Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fortaleza Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Fortaleza Guest House Located at Fortaleza 303, , San Juan.
Fortaleza Guest House
Puerto Rico
San Juan 00901 Fortaleza 303
85% 396
18.4654440 -66.1137378
Fortaleza Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th May 2016
8.3

A nice hostel with a great location in Old San Juan. Rooms are clean and the staff are friendly but speak very little English. Not many other backpackers here to meet if you are looking for people to share a ride with around Puerto Rico.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
10.0

This place rocks. If you're hoping to stay in Old San Juan, it's the place to be. It's cheap, the staff are extremely nice, and the rooftop is a great place to hang out. This is not a good place to stay if you're hoping to check out La Placita or any of the bigger night life areas in the new part of the city, which is far away. You'll want to stay in the city itself for that. The beds here are the best in Old San Juan (I've stayed in each hostel in the area) and there are loads of sh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.3

You cannot beat this location and price. It's right on Calle Fortaleza, minutes away from El Morro, the water, and all the shops and restaurants you'd want to visit. The amenities were modest, but had working AC, clean towels and sheets, a queen-sized bed, 2 bathrooms, a nice kitchen, and a laundry room. The man in charge (I forget his name) is incredibly kind and out of the way, but does not speak much English. I think you would be ok if you don't speak Spanish, but it sure helps.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
8.0

Very basic (don't expect AC or windows in all rooms) but no complaints. There was a common kitchen. No English spoken. Cash only and a $10 key deposit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samuelitomcf714
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Mar 2016
7.1

I had a good stay here. It is centrally located which is awesome. But also means that it can be a little noisy on weekends. I had a great stay here except that even though the check out was at 12 I was asked to leave at 11:30 because a group arrived early. I felt that was a little inconsiderate and kind of felt like I was being kicked out early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
8.0

I was very let down by the lack of communal space and social aspects, but the functional living elements were perfectly serviceable, and the location was superb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.9

We quite enjoyed our stay at the Fortaleza Guesthouse.Located in a turn of the century (20th ) apartment building, the place is a once beautiful, now slightly shabby hostel in the center of old San Juan. The staff were friendly, and more than happy to help a couple of older ladies up the stairs (no elevator) with their luggage, rooms were clean, amenities vary by price. I had a single room with a/c , tv, and safe. Linens were included. Kitchen was adequate and clean. Balcony was great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean and safe hostel. The owner doesn't really speak any english, but we managed to make ourselves understood with just a few words of english and spanish. Apart from the tiny language barrier he's very helpful and really good host.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
9.4

Good location..tired decor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in Old San Juan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.