X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4633 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

+ beds with duvi, locker and sink in room - no towels, very noisy room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments: it's great that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you stay please just ask at reception for a towel (free of charge): we don't have one for everyone so it's not something we advertise, but we usually manage. Buen viaje. David

89%

I stayed in the 23 bed dorm which has heaps of space and is quite spread out so definitely doesn't feel like a 23 bed dorm! Overall a nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I always like to read positive comments about our big dorms as I know that the idea is often off-putting: but the rooms have been well designed with heaps of space, as you say. The girls dorm has 22 beds, a little seating area and great views: the boys dorm has 16 beds. Both rooms have their own showers and toilets. We are always careful when selling individual beds in the rooms so that small groups don't 'take over' the dorms. Thank you again and safe travels. David

91%

Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location. Comfortable dorms. Could do with more/ better kitchen equipment. Furniture in Lobby could do with a refurb.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments: it's great that you had a good stay with us in Belfast. We are constantly replenishing cutlery etc in our kitchen: sadly things disappear quite quickly here: I have just added some more supplies so we'll see how we go! We recently bought 2 new sofas for our reception area, and have 2 more to replace: it's always an ongoing process of updating and renewing. Hopefully we'll see you again. David

77%

It is very noisy at night.


94%

Staff always very friendly and helpful, always enjoy my stay in Belfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comments about our staff, much appreciated - and we are always happy to have you back! See you again soon. David

97%

Room maintenance staff do a very good job in a dynamic environment. Ventilation is difficult as you cant please everyone, however, first occupants to bed closed the windows, prob due to noises and the room became very humid. Most occupants, myself included, found it difficult to sleep as an open window brought the noise of the busy main road. This is probably more to the front of the Hostel. Another very minor point is, just 2 power sockets for x4 occupants, when chargers, etc, are the norm?

Owner Comment (Hide)
A dynamic environment: a perfect description of life in a hostel: people always coming and going: guests occasionally leaving after check out time, often arriving to check in hours before check in time: but we manage to get things done, maintenance-wise, in the limited breathing space that we have. It's good that it's appreciated. Dorm-sharing can sometimes present issues: window open/window closed etc, but that's something you get used to while travelling as you know. Keep on hostelling! David

80%

No complaints - bed gave me a sore back but that's probably just me as I have a sensitive back anyway. Staff very friendly and only other issue would be to maybe have the cafe open at 7 instead of 8 as we had to leave for business before 8 and had to go elsewhere for breakfast. otherwise fine.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive comments: all of our mattresses are more or less the same, no variety in terms of firmness, so unfortunately they are not going to be ideal for everyone: I am happy that this did not impact too much on your stay. Guests tend to rate our staff highly so it's great that you reinforce this. Causeway Cafe occasionally experiments with opening hours (now open until 2pm for lunch) and find that there is less demand early in the day I am afraid. Look after your back. David

60%

I've been traveling for a while and this has to be one of the worst hostels I've stayed in. It's not very clean, but the thing that makes it so horrible is the staff. They are very rude to people staying there and visitors. There aren't a lot of hostels in Belfast and all of them get booked up very quickly but are way nicer than this one. Only stay here as a last resort.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us: although thank you for the top scores for both location and security. We have a very hard-working team of reception and housekeeping staff, so it is disappointing to read your comments. Guests who stayed around the same time wrote "friendly staff, happy to help with anything" and "staff always very friendly and helpful" - I am sorry that this wasn't your experience. I hope you enjoyed Belfast. David

63%

there is no wifi in the rooms. only in the common areas and even then it's super shotty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. We currently only offer free WiFi in our common rooms at the hostel, as detailed in our description on booking websites. Due to the size of our building it is not currently feasible for us to offer WiFi throughout the hostel. Work is ongoing to improve our free network, which occasionally cuts out at busy times. Perhaps it's not too bad to be offline occasionally though? :o) Take care and enjoy your travels. David

86%

Would be benefical to have more tourist information - guides, etc - at the entrance instead of on the 1st floor.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments after your Belfast stay this month. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit. We are lucky to have a number of common areas at the hostel, on 2 different floors. Part of our ground floor, in the seating area on the way through to the kitchen/cafe/dining room, has a number of stands with both tourist and hostelling information: we also have a McCombs tour booking office at reception. I hope you have already planned your next hostel stay. See you again. David

63%

This was a serviceable hostel. There is only wifi in the lobby and it's a bit shotty. They do supply free towels which is lovely. Overall a fine place to stay, just not an overly social experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
'A fine place to stay' - thank you. The hostel was busy on the night you were here, with about 175 people staying overnight, so there were a lot of people around: our free walking tour was also on as it was the weekend and that can be a good way to meet other guests. We are currently working on improving the free wifi in our common areas: I hope that this will be fully installed and working soon. Enjoy the rest of your vacation. David

77%

I stayed one night in the 23 beds dorm. it didn't feel crowded at all - it's a really big room with a nice view of the city. wifi was good but only in the lounge - couldn't use it in the dorm. the location is very good, about 3 minutes walk from the nearest train station. friendly staff that were happy to help with anything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive review: our location is great, very close to both bus (Europa) and train (Botanic) stations. I am pleased that you enjoyed the view from your dorm: Belfast doesn't have too many high buildings so even from our top (4th) floor you can see the Belfast Hills. It's also good to know that you appreciated the design of the room too: semi-partitioned and with a seating area so that it doesn't feel crowded at all. I hope you enjoyed your time in NI. David

40%

This was much worse than expected. The staff checking me in were rude, the whole place was filthy, and I felt unsafe in the hallways.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am not sure why you were expecting something bad, or why you booked a stay here if this was the case, but I am sorry to hear that we didn't even meet your low expectations. Our staff are usually rated very highly by guests, as is our cleanliness, and the corridors are brightly lit (too bright some say) and usually quiet. Please contact me if you would like to discuss your experience further. David

89%

Very kind & helpful staff, great value for money, secure pack storage, excellent food at the causeway café just next, great stay!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review: I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Youth Hostel in Belfast, and that you enjoyed breakfast at Causeway Cafe too. I hope that you will recommend the hostel as you continue your travels. David

66%

Reception staff were lovely and excellent. Beds and mattresses need replacing. And the kitchen equipment was primitive, battered, virtually unusable. Once the place is refurbished it will be fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive comments about our staff: I guess our gentle ribbing while you were here went down well! I am sorry to read that you found the mattresses in your twin roomuncomfortable: the mattresses in the room you were allocated are new: and it's a shame that you didn't find those in the room we moved you to for your second night, after a quick test, any better: your comments have been noted. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

66%

The room looked a bit like a jail, so small it was. It had been unclear what type of beds were in the room. I was expecting a double-size bed but what I got was two single beds, one above another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay: our hostel has a very wide variety of rooms, all detailed in the information on the booking page: all of our standard rooms, including the 2 bedded rooms, have bunk beds. Bookings made on Hostelworld go straight into our reservation system so receptionists don't choose or amend the room type booked. If you come back and stay choose 'Double Bed Private Ensuite' which costs a little more. Safe travels. David

66%

Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm. The beds were comfy and each bed had a lamp. There were only 2 lockers in the room for 4 people. The hostel's interior is outdated. There were only 2 plug in's in the room which was in the ground by the door. The showers were good and clean. Wifi only worked on the ground floor and that was still slow/spotty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your mostly positive comments after your visit to Belfast. It's good to know that you found our beds comfy (we replaced a lot of our mattresses recently and have more new ones to come): we are currently also looking at locker provision in our dorms: and at improving our free WiFi access in public areas. As a big, busy, city hostel work is always ongoing to improve and update, although quiet times in which to carry out work don't come up often. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. David

83%

The Internet doesn't work in the room, even in the common room it doesn't work very well, and you need to pay for printing. Except these, everything is fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your comments: feedback is always important to us. Thank you for your mostly high ratings after your stay, and I am sorry that our WiFi connection was not as good as it could have been while you were here. We have a new WiFi network which is partly installed: someone else is working on that for us, so it's not completely in our control, but hopefully it will be fully installed soon and guests will start to notice the difference. Safe travels. David

91%

I had am amazing stay at this hostel.. Staff was friendly.. Rooms and beds were clean... Hostel itself is pickup point for many day tours... If i ever come back to belfast would definitely stay here again.. Cheers

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent review: thank you for posting it. We will be happy to have you back again any time - and please recommend us as you go! Safe travels. David

86%

Stayed here for one night in a double room. Reception ordered ataxi for us to go out and recommended some really nice bars. Would definatley stay here again. It is great value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments: it's great to know that you'll come back. I know from my own research that guests choose us because we offer good value for money so it's good to have that emphasised in your review: a city centre ensuite double room on a Saturday night for £42 is unbeatable I think. Don't forget that, if you are planning more hostel stays, becoming a HI/YHA member entitles you to a discount on overnight stays. Thank you once again. David

(214 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback