Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Garden Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
City Garden Lodge Located at 25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland.
City Garden Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell
74% 378
-36.8563084 174.7829800
City Garden Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
6.6

Power overloaded during winter, no power for both nights there. Management not particularly friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
5.7

The stay was a bit of a nightmare. It was freezing cold, I had to park my car really far away, and the power went out for two hours. I was trying to do laundry before flying out the next day and my clothes were in the dryer and never got dry. The hostel clearly didn't have the correct wiring in place for the number of people and appliances needed. We had to sleep without the heat on. No monetary compensation was offered for the power outage or my wasted money on laundry.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
7.7

The place is alright, I stayed in much nicer hostels for the same price in NZ, but the people you'll meet are great! Also, because it's small it has a very cozy-homey feeling. I was only here for 2 nights, but everyone I met was very friendly and helpful. A lot of them were long-term borders and yet they were welcoming and inclusive. The staff was very helpful! I got maps, borrowed a phone, advice, and got a free SIM card (although should NOT get the free one- check out other deals first!).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

We had an excellent stay, clean and tidy rooms and washrooms etc.................the only thing that needed improvement was the lack of basic crockery such as cereal bowls etc, but we know that they go walkabout!!! Also the kitchen had good storage, but was very small..... Excellent helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.6

Free WiFi was great as was free parking, but most of the spots were at the bottom of a steep hill. Nice place in a nice area, bit of a walk to the centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Stayed at the lodge for the final week of my trip to relax after three months of travelling, and this was my favourite hostel in New Zealand. The atmosphere was friendly and homely and there are some lovely people staying there. Wifi is free, unlimited and fast, the hostel is located in a nice area (Parnell) and is close to the bus stop into the centre. It's not close to any supermarkets, although there are little shops nearby for essentials and there is always good stuff on the free shelf..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
18th Mar 2016
9.1

Great free unlimited WiFi, free parking on the street, only negative is all the hills around here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
7.7

Bit far out of the city, but good if you want a quite night. There are a lot of long term stayers here, so it feels like you're imposing a little bit, but everyone's really nice and friendly. No big supermarkets close, so had to rely on a little corner shop - but a nice hostel to stay at for one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
10.0

We had a great stay at City Garden Lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. We would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.