X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3812 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It's very good to stay in this hostel, especially the staffs are very nice, the self-catering is clean and tidy.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for leaving us a fantastic review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was our absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and your kind words are very much appreciated. Cathy

91%

Really nice welcome Ten minutes max on foot to City Hall Safe clean decent twin room Nice relaxing lounges and the cafe next door makes the best breakfast Alan that owns it could not do enough to make an egg allergy free breakfast for my 10 yr old Would go back in a minute

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Alan will be delighted with your feedback as he works very hard to ensure his customers needs are catered for. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you would return and very much hope we can welcome you back to one of our hostels in the future. Cathy

94%

Ten minutes walk from the bus and train stations but not right in the city centre so nice and quiet - and still an easy 15minute walk to see the sights in the centre anyway. Only two lockers in a four bed dorm. Facilities were great though. Quality place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our location convenient and were able to get to the main attractions easily. I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland and hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Cathy

74%

cannot receive wifi in my room.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel and for taking the time to review your stay. We understand the need for our guests to be able to access the internet whilst they stay with us, which is why we have introduced the free wifi facility. Unfortunately due to the size of our building and because we are a not for profit organisation, it is just not economically feasible for us to be able to offer this outside of the downstairs communal areas. Cathy

60%

bed with really tall legs, making funny noises even if you just turned around over night, shower drainage not very good, water was running all over the bathroom (no delimited area for shower), taps need continuous pressing to work (you can only wash a hand at a time) and their drainage was covered in hair from previous guests, very, very basic, no towels, no soap, but cheap and with a car park

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Not bad. Clean and in a good location however was absolutely lifeless on a Saturday day/night. Is definitely a place to stay if you are hoping to make the most of your days, not nights.


60%

There was only wifi on the 1st floor. And no atmosphere everyone is just on the 1st floor for the wifi. It was one of the worst hostels I have stayed in. Not good if you're a solo traveler! Like never really like IYH's so just don't!


97%

Excellent place, cafe sells cheap and delicious food!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Big hostel with good facilities and amazing staff!


80%

Good position , staff helpfull and friendly enough , the place is old and average tho


69%

Our window in the room had a balcony so it couldnt be open and the room needed fresh air...

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Not a bad place to stay, has everything you need, 10 mins walk from the bus station and short walk into the city. You get what you pay for. There is also a coach tour office at the reception of the hostel which was useful.


74%

The floors of the shower rooms were kinda grim, but otherwise I pretty nice place to stay.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at.


77%

Was a bit of a walk to the main area about 15 minuets, but really close to the bus station which was good. Washing was a bit over priced £4 to do it your self other places charge that and they so it for you. Other than that it was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Our location means that we are accessible to not only the city centre (15 minute walk as you say) but also queens quarter and nearby Botanic and Stranmillis which are only approximately 5 minutes away. I am delighted to hear that you found us convenient to all the public transport links. I very much hope you enjoyed your visit to Belfast! Cathy

83%

I enjoyed my stay here and found the residents and staff very friendly.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Each and every staff member were friendly and efficient in all our dealings with them. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel has friendly & helpful staff, good environment with good security. It is very good to have a lift so that the we do not need to bring the heavy luggage up the stairs. The room is clean and the bathroom is spacious. If the dust in the ceiling of the bathroom can be removed the cleanliness would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast. Cathy

86%

The stay at the hostel was short but in that time I found the staff very friendly and helpful the made my stay very enfoyable.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. All feedback from guests is extremely important to us and I am delighted to hear that you found our reception staff to be friendly - we strive to ensure our guests feel comfortable and welcome throughout their stay and it is great to hear that this was your experience! Cathy

100%

Nothing to add. Everything was excellent. Special thanks to Phil.


(158 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback