Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fortaleza Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st Mar 2017
9.4

Only a stayed one night but was impressed with the welcoming staff and the great bed and bedding. Bright colonial feel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.0

The location is excellent, but the kitchen needs some improvements.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
6.3

If you are solely looking for location and want to be right in the heart of Old San Juan, this is the place for you! However, this is truly a guesthouse, not a hostel. You probably won't meet other people here, so if you already have a travel companion, this may be a good place, but it is difficult to stay here if you are by yourself because you will probably feel very alone (unless you are extremely introverted and like that kind of thing).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying here. The rooms and beds were all very clean. Our room had a balcony that looked over the cobblestone road, was very beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • US Virgin Islands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Staff gets a : A+

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
7.7

I truly enjoyed my stay! It wasn't the fanciest place (no hot water, toilet flushes once and then needs significant recharge time, some holes in the walls, etc) but the proprietor was very nice to us and there was AC. We came and had two separate bed reservations and he let us change it to a private room reservation at check-in. He also recommended a nice breakfast restaurant around the corner. Location is great, you can walk from one seashore to the other and to the forts and capitol building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Great location ,in need of an update .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
6.0

You stay here for the location. It is walking distance to everywhere in Old Town, which is great. the rooms are small, beds uncomfortable, and their was only ever one staff member, the manager, who seems to only speak Spanish and was not overly friendly. the location is great though, and that is all I wanted, so I was happy with the place and could stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
7.1

This place is right in Old San Juan, which is great, if you like nightlife. Apparently, Fortaleza street is the 'cruising' street- like back in the days of cruising. And the cars are noisy. Easy to walk to anywhere and probably a cheap cab ride, too. I liked the proprietor, but I could speak with him in Spanish. I think his English is limited. I liked the balcony. The bathrooms definitely need improvement. There wasn't anywhere to hang anything. One toilet didn't have a back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

Awesome location. Not the fanciest place I've ever stayed but served its purpose for the cost. I would definitely stay at this location again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.