X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Botxo Gallery - Youth Hostel Bilbao Gallery Two Reviews

Avenida de las Universidades, 5, Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
170 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Nice location, but too many beds in one room with no window ....

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was clean and there were adequate bathroom/showers. However, the showers and toilets are all in one big room, so it can be a little unpleasant at times. And if 21 people in a room wasn't enough, there were extra people sleeping on the couches in the morning. No security to prevent this. Also, this is in no way a "gallery," that description is entirely misleading. Breakfast of bread/jam over before anyone is even awake. Too many beds in one room for the price to be so expensive.


49%

During the night someone stole my boy's pants, shoes and t-shirt too!! The same night another pair of shoes were stolen and the night before a watch and a headphones!!!!!!! The bathroom weren't as clean, hair dryers didn't work and also one shower!!! Great view from the common room and 15 minutes walk from the center, well located, but i surely won't be back!!!

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

The place was horrible. The reception doesn't exist since it closes at 8 pm and when it opens the poor guy has to also clean the bathrooms and do everything else. The rooms are overcrowded stinky and filthy. Two of the beds assigned to us were "taken" by other people and we were forced to share 2 beds between 4 people. A horrible experience.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Rezeption ist nicht immer besetzt. Zu teuer dafür, dass in ein Zimmer 12 Betten waren.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

All my valuable belongings were stolen and the staff were very unhelpful. Thankfully the rest stay was still enjoyable due to fantastic other guests!

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It's modern and propose designed. It's the cleanest hostel I've stated at. It is in no way a gallery, it's a hostel. It was basically empty when I was there, 6 beds of 39 taken, including a family of 3, so it wasn't ideal for a solo traveller, but I guess it can be nice to get some space. The sleeping arrangements are tight, 3 person bunks end to end, you could quite literally be sleeping with your head a foot away from the next persons feet. But it's nice


71%

Tripple bunks, kinda difficult to get in/out, common area not very big. Location is cool straight across from Guggenheim and nice views day and night of river. Staff helpful.


83%

This was a reasonable stay. The staff when I got there were very helpful and all the sheets were provided. I stayed on the top of a 3 tier bunk bed which might put of some people but as i'm not scared of heights and not overweight it was okay. The bathroom was very well equipped and well laid out. I slept badly due to a few inconsiderate customers who put lights on, laughing and general talking and making noise. But what can you expect? Some are there to party, others to sleep.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

I don't normally write bad reviews - in fact - I never have until now for a hostel. It may simply be that my stay was during the BBK Music Festival, so prices were of course inflated. For a few nights, this hostel could be great, for a week however, not so much. The common area was not very comfortable so I found myself going elsewhere at times. Again, most likely due to the festival, there was rarely hot water, but I've grown to expect that in hostels. Recommend for seasoned travellers


97%

NICE PLACE, REALLY WELL LOCATED, NICE STUFF.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

At this location, they have 2 rooms one with 18 beds and the other with 21 beds. They have 3 beds on top of each other. They do have lockers, but to small for a big backpack. They have no system to arrange the beds. Just pick a bed that has no sheets on them and because not everybody takes of their sheets, you have a problem at night. The people that checked in after 20:00 they couldn't find a empty spot. I think this is the most unorganized hostel I stayed in. But is you don't mind this.....


91%

maybe the lockers could be free, other than that I liked everything about the hostel (breakfast, atmosphere, cleanliness, staff was very friendly,....) the location is perfect :)


100%

The best hostal in bilbao

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Booked to arrive at 22:00 in the website. The hostel is only opened till 20:00. What a shame!

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Staff! nice place to stay, not lot of fun but really clean!!!




View all Bilbao Hostels

Please give us your feedback