X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4619 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great place to stay, very welcoming and friendly staff. Great value for money. Main door is locked at night and you need to use your key card at all times to access the lift stairway and dorm room which is a fantastic safety feature. Large kitchen to use with pots pans and trays to use, all you need to supply is your food so its great. There is also an amazing cafe attached to the hostel, great prices too. Only a 10 minute walk from bus station, shops and tours. Fantastic stay here!


91%

Surprised to say its in my top five of hostels in the world.Great team of staff well done!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is ok (about 15 minutes walk towards the city center). The staff was very friendly and helpful and we got great tipps on what to do and where to eat. The cleanliness of the showers was ok, the toilets could definitely be better! Our room was towards the back with a club or pub close by you could hear through the closed window quite loudly.


54%

It was like a prison cell. 4 beds, no room for bags or people. 2 power sockets for 4 people. The smell was atrocious! The window seal was cracked and we had a constant draft from the alley behind. Weird stains on the ceiling. Wifi only available by the reception desk...and just barely. The Causeway Cafe was great, but it closed at 2pm. The only real up side was the free parking. True, it was like clown car parking, but it was free and gated.


100%

If my private twin room with ensuite had a tv it would have been a hotel I would be staying in. I cant fault this hostel in any way and its located in a very interesting and quiet area for anyone visiting Belfast. From the Republic of Ireland.


100%

I couldn't believe how incredibly friendly the staff were!


91%

The hostel was excellent value.It was a fabulous two night stay at Belfast for myself and my three boys. The staff at the Hostel reception were very friendly and informative and the café/restaurant was very good. Thank you to all the staff.


100%

A table in the room would have been nice


54%

Only one plug in a 6 bedded room (the second one was not working). The staff was exactly the opposite of friendly and welcoming! Breakfast was not included! We had to s k for the towels, at least we didn't have to pay for them! The only good thing was the cafe hostel!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review after your stay in August: sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us very much. It is particularly disappointing to read your comments about staff as they are always rated highly in feedback. In common with most hostels we do not provide towels (but lend them free of charge when requested). Breakfast is not included as detailed when booking, but it's good to know you liked Causeway Cafe (open for breakfast and lunch). I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

83%

Good location for walking to see the sights as well as the pub scene. Being in the bottom bunk was very cramped with no room to sit up and the mattresses were old. However, the staff were friendly and the kitchen was nice and big for cooking ourselves meals. The showers were very big and easy to move around. Overall, I would recommend this hostel.


80%

Would be good if wifi worked in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 80% score. Wifi is currently only available in our public/common areas on the ground and first floors at the hostel - although some bedrooms, depending on their location in relation to routers, will pick it up. To be honest I feel much happier when our guests are out and about and exploring rather than looking at a screen in the hostel, but I guess the tide is turning against me. I hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast. Take care. David

86%

Could do with a chair in the bedroom. Two cookers in the kitchen were not working and fridges need clearing out of old stuff - there was milk a month old. Otherwise nice place and helpful staff and my bike felt secure even though it was in the centre of Belfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments, despite the issues you had. We're lucky to have our car park behind the hostel (which includes a locked space for bikes). A chair is a nice idea but our rooms are small so there's no space, realistically. The cooker issue was with trip switches - now resolved. Our fridges are cleared out weekly and I am sorry to read if we missed something (sometimes we hesitate so as to avoid complaints from people who haven't read the 'fridge clean' sign). Safe travels. David

20%

Words limit, cannot finish my complain. Believe me if you still can change, choose another hostel. the most terrible one I have ever live Room contain nothing except bed! We don't even have a table/locker to place stuff! We lay all stuff ondirty floor, it was super messy! The bath room was all suck. Can you believe that they use "press and hold" button on their sprinkler? It means you must keep holding your hand on it to keep water flow. wifi was unusable, we must used our own mobile data.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A change in room carpet would be great.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your perfect 100%: it's good to know that you enjoyed your time with us at the Youth Hostel in Belfast. As a big, busy city hostel things are constantly being replaced, refreshed and renewed. We put down new carpet on 2 of our corridors recently: and we are in the process of replacing a lot of our mattresses and lockers. Your comment about the carpet in your double room has been noted however. I hope you will choose us on your next trip to Belfast. Safe travels. David

91%

This is the 3rd time we've stay at this hostel. The location for the city is great - not sure about the Rangers club across the street and the 2hr pipe band parade when we arrived though - VERY intimating. The onsite Causeway Cafe is outstanding the food is freshly made and presented beautifuly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive review: 100% in most of the review categories is superb. The cafe will be happy to read your comments too. Our location is a great selling point, and from my own research I know that this is one of the main reasons why guests choose to stay here. Pipes and flutes and drums are part of the Belfast soundscape in the summer you know: no reason to feel intimidated. I hope we will see you again for a 4th time, next time you travel north. Safe travels. David

80%

No real common area I felt. Great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our main common areas at the hostel are on the ground floor: we have sofas in the reception/lobby area and our dining room is also quite spacious: people tend to spend time there to use WiFi so perhaps that makes the space seem a bit less social? Or social in a different way anyway. We also have a little gallery area, with bean bags, looking down into reception and a TV room and library on the first floor. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Northern Ireland. David

77%

The gentleman at the reception was very friendly and addressed me by my first name (even after I checked out and came back for my luggage in the late afternoon) which, I thought, was very friendly and meticulous of him to remember me. However, shower did not have hooks to hang clothes/towel and drainage system was clogged. Wi-fi was only available at the lobby, not a problem for me but definitely something to note. Rooms are spacious and clean, and you are able to borrow a towel for free.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Staff always read our reviews and they always like to see positive feedback: thank you for your comments. It's good to know too that you found room 401, our biggest dorm, both spacious and clean: the room was designed well, semi-partitioned, and never feels too busy. Our shower drains are cleared regularly: I am sorry that things were draining slowly during your visit - this has now been rectified. Enjoy the rest of your trip to Ireland. David

69%

Average, but too much poor facilities in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your comments, and for your high rating for our security, location, staff and atmosphere. That is much appreciated. The room you stayed in was one of our en-suite twin rooms: a room with 2 single beds (with new mattresses) and a wet room: these rooms usually score well in reviews, and are of a good Youth Hostel standard. Can you contact with a little more information about the 'poor facilities' so that I can investigate? Thank you. David

54%

The bathrooms and toilets in the en-suited rooms was not clean! The communal bathrooms in the hall was better. The bed linen did not seem to have been changed, and also, no people! I stayed in a 8 people dorm by myself! An there were no real place to meet other guests, a lounge or something. Not a good hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I've just had a quick look and see that you were lucky enough to have a 6 bed dorm to yourself on the second night of your stay: a relatively quiet night midweek, but still with more than 100 guests in house. Those nights are always a good chance to catch up on sleep. We have common/lounge areas on both the ground and first floor at the hostel: sofas in the lobby; kitchen and dining room; TV room; library; a gallery with bean bags overlooking reception. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. David

100%

Really good hostel..nice and clean..walking distance to city center and easy to get around. highly recommend this hostel..and its cheap to!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's always good to get a perfect review and also to know that you will recommend us! Thank you. I am really happy you enjoyed your stay with us in July and hope that the rest of your trip is going well. Keep hostelling and come back and see us! David

(213 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback