Hostelworld.com

Fortaleza Guest House

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
Fortaleza Guest House Located at Fortaleza 303, , San Juan.
Fortaleza Guest House
Puerto Rico
San Juan 00901 Fortaleza 303
79% 390
18.4654440 -66.1137378
Fortaleza Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
8.0

Very basic (don't expect AC or windows in all rooms) but no complaints. There was a common kitchen. No English spoken. Cash only and a $10 key deposit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samuelitomcf714
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Mar 2016
7.1

I had a good stay here. It is centrally located which is awesome. But also means that it can be a little noisy on weekends. I had a great stay here except that even though the check out was at 12 I was asked to leave at 11:30 because a group arrived early. I felt that was a little inconsiderate and kind of felt like I was being kicked out early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
8.0

I was very let down by the lack of communal space and social aspects, but the functional living elements were perfectly serviceable, and the location was superb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.9

We quite enjoyed our stay at the Fortaleza Guesthouse.Located in a turn of the century (20th ) apartment building, the place is a once beautiful, now slightly shabby hostel in the center of old San Juan. The staff were friendly, and more than happy to help a couple of older ladies up the stairs (no elevator) with their luggage, rooms were clean, amenities vary by price. I had a single room with a/c , tv, and safe. Linens were included. Kitchen was adequate and clean. Balcony was great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean and safe hostel. The owner doesn't really speak any english, but we managed to make ourselves understood with just a few words of english and spanish. Apart from the tiny language barrier he's very helpful and really good host.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
9.4

Good location..tired decor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in Old San Juan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Jan 2016
8.0

Pretty decent place to rest your head. The man who helps you check in does not speak English very well but it's fine. You can get by with hand signals and broken English/few Spanish words. You get a towel on arrival which is great. There is wifi on the main floor but not the third floor. The rooms are extremely small but it's in such a great location so it's worth staying here, especially for the price. There are little balconies to hang out on and that was amazing. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2016
9.1

Great location, and a great value for the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2016
5.7

Basic. Not clean, bed uncomfortable. Location is only plus here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.