X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4974 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff help and friendly but the shower facilities could be better the water kept turning of


100%

Staff were so helpful. My second time stay. Would stay again. Best price I could find


83%

Good hostel! Friendly helpful staff + tourist office. Big kitchen + cafe. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Shower pressure and temperature good despite it being push button. Large hostel so wifi is only available downstairs which is the only issue. Close to shops and attractions and major buses/coaches. Swipe card access to go upstairs and into rooms - pretty secure. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comments. We have a very hardworking team - housekeeping, at reception and in the back office - and it's always good when the hard work is appreciated. It's good that you link the lack of wifi in bedrooms to the size of our building: with 54 bedrooms spread over 4 floors, and at the competitive overnight rates we charge, it is not feasible for us to provide wifi in bedrooms. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Keep hostelling! David

100%

Great place, Excellent staff!!

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff are helpful and lovely. There is a tour office located beside the Hostel Reception counter, you probably will get discounted price for the tours if you're staying with Belfast Int Hostel.

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

friendly and super helpful staff! clan and quiet room (easy to sleep) great facilities amazing location that was easy to find and the hostel gave us great directions would highly reccommend! had a great time! the Boston Stacks breakfast was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


86%

Good place to stay!!!


83%

The hostel was overall a great experience- conveniently located, awesome kitchen, friendly and helpful staff, clean room. The only issue I had was with the wifi, which never connected for anyone in my group, both iPhone and Android. However, most cafes have wifi for travel/bank checking/updating/etc., so it worked out for us. I recommend this hostel for sure.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great. Convenient. Awesome. Friendly. Helpful. Clean. Thank you very much for all those positive adjectives. I am really sorry that our wifi let us down on a very busy weekend, but pleased that you still enjoyed your stay and will recommend us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as much as you did Belfast. Keep hostelling. David

83%

The hostel is in a handy location, only 5 - 10 minutes walk from city hall, the staff were helpful, there is an adjoining cafe, they do a good fry up for £4.95 (2 sausage, 1 bacon, beans tomato, two bits of soda bread, two bits of potato bread, tea/coffee), probably a bit young for me, but at the price i got the bed for, it was hard to fault. Secure parking around the back too. One tip of advice, if you are planning on staying here around marching season (spring - summer every year), be wary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay: we're lucky to be located just a short walk from both City Hall and Queen's University. We accommodate guests of all ages (despite being a 'Youth' Hostel: in fact some hostellers have life membership) from all over the world and we like everyone to feel that they fit in: it's a shame that you felt that it was 'a bit young' for you. There are parades in many parts of the city during the summer, local colour, and no reason not to visit. David

97%

Organized, clean and the staff is great :)

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your almost perfect score: to receive 100% in all but one category is excellent. We take security very seriously at Belfast IYH, with the accommodation floors only open to residents and key card access required for all lifts, stairways and bedrooms so it's disappointing that we lost a point there. I hope you will come back for another visit next time you are in Northern Ireland and recommend us as you travel. Thank you again. David

63%

WiFi only works at the reception, and it didn't work on my cellphone for the entire time I was there. Lucky me, the night shift guy let me use his cellphone internet making his a hotspot. Bathrooms / showers appear very clean, but if you happen to put your nose in any point above the drain, it smells really bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sometimes reviews intrigue, or confuse, slightly: but it's always good to read feedback so that we know what we're doing well and what we can look at doing better. You mention that night shift was helpful in letting you use a mobile phone as an internet hotspot but rate staff at 60%: you comment on drains that smell bad but rate our (apparent) cleanliness at 80%. We do read all reviews and that gives us a good overall picture. Thank you for contributing. Safe travels. David

80%

There is not wifi signal on the second and third floor. Because of this, most of people need to stay in the hall if want to use wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't currently have wifi above the ground/first floor, as detailed on our booking websites (although some rooms may pick up a signal depending on their location in relation to the routers, and also on the device used: I have used a tablet on the second floor, but my laptop won't work). We like the idea of people getting together in our common areas and wifi brings them there. A catalyst: even if the conversation starts with now bad wifi is! Thank you for your overall high score though. David

83%

Good quick stay here. Very big and soulless but clean and comfortable. Wifi in the lobby. The staff seem really stuck on "the rules" to the point they don't listen to people. They seemed stressed out at times. Remember...policies are created to protect businesses from being scammed and ripped off, they are not created for the business from doing the right thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review: although I am not sure that I understand all of your references. We are a big, busy city centre hostel with beds for 180+ guests, a lot of whom are only staying for a night or two like yourself. All of our policies/rules are based around keeping the hostel running smoothly, and safe, particularly on days when 180 check outs are quickly replaced by 180 new arrivals. It means we can keep things clean and comfortable, meaning everyone has a good stay as you did. David

49%

1) I don't think it was necessary for the hostel to take my passport as a deposit. I thought that over the top. 2) My en-suite room had a rather smelly, poorly-ventilated bathroom. Couldn't find a ventilator. 3) Other guests noisy - OK, I'm getting on in years, but I'm sure plenty of younger folk didn't much appreciate being disturbed after midnight 4) Located on the edge of a loyalist enclave with flags and slogans. You can walk to the city centre without difficulties.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The hostel has a quiet time from 11pm: we do our best to ensure that guests are not disturbed. We had a particularly noisy group stay last weekend (luckily it doesn't happen often): as a result we have now tightened up group booking procedures.All guests are asked to leave a HI membership card or photo ID on check in as a key/security deposit, as detailed when booking. All bathrooms have a ceiling extractor. Belfast is possibly a patchwork of 'enclaves'? David

54%

Toilet had no shower curtain nor a cabin, it was like a gym shower, all the floor was basically adapted to be the shower. Water taps of the sink had to be pushed and held if u wanted to have a constant stream of water, and the preassure was not regulated so u could easily get all soaked while attempting to wash one hand and then the other. Bed sheets were never changed and towels were not provided either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to leave a review. All of our bathrooms are designed as wet rooms, as described on the website where you booked: as our bedrooms are small it seemed the most effective use of the space, but of course it is not to everyone's taste. Sheets are changed after every check out, but not during a stay I'm afraid: Youth Hostels don't tend to do this. Towels are not provided but are available to borrow free from reception. Please contact me if you want to discuss further. David

80%

Great value hostel,centrally located-walking distance to transport,shops,cafes & sights!Free parking at the rear of the hostel is a bonus!We stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite.Standard hostel ikea bunk beds with linen provided.Separate shower(needs a facelift),toilet and basin all in room was convenient.Small lockers that are self locking.1 powerpoint in whole room.Wifi worked throughout whole hostel.Shout out to Phil at reception-genuine guy & thanks for sharing your local knowledge!


89%

Nice modern place, nice staff and clean rooms and toilets! Only issue I had was you couldn't get internet in the room! And it was only the seamed floor! Major problem!!!

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Wifi in rooms would be a nice upgrade, but lobby wifi worked just fine. Only complaint was a somewhat grumpy/confused desk attendant upon an early morning arrival. We got in around 6am and he seemed fairly out of sorts at our appearance right at the end of his shift. Otherwise, loved th cafe next door-- great, cheap food-- and McCombs tour office is right in the building, which is nice.


100%

Had an excellent stay. Staff was great, location ideal. Just had a great time.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The Wi-Fi system is really annoying and almost made me mad

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(191 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback