X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4134 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We stayed there for friday night, staff were very helpfull and location is great too.Very easy to find from bus station.We were very happy to stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us with such a positive review - we do appreciate it. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Belfast! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

Rooms were adequate. Price is just right for a place to rest your head and beds were suprisingly comfortable. The shared bathrooms were basic. Would have liked mirrors and shower heads a little further away from being stuck on the wall at a bad angle. A fresh lick of paint would go a long way but overall happy with my stay. Would stay again for a short trip to Belfast as it is located just 7-10 min walk to city centre and good security.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and be assured that we will take your feedback on board. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

not much atmosphere in the hostel, but if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep in a comfortable place its a good choice.


57%

The place is devoid of any atmosphere that a traveller would expect.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As part of a non-profit worldwide movement, our primary aims are to provide accommodation for travelers that is clean, safe, affordable and secure. Nevertheless be assured that we do welcome all feedback. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

60%

Overall this is the worst hostel I've been in yet-- granted I've only been travelling for a couple weeks. The shower in the room I was in was stopped up so stood in a couple inches of water while showering. Staff was not very friendly. For the money it was not worth it.


83%

Very nice staff, so pleased of the cleanliness and the space inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nahikari Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind words. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

66%

Overall hostel was fine, but the heating was broken and we were very cold. Really not acceptable to have a hostel open without heat! And the guy at reception told us that we could walk to the college in ten minutes but it ended up taking more like 30 and we were nearly late, was a bit annoying. Apart from the that it's a nice hostel

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Duvet cover instead of sheet would have been nice. There was a lot of dust on shower extractor fan. Overall very good place.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Claire And thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we hope that you'll be back with us again. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

Value for money, very clean and comfortable. Would like better reception for wifi in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Maria Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind words. We currently offer free wi-fi in the lobby in order to encourage guests to meet and interact as part of the hostelling ethos. Nevertheless we will keep wi-fi availability under review and thank you for your feedback in this regard. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

-cleaning the toilets more often -put wifi on each floor

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Virginia And thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I can assure you that the toilets are regularly cleaned. We offer free wi-fi in the lobby in order to encourage guests to meet and interact as part of the hostelling ethos. Nevertheless we do keep all aspects of our service under review and please be assured that your own comments have been taken on board. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

40%

Classic YHA - bit out of the way, big, no atmosphere and terrible wifi - but worse because the bathrooms are the worst and most horrendous things I've ever seen in a hostel. Just don't.


83%

Nice hostel, lovely staff. Large hostel, very clean (it always smelled good!) and maybe not the most festive atmosphere, but it was comfortable. The only downer for us was the location. Everything happens around the Cathedral Quarter, or so it seems, and it's a good 25 minute walk from the hostel... Overall, really nice place though! We enjoyed :)


74%

We stayed in a single bunk room and it was only big enough for breathing air. However it was located next to the best night clubs even tho the side street it is on was kind of sketchy. Didn't like that the wifi only worked in the lobby and a staff member had to type in the code for my iPhone. Staff was so friendly tho especially Gary who came and checked on us when he realized a creepy drunk guy followed us up to our room. It was a decent first hostel experience for me!


80%

Maybe you could post notices on hall & bathroom doors for people not to slam when they walk through especially during the night when people are asleep. Also the bathroom/shower room on the second floor could use a soap dispenser at the sink.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location. Felt safe. Really friendly and helpful staff. Only niggle - you could do with new mattresses.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleased with my night here, the location is very central, the staff was helpful with all my questions.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It is cold during the night stay with no heating and tiny single bed cover, it is no warning enough. The bed mattress is old and so hard.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Got help from a local man on the street to find a nearby restaurant for lunch. Staff at Reception did circle St Georges Market on the map as a place to eat but it might be best to circle a nearby local area too - I think we ate on Botanic Avenue - French Bistro place , which was good. Directions were good but Shaftesbury Square didn't look like a square.


97%

This was the second time that I stayed here. It is a great value and will definitely stay here again if in the area. The facility is very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is cheap and tasty. My 60-year old parents also stayed here and enjoyed their stay so definitely good for all ages!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

hope to have internet access in the bedrooms.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(102 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback