Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Capsule Hotel Asakusa River Side

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.4
Capsule Hotel Asakusa River Side Located at 2-20-4-B Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Capsule Hotel Asakusa River Side
Japan
Tokyo 111-0034 2-20-4-B Kaminarimon, Taito-ku
71% 609
35.7101648 139.7976551
Capsule Hotel Asakusa River Side
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
4.3

Although cheap and well located, I would not stay here again. The place is very old and run down. The women capsules occupy two floors, which anyone can access - I wouldn't feel comfortable sleeping here if there were no other women staying. There was an unpleasant, stale smell, facilities are extremely basic, Wi-Fi is only available on one floor, and you have to pay to charge your phone. People smoke inside. Staff was a bit bossy. The whole place seemed dirty, although sheets looked clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Apr 2016
6.9

I've never stayed in a capsule hotel before, and did this just for one night for the experience. Nice things: location is good, staff were friendly and helpful, and the bed was pretty comfortable. And it was cheap, obviously! Downsides: whole building is a bit run down and smelly, there are no luggage facilities or shower facilities on the same floor as the female beds, and smoking is allowed in the common room so it's not a nice place to linger! But that's not why you came to Tokyo anyway :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.6

Wonderful! Aside from lack of wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
5.4

Very cheap, and interesting to get the capsule hotel experience. The capsules themselves were totally fine, although they do not have power outlets or USB, meaning I had to leave my phone to charge in an insecure area. The rest of the hotel was kind of dingy. The 'lounge' area has a large tin with some water in the bottom to server as an ashtray, the lifts smell of cigarette smoke and the toilets reek. You also need to check out each day at 10 if you stay multiple days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.3

We had difficulty finding this place, mainly because when I rang the number (twice), a man shouted at me in Japanese and hung up (twice) despite the fact I was trying to talk to him in Japanese....sooo not the best start, and to be honest the staff were not great. HOWEVER, the capsule experience itself was really fun, the room was really clean, and you get given pjs and a towel. I think as a way to experience capsule hotels, this place is good! Not for a long stay though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.1

The capsule hotel was in an EXCELLENT central location in Asakusa and was a good price. However my stay was uncomfortable due to the overwhelmingly high temperature inside the rooms with no unlocked windows, I sweated more than I slept. Onsen facility is unusual for some, but public showers were fine by me. Common room was pretty common, also the only place to charge a device. Probably wouldnt go back if I had the extra ¥¥ for a nicer place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.0

Thermostat set too high so t was very hot and I cant sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
7.4

The capsule hotel was worth it for the experience. The only problem I had was that I had a hard time finding it, and other foreigners might have a hard time too. In Google Maps, the location wasn't in English. There was another capsule hotel very near this one and only that was on the maps. When I checked the website, there was a photo of the hotel but did not look anything like the actual hotel! That confused me a lot. Also, when I finally found the hotel, there were no english signs at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.6

Good place for one night. Very clean and quiet. It has a very old-fashion style but that makes this capsule experience even more interesting. They didn't have my reservation in their list, but they sort it out straight away, apologising for the delay in a very friendly way. Thanks so much for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Mar 2016
7.1

The place isn't bad for what it is; A cheap place to crash on a good location in Tokyo. It's cheap and the bath facilities are really good, as long as you do not mind the public aspect of it. However, unless you are a very heavy sleeper, people generally show no consideration even late at night or early morning. You need to check out every day at 10 and store your luggage in a coin locker. Price 100-400 yen. The staff was generally friendly, but far less helpful than other staff in Japan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.