X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4977 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Room 301 and probably 201 are located immediately next to noisy elevator. This elevator rings a bell 3 times every time it opens and closes. It also announces loudly : "door opening" and " door closing" every time someone comes in or out. Naturally in the early morning and in the evening, just when you want some quiet, this noise pollution is constant. Truth be told there are a few other rooms that are almost as close to the elevator. Most likely management doesn't see this as a problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast. Thank you for your feedback. The lift in our new building is only mentioned occasionally to be honest: but we have always been aware of it as a potential issue, and as such we have had the volume of the announcements reduced to its lowest level. Disability legislation means that these audible announcements cannot be silenced. I hope you understand and hope it didn't impact on your stay too much. Safe travels. David

89%

Belfast was a wonderful city to explore and stay in! This hostel was great! while it was 30min roughly outside the city center, it was still a great location, with great staff. We loved being able to park our car in the lot behind the hostel. It made things so much easier for our stay! While the facilities were generally good, Our shower didnt drain as fast as it should have, and at one point ended up leaking into our bedroom. Otherwise, a wonderful stay!! Thanks for everything! Great Staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perfect! It's great to know that you enjoyed both Belfast and your time with us at the hostel. Please pass on the good news about our wonderful city and your wonderful stay while you're on the road. Belfast has a relatively compact city centre, with City Hall just 15 minutes way on foot if you take the most direct route down Dublin Road. The University and Botanic Gardens are also just a short walk away from us. Thank you again. Safe travels. David

60%

My phone was stolen but the employees at the front desk were very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am very sorry to hear that. I have spoken to all of our staff, and checked our incident book, but we have no record of a report of a stolen phone. Can you please contact me to let me know what happened? Thank you. David

83%

it was nice despite sharing a room between 17 people but why can not stay not over 7 days?

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad you enjoyed our hostel dorm experience: our bigger dorms are spacious, well-designed and so don't feel overcrowded or overwhelming - they are perfect for a short stay (I see you only booked for one night). The facts that we are busy at weekends throughout the year, frequently accomodate groups, and want to allow as many people as possible to discover Belfast and Northern Ireland mean that we unable to offer long tern stays the hostel I am afraid. I hope you enjoyed Belfast. David

37%

Unfortunately the hostel was far lower than we expected.... The online images are not related to the room entirely. Also, the price is far more expensive in relation to the poor services.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you were disappointed by the room you were allocated (a double room with private shower/toilet for £38 for you, your wife and young daughter): bad reviews are never good to read. We try incredibly hard to make sure that our hostel rooms are described in detail online so that there are few gaps between expectation and reality. There are also 26 or 27 hostel pictures on the website you used to book, and we've been careful to include all room types. Please contact me with more details. David

74%

Kitchen doesn't have very good pans or saucepans and I think tea and coffee should be provided. I have stayed in many hostels in other countries and most provide breakfast or at least tea and coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your generous scores for our location and staff: I'm sorry that you weren't entirely satisfied overall, particularly by our kitchen facilities. Our kitchen is relatively well-equipped: but unfortunately guests don't always clean up after themselves sadly (not unusual in hostels in my experience) or treat the facilities as if they were their own. Once again it is always a balancing act, matching what we can provide/include in relation to the rate we can charge. Keep hostelling. David

69%

Good kitchen. Wifi only in the lobby and a bit out of the city centre. Staff are helpful.


83%

The Internet is on available in the area down stairs. It was a little inconvenient. The staff was very friendly and the kitchen services were great to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, particularly about our self-catering kitchen: we work hard to keep it clean and well equipped - not always an easy task to be honest, but we do our best. I see you made 2 separate reservations, and our % score increased from 77 to 83 between reviews: that's the way we want to keep things moving. Up! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. David

80%

There was no provided internet connection for iPhone over 2 nights. My friends and I were absolutely disappointed.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to read that you had problems with our wifi connection during your stay. We have had intermittent faults, due to our service provider, over the last few weeks: everything is fine and working well today so we can only hope that that continues. I am pleased that the lack of wifi didn't influence your overall impression of the hostel (providing a safe, affordable place to stay) too much. So thank you very much for your 80% rating and see you again. David

83%

large hostel w/ library, TV lounge, several floors, a lift, lounge next to reception. wi-fi only works on ground floor. each bed in 23-bed all female dorm has its own light & storage underneath that cannot lock. electrical outlets nearby if you're on bottom bunk. have to push the button to get water in shower, but can control temperature. No hooks nor places to put your towel in the showers! No hand soap nor towels next to the sink either. No common ingredients like oil, salt in kitchen.


77%

1. Noise from the street is very disturbing at night. 2. The kitchen utensils are very limited and in a mess.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback: your comments have been noted. Unfortunately due to our city centre location we sometimes experience some street noise, and perhaps particularly at weekends after the pubs have closed: I am sorry that this led to a disturbed night for you. Our kitchen is relatively well-equipped, although that's no guarantee that what you need to use will be available (or washed up!) when you need it. Perhaps it's time for me to compile a new shopping list. Safe travels. David

80%

Shower doors have about 10 cm's gap between the hinges and door, insane, but it was ok in the end because no one went in bathroom when shower is occupied. Wifi was bad. Other than that it's a good hostel. The staff were good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 5* rating for our hardworking staff, and for your generally positive review despite the issues you had with the shower in your dorm and our wifi connection. I am sure there was a reason for how the shower doors were installed in our 'group' dorms - I will see if I can find out and get back to you. Most of our showers are actually individual, lockable wet rooms so don't have doors as such or any potential privacy issues. I hope you will keep hostelling! David

77%

The cafe was great. We did think a small table and/ or chair in our twin room would have been good.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for making the time to leave your comments after your one night stay with us at the Youth Hostel in Belfast: the staff at Causeway Cafe, located on the ground floor, will be happy to read your feedback too. The size of our rooms does not allow for tables or chairs I am afraid - particularly as our guests are often travelling for longer periods with backpacks and suitcases to store. I hope you will remember us next time you are planning a trip to NI. Safe travels. David

77%

I didn't understand why the WiFi was only available on the ground floor. It was a little inconvenient because it was unlike any other hostel. Plus you had to get a new WiFi password everyday from the front desk . It was very clean but the bathrooms could use updating. The staff were very helpful and accommodating .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving feedback: it's always important to us. Thank you too for your positive comments about our cleanliness and staff. Unfortunately providing a wifi signal that reaches 54 rooms, as well as common areas, over 5 floors is not currently within our budget (or as simple as plugging in a router at reception). It's always a question of balancing our rates, remaining competive, with what we can provide (including 24 hour reception/security). Your comments have been noted though. David

46%

This is the true meaning of Budget Hostel.. I have stayed at several Hostels all over the world and this was the most disappointing one! The rooms need a major renovation!! The toilet was separate from the shower, however it was dirty and smelled disgusting like it had not been clean and the septic was coming up the pipes. The shower also smelled worse than the toliet, like bad B.O. and was covered in a slime on the shower floor. The noise level was too loud with people running and yellong.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In a review on another website you suggest that people book a hotel rather than stay here, but of course hostels and hotels provide very different experiences, with different facilites and at different rates. Our rooms are cleaned after each check out: I am sorry if our housekeepers let us down on this visit. Weekends are busy, occasionally noisy, but not usually after 11pm. Sorry once again that you were disappointed. David

74%

i thought it was a little strange to be told that I could only stay for 7 days cause they were worried that I was trying to move into the hostel but i realize its just a policy and it was nothing personal. As I would be willing to stay there again but now I cannot as I hit the limit but I will just take my business else where. But other than that the staff were helpful and polite. The room was fine, I was in a 6 bed dorm however did tend to get really warm at night even with the window open.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay. We are not able to organise long term accommodation at Belfast Youth Hostel I am afraid. There are a number of reasons, some linked to the nature of our business (busy weekends all year round, and frequent group stays), and some to the ethos of the organisation (to give people on a budget the opportunity to travel and explore). Beds booked long term limits what we can do to achieve our goals. I hope you understand. David

51%

Decent location, walkable from the train station. I extended my stay here so stayed in two rooms and both were dank and dingy. Dirty, old carpets in rooms. Dirty, stained blinds on windows. Took three times through the dryer for my clothes actually dry. In need of an upgrade.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us: then surprising to realise that on the third night of your stay in one of our ensuite twins you booked an additional night, online, moving to a standard twin. Your comments have been noted for our next deep clean. We have done a lot of upgrade work this year already with some new mattresses, lockers, blinds - and we got a new dryer. Do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss anything further. Many thanks. David

86%

I've been there for 1 night with my mother on trip to discover Ireland. We took a private room, that was very clean, but, as expected in the description of the room, there was no wifi, we had to go downstairs. The shower was also not hot so was the tap water. Not really quiet at night but it is really good located next to the center. Very nice and helpful staff, the building is very secured and we really apreciated that there was a parking place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us in Belfast: top scores for security, location and staff are great - and thank you for mentioning the secure car park, a real asset for city centre accommodation. I'm sorry that you had some issues with hot water during your stay: I think it just needs time to run hot sometimes, that's something we are investigating at the moment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Safe travels. David

74%

The beds in the twin private room were very narrow, which lead to me almost falling out of bed when I tried to turn over. I had an awful night's sleep sleeping on what felt like an ironing bosrd. I woke every 10 minutes fearful that I would fall out of bed, not helped by the shouting and rowdiness outside.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read that you didn't have a good night's sleep at the hostel: and as you didn't we are even more grateful for your high scores for security, cleanliness, staff and atmosphere - thank you. The furniture varies a little from room to room at the hostel: the one you were allocated is actually due to be refurbished soon: it was designed with slightly higher beds to allow for luggage storage underneath. Hopefully on your next visit you will notice the difference. Safe travels. David

71%

Excellent staff! they were very friendly and helpful during my stay. The room I stayed in was a bit worn but clean. The atmosphere in the hostel was quite poor, it wasn't easy to meet people because everyone kept to themselves or where hugging their laptops. Location is quite good, only a 15 minute walk from/to the city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the high praise for our staff: we all enjoy working the front desk and meeting people from all corners who walk through the front door. Your 4 bed ensuite was refurbished relatively recently with new carpet, paint and so on: hopefully it's more a case of it being much used over a busy summer than being a bit worn. Hostel Syndrome can reach epidemic proportions on some nights I am afraid: sorry that led to things feeling a little flat during your stay. Safe travels. David

(186 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback