X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4624 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

It was a fine hostel, just nothing special. Everything was quite average. Probably because it is soo big. We tried to get some information about things to do and the staff was not very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fine is good, average not quite so: but thank you for taking time to leave your comments. We are quite a big city hostel, with space for 180 guests, and are full most nights at this time of the year: the positive of this being that there are always lots of people around (solo travellers, couples, families, small groups, bigger groups) but I understand that some people prefer smaller hostels. In other reviews our staff are rated highly so I am sorry that this wasn't your experience. Safe travels.

80%

Botanic Railway station just 5 Minuten away. 24-hour-supermarket in the station. Good alternative as the Causeway cafe in the hostel opens at 07:55 and you have to queue sometimes or have to wait at the table when served. From Botanic direct trains to Coleraine, there to change into bus to Giant's Causeway. Try the tram from Bushmills.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your travel tips. At this time of the year if you want to take public transport from Belfast to the Giant's Causeway or Bushmills (where we have another hostel), rather than take a day tour, there is a direct bus service leaving once a day from the Europa Bus Station (so you can avoid changing in Coleraine). In the summer the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Railway also runs and is a great way to travel from Bushmills to the Causeway. Enjoy your travels. David

89%

This place is great for the price and they have good recommendations for things to see, even in other cities in Ireland. The rooms are nice, beds comfy, and everything is clean. No complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review: I know the idea of sharing a big dorm can sometimes put people off booking, so it's good to read that you had a positive experience and that you found the rooms clean and comfy. Our large dorms are actually quite spacious: the 22 bed dorm even has it's own little sitting area, with our best views towards Cave Hill, so it's a good choice. I am pleased our staff were able to help you in your trip-planning and hope that the rest of it is going well. David

89%

Clean and well look after hostel accommodation. Will stay here again

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments. We all work hard to make sure that the hostel is clean and bounces back into shape after exceptionally busy nights. That's not easy sometimes, but we certainly do our best. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy hostelling. David

100%

Just excellent, near Botanic Railway station just turn right when you come out and it's round the corner by the post office cross the road on for 10 years and you are there, five minutes at most even with baggage. There is no need to buy an extra rail ticket if travelling on a ticket to Belfast Central. So excellent, people, excellent, guests, excellent facilities you will be fine staying here guys.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comments and 100% score, and for the good tips too. Most trains arriving in, or leaving, Belfast (apart from the Dublin Enterprise) do a city loop (Great Victoria Street, City Hospital, Botanic, Central): arriving from Dublin you do have to chage train at Central for Botanic Station, but you don't have to buy another ticket. Easy, and the hostel is just a short walk from there. From the Europa Bus Station too. I hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast. Thanks again, David

66%

The hostel is very basic and one of the rooms we taked was having smoke smelling

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and your high scores for security, location, staff and value for money. Our rooms are typical hostel rooms: yours with somewhere to sleep and somewhere to shower - a good deal at £38 per night for a city centre room in peak season. The hostel is 'no smoking' in line with the law in Northern Ireland: I am sorry if you felt that a previous guest had smoked in the room. Did you bring this to the attention of reception staff while you were here? Let me know. David

57%

First, we weren´t very happy with the location... The Hostel iself was really safe, but we didn´t feel very comfortable in the street... It was really noisy there and there were a lot of strange people... The atmosphere in the Hostel was cold and really uncomfortable! And the Hostel was lying about the Internet... they wrote at their Homepage, that there is free Wifi, but we didn´t got Wifi in the rooms, just in the lounge and in my opinion, that´s really bold...

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to leave a review after your stay in July. You arrived in the city on the morning after the annual 'Orangefest' celebrations so I suspect this gave a slightly unusual perspective: I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable, but happy to read that you felt safe in the hostel. I have just double checked our listing on Hostelworld where it says 'free WiFi is available in common areas on the ground floor' - we are always careful to be clear and honest in website listings. David

94%

The hostel was easy to find. Very clean and it almost looks new. The guy at reception was amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great comments. Thank you. We are a big, busy, city centre hostel and updates and upgrades are always ongoing: it's good to read that we looked almost new when you stayed last month! Safe travels and keep hostelling! David

83%

Very clean and secure hostel. A bit of a walk to the train and bus station. Very friendly and helpful staff, had answers to any questions I had.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments - cleanliness, friendliness of staff and security are all very important to us here at Belfast IYH. The basics covered. The main bus station, the Europa Bus Station, is just a 10 minute walk from the hostel if you walk down Great Victoria Street: and we are just around the corner from Botanic Rail Station: in fact we are the closest hostel to the city centre: next time the walk won't seem so far perhaps ... Take care and safe travels. David

89%

A lot of alarms, and noise from garbage-picking-trucks - but nothing that could be avoided somehow. Thanks for the friendliness!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to write a review: our reception staff works hard to make sure that everyone feels welcome and are usually rated very highly in online reviews: so it's good to read that this was your experience. I am sorry you were occasionally disturbed by outside noise: I guess a city centre location brings both positives and negatives: it's good that it didn't spoil your stay. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. David

69%

The guy staying on the reception at night was a bit rude. Everything else was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read that you had an issue with our staff during your stay. 'Staff' always scores the highest for us in website review categories and I am sorry that this wasn't your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. Enjoy the rest of your holiday! David

86%

Unfortunately again I had booked a room that backed onto the nightclub and found it hard to get to sleep with the noise. The windows really aren't great, whether they are closed or not the noise is still the same. If you guys are doing any upgrades in the near future you should consider putting double or triple glazing in room 215

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your high 86% score, despite the issues you had. We are aware that there are occasional external noise problems, particularly at weekends, due to our location. Rest assured we take all feedback, and all online reviews seriously, and we are currently looking at ways of lessening the impact of our occasionally noisy neighbours. I hope we will see you again in future. David

80%

Nice place to stay not far from the city centre. Loved the free weekend walking tour!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We are just a 10 - 15 minute walk from City Hall, and 5 -10 minutes from Queen's University, Botanic Gardens and the Ulster Museum - the perfect location from which to start exploring Belfast. I am pleased that you joined our free walking tour, available on Saturdays and Sundays at 2pm. John the guide is an enthusiastic volunteer and certainly knows his stuff! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. David

80%

great stay

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight in Belfast: it's good to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you continue hostelling and that we will see you again at one of our hostels on your next visit to Northern Ireland. Safe travels. David

86%

loved the brekfast cafe nexdoor

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 86% score after your stay with us in Belfast last month: it's great that you enjoyed your visit, and also the food available at Causeway Cafe on the ground floor: the cafe is now open from 8am until 2pm every day (for breakfast, brunch or lunch) and shares the hostel dining room. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to NI. David

69%

The hostel advertises 'no gimmicks, just clean, safe accommodation' and that's exactly what you'll get. It's functional accomodation. The bathrooms were not super clean, but that was likely due to the (mis)behavior of guests. The self-catering kitchen was a nightmare, almost no cutlery or plates and a bad smell. You should go for breakfast in the Causeway Café instead and eat out in one of the pubs! And I'll never get why they have these plastic mattresses...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Someone wrote on a website recently that we do 'exactly what it says on the tin' and we like to think that we do the basics very well: a good value, safe, friendly place to spend a night or two. We do our best to keep on top of supplies of cutlery and crockery in the self-catering kitchen (you probably wouldn't believe how quickly stuff disappears!) If you can think of a solution, other than taking a deposit as people borrow what they need, please let me know :o) Safe Travels. David

97%

Had a great stay needed to be near City hospital for visiting relative.The staff at hostel are very friendly and helpful . Had my meals in restaurant next door nice food friendly and helpful staff .Would come back .Thanks.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your 97% score after your recent stay. Hopefully we will see you again, but under other circumstances. David

77%

Having a table and at least two chairs would be nice!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Perfect budget accommodation. Could do with oiling some doors to en-suites! (They squeak loudly and wake up room-mates.) But it was a wonderful stay; suited me perfectly. Thank you.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perfect. Thank you. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Belfast. Budget accommodation is the business we're in, so it's good to know that we are doing a good job. As for the squeaky doors, I saw someone with a can of oil just the other day so assume that this may now be less of an issue. I hope you are already planning your next hostel stay. See you again. David

80%

+ beds with duvi, locker and sink in room - no towels, very noisy room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments: it's great that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you stay please just ask at reception for a towel (free of charge): we don't have one for everyone so it's not something we advertise, but we usually manage. Buen viaje. David

(213 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback