X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4978 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Everything was great. My only suggestion would be adding WiFi connectivity to the rooms!


40%

No breakfast of any kind not even tea or coffee offered. If you don't bring something in you have to buy from the cafe. Even the vending machines don't work when the cafe is open and all in the cafe is much more expensive. Also the tables in the eating area next to the kitchen are reserved for the cafe and the saucepans in the kitchen are small or burned. The receptionist was very rude to me and when I commented on this he told me I was not welcome to come back there.


74%

When I stayed at this Hostel, I couldn't sleep well because some gest was making noise in the corridor and Terrible a Hostel without wifi. Wifi doenst work for apple devices.


100%

Our stay here was incredible! The staff were always friendly, very welcoming & provided guidance to get to popular Belfast destinations. The entire hostel is clean and had a positive atmosphere- with the added bonus of a large industrial cooking facility for guests. Highly recommend this hostel to any travellers as it falls nothing short of professional and welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% rating and your excellent review of the hostel. We are really pleased that you had a good time. As I always say we have a small team, often working under pressure, which makes sure that everything runs smoothly. Most of the time. It's good to have your recommendation, and let us know if you are travelling back this way. Safe journey. David

66%

Great location close to bus station, although I felt uncomfortable with the immediate neighbourhood - loud shouting at night, run down area. I expected the minimalist approach, but was disappointed that, apart from the mattress, the room wasn't quite fit for purpose. From a stain on the carpet, broken blinds and stained, lumpy pillow to a dirty toilet brush, smell of sewage in the bathroom and rot at the base of the door from the wet-room style shower. Windows also let in sounds from outside.

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for starting off with the positive, with our great location close to the bus station. It's great that you mention the mattresses in your room too: they were recently replaced. I am sorry that otherwise the room did not meet your expectations: managing a hostel is a constant process of renewal. All of the buildings between the KFC on the corner and the hostel are owned by a local hotel and are due for redvelopment in the near future, hopefully improving the impression of the area.

74%

Clean, quiet, very central, has free parking and friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You've summed it up very well - thank you for your comments. I hope you are still enjoying the rest of your holiday in Ireland. David

86%

I had no problems during my stay. Particularly liked the free secure parking at the back of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive revieew: it's good to know you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to have our free car park - not something that most city centre accommodation providers can offer. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. David

86%

The staff are great. Very friendly and they call you by your first name even for a short stay - I only stayed for one night. It had been many years since I stayed in a hostel. It's a clean bed and it was relatively quiet. The downside for me was the state of the self catering kitchen- disgusting! I think it's up to guests to clean - So this is not really a criticism against hostel staff. I just made a Lemsip but couldn't help wiping down the surface and rinsing the kettle first!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 86% rating and for your kind comments about staff: I am pleased that your return to using hostels was rewarded with a clean bed and a quiet night. I hope you will come back and see us again. We have had a lot of recent comments about a messy self-catering kitchen: it's a shame, as it is cleaned every day, that not everyone tidies up after themselves. If anyone can think of a solution please let me know. David

77%

Friendly staff, 10-15 min walk from city centre but a bar/ restaurant down stair so quite noisy at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast IYH. Thank you for leaving your comments after your recent stay, and for highlighting the friendliness of our staff. Causeway Cafe, based on the ground floor of the hostel, closes at 2pm (unless they are catering for a group) so I assume the noise you heard was from another local business: I am sorry if it spoiled your stay. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your weekend in the city. David

77%

The staff were helpful and friendly, and the location was convenient. I only wish there was wifi throughout the building, not just the lobby. Although, you can meet a lot of people because everyone congregates in the lobby to use the wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Apart from the cost of providing wifi in all of our rooms, 54 bedrooms spread over 4 floors, we have always believed that only having wifi in our public areas gets people out of theirs rooms and brings them together in one area (even if 'huddled around their laptops' as someone wrote recently). I guess there are both positives and negatives to most things. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and your 100% for cleanliness. David

57%

A bit dirty, not only the room but also the toilets. It is further than expected from city center. Staff is very kind and polite. The best was the café.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your excellent comments about our staff and Causeway Cafe: it's disappointing that, apart from that, we did not meet your expectations on this visit. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and act upon it where required. We are the closest hostel accommodation to the city centre, 15 minutes walk from City Hall and 10 minutes from the University. I hope you liked Belfast and will return one day for another visit. David

71%

The worst mattresses I've ever slept on, and I've stayed in about 50 hostels. I would not recommend this hostel for that reason. The rest of the hostel is what you usually get with a HI/YHA, basic facilities, not much atmosphere or personality. Good location, close to bus station and bars/restaurants. The cafe attached to the hostel is very good value and you can get a quality breakfast and good coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry that you didn't sleep well at the hostel. Your dorm had its mattresses replaced this year, but I guess one mattress type is never going to be ideal for everyone passing through. There are a wide range of options within the accommodation, and hostel, sector. Some people love HI/YHAs, others prefer independent hostels, perhaps occasionally you just book what's available within your budget lastminute. Lots of options. Lots of variables. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. David

94%

We were very happy with the Hostel, its amenities, and staff. Our room was clean. The towels were free to use. Bus service was just around the corner.

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very kind comments. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation. Safe travels. David

86%

Great front of house staff. Only downside was the radiators in room been on all the time.

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for mentioning our front desk staff in your review: everyone works hard to make sure our guests feel welcome and make the most of their stay. It's unusual to get a complaint about our heat being on (it's often the opposite, even on warm summer days!). Due to the recent warm spell of weather our heating is only coming on for a few hours in the evening: but all of the radiators have a valve to adjust the temperature. I will check to make sure all is in order in that room. Take care. David

91%

Everything would have been excellent, but it appears repairs of bathroom and toilets were going on, but was not informed. It took more than 15 minutes trying to figure out why the shower was not working without success. On my way to the reception to complain, I saw a notice about repairs.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. I am sorry to read that you had some issues with the showers. We had no repairs ongoing which would have led to the showers not working so you should have come down to reception. Most of our showers have a combination of a push button and temperatue control and it's not always obvious how both work together. I am pleased that it did not influence your overall impression too much. See you again I hope. David

80%

Very good overall for a city hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, especially for the 5*s for our staff! I hope you are still enjoying your European adventure. Safe travels. David

89%

I really liked the hostel, the staff was really considerate and the location was great, but one of the things that I felt disappointed was that in a room for 6 people just had 2 wall sockets and I couldn't recharge my phone, also the WiFi was really bad inside the room so I had to go to the common area to have a good signal

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review: I am pleased that you liked the hostel. Unfortunately it is not possible for us to provide all of the sockets that would be required (if we had to provide one for every electronic device coming through the front door): so it's just a question of sharing use of the sockets which are in dorms and public areas. We currently only offer wifi in our common rooms. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

83%

very helpful staff, very clean and great value cafe. good car parking facilities and good location. Def use again.

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to know that you will come back and see us. Thank you for all of your positive comments. Safe onward journey. David

94%

Me and my Brazilian friends had been there for one only night. Amazing place. Clean and tidy, the showers, toilets and room were very clean and organized. Lockers on the room and a left luggage reasonable organized and secure. Staff always available and pleasant to answer all your questions. Quiet and calm environment. The Causeway coffee has good options. A short walk from the main touristic points and nearby good pubs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We always have a lot of Brazilian guests staying at the Youth Hostel in Belfast, aprticularly at the weekend - part of a great international mix. I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. To score 100% in 5 of the 7 review categories (location, staff, cleanliness, value for money and facilities) is amazing. We are a big city centre hostel but we manage to keep things clean and tidy, and calm too as you say. So keep calm and carry on hostelling then I guess. David

77%

Would stay here again, very friendly staff and i would recommend. I stayed here so i could run in the Belfast Half Marathon, hope to see you next year, very tidy and the cleaners do and excellent job. The bunk Bed was actually quite comfy and i had no bone ache on the morning of the run, if you know what i mean.

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review: thank you. It's good to know that you will recommend us, and that you will come back next year for the Belfast Half Marathon again. We always get a good amount of runners staying for both the Marathon and Half Marathon in the city: a clean, tidy central base: I will pass your compliments on to our hosuekeepers. We replaced a lot of our mattresses this year so It's good to know that they are doing the trick. Thanks again. David

(184 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback