Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Good Dream Hostel (Khun Ying House ) Reviews

15/19 Moo. 1, sairee beach, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


499 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Rude staff, did not expect to be spoken to the way we was considering we were customers. Will not recommend this hotel


Central location (sairee beach) and clean rooms/bathrooms. Good value for money. Please provide wi-fi in rooms too. Security could be improved as there is no reception service during the night and basically everybody can access the outside dorm area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our reception runs 8am to 8.30pm officially.And we provide emergency call for night service too.Because we provide room keys to every single guests,you can easily lock the door not to the guests from other dorm come in.Thanks!!!


Quiet location, just off the main road but still walking distance to everything. Double room was small and very basic. Cleanliness okay. Comparatively for a few extra hundred baht there are a lot better places.


Definitely not one of the cleanest places I've been to, cockroach in our room which we understand does happen so the staff eventually removed it after asking 3 times. Staff not as friendly as other hostels. But overall for the price it's ok cheap basic accommodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review anyway.We followed your request to remove a small insect just one time because you requested only 1 time. NOT 3 times!!! Even we provided the best cleaning service( you all can check the other reviews),it is VERY IMPORTANT that your guys are willing to contribute yourself as well as using the bins for any trashes and food wastes,i think.


The hostel is clean, the beds are comfortable and the rooms have lockers in them. The common area isn't much, just some benches outside the office but it's close to the main street which has loads of pubs and restaurants. They were happy for me to leave my bag in the office on check out day. Mostly I was happy with how clean it was and the fact I had a light and socket of my own next to my bed. I would absolutely stay here again and happily recommend it to anyone.


I stayed in the private dorm complete with ensuite. Overall, a pleasant hostel. I only stayed two nights but the cafe two doors down was amazing! I would stay again.


Prices go up prior to the full moon party so more than you would normally pay for a place like this. No common area so hard to be social but apart from that it was all okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Even a common area is truly provided in a very clear version,you 're missing it out still??????May be you confused with the other hostel experience!!!


To me this is a 'cheap and cheerful' hostel. Nothing fancy, but good price and location. The people I met were all super friendly too. Most disappointing were the staff. The main guy was very unhelpful (and rude - first rude thai person I've ever met!). But still, decent rooms and a great breakfast place right next door.


Excellent staff and a friendly atmosphere made this place great, guys in reception couldn't have been more helpful- calling you 'bro' and really creating a family like feeling!


Good hostel within walking distance of Sairee Beach and all the main bars and restaurant. Dorm rooms comfy with good ensuite bathroom. Would stay here again.


Comm area a bit small but the actual dorm room itself is one of the best I've stayed in anywhere around the world. Bathrooms are ok.


staff was absolutely lovely and very accommodating. Location is great ,is a minute walk away from the main street and 5 minute from the beach. we stayed in a double bed private and it was neat small simple and clean! was all you kina need, very basic. only thing was that theres some construction opposite but wasn't too bad. would recommend here and was good for price! they also help you book really good tours! :)


What you should expect for 320 baht a night


Despite thethe average score I thought it was rather good. The place Was clean and the beds were comfy. For the price however I think there were better, more sociable places available. Perhaps not the best place to stay as a solo traveler then but you could do worse!


Comfy rooms with air on for 300B, apart from that really not much happening. No bar or restaurant, no real communal area apart from a few benches near the reception. Beds are comfy and I just stayed here for the diving so was fine for me but not much of an atmosphere. 2 min walk from night life and beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Samantha restaurant is just 50m far from our hostel and over 1 dozen of beach bar are lining up just 2 minutes walk from our hostel.So no bar or no restaurant still???? A real communal area is TRULY provided with a lots of benches,TV ,DVD player and Fan where our guests hang out usually.i can't imagine how you missed it!!!


The worst place I have ever been. It was so bad, we booked a new hotel for that night and canceled the rest of our reservation. The rooms were small, dirty, and way too hot to sleep. A spider the size of our hand was hiding in the room for us because none of the doors close fully. The staff were rude and had no interet in helping us, they just wanted our money, including a charge for leaving the hotel, even though we gave the required notice. The location is terrible, basically a garbage dump.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It looks extremely ODD comparing with the other reviews.We provided the right room type.But your complaint " you didn't know you booked for basic fan room" is NOT really acceptable.You are very RESPONSIBLE for the information concerned with booking. 4 hours late check out without any notice wouldn't be tolerated by any property.But we just charged only 100 baht for 4 hours late for 4 people.when the staff request you to pay,you refused to follow. It meant the staff are rude???


Great stay. Close to beach. Will be going back next year. The guy that runs it is awsome

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Clean hostel with good beds that have individual lights and sockets. couple of minutes walk to the beach and about 5 - 10 mins to the area with all the bars and shops. Staff were always happy to help us out. Building site nearby but couldn't hear it from our room. All in all, I would go back if I visit the island again :)


Had a private room here, it was fine and clean. The bathroom was a bit suspect on close inspection (round the sink and plug hole) but fine really. The aircon was strong but adequate bedsheets weren't supplied so it got pretty cold at night. They also don't have a generator so during power cuts the aircon and everything go out (frustrating when it's more than once a night). Wifi in the room was atrocious and never really worked well. I would have still extended our stay if we'd had time.


Was ok. Clean and good location! Don't get a room with a fan if you can't stand the heat. Hot. Hot. Hot. Good hostel if you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)

View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback