X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4323 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

internet is terrible1

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The tour to the Causeway was excellent and the cafe was also good in the monring for pre-fuelling. The free walking tour was also worth doing, despite getting soaked in rain:)

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the tours and the cafe and thanks for taking the time to review us. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

94%

Professional, clean, we really liked the way the kitchen/cafe was set up. Large comfortable kitchen. The bathroom set-up was a little odd, the bathrooms were just rooms that had a toilet and a floor with a pull shower so if there were a lot of people there was a bit of a wait for using facilities. Only one dryer was operational. We also took a great walking tour that meets at the hostel Saturday and Sunday at 2pm. Really knowledgable guide who took us to a lot of areas we wouldn't have gone.


83%

The staff was very friendly and made some good recomendations on where to eat. The nights at the weekend were quite noisy because the neighbours were partying very loudly. The hostel itself is located in a "china town" area and is very close to the city center. Everything was in walking distance. Definatly reccomend it!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to review us and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

A good basic hostel with friendly helpful staff. The only problem was no towels or hand dryers in toilets.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. Be assured your comments re towels / hand dryers has been noted. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

I enjoyed my short break in the hostel.The staff were very helpful,

Owner Comment (Hide)
I there, it was great to read that you enjoyed our stay with us - we hope that you'll be back again! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

The only issue I had was there was No plug for the bathroom sink.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for leaving us such a high score and be assured your comment re the sink has been noted. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

97%

pleasant helpful staff good location

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review, we really do appreciate it. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

I thought the place was nice, but I was not able to connect to WIFI the whole time I was there. I think that may have been my provider connection, but at any rate, I was not able to connect. Half the lights in our bathroom did not work, and there was no soap for hand-washing (which I assumed would be in the bathrooms).

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay as a whole and rest assured we value all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

63%

For the price they ask they should include breakfast, or at least have a reduced price for it, the restaurant besides it is not a good price-value.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our analysis shows that good Value For Money is one of the most common positive comments that our hostel receives. Similarly, the Causeway Cafe has an overwhelming majority of comments saying that it is good value for money as well. Nevertheless, we do value all feedback and hope that you had a pleasant stay as a whole. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

Excellent hostel in a prime location, the staff were friendly and helpful and the self catering kitchen was better than you get at most hostels, massive bonus! Great price as well, will definitely be staying again if I'm over in Belfast!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you so much for giving us such a nice review and yes we would love to have you back! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

74%

Not the best hostel I've been to, to be honest. We only had 2 sockets in the whole room (which can end in a war in an all female group). It took ages for the water to get hot in the shower (and with ages I mean at least 30 min) and the beds were horrible. The staff was very friendly though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. Yes recently there have been issues with hot water in a couple of the rooms. I can assure you it this is being dealt with. Rest assured we have taken your other comments on board. We were pleased to read that you found us friendly and hope you enjoyed your stay in Belfast as a whole. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Staff were very helpful, great location, great value for money and a car park!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for giving us a perfect score - we're glad that you enjoyed your stay! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

94%

Very clean & organised. Very Helpful staff. No alcohol so you go out & party. Exactly as advertised. Great value for 10 pounds a night. I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review - we do appreciate it and hope to see you again! Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

Very friendly, patient and helpful staff, including the staff at the cafe. Location is a bit noisy, bc many pubs around and I stayed there on the weekend. Space for parking available at the back for the hostel, even some hotel in Belfast don't have parking, this hostel has. No food allow into the building after 11pm, very inconvenient bc we arrived late at night, cafe closed but couldn't go inside the building with the take away we bought, so had to eat on the side of a street.


91%

Good times!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The hostel is a bit outside the city centre, so you might have to walk some 15 minutes if you don't feel like taking a cab or public transport (which I found quite poor in the city). The atmosphere was not one of the best I've lived in my travels: scarcely illuminated, weak wi-fi, empty rooms and dark colours. Staff was nice.


83%

The staff were so lovely and helpful, recommending top things to do around town, arranging tours/pickups, rooms were large and clean. Very happy with the hostel.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Please...Don´t go! ¿How is possible this 'hostel' form part to the International Hostelling Comunitty? -There is a kitchen and a disco on the back of hostel, so party and plates are all night inside. Besides, windows don´t close good. -Staff is REALLY RUDE. -They have your passport or ID all time you are in hostel (they don´t know photocopies...) -WIFI is only downstairs and doesn´t working. -There is not free breakfast and you have to pay 50 ct. for hot water ¿? -Beds are for kids. -Dirty...

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HINI is indeed part of the HI family of hostels, a not-for-profit organisation which has been in existence in N Ireland since 1931. We do not have a disco at the hostel: however as we are in the city centre there are pubs, restaurants etc in the area: Sorry that you were disturbed by some night time noise. Our ID policy and wifi areas are clearly indicated when booking. We have a self-catering kitchen so no one would charge you for hot water. Most of our rooms have bunk beds, normal in hostels.

89%

I loved the hostel but they spray chemically perfumy air freshener once or twice a day all over the hostel including bedrooms. Air fresheners contain high levels of phthalates, which are known to be especially harmful to children (may develop cancer). These chemicals were even present in sprays which were claimed to be "All-Natural" and "unscented". The smell of air freshener was overwhelming. I really hope the hostel stops using these harmful sprays. See http://healthwyze.org/index.php/componen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for giving us such a high score. To be honest your comments are a new one to us, but I assure you that we will look into this. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

(129 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback