X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3725 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good place to stay for a few days in Belfast. Handy to centre of city, bus/train station and eateries.


97%

Great location, helpful staff.


80%

We were very intimidated by the area the hostel is in. It's a shame because it's a fine hostel and the staff were lovely to us.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable in the location of the hostel. We want all our guests to feel safe and secure and is disappointing to hear that this was not your experience. I very much hope that you were still able to enjoy Belfast and all that it has to offer. Cathy

74%

The kitchen can be quite messy at times. Some stoves weren't working, other than that things were fine.


89%

Great location, walking distance to city centre and Queens University/ botanical gardens and opposite Sandy Row murials. Cafe serving breakfasts until midday as well as self service kitchen. No computers but I believe the common area in reception is being redone. Rooms were big, showers were a little dirty. I would stay again.


49%

Stayed in a twin bedroom on a Friday night. Worst beds I've slept on in a while. I could still feel the springs in my back the next morning! Hostel has circa 200 beds and feels like an impersonal mass sleeping factory. For 25 pp it was not cheap either. I think you'd be better off staying in a b

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep and that you were not comfortable. We aim to ensure the comfort of all our guests and I sincerely apologise that we failed on this occasion. We do indeed have 202 beds and are Belfast's largest hostel but each and every one of our guests are extremely important to us. Our size allows us to cater for large school groups etc which many of the smaller independent hostels cannot.

74%

Out of the way, and overall not that exciting of a hostel, but extremely convenient for bus tours to giants causeway (etc) with a tour company located in building and pickup outside.


77%

Showers need some updating. They were extremely clogged and would flood easily. An area to change would after showering would be appreciated. The sink in the rooms and bathrooms were also clogged and made loud strange noises when you would turn the faucet, like a pipe was about to burst! The atmosphere in the lobby was not inviting. The areas to "hang out" felt cold and didn't feel like a youth hostel. Traveling in a group would be fine but any solo travelers would feel lonely.


80%

The WC in our room was very very noisy when it was flushed. The TV room was quite dirty and needed redecorating

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

I genuinely did not believe that room was ever cleaned properly. I am sure the bathrooms were not- just to put it plainly they really did reek. I own enough indoor pets to know that you can get rid of that smell if you clean correctly. Also, I was told by a few people that the area it is in is "not the safest". I had no problems in that respect, but being told that is discomforting. The staff were ok, and the wifi did work- albeit only in the common room- but I would not recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Your comments regarding the state of the bathrooms are of great concern as our housekeepers work tirelessly to maintain a high standard of cleanliness, and we take matter of hygiene very importantly. I sincerely apologise that we have failed to meet our exacting standards at the time of your visit and can assure you that measures will be put in place to ensure this does not happen in the future. I hope you enjoyed your travels to NI. Cathy

66%

It's so noisy. Even though the window has been closed, the voice cannot be obstructed.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am sorry that you were bothered by outside noise at the time of your visit. Unfortunately our city centre location means that there is sometimes noise from the road or surrounding pubs/ clubs and is beyond our control. I do very much hope that this didn't impact too much on your stay and that you managed to get a good nights sleep. Wishing you all the very best. Cathy

94%

No complaints. Great service and great value for money.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth hostel and for choosing us as your accommodation provider for your recent trip to Belfast. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you have no complaints and very much hope we can welcome you back to stay some time in the future! Cathy

86%

Generally, we were satisfied your service. It was a bit difficult to find your place but once we understand where it was, the location was very convenient. Facilities was good in a room and a laundry but was not so good in the kitchen.


77%

Hostel is Ina good location, close to transport, city centre and nightlife.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and for allowing us to be your accommodation provider for your stay in Belfast. I am delighted to hear that you found our location convenient and very much hope you enjoyed your visit! Cathy

86%

The shower cabin had a draining problem, so during the shower the water wasn´t been drained as quick as we hoped and we had to control the flux of clean water not to drowning the bedroom.


100%

FAB STAFF


100%

Staff were lovely and helpful. Price are affordable. Quick walk to the city centre. Would stay again.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and for giving us an amazing 100%! It always gives us such a buzz to know that we have achieved the customer satisfaction that we strive to give. We would love to welcome you back to stay again with us in one of our hostels in the future. Cathy

77%

Staff were very helpful and kind, they made the stay very pleasant

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were really friendly and helped us out with transport, things to do. I couldn't ask for a better hostel to stay at while in Belfast, I will definitely recommend the hostel to any friend looking to visit Belfast. I wish they could provide hand soap in toilets so we could wash hands. The hostel is very clean and well maintained. You have an area to watch TV, in the main area by reception is where the wifi works, nice a peaceful too


57%

poor atmospher and no free breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel; all feedback is extremely important to us as an organisation. We do have a self catering kitchen for guests to provide their own breakfast or indeed or we have an onsite Causeway Café, in which- Alan serves amazing good value breakfasts, which we would never even come close to competing with! We hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast. Cathy

(132 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback