X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
4513 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Simple, clean accommodation. Attached Cafe is great. WiFi is lame! Also, get some lockers and add some extra hooks in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your feedback. It's good to see that we are getting the basics right and that you have rated us highly for security, staff, cleanliness and value for money (and the cafe on site is great for those wanting to take a break from sorting out their own food in the mornings). Rest assured that our Tech guys are working to improve wifi speed and access in our big, busy hostel - and we are also currently looking at use of space and locker provision in our smaller rooms. David

89%

Clean rooms, good value. Brilliant cafe attached! Will use in future when visiting friends.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. A twin room with private shower and toilet in the city centre for £42 on a Saturday night is indeed good value for money! We are glad that you are planning a return visit. I will pass your comments about cleanliness on to our housekeepers: the hostel is always busy, and they work very hard, so they will be happy to know that it is appreciated. See you again! David

71%

slight mix up reguarding our room and shower didnt work iam afraid...!!!


86%

Staff very helpful and friendly, excellent location in the city centre, would benefit for al TV lounge


100%

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! Staff very friendly and rooms very clean and secure. Was only booked in for 1 night but I liked it that much I stayed a 2nd! Will definitely be coming back again.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. It's always good to get positive feedback - particularly from people who have used our big dorms: the rooms were well designed to offer some privacy (despite the number of beds). We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Belfast. Belfast International Youth Hostel.

66%

The apartment card (key) did not work in several occasions and this embarrassed me a lot.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you had problems with your key card during your stay: key cards have a magnetic strip and sometimes storing them near phones etc will lead them to malfunction - and sometimes, unfortunately, technology just lets us down. I hope our staff was able to help when you got into difficulties. We hope you had a good time in Belfast and that we will see you again in the future. Belfast International Youth Hostel.

74%

Staff were really friendly and helpful! The hob in the kitchen would keep turning off making it difficult to cook but staff were there straight away trying to fix it for us! We had a bit of a stinky drain in our room which would make our whole room smell unpleasant!

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to review us: I hope your course at the university went well. We're aware that there have been some problems with our hobs, and kitchen trip switches, over the last week or so. We had an engineer look at it yesterday, have most of them back in action, and hope we can resolve the issue completely soon - I am glad our staff were on hand to make sure it wasn't too much of a problem. Perhaps we will see you again if you return to Queens. All the best, David

54%

Beds incredibly uncomfortable. Very loud with the plastic mattress. Kind of a dreary facility. Not much going on. Bathroom was slightly belobelow average in cleanliness. The WiFi very poor, even in the lounge area where it is, quite idiotically, the only place to be in rangerange of connection. I wish thatthat this hostel, as well as Belfast in general, had more in store for us, but was ultimately a let down.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hostel, or indeed in Belfast. Big, busy hostels are constantly being renewed and refreshed - we recently replaced most of our mattressses and the process is ongoing. Our IT team is also working on improving the wifi access in our public areas. Come back and see us again and perhaps we cab make the experience a better one for you. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

71%

Staff was excellent and really helpfull. Walls were dirty, cealling, and hidden places (behind of the door, corners...). Rooms should be painted more often.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for letting us know what you thought of your stay Guadalupe. Your comments, both positive and negative, have been noted and passed on to the relevant staff. David

91%

I really enjoyed staying with you, but one thing that didn´t live up to my expectations was the wifi.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. Our Tech guys are currenty working on improving our wifi access (not always easy in a big, busy buidling) so hopefuly if you come back and see us you will notice the difference. Happy travels!

63%

Wifi only worked in certain areas of the main floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi . Our free wifi is only available in the public areas and common rooms on the ground and first floors at the hostel - it is an attempt on our part to get people out of their rooms and using the common areas, but perhaps that tide is turning against us. Let us know what you think. David

100%

It's really a good place for traveller whoever travel with friends or go alone. room and bed are clean.position is convient where near many restaurants and express store.you can meet friends here who come from diffrent part of the world!


77%

the free city-tour was excellent the restrooms weren^t very clean

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. I am really pleased to get your feedback on our free walking tour (Saturdays and Sundays at 2pm). John is an enthusiastic guide (and a volunteer!). He will be thrilled when I pass on your comments. David

46%

Worst Hostel I've been at in my life. I checked in but finally ended up sleeping else where. I didn't even ask for a refund, I just wanted to get out of there. I couldn't sleep there the atmosphere was horrible, there was loud classic music in the common area and a weird smell in the hallway . One of the two staff member I've seen was welcoming, it's the only positive about that place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the hostel. I wish that rather than leaving without asking for a refund you had given us the chance to make right what you found wrong. It was a busy night for us: we were fully booked and had a couple of small groups staying (from France and the USA) but we take care to try to allocate solo travellers in rooms with other solo travellers to give them a chance to meet people. If you would like to discuss your experience further please get in touch. David

94%

The staff was very friendly and helpful also with any kind of advice. The rooms comfortable and had enough space even in the 20 bed dorm. Wifi was quite slow but it was ok. There was offered a free tour for Belfast, and you could get a discount for a Giant's causeway tour with McCromb's.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review Sonja! Some people are put off by the idea of our big dorms, but as you saw ours have been well designed and are quite spacious. We are working to speed up our wifi connection at the moment (it can seem a little slow sometimes when the hostel is full) so hopefully on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised. Enjoy the rest of your trip. David

66%

The hostel is very well located but the hostel is noisy (a night club nearby) and not clean. In particular the self catering kitchen was the worst we have seen (we have stayed in YHAs in many countries and cities).We did mention cleaning to the hostel staff but they seem to think that the self catering kitchen wasn't their concern! Facilities are more limited than the description implies - WIFI only on ground floor and not reliable, café only available from 8 to 12.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. The hostel is indeed well located in the city centre, but I guess this can sometimes be a negative with occasional outside noise. We make sure that the descriptions of the hostel and its facilities are as detailed as possible on booking websites so that guests arriving know exactly what we provide: I am sorry to read that you were disappointed. We have a dedicated team of housekeepers, and include a daily clean of the kitchen, but your comments have been noted. David

94%

Travelling with a southern registered car I was extremely nervous parking in this area of Belfast. All of my fears were however unfounded. The location and security were excellent - extremely central to the city. The staff could not do enough to help. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive comments: we are always happy to hear when people have enjoyed their time with us at the hostel in Belfast. We are lucky to be located so close to the city centre and also the University. Positive feedback for staff is always a great boost. We hope to see you again next time you travel north, Happy travels! David

77%

Very clinical and impersonal as you might expect from a big hostel, in a fairly loyalist area of Belfast although still very central. Fine for the price with lots of security just not my personal preference for a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Belfast overall. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Only drawback of this Hostel is that the bunk beds are so low that you can't sit up straight!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We must confess that your comment re the bunk beds is a new one for us(!) but be assured we do value all feedback. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

60%

A distinctly average hostel. Has those push-button showers and taps, no towels provided, the kitchen is far from the rooms and the common areas are sparse. Walls a bit thin - the traffic was very audible from the room and I got woken up by people singing/shouting every night. Probably best for larger groups of tourists.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do welcome all feedback and be assured that your own comments will be taken on board when reviewing policies and maintenance work in the future. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

(192 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback