Hostelworld.com

El Dorado International Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Lovely but basic hostel in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff able to assist with organising tours. No breakfast included but decent sized kitchen and nice big table in the common area so easy to prepare your own food. Only two showers so best to avoid peak hour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Really great location with very chilled vibe. The staff is really helpful with everything. If I go to San Gil again would for sure go to El Dorado

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Friendly hostel in the center of San Gill. We were in a hurry and stayed only for one night but with the help of hostel staff we managed to use our time very well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Very clean and quietly hostel only 50m away from the mainsquare . Friendly helpfull staff The have many facillitys like laundryservice, bikerentel and great massages. I had there a great time! !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

I really love this hostel! It is very clean and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful, it is very quiet even though it is in the heart of San Gil. The canyon tours they do are AMAZING! And the honey they sell is well priced and delicious! I had an excellent stay and will deffonatey be back next time I am in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel itself is small but nice. Facilities are clean and easy to use. Rooms are small but efficient and comfortable. There was absolutely no atmosphere when we stayed there (only 1 night) and the staff turned lights, television, and even wifi off at 10:30pm (22:00) at night which really bothered the total of 5 people staying there including us. While it was safe they were nice and it's comfortable, the lack of atmosphere and the "rules" that they don't break are enough for me not to go back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear customer thanks for your review: I dont understand why you complaint after we break the rules and We put the tv on until you want it 3am in the morning or more. I thought after just one night is no possible describe the really atmosphere from el Dorado. I hope you back again. Thanks

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

What an amazing place! I came here for 2-3 days and ended up staying nearly 2 months! Fabio and Daniella, local family that run the place are so kind and helpful, they will make you feel a part of the family. I booked all my San Gil adventures directly through their front desk. Highly reccomend the canyoning !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
9.7

I cam to San Gil to research climbing in PNN Cocuy (closed now). An englishman Shaun, the owner of Hostal Maconda (around the corner from Hostal El Dorado International) is THE man on activities, including Tejo & PNN Cocuy. The Maconda did not have privates available so I chose El Dorado International. I stayed there two nights in a private in early December. The location could not have been better and the employees were local young Colombians who love sports and fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
10.0

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff, great location, a well equiped kitchen and a wonderful atmosphere. Would definitely come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.7

Very nice place with local owner - chilled out, not a party place. Downsides - dorm beds not as good as in other hostels more - interior could be made a bit nicer - courtyard not massive. But a nice stay - maybe a bit more of a diverse crowd than Sams VIP and nicer to have a place run by locals in a way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.