X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4977 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very good as always I have stayed here on several occasions previously and it never dissapoints

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It's always excellent to see feedback from regular guests! Great too of course that people want to come back to stay: I see your name in our reservation system, every year, going back at least 7 years! So see you next year, and keep hostelling. David

80%

Well, I've been this 6 days there and the worst thing I've suffered BUNK BEDS. They are as comfortable as sleep under water. But yes, it was a great hostel with an awesome staff.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola. I am really intrigued by your comment. Most of our rooms have bunk beds (apart from our ensuite twins and doubles) but I don't understand the reference to sleeping under water - you really are going to have to contact me again to let me know what it means! Apart from that thank you for your excellent review: great and awesome are adjectives I like. Please recommend us as you travel: and enjoy the rest of your trip. David

83%

Noisy pub across the road could be heard (The Royal), even with the window shut.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 83% score overall and your 100% for our staff: it's good to know that the hard work is appreciated. I am sorry to read that you were kept awake by our neighbours. Generally The Royal isn't mentioned when our guests complain about noisy neighbours so perhaps there was a special event on there while you were here: I hope it didn't spoil your visit to Belfast too much. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. David

100%

Good value for your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your perfect review score: and for emphasising the good value for money we provide. Safe travels and remember Hostelling International when you're planning your next holiday. David

80%

Good price performance relationship in a central city location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you will come back and see us next time you are in Belfast. Safe travels. David

91%

Stayed for one night in the hostel, good location, rooms where clean and staff were friendly. Definitely recommend and will use hostel in the future.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments. It's always a good sign if guests are thinking of a return visit and are planning to recommend us. We work hard to provide a clean and friendly place to stay so your feedabck is a great reward. Safe travels and keep on hostelling. David

86%

Just a quick overnight between the ferry and the rest of Ireland. Comfortable stay, felt safe going out alone in the evening. Lovely breakfast at the hostel cafe

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review: I am pleased that you had a comfortable, safe stay with us at Belfast IYH. Did you manage to see some of the city too during your brief stop? If not please come back for another visit. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland. Safe travels. David

97%

First time we had stayed in a youth hostel. It was in a great location, staff very friendly and helpful, facilities were great and the hostel was very clean. Excellent value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It's always great when I read that we have converted someone to the idea of hostelling: it is a good alternative (in terms of cost, location and facilities) if you are looking for a budget option in the city centre: well not just city as we have hostels in Armagh, Bushmills and Whitepark Bay too. We hope to see you again next time you travel over from Scotland. Thank you again. David

69%

Dirty and slimy showers that don't lock and don't have anything to hang your towel/toiletries from, no hand soap in the bathrooms ... the rooms were okay but the bathrooms were very basic and kind of gross.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from Belfast IYH. Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your September stay. You had a few different reservations over a number of nights in both dorms, and then eventually a double room. I assume your criticisms are mainly directed at the showers and toilets in the 23 bed dorm and 17 bed dorm: the showers there get a lot of use on busy nights as you can imagine and are cleaned daily. I hope you were happier in your double room: please let me know. Safe travels. David

80%

Good place to stay on the cheap. Clean and relatively close to everything. Staff are very friendly. Only downside are really squeaky beds in the orm rooms.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good, cheap, clean, friendly, close to everything - great review, thank you! The bunks in our big dorms, on the top floor, are some of the our newer beds but I will investigate to see if there's a problem. Thank you and see you again. David

54%

No lockers provided... I felt a bit insecure

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your comments. The lockers we have varies a little from dorm to dorm: some rooms have freestanding lockers, others cages under the beds. We are currently in the process of installing new lockers, and restoring others that have been much used (and occasionally mistreated) over the years. The room you booked has cages under the beds. We also have a luggage room on the ground floor, and are happy to look after valuables at reception. I hope you enjoyed Belfast. David

49%

The room was smelling bad and the staff keeped my passport during my staying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by the two standard twin rooms that you booked. Our rooms are cleaned, ventilated, air freshened, after each check out. Can you please contact me with a little more information about your issue? The hostel takes photo ID as part of our check in procedure: although we emphahsie that we do not require a passport (unless you want to leave it for safekeeping). Safe travels. David

94%

Very helpful staff, short walk from bus and rail stations. Would have rated facilities as excellent had the breakfast cafe opened a bit earlier! Excellent overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your excellent score overall. Causeway Cafe, on the ground floor, is independently owned and operated so their opening times are outside hostel control I am afraid: I hope that means I can revise the 4 for hostel facilities up to a 5? It's great to know you had a good stay at the hostel and hope the rest of the trip went well. David

91%

Awesome place, great facilities, great atmosphere, will definitely stay here again!

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome: thank you! The hostel was really busy for the Bank Holiday weekend, with lots of people heading for Tennets Vital and the Belfast Mela: I am happy you appreciated the buzz! It sounds as if we might see you again next year too. That's excellent and see you then. David

86%

Very helpful front desk staff - went above and beyond in helping us with lots of baggage!

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much: we do our best to help out where we can, and make your stay as enjoyable and easy as possible. Take care and I hope the new job in Belfast goes well. David

89%

The hostel has an excellent location from which to explore the city and good facilities overall, although they have a special process to connect to Wi-Fi via Android phones that is a bit of a hassle. I would highly recommend the free walking tour that starts from the front desk. The guide is exceptional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Belfast is a small city so most things, City Centre and Queen's Quater, are within walking distance. It's great that you joined and enjoyed our free walking tour, available every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm: John is a volunteer and will be delighted to read your feedback. The tour is also a good way to meet other hostellers too. I'm sorry you found our wifi a bit awkward: it's sometimes a challange to have so many people online, and securely, at the same time. David

89%

I felt very comfortable at the hostel. They had good rooms, although I had to share with 15 more girls. Good shower. Good location. Good place to have a breakfast. Problems: few eletrical outlet and no internet inside the rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and your high score of 89%: you have used the word 'good' four times in your short review which is great for us. I am happy you had a comfortable stay at the hostel and hope you will come back next time you travel north. There is no easy solution to the lack of sockets in bedrooms I am afraid, or an easy way to provide an individual one for each of our 180 or so guests, but I understand why it can become an issue. I hope you will keep hostelling. Thanks again. David

80%

Nice hostel! I stayed in a 23 bedrooms dorm and that was very ok! Clean rooms and beds, the bathroom could have been a lot cleaner though. And there were no hooks to hang anything. Nice and helpfull staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about our 23 bed dorm: we have had a lot of good comments about this room over the busy summer period so I hope that this encourages more of you to go for the full on hostel dorm experience: it really isn't bad when the dorms are designed well and it's good value too. The negative of course is that the showers, washbasins and toilets get a lot of use between our morning cleans. Thank you for complimenting our staff too. Safe travels. David

74%

This hostel is clean, safe, and decently located. The only issue I really had was that it had a hotel feeling atmosphere, which left it feeling very sterile and hard to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review: it's always good to see positive feedback on our cleanliness and security: particularly important for a HI hostel. We are quite big and were busy when you were here with 180+ guests staying: we have a lot of common space on our ground and first floor where people hang out, even if just to use wifi. You also stayed over a weekend when our free walking tour goes out: always a good way to meet other guests. Your comments have been noted though. Safe travels. David

94%

It was a very cool hostel, 23 beds but doesn't even mater because its very big

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias. Most people who book beds in our big dorms (17 and 23 beds), even though they may not have been their first choice, usually end up enjoying their stay and are surprised at how comfortable and spacious the rooms are. They were designed well, are semi-partitioned to give some privacy, and have their own showers and toilets: and we haven't packed too many beds in, leaving some seating in both rooms. Please recommend us as you travel. Many thanks. David

(188 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback