X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4318 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Worst Hostel I've been at in my life. I checked in but finally ended up sleeping else where. I didn't even ask for a refund, I just wanted to get out of there. I couldn't sleep there the atmosphere was horrible, there was loud classic music in the common area and a weird smell in the hallway . One of the two staff member I've seen was welcoming, it's the only positive about that place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the hostel. I wish that rather than leaving without asking for a refund you had given us the chance to make right what you found wrong. It was a busy night for us: we were fully booked and had a couple of small groups staying (from France and the USA) but we take care to try to allocate solo travellers in rooms with other solo travellers to give them a chance to meet people. If you would like to discuss your experience further please get in touch. David

94%

The staff was very friendly and helpful also with any kind of advice. The rooms comfortable and had enough space even in the 20 bed dorm. Wifi was quite slow but it was ok. There was offered a free tour for Belfast, and you could get a discount for a Giant's causeway tour with McCromb's.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review Sonja! Some people are put off by the idea of our big dorms, but as you saw ours have been well designed and are quite spacious. We are working to speed up our wifi connection at the moment (it can seem a little slow sometimes when the hostel is full) so hopefully on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised. Enjoy the rest of your trip. David

66%

The hostel is very well located but the hostel is noisy (a night club nearby) and not clean. In particular the self catering kitchen was the worst we have seen (we have stayed in YHAs in many countries and cities).We did mention cleaning to the hostel staff but they seem to think that the self catering kitchen wasn't their concern! Facilities are more limited than the description implies - WIFI only on ground floor and not reliable, café only available from 8 to 12.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. The hostel is indeed well located in the city centre, but I guess this can sometimes be a negative with occasional outside noise. We make sure that the descriptions of the hostel and its facilities are as detailed as possible on booking websites so that guests arriving know exactly what we provide: I am sorry to read that you were disappointed. We have a dedicated team of housekeepers, and include a daily clean of the kitchen, but your comments have been noted. David

94%

Travelling with a southern registered car I was extremely nervous parking in this area of Belfast. All of my fears were however unfounded. The location and security were excellent - extremely central to the city. The staff could not do enough to help. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive comments: we are always happy to hear when people have enjoyed their time with us at the hostel in Belfast. We are lucky to be located so close to the city centre and also the University. Positive feedback for staff is always a great boost. We hope to see you again next time you travel north, Happy travels! David

77%

Very clinical and impersonal as you might expect from a big hostel, in a fairly loyalist area of Belfast although still very central. Fine for the price with lots of security just not my personal preference for a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Belfast overall. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Only drawback of this Hostel is that the bunk beds are so low that you can't sit up straight!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We must confess that your comment re the bunk beds is a new one for us(!) but be assured we do value all feedback. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

60%

A distinctly average hostel. Has those push-button showers and taps, no towels provided, the kitchen is far from the rooms and the common areas are sparse. Walls a bit thin - the traffic was very audible from the room and I got woken up by people singing/shouting every night. Probably best for larger groups of tourists.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do welcome all feedback and be assured that your own comments will be taken on board when reviewing policies and maintenance work in the future. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

66%

Calidad, precio no es bueno

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments: all feedback is important to us, We have a very wide range of rooms at the hostel, with something to suit all budgets. If you are travelling back this way please get back in touch and we can advise on the best room option for you. Buen viaje! David

97%

It is an excellent place to stay beyond our expectations for that range of price. Almost all staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They went the extra mile to assist us with parking and with our queries regarding the city. Some staff could be a little be more friendly and warm. In hospitality business, more money from the customer does not buy more kindness from staff.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review - we do appreciate it. Be assured that we will take your feedback on board. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

71%

The tap of the sink need constant pressing, so only one hand could be in the water at one time. It was really difficult for face washing. One of the water tap was too strong that water just splashed everywhere. Heaters in room were sufficient. Staff were friendly. Good that I can borrow hairdryer but the wait was long. I once waited for over an hour at the reception. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to review us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and be assured that we do value all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

The shower isn't hot. Heater just open at night after 7pm. Kitchen is clean

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to review us and be assured that we do welcome all feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Belfast. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Decent hostel in a decent location, only 15minutes walk to the main centre. Few pubs along the way such as The Crown. Pubs closer by too and a KFC. The causeway cafe is great, good breakfast for a fiver. Hostel rooms were what they were, very quiet as well.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the time you've taken to leave us such a positive review. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

49%

The hostel is far from the center, when I arrived for check-in the staff we said we had thatt leave the passport at the front desk and pick up only at check out. I not liked to leave, but I had no option.


86%

Great hostel and would be best in Belfast save for ever so early 11pm shutdown of common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review and be assured we will take your feedback on board. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

54%

The man at the front was horribly rude. I was the only native English speaker of the group and was trying to explain to my friends that we had to leave a photo id at the desk to get an key card (a ridiculous policy, I don't know about you, but I don't typically trust someone with the only copy of my passport) and he interrupted my conversation to inform my group that it wasn't his fault I did a terrible job at informing them of their policies before booking their rooms. Also, no free breakfast..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us. Our policy of retaining IDs is clearly stated in our booking terms and conditions and has been in place for more than twenty years. As you can see, we are rated very highly for security. Nevertheless, be assured that we do welcome all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

69%

The stay alltogether was ok. But there was no Soap in the toilets and the room quite damp.


63%

The hostel itself is very clean and a nice place to stay, but we were not content with our passports being held for the duration of the stay. We travelled up to Belfast for the Dubshed show, and had the intention of going out that night. Our passports we're taken off us at check-in which left us with no ID for the club. The reason provided for such was to discourage us from taking the keycard? We offered a substancial deposit which would have covered multiple cards but the policy remained.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review us. Our policy on retaining ID is clearly stated in our booking terms and conditions and has been in place for over twenty years. As you can see, we are rated very highly for security. Nevertheless we do appreciate all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

very impressed with the guy on reception who recognised me and knew my name every time I came in to the Hostel. I like the quiet policy between 23.00-07.00. The onsite cafe staff were very friendly with nothing being too much trouble and the quality of food was good value for money. I will stay again if I am in Belfast again which I hope I will be.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review and yes we would love to welcome you back! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

No WiFi in room, staffs are friendly.


60%

The location of the hostel was kinda far from the main hub of Belfast (20 min walk) in an area that is very closed down and dirty. The bathrooms were clean, except for the grubby finger prints all over the door handle and door. They didn't provide soap to wash your hands afterwards in your room-- so it makes you wonder how many people actually washed their hands after using the bathroom... My room was a 4 bed room and they only provided 2 lockers. The wifi only kinda works in the main lobby


(126 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback