X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fortaleza Guest House Reviews

Fortaleza 303, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
281 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The steward only speaks Spanish so come prepared with some phrases memorized to communicate. Location was great in the heart of Old San Juan. Everywhere was a short walk. At the time of this review, the street was closed to traffic for road work so it was a quiet atmosphere. That will change once the street is open again.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel in an old colonial building. Right in the center of Old San Juan and close to public transport. The owner is very sweet and helpful.


63%

Had to move rooms for others coming in. Thought they should have gotten that together.

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This guest house is in an excellent location to explore old San Juan. There was one staff member who was always there and available to help even though he didn't speak English and I didn't speak any Spanish. He always understood what was asked or got someone to interpret. I left the guest house for my flight home at 5:15 a.m. and he was up and had arranged my cab for exactly when I asked for it and then helped me load my suitcase into the cab. His name was Radome (not sure of the spelling).


91%

Clean, cheap, smack bang in the middle of old San Juan. Can't ask for much more! Will definitely return to the Hostel.


83%

Great location and great for one night or two. Perfect perfect location!!!!! And the people are really nice and the place is clean. Just a bit noisy but great for the price.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Needed just one night in Sa Juan to catch an early morning flight. Got in the previous afternoon, took in the sights of old San Juan, did some shopping, and had a nice meal. The guesthouse was perfectly located, very clean, quiet and very affordable. I would definitely consider returning.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The place was a good location but the pictures did not accurately represent the condition of the room we stayed in. The service from the staff was lack luster at best. I am not sure I would recommend the place to female travelers as it was almost all men staying there when we were there and it had a bit of a frat house feel (and smell). My girl friend didn't feel comfortable using the showers. It was a cheap hostel with a good location good for a single guy but not much else.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The place is clean but the furniture is quite old. One of the beds was really old and the mattress was sagging. The underside of the bunk bed above me was torn. Our room had 4 beds but only one plug for power.

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

GREAT Guesthouse in EXCELLENT Location! Bad points: Manager does not speak English. BEWARE $10 Room Key Deposit----you must pay this is in CASH when you check in. Manager was not around when I checked out---so did not get my $10 Deposit back. Calling back later to ask to have this amount credited to me---was useless. They need a signup sheet for the Room Key Deposit---which they do NOT have. The Manager can easily pocket this money. Furthermore they will NOT accept credit cards for payment.


94%

It`s very easy to get there buy bus from the airport and its right in the middle of everything. Very easy to go around the place from there! Really enjoyed it!


80%

Excellent location in the old San Juan! Bars and restaurants are all around. But the problem is that if your room is on the street side, it's very noisy til 3:00 am... Also, the staff (actually just one guy, I didn't see anybody else...) seems like a very nice person but doesn't speak a word in English... Quite annoying when you want to have some information about the area... Internet doesn't work in the room if you are too far from the lobby. Otherwise, best location and quite clean!

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A little rough around the edges, but a good deal. And Radames who lives in the hostel is wonderfully helpful.


77%

You can't beat the location for the price. We wish there would've been more of a social hangout area but the overall experience was very good.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Tina, invited me to your new year family party :)


89%

Tina the housekeeper was friendly and very helpful. Location is awesome, right in the center of Old San Juan. Area is very safe with police patrolling regularly and police on most street corners. Lots to do, many places to eat close by.


91%

Loved staying with such an accommodating family!


80%

Owner is very nice and that makes up for a lot of their other shortcomings.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Look, with a location and price like this, you just can't complain.


77%

I stayed in a room with a king size bed. It had A/C but no window. The hostel not too cosy but ok, has a kitchen and two bathrooms on the first floor. Wifi is included and they have a computer that guests can use. Since it's located on busy Calle Fortaleza, it's a bit noisy. You can hear the pub next door and the shop downstairs.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all San Juan Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback