Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Dorado International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
El Dorado International Hostel Located at Calle 12 # 8-55, , San Gil.
El Dorado International Hostel
Colombia
San Gil Santander 684031 Calle 12 # 8-55
88% 173
6.5551334 -73.1327891
El Dorado International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.9

We spent 2 nights at El Dorado and absolutely loved San Gil. El Dorado is a good hostel. Simple and cheap. Good staff, really helpful and friendly. Some points to know: - NO alcohol allowed in hostel. - 1 warm shower for all. 2 showers total for 30 beds. - Common area closes at 11pm, no where to sit and chill / read etc. Wifi not in rooms either. But, you are generally pretty tired after big days and the place isn't super busy so we didn't have any issues. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Very clean, staff lovely and helpful, good kitchen, enough space to hang out if you want to. Chilled vibe with chilled musica. Excellent safe location, close to parque, shops, markets, bars and restaurants. The only way it could improve is better ventilation in the rooms.. as we got hot overnight, when it was actually cool outside, but at least there was a fan. Overall good value, we would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd May 2016
10.0

Really helpful friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nathan_kendal4805
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
19th May 2016
8.0

Good hostel, friendly staff. Very relaxed and quiet stay, some good policies around noise control at night but not sure why they turn all of the communal lights off and lock the nearest toilets. The net result is a stumbling walk to the outside toilets in the dark after 10pm and a load of a noise anyway from the nearby disco. Be wary booking tours, the hostel advertised a 30-45 min paragliding but you only get 25mins flight time with their provider.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • evanrossmiller5431
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.4

My girlfriend and I stayed at El Dorado for five nights on recommendation from a friend. The owners Favio and Pedro are really attentive, friendly guys. The place has a vibrant, community feel with lots of brightly painted walls, good light, and pretty much all that you could want in a hostel. The main square is right outside the front door and the staff can point you in the right direction for anything you need. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place, great staff. Everything you need and right in the center!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
7.4

Slightly over priced. But right in the center of town. The kitchen is okay. Great for relaxing in the common area. We were in a room without a window so it was quite hot. But the staff were incredibly helpful. Helped us get bus tickets!! The caving trip that they offer is AMAZING.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing stay in the Dorado hostel in San Gil ! You really feel like home :) good vibes, good accommodations, big kitchen, nice patio but on the top of that, I really enjoyed my stay because of the teamwork... They are Just wonderfull, very friendly and helpfull. So I highly recommend that place. You will love it ! Enjoy San Gil

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2016
7.7

Good kitchen. Good location. Kept closing the inside shower which was very annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
7.7

The best part about the hostel is the location. It's only a 10 second walk to the main square. Other than that it didn't have many redeeming factors. The room didn't have a window so it got ridiculously hot/stuffy at night and the atmosphere was lacking while we were there which made it impossible to meet other travellers. There was only one warm shower and it wasn't very nice. The hostel also runs an amazing canyoning/Caving trip that I'd highly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.