Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fortaleza Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Jul 2017
9.1

This gem is a family run hostel in the center of old San Juan. You can walk right by and miss it bc it blends into ambiance of the area. Location is perfect. In a very safe area walking distance to restaurants, tourist sites and transportation. Stayed in a mixed dorm and beds were terrifically comfortable! AC in room worked great! Hot water showers/clean/new. Kitchen needs upgrading. Each floor had cute balcony overlooking street, rooftop lounge area/kitchen has potential. Worth it! #value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.0

This place was clean and in a fantastic location. The proprietor was friendly, but there isn't much in the way of communal space or much sense of camaraderie that I picked up on. Which is totally fine if all you're looking for is a quiet room, but I feel I should include as useful information for backpacker types who are looking for community, hostel friends, chatty staff and fellow travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Good location, good price, a bit run down, best if you have some Spanish as didn't speak much English

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.4

Only a stayed one night but was impressed with the welcoming staff and the great bed and bedding. Bright colonial feel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.0

The location is excellent, but the kitchen needs some improvements.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
6.3

If you are solely looking for location and want to be right in the heart of Old San Juan, this is the place for you! However, this is truly a guesthouse, not a hostel. You probably won't meet other people here, so if you already have a travel companion, this may be a good place, but it is difficult to stay here if you are by yourself because you will probably feel very alone (unless you are extremely introverted and like that kind of thing).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying here. The rooms and beds were all very clean. Our room had a balcony that looked over the cobblestone road, was very beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • US Virgin Islands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Staff gets a : A+

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
7.7

I truly enjoyed my stay! It wasn't the fanciest place (no hot water, toilet flushes once and then needs significant recharge time, some holes in the walls, etc) but the proprietor was very nice to us and there was AC. We came and had two separate bed reservations and he let us change it to a private room reservation at check-in. He also recommended a nice breakfast restaurant around the corner. Location is great, you can walk from one seashore to the other and to the forts and capitol building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Great location ,in need of an update .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.