X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3705 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Enjoyed the hostel, fun to be around the younger people.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Short distance walk into town very friendly. Stayed 3 nights grate value

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

A friend and I booked a private double room which was really narrow & scarcly furnished. The beds were the worst part: It was a loft bed & the mattresses had a plastic case which squeaked with every movement. Not really comfortable. The showers & bathrooms looked very dirty, even though I saw the cleaner everyday. The staff is very friendly & helpful though, & there is a cafe which offered plenty of different, delicious dishes and seperate items. The self-service kitchen was very useful as well!


71%

You get what you pay for with this hostel, the location is good, and the rooms are clean. However the bathrooms were not clean, nor did they have any soap...which was a little disgusting.


63%

The staff were exceptionally friendly; no problem w/them. The facility could use a drastic update. The rooms were just big enough to shove bunk beds in, w/a sink


100%

Fine hostel, good staff, easy to find. Good kitchen facility.


83%

A total lack of recycling facilities!


54%

The shower broken. Another shower I went I couldn't shutter the door. The third shower doesn't look clean.


83%

Kitchen was closed between 11-12.30... quite long time. Staff was nice and they did open the kitchen door that I could get my snacks. If you like to visit giant`s causeway the location is perfect becose tours start infront of the hostel.


57%

Overall just an average hostel. Nothing special about it and the rooms were not overly comfortable. The WiFi was only on the ground level and after 11pm they shut down the café so there was no sitting room to comfortably use the WiFi. When we checked in the man at the front desk was not helpful or friendly and it never really improved from there. I would not stay here again.


74%

Security: Clever card access to everywhere, 24 hours reception but sometimes closed kitchen. Location: About 10 minutes walk to the center, but quite far from ferry (it was necessary to take a taxi when both coming and leaving). Cleanliness: Daily and professionally cleaned common area, tidy room. Facilities: Brand new furniture in both private and common rooms, only the kitchen was equipped only sufficiently. The reason why I gave 'average' to this is that the drain in our bathroom was stuffy.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Its a nive place but very boring. Not much activity here and a bit far from everything. You have to get buzzed in after 10pm which is kind of annoying to present your keycard every time you go out for a smoke


97%

Everything was great. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Felt like a full hotel despite being an affordable hostel!

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I never stayed in a hostel before. The beds are terrible and our room needed a paint. Our room also needed either curtains or a black out blind. They need to invest some money. Otherwise the public areas are clean, security and location is great.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to report that we are actually in the process of updating many of the rooms within the hostel - new carpets, paint, mattresses, blinds and linen. Perhaps you will come back and try out one of our newly renovated rooms sometime! Cathy

80%

Very good just some problems with wifi access.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our FREE wifi - unfortunately sometimes we have issues with the server which are beyond our control. I hope that it was fixed quickly and didn't inconvenience you too much. Cathy

89%

I would've liked a free or less expensive breakfast for the value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast Youth Hostel. Unfortunately our on site café is actually run independently to the hostel and so we do not cater for guests. However, Alan does offer extremely good value breakfasts and there is also the self catering kitchen so guests have the option to cook for themselves. I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast! Cathy

80%

It is a kitchen there to use

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am not too sure if you are asking if there is a self catering kitchen available for guests to use? In which case, there is indeed a fully equipped self catering kitchen for guests to avail of, alongside a café if guests would prefer to have their meals cooked for them. I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast! Cathy

77%

Great staff with a great location. However negative marks for the lack of utensils in the kitchen. Had to wait for a spoon to become free one morning to eat my breakfast with! Also there were lots of noisy French school kids one night. Not the fault of the YH but the supervising teachers I guess.


71%

The room was little bit dirty when we arrived, there was someone's used sock on the floor and lots of dust. Wifi wasn't working in the rooms. Room was small and little bit noisy, but it was cheap, so I guess it was ok for the price. The location was ok and the cafe situated in the ground floor of the hostel was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our Youth Hostel. I sincerely apologise that there was a sock in your room on arrival - this was obviously overlooked by our housekeeping staff & is inexcusable! With regards to the wifi in rooms - unfortunately because we are a not for profit organisation, we are extremely limited by budgets and it is just not economically feasible for us to be able to offer wifi in the hostel bedrooms. However I hope you found the FREE wifi on our ground floor useful

74%

I stayed in a single room, not much of a value. Should have gone to hotel. But breakfast was very good and reasonable cost also self serve was in a good, clean, very organized kitchen

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Obviously the hostel market is extremely different to the hotel market; different facilities, amenities and ethos. We are a not for profit organisation and we continually strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay with the opportunity to meet new people and share experiences at an affordable price. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast!

(126 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback