Monday: spoons tend to disappear (bit of a mystery). I've asked our tech team to look at the website map issue you mention. Not sure about the light/hot water comment - off to investigate now. All in all it's good to know you'd come back. David

100%

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I have stayed in hostels a few times and if it's relatively clean, comfortable, quiet and secure, I'm happy. This felt very secure, safe, good location with lots of transport links (buses, trains and taxis), about 10 minutes in a taxi away from the airport, friendly staff, free wifi in the lobby, self-catering kitchen, comfy beds, quiet guests and a nice, relaxed atmosphere! I would definitely stay here again if I come to Belfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . Thank you for making time to write a review of your stay with us in Belfast. 100% - thank you! (I think we should employ you to write our publicity!) It's always good to know when our guests have had a perfect stay. I will pass it on to our team. The hostel was really busy when you were here so reading that you found the atmosphere quiet and relaxed is a real plus! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip - and that you will remember us next time you are heading this way! David

71%

Nice , helpfull staf. The room was at the front / street side of the hostel, which was very noisy ; we hardly slept at all. And since we had to get up early to catch a flight it wasn't a good start of the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . Thank you for leaving a review after your stay in Belfast. I will pass your remarks on to the rest of our staff - I think you are our first review of this month, so it's a good start for us. I am sorry you had a disturbed night due to street noise: there are both positives and negatives to our city centre location - although as this is a long, holiday weekend perhaps things were a little more boisterous than usual. I hope you have managed to catch up on your sleep. Take care, David

94%

great location, walking distance from Europa Bus station, clean beds and toilets, friendly staff, it had more the feeling of an hotel than a hostel. Definitely coming back next time in Belfast. I advice to try the Giant Causeway day tour organised by McComb, they have the office inside the hostel and there is a discount for hostel guest. Loved every minute of it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. Clean, friendly, great location! I don't think I can add any more. Come back and see us next time you are in the city. Many thanks, David

100%

Thank you for very nice services and advices about the locations in the city. It was a great pleasure to stay at your hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments Tarmo. It's excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel, and that our staff were able to point you in the right direction so that you could make the most of your short stay: we all know our city very well and are always happy to make suggestions and to help you plan your itinerary. Come back and see us again. Regards, David.

80%

Terrible Internet system . We can't use in rooms .


60%

Rooms very small with only two plugs. Not very clean and the Windows were dirty and broken outside.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

No connection in room.key card didn't work at all,that poor guy at the reception had come 2 times up to fix the problem

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's important for us to hear what our guests think after a visit. We are aware that one or two of our locks have been causing problems, but the company which looks after their maintenance has now visited and has hopefully resolved the problem. Our staff is here to help, so it would not have been an inconvenience at all for the guy at the desk to go with you to try to fix the door for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to N Ireland.

69%

Stayed at a private double bed. The room was clean and staff was friendly. It is near the city centre which is convenient. However, the hostel includes the bare minimum, no breakfast and Wifi is ONLY provided on the ground floor, near the front desk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and your room clean, and we are indeed just a short walk from the city centre and the university. I have just had a look at your reservation and see that your room was located directly above our wifi router: although we only advertise wifi in our public areas (on the ground and first floor) some of our bedrooms will actually be able to pick up a reasonable signal too. Happy travels! Belfast IYH.

69%

Simple, clean accommodation. Attached Cafe is great. WiFi is lame! Also, get some lockers and add some extra hooks in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your feedback. It's good to see that we are getting the basics right and that you have rated us highly for security, staff, cleanliness and value for money (and the cafe on site is great for those wanting to take a break from sorting out their own food in the mornings). Rest assured that our Tech guys are working to improve wifi speed and access in our big, busy hostel - and we are also currently looking at use of space and locker provision in our smaller rooms. David

89%

Clean rooms, good value. Brilliant cafe attached! Will use in future when visiting friends.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. A twin room with private shower and toilet in the city centre for £42 on a Saturday night is indeed good value for money! We are glad that you are planning a return visit. I will pass your comments about cleanliness on to our housekeepers: the hostel is always busy, and they work very hard, so they will be happy to know that it is appreciated. See you again! David

71%

slight mix up reguarding our room and shower didnt work iam afraid...!!!


86%

Staff very helpful and friendly, excellent location in the city centre, would benefit for al TV lounge

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(135 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback