X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4142 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location. Felt safe. Really friendly and helpful staff. Only niggle - you could do with new mattresses.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleased with my night here, the location is very central, the staff was helpful with all my questions.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It is cold during the night stay with no heating and tiny single bed cover, it is no warning enough. The bed mattress is old and so hard.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Got help from a local man on the street to find a nearby restaurant for lunch. Staff at Reception did circle St Georges Market on the map as a place to eat but it might be best to circle a nearby local area too - I think we ate on Botanic Avenue - French Bistro place , which was good. Directions were good but Shaftesbury Square didn't look like a square.


97%

This was the second time that I stayed here. It is a great value and will definitely stay here again if in the area. The facility is very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is cheap and tasty. My 60-year old parents also stayed here and enjoyed their stay so definitely good for all ages!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

hope to have internet access in the bedrooms.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

All was good except for the pillow (waaaay too thin, even doubled up)

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was so helpful and the rooms/bathrooms were clean. My only complaint is that the wifi doesnt work in the rooms at all. You have to go to the lounge downstairs to use it. But overall had a great experience


60%

I STAYED IN Room 402, and I noticed there wasn't a lock on the shower door, pretty important. There wasn't any hook to put up a towel, or clothes. . you could easily fit a small wooden bench into that shower. The wooden floors make for a noisey nighttime experience. Everything else was fine. Cheers


86%

very nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

80%

Really lovely staff and ridiculously GORGEOUS cafe for breakfast etc. - yum! Room was basic, but really clean - v v happy! Thank you guys :0)

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Meet our expectations


97%

Great hostel!!! Friendly staff


80%

I was satisfied. Only the WiFi didn't funchtion at all. they said that it's only at the ground floor, but I couldn't receive or send messeges.


46%

Wifi only available in the lobby/common area??? I've never stayed at a place where that was the case especially when paying £15 per night. No breakfast included either. Plastic cover on mattress underneath the fitted sheet? Are you kidding me? It was so uncomfy and made sounds every time I moved. Tried to save a bit more money by staying there but you might end up spend more on roaming 3G charges. Ha! Staff was okay but not the greatest either. Overall I wouldn't stay there ever again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review. Many hotels in Belfast actually charge up to £15 per day for WIFI access - the fact that we offer a free service at all is quite uncommon for Belfast city centre. We do list on all our literature and booking sites that the free wifi is only available in common areas. By doing this we are also trying to encourage our guests to embrace the ethos of hostelling and come out of their rooms and mix with other travellers. I hope you enjoyed your trip to NI nonetheless

97%

Security is good and the cafe is clean. It is really value for money.


89%

The hostel is within easy walking distance of the Europa bus terminus and Great Victoria Street railway station so it is easy to find and get to. Airport buses link to this point while any travellers wishing to go to other parts of Northern Ireland or Dublin can easily get a connection. The twin room was cleaned and ready for me. I bought a breakfast each morning at the hostel, where there was a very wide choice. The kitchen facilities were great and I brought in other meals.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review! I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient and accessible to all transport links. It is also great that you were able to avail of our self catering facilities and found these to be of an acceptable standard! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast and hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon. Cathy

86%

I though the rooms were very clean, nice and simple. The kitchen smelt weird though and even though it was cleaned everyday it was still very dirty, especially around the stove and oven. The bathing facilities could have used something to put your clothes on and it was very cold in the bathrooms.


71%

The place is generally good, good location, close to some good bars and clubs. The kitchen was really below average. It smelled, knives were dull, so slicing some tomatoes could get really frustrating. Can opener didn't work, so i had to use a knife, which was quite risky. On the first day, 2 out of 12 stove heads worked. Wouldn't recommend for people wanting a good modern kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us! I am very sorry that you felt our self catering kitchen was lacking in facilities. I am delighted to report that we have actually just installed a new oven and that we are in the process of acquiring new cookware so the issues that you have raised should be addressed very soon. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Cathy

74%

Rooms had beds and toilets were clean, alright. But the overall atmosphere was sad and boring, not fun nor positive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel! I am delighted to read that you found your room and bathroom facilities to be clean and up to a good standard. It is obviously disappointing to hear that you thought the atmosphere was lacking. Obviously this is something we will strive to improve on. Best Wishes Cathy

(103 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback