Hostelworld.com

El Dorado International Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
El Dorado International Hostel Located at Calle 12 # 8-55, , San Gil.
El Dorado International Hostel
Colombia
San Gil Santander Calle 12 # 8-55
87% 167
6.5551334 -73.1327891
El Dorado International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place, great staff. Everything you need and right in the center!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
7.4

Slightly over priced. But right in the center of town. The kitchen is okay. Great for relaxing in the common area. We were in a room without a window so it was quite hot. But the staff were incredibly helpful. Helped us get bus tickets!! The caving trip that they offer is AMAZING.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing stay in the Dorado hostel in San Gil ! You really feel like home :) good vibes, good accommodations, big kitchen, nice patio but on the top of that, I really enjoyed my stay because of the teamwork... They are Just wonderfull, very friendly and helpfull. So I highly recommend that place. You will love it ! Enjoy San Gil

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2016
7.7

Good kitchen. Good location. Kept closing the inside shower which was very annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
7.7

The best part about the hostel is the location. It's only a 10 second walk to the main square. Other than that it didn't have many redeeming factors. The room didn't have a window so it got ridiculously hot/stuffy at night and the atmosphere was lacking while we were there which made it impossible to meet other travellers. There was only one warm shower and it wasn't very nice. The hostel also runs an amazing canyoning/Caving trip that I'd highly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • IvanTheIntrepid
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
7.7

The hostel was just fine with clean and comfortable accommodation. At the end of the day though it doesn't scream out at you as a 'must stay place'. But it is pleasant and everything you need. There are other hostels with better atmospheres at comparable prices... So it comes down to availability. My favorite part is that they have a filtered water tap in the kitchen to fill up your water bottles. :) -Ivan the Intrepid

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2016
10.0

The best hostel ever! Originally I booked 2 nights but eventually stayed 6. It was the first hostel where I felt at home and where I was able to get a good night's sleep because it was really quiet and peaceful at night. They offer a wide range of amazing outdoor activities, like canyoning which in fact includes 3 other activities (caving, abseiling, waterfall jumping). Time and money well spent! The staff speak English and they are very friendly and helpful. 100% recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at this hostel, it is probably the best i have seen on Colombia, the location is good as it is only a 2 minutes walk to the main plaza, the staff at the hostel are very helpful, most of them speaking good english, i did the canyoning activity which they recommended and it was amazing. overall i would stay here again with no doubt

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2016
6.9

Really great staff who helped us out with arranging paragliding etc. But unfortunately the dorm was too hot, bad sleep cause of a lack of fresh air in the room since there's no windows. On the other side the staff offered us another dorm but we've decided to move to another place. To conclude, the staff is really great and felt sorry that we had to leave for the above given reason...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, sorry to hear about your inconvenience with the room but That the reason We changed to the room with window but you still want to leave.We have very high standards but the rooms witout windows We cant do anything. Hope we get a 2nd chance

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
5.1

The hostel was not clean and the rooms felt like jail cells (tiny with no windows). The central lounge areas were limited and unattractive, and there is no place to buy a cold drink on the premise (also no alcohol allowed in). We left after only one night to change hostels that is how little we enjoyed this place. On the upside, the locations is excellent, they provide free coffee, and the staff was gracious when we decided to check out early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really sorry that you feel this way about our hostel, we do believe however that some of your comments were innacurate and incosisent with our hostel and other peoples views of it. we feel that our central loungue is well equiped with Blue ray movies, a tv, fans and Wi Fi, plus we have offer cold drinks from a fridge 24 hours a day, plus we dont have any non alcohol allowed policy.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.