Hostelworld.com

Guest House Kyoto

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
Guest House Kyoto Located at 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku, , Kyoto.
Guest House Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 600-8265 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku,
84% 453
34.9882070 135.7499778
Guest House Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.3

It's OK, but the best is a small local restaurant in front of hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Quite good value for money, nice and clean, but quite basic and not a lot of common areas. But fine for a night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.9

Staff is very serious about the cleanliness and helpful. Good facilities. A bit distance from the station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.4

Great location and very clean! However: the common room is also the owners own kitchen and has restricted times for visitors. We stayed 2 nights and on both nights the owners daughter (I presume) was doing her homework in the kitchen and the Mom was preparing food. This made us feel quite awkward, as we didn't wanna disturb them and the kitchen only offered seating for maybe 7 people. If this doesn't bother you then I would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
10.0

My stay at the Kyoto Guest house was pleasant. The owner runs it with her husband, and they are very generous people. I remember my last day the owner let me stay with all my stuff until the rain calmed down because I was waiting for my overnight bus. Stay at this hostel if you want a pleasant place to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

It is the best Hostel I have stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
7.1

This hostel is good, the staff are friendly & helpful. Pin pad access in the evening is good & value for money isn't too bad. However, the facilities are terrible for the number of people they accommodate here - only 2 showers, both on the 1st floor, which is a bit inconvenient when you are on the 3rd floor. I waited for 20 minutes to have a shower before giving up. The directions to get here also aren't the best - look on google before you try to get here. Overall, good but not great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Dec 2015
8.9

Good and clean hostel with all the basic facilities that you need. Well equipped kitchen, clean showers and good bedding. The location is quite good and the bike hire is cheap. We were given a good orientation by the manager of the hostel and facilities. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Dec 2015
4.9

the hostel is too expensive and not value for money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your opinion is not very impartial. Our room charge is the average compare with other guest houses near Kyoto station. You can easily confirm the room charge list of all hostels over the Internet. If you stay in a hotel or ryokan (Japanese-style inn), you have to pay more than 10,000 JPY for one night at the least on the date you requested the room.

  • Sherwin
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Dec 2015
9.7

Very clean and with complete facilities. I like the atmosphere and the place is so quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.