X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4336 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely lounge areas where we spent a lot of time on beanbags! Unfortunately the WiFi only worked on the ground floor/reception area, and not in our rooms. They have a lovely cafe, the "Causeway Cafe," that offers a variety of breakfast and lunch for a good price. Also a bonus is they have a tour company, McCombs, directly in the hostel. Any tours you book leave directly from the hostel - very convenient! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We would love to have you back! Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

It's close to two rail stations so no complaints about that. The cafe below does good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your high scoring review - yes we are centrally located for bus and train and it was great to read that you enjoyed the food! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

71%

everything is fine, except the night staff is not pretty much patient.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we were pleased to read that you thought the hostel was good and be assured that we value all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

80%

no wifi no teakettle

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your high scoring review. Just to point out that we do have free wi-fi in the reception area and there is more than one kettle in the kitchen - please don't hesitate to ask at reception if you have any queries in future. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

It is valuable to live there!

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel itself was great but unfortunately staying on a Saturday evening we didn't get much sleep due to the noise from the nightclub round the corner, music until late then the patrons going home with the clean up operation next. Staff were friendly and food in the cafe was really good value

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and it was great to read that you thought our hostel was so good. You are correct that there is little we can do about on street noise, especially coming up to Christmas with office parties etc, but some rooms are of course quieter than others if you ask for availability. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

The heater in our room did not work. (

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for giving us such a high scoring review. The heater in your room should certainly have been working and be assured we will look into this. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

Showers and toilets usually are the trickiest thing in hostels. We were lucky it was not very busy during our stay so we had the shower room to ourselves and always hot water. They were extraordinarily clean and spacious!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we do appreciate it and were pleased to read that you were impressed with the facilities! Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

wonderful staying,the only negative point is the number of toilets/shower is poor for the rest,one of the best hostel we've ever been!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and it was great to read that you thought our hostel was one of the best you've been to! The number of toilets and showers we have in relation to beds far exceeds the Northern Ireland Tourist Board minimum standards, but be assured we value all feedback. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

No heating in the bathroom, only one hairdryer in the whole hostel. Nice kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. There certainly should have been heating in the bathroom and we will investigate this. We hope that you enjoyed visiting Belfast! Belfast International Youth Hostel

97%

Stayed just one night but everything was fantastic. Kitchen, rooms, bathrooms, common areas, etc. were all clean and great. Only small thing which I'd like to see change is the wifi is only available in the main lobby area. But my stay was perfect and the value is unbeatable. Location is right in the heart of The area of pubs and where things are happening. Just a 10 min walk from bus station so vey convenient for my one night stay.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. As you have probably seen in responses to other reviews, we have purposefully kept wi-fi out of the rooms in order to encourage guests to meet and interact with each other as part of the international hosteling ethos. Nevertheless, be assured that we will keep this under review. Best Wishes, Belfast International Youth Hostel

63%

Was left out in the freezing rain one night waiting for the security to let us in. Awful smell in reception .

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay at Belfast International Youth Hostel. Staff were really helpful and make the visit a positive experience. The self-catering kitchen was very well organised. I would certainly recommend the hostel to anyone staying in the Belfast area.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a considerate review - we do appreciate it. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Cheaper prize per night, but no breakfast included.


97%

Great location walking distance of shops and eating places. - short walk from Great Victoria Street- Europa Centre. Friendly staff free wi-fi and comfortable rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review - we do appreciate it very much. Happy Travels! Belfast International Youth Hostel

49%

The heating was too hot. There was no way to switch it off. No internet in the room. Issue with the hot water in the shower, I had to ask someone to fix it and they didn't seems happy to help. The smelling of the toilets in ALL the hostel was disgusting.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review. Just to point out that there is a valve on all the radiators to raise or lower temperature. We provide free wi-fi on the ground floor only and not in bedrooms in order to encourage guests to interact as part of the hosteling ethos. We have a dedicated team of housekeepers who clean the toilets daily. Nevertheless, be assured that we do welcome all feedback and we hope you enjoyed Belfast as a whole. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

100%

Very welcoming and friendly staff who made us feel comfortable and at home within seconds. Clean rooms great for the price! Showers and toilets close by to the rooms. Towels were provided and the Wi-Fi codes were all included. Great location close to the city center and the best bars! Also fab food in the cafe at the hostel. :)

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review - we'd love to have you back again! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Unfortunately the internet only worked on the ground floor.The password changed every day and everytime I wanted to go online I had to enter the datas again. A little bit annoying but ok. Beside that everything was fine. The showers could need a little table or shelf where i can put on my stuff. The same with the rooms. No table or chair. Beds,sink and a shelf like a locker but you couldn't lock it. however, we had a nice stay, the staff was friendly.It only takes a 20-25 mins walk to the centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We provide free internet on the ground floor and not in the bedrooms in order to encourage guests to interact as part of the hostelling ethos. We hope that you enjoyed visiting Belfast and thank you for your feedback. Happy travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » last »
(138 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback