Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Dorado International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
El Dorado International Hostel Located at Calle 12 # 8-55, , San Gil.
El Dorado International Hostel
Colombia
San Gil Santander 684031 Calle 12 # 8-55
90% 202
6.5551334 -73.1327891
El Dorado International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel itself is small but nice. Facilities are clean and easy to use. Rooms are small but efficient and comfortable. There was absolutely no atmosphere when we stayed there (only 1 night) and the staff turned lights, television, and even wifi off at 10:30pm (22:00) at night which really bothered the total of 5 people staying there including us. While it was safe they were nice and it's comfortable, the lack of atmosphere and the "rules" that they don't break are enough for me not to go back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

What an amazing place! I came here for 2-3 days and ended up staying nearly 2 months! Fabio and Daniella, local family that run the place are so kind and helpful, they will make you feel a part of the family. I booked all my San Gil adventures directly through their front desk. Highly reccomend the canyoning !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
9.7

I cam to San Gil to research climbing in PNN Cocuy (closed now). An englishman Shaun, the owner of Hostal Maconda (around the corner from Hostal El Dorado International) is THE man on activities, including Tejo & PNN Cocuy. The Maconda did not have privates available so I chose El Dorado International. I stayed there two nights in a private in early December. The location could not have been better and the employees were local young Colombians who love sports and fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
10.0

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff, great location, a well equiped kitchen and a wonderful atmosphere. Would definitely come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.7

Very nice place with local owner - chilled out, not a party place. Downsides - dorm beds not as good as in other hostels more - interior could be made a bit nicer - courtyard not massive. But a nice stay - maybe a bit more of a diverse crowd than Sams VIP and nicer to have a place run by locals in a way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
8.3

My friend and I absolutely loved the chilled out vibe of this hostel, music included. We arrived exhausted and left completely relaxed. The rooms were spacious and clean, with good facilities like kitchen and common area. Location was great and Staff were helpful and welcoming. My only complaint is that the tour company (which we booked through the hostel to do rafting), was disorganised and disappointing. Not the fault of the hostel. I would definitely recommend to stay here in San Gil!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
10.0

El dorado was great...they help you book anything you need and really care about your San Gil experience. Plus it's a really open and social atmosphere close to everything you need

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Sep 2016
9.4

What a great and relaxed hostel! Me and my boyfriend spent three nights / days there and the staff really made us feel at home. All our questions where answered patiently and we got good advice for tours and our further travels. The kitchen is fully equipped and clean. There is a laundry service, too. We can highly recommend El Dorado International Hostel to anybody!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

We had a fantastic stay in El Dorado hostel. The staff were very friendly and helped us book activities and transport at a cheaper price than what we had found by ourselves. The whole hostel was clean and well kept. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone, especially the private room as that is what we stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.7

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere, very relaxing and in the perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.