X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4638 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everything is okay....We were 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% score! It's great to know that you had a good stay at the Youth Hostel in Belfast. It was a pleasure hosting your little international group too. Come back and see us next time you are in Northern Ireland. David

40%

The self-catering kitchen was not very clean, apart from making the odd hot drink I wouldn't have wanted to cook in the kitchen. I was a solo traveler but at my age ( 56) didn't want to share a dorm with strangers - so needed to pay for a double room. No real space downstairs - couple of settees and bean bags in need of some beans. My room was very stuffy - no open window. With the number of union jack flags flying I felt I was in UKIP land and also big bonfire being built near-by !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to write a review: I am sorry that it's a negative one. Our kitchen is cleaned every morning as part of our housekeeping schedule: I've just had a quick check and it looks fine, but I imagine as the day goes on, depending on use, it might lose its shine. Room options in the hostel are either dorms or private rooms: windows in our en-suite twins open but are restricted for safety reasons. Historically, flags are part of the Belfast landscape I'm afraid. Safe Travels. David

60%

All the basics covered. Perfect if you're just looking for a cheap & cheerful bunk for a night or two. Perhaps best if you have something to do throughout the whole day and just need a bed. The cafe could do with serving lunch & dinner and the bunks were too small to sit on. Staff were friendly and helpful + there was a tour company on site for great days out. Located right in the middle between the city center & Queen's University which was perfect for many of the guests.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's always great to know that we are getting the basics right - thank you - cheap and cheerful isn't a bad mantra. The cafe is now staying open later, until 2pm, so the timing of your visit was just slightly off to take advantage of that: the cafe has occasionally experimented with evening opening, but it's never quite worked out for them (although it caters for pre-booked groups for dinner). I hope the rest of your trip is going well. David

80%

My key card took forever to work :( and I know you couldn't do anything about this, but one roommate snores like a truck and it was impossible to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We had one or two issues with the lock of your room at the weekend, but these have now been resolved: sometimes technology can fail us I am afraid. A snoring room mate forms part of the hostelling experience I guess: I've been in dorms where one person keeps everyone awake and it can almost be a bonding experience for the others. I now never leave home on a trip without earplugs. My travel advice for the day :o) I hope you keep hostelling! David

86%

Everything is very good. The only comment I can make is that there's no basin in the toilet nor shower outside my dorm room. It's too noisy to use the one in the dorm room while the others are sleeping so I walk down the hallway to the other toilet.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I know we spoke before your departure, and you were concerned (having already written your review) that the tone was perhaps too negative - but it doesn't seem like that at all, and 86% is a great score! Enjoy the rest of your travels, and I hope your bag doesn't remain lost in transit for too much longer. David

54%

The rooms and shared facilities were very filthy. The reason was not the condition but obvious lack of cleaning. Wifi signal was not satisfying, actually accessible only on two dingy couches, occupied most of the time. My companion was saddened after realizing that the 3rd category Titanic's cabins were in much better shape and looked so much cosier than our double suite. In addition, the presence of group of about 40 French kids aged 8-10 on the same floor as our room, was not the best idea.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you look at the accommodation sector as a whole, and a 5* hotel equates to first class, then we are most definitely at the other end of the scale: but you still get to make the trip, on a budget: it's why we exist. That said I am disappointed to read that you were not happy with the standard of cleanliness: I will pass your comments on. People commented on how good the little group (16 children + 5 teachers) were: I am sorry if you were disturbed during your stay. Enjoy your travels. David

77%

Generally speaking, the hostel is good and worths the money. One thing can be improve is the wifi since the wifi is only available in the common place rather than the room.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found the hostel good value for money: that is very important to us. We are currently working to improve the free wifi that we offer in our public areas on the ground and first floors at the hostel: it seems that demand occasionally overwhelms the system that we have in place when we are busy. Hopefully you will notice the difference on your next visit. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Northern Ireland. David

71%

i booked an standard twin room the room is really small and only have wifi in the lounge staffs are all friendly and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. Our staff is always rated highly in reviews and I am glad that you too found us friendly and helpful. Our standard twin rooms are designed to give privacy rather than extra space - so that you can still book a good value room, have the hostel experience, but without sharing a dorm. Our twins and double with private shower and toilet give you a bit more space. I hope you enjoyed your stay in NI. David

80%

Close to PO and food outlets Insulated bathroom floor Good breakfast to be had Half-hour walk to city

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great breakfast in cafe.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review: and I am happy you enjoyed breakfast at Causeway Cafe - open every day from 8am until midday with a large selection of tasty treats! We hope you will recommend us to friends and family in Scotland. David

100%

self catering kitchen is perfect to us

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your 100% rating. That's perfect! I am happy to read that you appreciated our kitchen facilities: we are very lucky to have such a spacious kitchen/dining area in our hostel. I hope that the rest of your trip went according to plan and that you keep hostelling! David

89%

Staff was very nice and helpful. The room was of a good size for 4. The shower room was a bit tired but very clean. The main thing that could be improved I thing would be the creation of a lounge which would avoid the squatting of the entrance by groups of people on their phones and laptops and would encourage a nore enjoyable sociabilisation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have quite a lot of lounge space at the hostel: 2 areas of sofas at reception: the dining room: a TV room, library and gallery on first floor - but people tend to congregate on the sofas near reception. Currently we only have wifi in the public areas at the hostel: sometimes we feel that if we extend this to bedrooms we will never see anyone in our common rooms! Any thoughts? David

97%

Very enjoyable stay. Helpful staff, clean kitchen area, great cafe. Excellent value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments: all positive too - that's great! Just curious as to why we lost one point for security now :o) I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your night at Belfast International and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

60%

Nothing out of the ordinary. Hostel was alright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. David

69%

Wifi only worked in a small section of the lobby, not even the whole lobby where additional seating was available. Having wifi in our rooms has been a standard across Ireland, including in rural locations so to not have it in a centre the size of Belfast is surprising. The cleaning staff seemed to be MIA. All the light switches were disgustingly filthy, in bathrooms, rooms and the lights on the bunks. The bathrooms seemed it get dirtier as we stayed and were not re-filled with soap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for making time to write a review. We are currently working on upgrading our free WiFi access: we have had some issues with our public network so some users have been given access to a staff network in the meantime: not ideal, but doing the best that we can. To be honest providing access to all rooms in a rural hostel is probably easier than doing the same in a 54 room, 202 bed, 4 storey building. Our housekeepers work hard, but your comments have been noted. David

94%

clean ,and helpful ,good .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great comments: thank you. Please come back and see us! David

63%

I didn't like the fact you have to leave a document that has a picture of you til you check out. I ended up leaving my driving license but I wonder what people who only have an ID/passport do. I was staying in a room with ensuite bathroom and I was surprised with the shower, it had not curtain or anything, you are literally naked in front of the toilet taking a shower. It was strange. I was in the second floor and I barely had wifi, which sucks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Our check in policy is stated very clearly on the Hostelworld booking page: this policy has been in place since the hostel opened. We are relatively flexible in terms of the ID we take: hostel membership cards, travel cards etc are all options and most people are prepared on arrival. Our shower rooms are all designed as 'wet rooms' to make best use of space, and as described on the booking site. Safe travels in the future, David

71%

Belfast youth hostel was a delightful place to stay. Close to the city center and had access to an excellent kitchen and eating area. I found the showers to be awkward because there was no where to put your things when the floor filled up with water. A mat and a bench would be lovely. With lighting being Key, I found the atmosphere created was a bit dark, perhaps brighter bulbs in the hallways! Other than that, I highly recommend it and enjoyed my stay.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review: I am pleased that you found the hostel a delightful place to stay, and that you made good use of our self-catering kitchen and dining room. A lot of the lights in our corridors were replaced with LED fittings recently, but we have taken your comments on board. David

89%

The bed is not very comfortable, feel like burning when sleeping.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. Thank you for you 89% score, despite not finding the bed very comfortable. We replaced a large number of our mattresses this year, and we still have some to do: it's a very busy time of the year at the hostel so it's not always easy to schedule. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Thank you again. David

86%

The room was very small, wi-fi was very spott, and the facilities were reasonably clean. The kitchen and eating area was very large and it's a very short walk from the bus center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay in Belfast. It's great to see you have given us 100% for security and location. At the moment we are working on improving our wifi access: unfortunately that is out of our hands as we are dependent on our tech guys getting things up and running - we hope that will be soon. You are right, we are lucky to have such spacious common areas on the ground and first floor. Happy hostelling - and see you again! David

(217 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback