X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Garden Lodge Reviews

25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
317 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Not the hostel I would recommend. Location is nice - a little way from the center, but easy to drive to and easy to find. The house itself is old and beautiful (but has seen better days). And they have single rooms, which is a bonus! BUT: the room was SO dirty,it stank like someone's dirty feet (trust me, not mine), it was so unpleasant, I wanted to avoid spending an extra minute there. Kitchen is filthy, full of flies. Also NO parking!! You just hope you find a place along a very narrow street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ekaterina Thank you for staying in city garden lodge. I am very sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay here. We try our best to keep the lodge clean & tidy. Iam not sure what was stinking in the room. We checked the room & we could not smell any thing wierd. The kitchen is cleaned at least 5 times a day. Regarding the car parking we can park up to 6 cars in our drive way & also all the street car parking is free & has no time limit. We will try & work harder to keep the lodge clean.

89%

Very nice place, not too big, so it's also not to crowded. Staff are considerate and clean the place every day. We had our oun mini fridge and balcony in the bedroom, both very useful. Had a great time in this hostel, would definitely came back.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

really cozy place! great relaxed atmosphere and lots of common areas that invite talking to other travelers, indoor and outdoor. feels like something between a hostel and a bigger homestay. i've walked there from the ferry (uphill) - it's possible but better to just catch one of the frequent buses. no free wifi (as almost everywhere in NZ) and very few showers. the area isnt very close to the center, but the church and esp the park nearby are worth a visit and everything's pretty walkable.


83%

the place was ok


91%

Great location, staff helpful, all ages welcome, interesting older home with lots of amenities and transportation nearby.




View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback