Hostelworld.com

Golden Island Guesthouse

  • FLAT 1, 7/F ALHAMBRA BUILDING,, 383-385 NATHAN ROAD, YAUMATEI, KOWLOON, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
Golden Island Guesthouse Located at FLAT 1, 7/F ALHAMBRA BUILDING, 383-385 NATHAN ROAD, YAUMATEI, KOWLOON, Hong Kong.
Golden Island Guesthouse
Hong Kong
Hong Kong FLAT 1, 7/F ALHAMBRA BUILDING,, 383-385 NATHAN ROAD, YAUMATEI, KOWLOON
71% 366
22.3086714 114.1710162
Golden Island Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
6.3

Pretty weak - as was to be expected I suppose. Ended up getting moved to a different 'guesthouse' because their internet connection was terrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

Good and clean! Great location. Some if the staff don't speak English, but you will come a long way by sign language or drawing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2016
7.7

I was hoping for more of a hostel environment but this place had nothing like that to offer. The staff didn't speak any English thus were unable to offer any tips or suggestions for exploring the city or answer any of my questions. It was clean, safe, and relatively conveniently located but if you're looking to meet people this hostel is not the place for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2016
6.3

Book 3 nights. Room is very small and humid smell due to no window. But if you're lucky, you get room with window that's better. Only 1 staff can speak english and she's very helpful. Location is nice, close to local street cuisines.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
6.9

Even though it's normal to find very small bedrooms in Hong Kong, this one at Golden island Guesthouse was even smaller. I was just staying for the weekend and I live in Macau so I just took a hand luggage, but two people staying in that room with two large (20 to 30kg) luggage wouldn't fit there. The place is clean and recently renewed, which is nice, but the water gets cold very fast. Someone using shampoo and conditioner would have to shower with cold water in the last part.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2015
6.6

We're lucky getting room with window so the air smells better than other rooms without windows. But 1st time we come, nobody speaks english so we have to wait for someone to come and help with language. Only one girl understand. Typical Hong Kong room, it's bit small but quite good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
5.7

The staff was unclear/never mentioned many room related things. e.g. that they don't change your sheets ever, do not take out the very small garbage (it's self-serve), no new towels are given, etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
5.7

Price/value not good but maybe that is because hostels are quite expensive in HK.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2015
6.9

The staff's English was pretty bad, and they didn't offer advice other than answering specific questions. Our room was cramped and didn't have a window. The price was probably higher than normal since we stayed there around new year's eve.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2015
7.4

They transferred me to another hotel nearby. This hotel was ok, but without anyone speaking English, it was difficult to know what they intented. It would be useful if someone who speaks English would be there and explain what is going on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.