Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Kyoto

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Guest House Kyoto Located at 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku, , Kyoto.
Guest House Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 600-8265 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku,
84% 520
34.9882070 135.7499778
Guest House Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Very easy to find,clean great staff. We had a room downstairs close to bathroom. A bit noisy for me but my travelling companions didn't notice. Staff were very helpful with directions and other travel arrangements. Great little eating house across the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leslie_dyson8301
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.9

Nice guest house, handy location would stay there again if in Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
5.4

First of all, this was my first time at hostel and I had a horrible experience at Guest House Kyoto. There are a few reasons that I am happy to elaborate. 1 ) When I booked the private room, I saw two separate twin beds. Upon arrival, I had bunk bed instead. 2) The room had a really bad odor, almost like bad body odor that was not clean. 3) I did not expect to have the owners live in hostel. I felt uncomfortable. I had booked 6 nights and left the place after one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Oct 2016
4.6

The owner is not a nice person. The place is SUPER NOICY, I got woken up everyday by the people drying their hair, and gettting into the shower, or the owner cleaning the showers with a roll on thing that was very very noicy. PRivate rooms are expensive and do not have private bathroom. The location sucks, it not close to anyhing, and the neighborhood is the worst place in kyoto, there are no restaurants or anything fun to do around. It takes 40 min by bus to get to any cool place in Kyoto.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I’m afraid that you have the wrong information. We have many Japanese-style restaurants near our hostel. It seems to me that you didn’t notice that because of no English signboard. And you can see Nishi Honganji and Higashi Honganji which are two large temples in the city. It will take 5 minutes from our guest house by walk. And only 2 minutes to Kyoto aquarium which is considered to be the best cool place by young Japanese people. You can check the Google map as a proof.

9th Oct 2016
9.1

Very kind and helpful staff. The hostel was very clean and spacious. All of the normal amenities were available if needed. The location was close to the train station and very close to the Kyoto Aquarium (5 minute walk). I would definitely stay again and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
3.7

The big advantage is that it is close to Kyoto station. You can't take a shower between midnight - 05:00amlll. There's no common area really, the owner is very "hands in" - makes sure you put on shoes when you go out, keeps telling you to whisper at night.. No locks for lockers, no curtain.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have big common space on the roof. Most guests go to the common area for drinking beer and taking conversation. You didn't notice it probably because you stayed in mixed dorm on the 1st floor. And you didn't go up to the top landing. Unfortunately some complaints were issued by other guests about your bad manner. So I couldn't help but watch your behavior.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.6

Guest House Kyoto is a great place for those looking for a quiet place to stay. Our room was a great size for four people, and the laundry facilities were really useful. It's very clean and peaceful. The hosts speak good English which helps. The atmosphere isn't great and there are lots of rules which is fine as long as you aren't looking for a sociable, party hostel. It's on a really dark set of streets which is something to bear in mind walking back late at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Ok location by the train station. Easy accessible for other parts of town. Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. He doesn't force you out between 11 and 3, he cleans around you! Only thing he can improve on is recommendations for tourists! So may amazing places to eat in Kyoto and the only place he could recommend was the mall! Also was unable to recommend a place to try Kobe Beef, he just googled and rang the first place which had a terrible tripadvisor review. CLOWNO MISTAKE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Hands down the best hostel I have stayed in yet since traveling the world for the past several years. You will find the hosts here will accommodate most if not all of your needs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
9.7

The owners were very welcoming, especially the kakui (cool) osman who's there at he reception, most of the time. Air conditioning included, lockers are not small as others have said, it could even fit my 15.6" laptop in easily, just bring your own lock and you're good. There's security lock to the main entrance too! Shampoos and conditioner included, with hair dryer, free coffee and tea at all times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.