Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guesthouse - Annex

  • 11-26 Komatsu-cho 4, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6
Gojo Guesthouse - Annex Located at 11-26 Komatsu-cho 4, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guesthouse - Annex
Japan
Kyoto 605-0811 11-26 Komatsu-cho 4, Higashiyama-ku
95% 315
34.9982092 135.7757860
Gojo Guesthouse - Annex
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.1

Absolutely brilliant staff, very helpful and always willing to help you plan your days. Nice and comfortable rooms and good facilities in general. Great location as only 10-15 minute walk away from Kiyomizu Dera temple, with a bus stop 3 minutes away and a subway station 15 minutes away. Would recommend all of my friends who visit Kyoto to stay in this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.7

Excellent location for Gion area and temples. Less than 2 mins walk to bus stop. About 15 mins bus to/from Kyoto Stn. Very clean room, comfy western bed. Cold in hallways when going from room to basement (washrooms). Room had heating in colder months and AC in warmer months. Free drink ticket. Host provided maps and info on tourist sites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
9.7

LOVED our stay at Gojo Guesthouse!! It has been one of my favorite places I've stayed at in Japan! It has a cozy, more traditional feel and the rooms are more spacious than other hostels and Air BnBs I've stayed at. The location is excellent and the staff are really helpful! Make sure to hang your laundry out on the rooftop for an amazing view of Kyoto. Really miss this place already and would love to stay again. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

We met both Nari and Keita who made our stay very comfortable. Keita oriented us with the bus routes and recommended place nearby. The guesthouse was almost in the heart of Gion and Shijo shopping area. Very walkable. The surroundings felt very alive yet still so safe. Overall, it's so easy to fall in love with Kyoto especially when staying in a guesthouse that is so near to everything. Cannot wait to book here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.9

Very friendly staff, great location to visit different places in Kyoto. 24h Store just around the corner. Excellent recommendations from staff of restaurants. I would recommend to get a traditional Japanese room with futon. We got the Western room and the space is a bit tight. We had a very nice view from our room though. Bathrooms in the basement, but basin in every floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.7

A very nice hostel with super friendly staff. Nice clean room with air conditioner. Good location, walking distance from the city centre and big temple areas. The only minus was that Annex was a little bit difficult to find when coming from Kyoto train station. However, folks at Gojo Guesthouse at Gojo dori (which was a lot easier to find) gave great help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Gojo has highly helpful staff, a friendly and cozy atmosphere, and offers highly traditional private rooms. My partner and I simply loved the style and decor of the room! The kitchen and all amenities were in good working order, except one light in one of the bathrooms, and the dryer had very poor at drying clothing. Additionally, we required to take an approximately 7min bus ride to get to and from the hostel to Kyoto Station. Otherwise a central location in Kyoto. Overall, would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Amazing place. The building is old but that's part of the charm and atmosphere. However, that also means that things tend to be dusty or crumbly or powdery and hard to clean - so don't expect the best in this respect. The toilet and showers are in the basement, and most rooms are on the second floor; floorboards tend to be creaky and stairs are a little steep. Not any significant issue, but could be a problem. The room I had had sliding doors that didn't shut fully - not a big problem for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Ultra helpful friendly staff, very clean, interesting old building, bus stop nearby, private, quiet, good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
9.4

A great Japanese style guesthouse! The location is in Gion, which is a quieter more traditional part of Kyoto with many shrines. Staff spoke very good English and helped me map out my itinerary. Very close to a bus stop which made getting around Kyoto easier. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a traditional Kyoto experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.