X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
4511 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Toilet seat not cleaned, with stains. Bed with smells of biscuits. Wifi didn't work. Water tap had to be pressed continuously to keep water flowing, worse than a public toilet.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to leave your comments after your recent stay. Feedback is always important to us, as we work to provide the best experience that we can for our guests. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit, but hope you will continue hostelling. David

63%

This hostel was perfectly adequate and clean but there is no hint of luxury. e.g. You have to keep pressing the shower every thirty seconds to keep it on. The room contained old but stable bunk beds with a metal frame and a sink. There is WiFi but only in a small area downstairs and you have to ask. Basically, there was nothing to complain about but also nothing to talk about. If you are looking for somewhere budget to stay, it is fine. If you are look 'nice' to stay - this is not for you.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your comments, and for your high ratings for security, location and staff: I am also pleased that you commented that the hostel was clean. We have a wide range of rooms at the Youth Hostel, from large dorms to doubles with private shower/toilet. The standard twin you booked is designed to give those on a tight budget the opportunity to have a private room. The timer taps in our showers were recently installed as a water-saving measure. I hope you enjoyed Belfast. David

89%

Inconvenient number of sockets for plugs in a room. Also hostel advertiser as having wifi but only had it in lobby. Furthermore, I would have needed to stay longer however there is a 7 Day max system

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you your comments and your 89% score. We only advertise having wifi in our common areas: I am sorry if this wasn't clear enough on the website and that you were disappointed. The hostel, and indeed the HI network, exists to give people (particularly those on a budget) the opportunity to travel, explore new places and discover new cultures: having guests staying long term would limit our ability to do this I am afraid. I am pleased you appreciated your hostel experience. David

69%

Really good cafe joined downstairs that caters to allergies and dietary requirements really well, friendly staff and clean rooms but there was no social atmosphere.


80%

Good hostel, but the toilets need to change! No curtains in the shower, no place to put shampoo, soap and bath stuff, no place to hang a towel... It was really difficult to take a shower. The common toilets were clean, but the toilet itself was very old and improvised. Just pay attention to that. I also found the breakfast a little expensive, although the food was really good.


74%

There was an unpleasant smell in the room. And the traffic noise was so aloud that I woke up several times at night.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for making time to write a review. Unfortunately our city centre location (thank you for the 80% rating) means that, although you are within walking distance of a lot of the city's visitor attractions, guests are sometime affected by street noise (despite there being much less traffic overnight). I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that you book your next hostel stay soon. David

80%

Can't make any complaints about this place except the shower wasn't enclosed in our ensuite so water was everywhere in the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Almost no complaints is great: thank you. I realise that our wet rooms are not to everyone's taste, but proved the best use of limited space in our en-suite rooms. I know other accommodation providers occasionally install shower cubicles within bedrooms as a space saver, but a separate wet room was the best solution for us. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your European adventure! David

91%

Great service and hostel. Only WiFi in the rooms is missing!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel: it's always excellent to get a top score for cleanliness - atmosphere and value for money too! Although our free WiFi is only available in our public areas on the first and ground floors some rooms (depending on where they are located in relation to routers) will get a signal: it's not something we can promise though. As we improve our WiFi provision hopefully this reach may be greater in future. I hope you had a fun trip. David

71%

The 23 bed dorm doesn't feel as crowded as most large dorm rooms because it has walls throughout creating different smaller rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Some people are put off by the idea of our big dorms so it's good to have positive feedback after guests have spent a night there: these rooms (with 23 beds and 17 beds) have been well-designed, are semi-partitioned to offer some privacy and have their own showers/toilets: they are never quite as intimidating as they sound. The 23 bed dorm also has the best views in the building. Hopefully you will continue hostelling! David

71%

This hostel is well situated. The breakfast (not included) was good and we had a nice stay. Unfortunately, our bedroom wasn't clean when we arrived and was "clean" just on the saturday evening (we left on the sunday). One member of the staff was great and paid a lot of attention to us. But his colleagues weren't the same.. We have been told thet our bedroom was clean but it wasn't. And when we came back to tell the problem we heard: I don't have the time I will do it later. it was a pity.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to lave a review after your visit. I am sorry to read that your experience wasn't as good as it could have been - but it's great that you still had a nice stay. I am not quite sure exactly what the issue was, if perhaps the housekeepers had missed a room, or if staff checked you in before the housekeepers had finished, but please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss you experience further. David

89%

Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. Our staff is always rated highly in online reviews and comments and work hard to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay. Hopefully we'll see you next time to travel to Belfast. Safe travels. David

54%

The checkIn in at 15:30 and we arrived 1H before, they refused to give us the room before 15h30, i find this timing too late

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. Check in time for our rooms starts at 13.30, earlier than most hotels. We are a busy city hostel and have a very fast turnaround so occasionally, when housekeeping is busy, there is a slight delay: but in all my time here check in has never started as late as 15.30. Please contact me with more information. Thank you. David

74%

I had to change the key card twice.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review: scoring 80% in all but one of the review categories is excellent. I am sorry you has issues with your key card: as the cards have a magnetic strip the information required to open a door can sometimes be wiped by phones, tablets etc but this issue is easily rectified. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and will keep on hostelling! David

100%

Everything is okay....We were 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% score! It's great to know that you had a good stay at the Youth Hostel in Belfast. It was a pleasure hosting your little international group too. Come back and see us next time you are in Northern Ireland. David

40%

The self-catering kitchen was not very clean, apart from making the odd hot drink I wouldn't have wanted to cook in the kitchen. I was a solo traveler but at my age ( 56) didn't want to share a dorm with strangers - so needed to pay for a double room. No real space downstairs - couple of settees and bean bags in need of some beans. My room was very stuffy - no open window. With the number of union jack flags flying I felt I was in UKIP land and also big bonfire being built near-by !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to write a review: I am sorry that it's a negative one. Our kitchen is cleaned every morning as part of our housekeeping schedule: I've just had a quick check and it looks fine, but I imagine as the day goes on, depending on use, it might lose its shine. Room options in the hostel are either dorms or private rooms: windows in our en-suite twins open but are restricted for safety reasons. Historically, flags are part of the Belfast landscape I'm afraid. Safe Travels. David

60%

All the basics covered. Perfect if you're just looking for a cheap & cheerful bunk for a night or two. Perhaps best if you have something to do throughout the whole day and just need a bed. The cafe could do with serving lunch & dinner and the bunks were too small to sit on. Staff were friendly and helpful + there was a tour company on site for great days out. Located right in the middle between the city center & Queen's University which was perfect for many of the guests.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's always great to know that we are getting the basics right - thank you - cheap and cheerful isn't a bad mantra. The cafe is now staying open later, until 2pm, so the timing of your visit was just slightly off to take advantage of that: the cafe has occasionally experimented with evening opening, but it's never quite worked out for them (although it caters for pre-booked groups for dinner). I hope the rest of your trip is going well. David

80%

My key card took forever to work :( and I know you couldn't do anything about this, but one roommate snores like a truck and it was impossible to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We had one or two issues with the lock of your room at the weekend, but these have now been resolved: sometimes technology can fail us I am afraid. A snoring room mate forms part of the hostelling experience I guess: I've been in dorms where one person keeps everyone awake and it can almost be a bonding experience for the others. I now never leave home on a trip without earplugs. My travel advice for the day :o) I hope you keep hostelling! David

86%

Everything is very good. The only comment I can make is that there's no basin in the toilet nor shower outside my dorm room. It's too noisy to use the one in the dorm room while the others are sleeping so I walk down the hallway to the other toilet.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I know we spoke before your departure, and you were concerned (having already written your review) that the tone was perhaps too negative - but it doesn't seem like that at all, and 86% is a great score! Enjoy the rest of your travels, and I hope your bag doesn't remain lost in transit for too much longer. David

54%

The rooms and shared facilities were very filthy. The reason was not the condition but obvious lack of cleaning. Wifi signal was not satisfying, actually accessible only on two dingy couches, occupied most of the time. My companion was saddened after realizing that the 3rd category Titanic's cabins were in much better shape and looked so much cosier than our double suite. In addition, the presence of group of about 40 French kids aged 8-10 on the same floor as our room, was not the best idea.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you look at the accommodation sector as a whole, and a 5* hotel equates to first class, then we are most definitely at the other end of the scale: but you still get to make the trip, on a budget: it's why we exist. That said I am disappointed to read that you were not happy with the standard of cleanliness: I will pass your comments on. People commented on how good the little group (16 children + 5 teachers) were: I am sorry if you were disturbed during your stay. Enjoy your travels. David

77%

Generally speaking, the hostel is good and worths the money. One thing can be improve is the wifi since the wifi is only available in the common place rather than the room.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found the hostel good value for money: that is very important to us. We are currently working to improve the free wifi that we offer in our public areas on the ground and first floors at the hostel: it seems that demand occasionally overwhelms the system that we have in place when we are busy. Hopefully you will notice the difference on your next visit. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Northern Ireland. David

(192 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback