X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4019 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Unfriendly staff member at start and end of trip really put a downer on the location. Rest of staff were pleasant.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am extremely disappointed to read your feedback about our reception staff as usually they are all rated so highly by our guests as they go above and beyond to make all visitors feel welcome. If you would like to discuss your specific issues in more detail please email me on the marketing department. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast nonetheless.

74%

Traffic outside was very noisey and we were close to the lift which woke us up all morning. Apart from that the hostel is good.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is disappointing to learn that you didn't encounter peace and quiet during your stay. Unfortunately with the benefit of our city centre location also comes the drawback that at times guests are bothered by outside traffic noise, which is outside of our control. I very much hope you managed to get some sleep whilst you stayed with us and we would love to welcome you back again sometime again in the future.

86%

Very helpful staff and in a good location. Could do with more check-in staff at busy times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. All feedback from our guests is essential in helping us improve our offering. You have raised a very valid point about the possibility of getting more check in staff at busy times. The hostel reception can get very busy when checking in large groups and we shall indeed looking into arranging a system in which other guests are not held up. I hope you were not inconvenienced too much.

86%

The staff were very courteous.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. Staff here pride themselves on making each and every guest that comes through our door feel welcomed and valued and we are delighted when guests acknowledge this. I hope you had a very enjoyable trip to Belfast. Cathy

86%

Provides free parking which is super handy. Fairly good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Our free secure parking is a facility which we are delighted to be able to offer guests, especially as car parking in the city centre of Belfast is expensive and I am glad that it was useful to you throughout your stay.

89%

Nice hostel, walking distance to city centre. Good value for the price. I would highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to read that you found our City Centre location convenient and that you consider us good value for money. We are always so pleased when our guests report that they would recommend us to others! I hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again some time in the future.

77%

they cant help it but its too noisy even at 6.30 am with deliveries etc may not stay again but you get what you pay for

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Unfortunately our city centre location, although with its many advantages it does mean that surrounding businesses etc receive deliveries and road noise can sometimes be bothersome to guests. As you have said this is out of our control and I very much hope it didn't inconvenience you too much and that you managed to get a good nights sleep nonetheless. Cathy

71%

Friendly staff, great location. Curtain on room were no longer in good condition though, so light streamed in from early on in the morning. Would be great if there was soap in the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to report that we are actually in the middle of updating our rooms and so hope to replace all curtains with quality black out ones over the coming months. This should hopefully assist those guests hoping for a nice lie in! We have listed to feedback from previous guests and as a result we now provide soap in all public toilets. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast! Cathy

94%

Very surprised at the high standard of things here for such a brilliant price. Secure car parking and a very secure system in place to prevent anyone other than guests gaining entry after 11 pm. Will definitely use again in the future. Rooms from 2 persons up to larger rooms of approx 16-20. Ideal for a great night out in belfast with your mates

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review of your recent stay with us! We love to hear about the things we are doing right and it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. Please do come back and stay with us again! Cathy

94%

Not the greatest meeting place or atmosphere but clean and easy... Nice staff and good location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your recent review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to see such a high score for our facilities. I hope you had a great trip to Northern Ireland! Cathy

69%

We arrived on a Saturday evening and the streets infront of the hostel and along the hostel was lined with LOTS of empty beer bottles & cans. Very rowdy & loud crowd at pub on Saturdays evening, and we can hear it from our hostel room. We couldn't get any sleep since it lasted till 4am. Awful : ( . Might not be suitable for female travelers and young families.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our youth hostel. It would be very uncommon for there to be lots of empty beer bottles/cans outside of the hostel unless there had been a street party on the day of your arrival, which can be quite common in July in Belfast. This however, should have been cleaned up quite quickly. We pride ourselves on being a safe and secure hostel for all travellers & it is disappointing to hear that this was not your impression.

83%

Friendly staff, good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your recent review of your recent stay in our Belfast International Youth Hostel. We are delighted when our guests take the time to leave lovely comments. Please come and stay again! Cathy

63%

The hostel was about 20 minutes walk to city centre and close to Queen's University. The bunk was not fixed assignment. Thus the initial bed I chosen in the afternoon was ocuppied by other when I back.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Dirty,bad atmosphere ,value for money averaga.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is obviously extremely disappointing to read negative comments but we do take them very seriously. I can assure you that the hostel is not dirty as we have a team of housekeepers who ensure that our high standards are maintained. I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations. Cathy

94%

Really friendly and easy staff. Thanks guys.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am absolutely delighted that you found our staff to be friendly - we do try to give all our guests a good Northern Ireland welcome! I hope you very much enjoyed your trip to Belfast and that you will come back and visit us again. Cathy

69%

The location is ideal, the facilities are not. I had a Private Standard room featuring one set of bunk beds and a sink. The room was closet-sized but clean. The sink barely worked. It would only sputter 3 seconds of water (either super hot or freezing cold) and made horrible noises every time. There is no hand soap in the bathrooms. The internet connection is an absolute joke and there's no where to sit in "common area."


57%

Weird and poor wi-fi connection. I was not expecting the showers without curtains in front of the toilet in the private rooms.


80%

Good hostel with good facilities. Location is ok! But WiFi only in common areas leads to a poor atmosphere because everybody is on their devices. Great staff though!


89%

It's inconvenient that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Also the kitchen is closed for cleaning between 1100-1230 which kind of conflicted with our schedule but these were the only minor issues we had. The staff was very kind and the rooms were extremely clean. I wouldn't mind staying here again. Just FYI it is a solid 10 minute walk from the bus station


80%

This hostel was so easy to find from the bus stop and was pretty convenient for walking to city center. It also is a good pick up and drop off point for tours. I did a McCombs tour since the office is based in the hostel and it was great! The beds were good and the Large dorm room I stayed in was fine. It was quite even with the many girls that were in there. I would recommend anyone visiting belfast to stay there.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(180 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback