X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3937 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I enjoyed my stay here and found the residents and staff very friendly.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Each and every staff member were friendly and efficient in all our dealings with them. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel has friendly & helpful staff, good environment with good security. It is very good to have a lift so that the we do not need to bring the heavy luggage up the stairs. The room is clean and the bathroom is spacious. If the dust in the ceiling of the bathroom can be removed the cleanliness would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast. Cathy

86%

The stay at the hostel was short but in that time I found the staff very friendly and helpful the made my stay very enfoyable.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. All feedback from guests is extremely important to us and I am delighted to hear that you found our reception staff to be friendly - we strive to ensure our guests feel comfortable and welcome throughout their stay and it is great to hear that this was your experience! Cathy

100%

Nothing to add. Everything was excellent. Special thanks to Phil.


40%

Very run down place, dirty, old.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is obviously very disappointing and disheartening for us to receive such a low score, however all feedback is extremely important to us. We work extremely hard to ensure that we create a warm, welcoming, clean, comfortable, affordable environment for all our guests and this is usually reflected by the scores and comments left for us. I am sorry to hear that this was not your own experience. Cathy

66%

The rooms were pretty good, but the "lounges" were uninviting and the internet only works out by the reception. I think the only reason why I would go back would be for the attached causeway cafe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm disappointed to hear that you found our lounges to be uninviting. We strive to ensure all areas of the hostel are warm and welcoming for our guests and I'm sorry that this was not your personal experience. Unfortunately being a not for profit organisation, it is not economically feasible for us to offer wifi throughout the building but I do hope you found the FREE wifi in the common areas useful. Cathy

74%

I was in a basic 4-bed female dorm. There was no locker in the room. There were only 2 electric power points in the room. Understood that this hostel was under renovation at this stage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast Youth Hostel. All of our female dorm rooms have locker facilities and if these were missing throughout your stay, they may not have been yet returned after the recent renovation as you say. If this is the case then I sincerely apologise and hope that it did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. Wishing you all the best. Cathy

69%

Not my best hostel experience. Night Staff were very unfriendly. Day staff very helpful. Room - 222 had a broken radiator which made the room too hot. Also Noise from people smoking in the car park was an issue. So i changed to room 202. All ok until i was woken at 05.30 by the noisy plumbing. Taps at the hostel are operated by depressing the tops. This mechanism, once you let go, snaps back with a lot of pressure and this makes quite a racket, especially in the early hours of the morning.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - It is disappointing that you found our night staff to be unfriendly, we strive to ensure all our guests feel welcome & I am sorry that this was not your experience. The purpose of our taps mechanism is actually to save water. Unfortunately over the years many guests have forgotten to turn off the taps & aside from flooding the building, this goes against our "green policy" in which we strive to minimise our environmental impact. I hope you enjoyed Belfast nonetheless!

77%

A good enough place. The staff are very helpful and friendly and there are some nice communal areas but the building is not very soulful (vast and concrete) which doesn't create a good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful - we strive to ensure all our guests feel welcome and it is great to hear that this was your experience. Unfortunately we are pretty restricted by the façade of the outside of the building but we do hope that our interior makes up for it! Cathy

91%

The staff was really helpful and welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We like to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and it is great to hear that this was your experience. We hope that we can welcome you back again some time in the future! Cathy

94%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious and clean. Wifi wasn't great and kept cutting out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We like to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and it is great to hear that this was your experience. Unfortunately we do have some technical issues at times with our wifi which are beyond our control. I do hope that it didn't inconvenience you too much and that you did get some value out of our free wifi facility. Cathy

100%

Stayed the weekend of the Giro.A big thank you to your staff who were more than helpful and very knowledgeable in providing and sharing the appropriate information.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thank you so much for leaving such a fabulous review! We work very hard at trying to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is always such a treat to see it reflected in guests comments. I very much hope you enjoyed the buzz about Belfast for the Giro - what an amazing event! Please come back and stay with us again soon. Cathy

100%

Hostel was great. Paul was lovely and very friendly and helpful. Place was clean, cafe was brilliant and the self catering kitchen had everything you needed. A hook or 2 in the ensuite would be useful but other than that it was fab. Thank you.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your fantastic review for our hostel. I jump up and down in the office when we receive 100% - it is always so lovely to see our hard work appreciated. I agree that hooks in the ensuite would be very useful and I will see if this is something that can be implemented. Once again, thank you for your kind comments - come back soon! Cathy

86%

A good place to stay if you don´t want to spend much money. The location is good, the staff really friendly and everything was clean.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your kind comments about our Belfast Youth Hostel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back again some time in the future! Cathy

80%

Reception staff were very friendly. The wet room approach to the en-suite bathroom was not ideal - there was no way of angling the showerhead so that the whole room did not get covered in water. It is not very nice for the next user of the bathroom who may only be wanting to use the toilet. The ventilation from the bathroom was not really up to the job either.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. All feedback given my guests is extremely important to us as an organisation. I totally take on board your comments over our bathroom facilities. Being a not for profit organisation - we have extremely limited funding, however upgrading our ventilation system is on our "wish list" and hopefully will be possible sometime in the future. I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast! Cathy

86%

I would recommend providing a complementary breakfast.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Unfortunately our onsite café is actually run independently so we are unable to offer complimentary breakfasts. However, Alan in our Causeway café does offer amazing value breakfasts and we also have a fully equipped self catering kitchen for those guests who wish to provide their own meals. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast. Cathy

74%

The staff was super helpful and friendly! However, even though the sheets come in sealed plastic bags, they were filthy. The comforter on my bed was dirty and stained as well.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good place

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is absolutely fantastic for us to receive a score of 100% and we very much hope we can welcome you back again some time in the future. Cathy

77%

Security was excellent in this facility and the kitchen is very large. A tour company has an office in the lobby which was great for booking tours to some of Northern Ireland's attractions. Common rooms were not too welcoming as most people spent their time in the lobby as that is the only place wifi was available


(189 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback