Hostelworld.com

Guest House Kyoto

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Guest House Kyoto Located at 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku, , Kyoto.
Guest House Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 600-8265 401-1 Teppo-cho, Shimogyo-ku,
83% 468
34.9882070 135.7499778
Guest House Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

approx 15 minute walk from the main train station and 50 minute walk from the downtown area with all the bars/clubs (might want to take a subway there). The owner was nice and spoke pretty decent english. He keeps the place nice and clean. It was the only hostel I was in where my room didnt smell like feet. As far as the security goes, the mixed dorms don't have locks, but small lockers are available for valuables. Best part was an amazing katsu place across the street. Overall, nice experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2016
9.7

This hostel was really clean and enjoyable. Rooms were great with really warm blankets. The host was great, answering all of our questions and even helping us book the hostel at our next destination (our next hostel host did not speak English). I would definitely book this place again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
8.0

Perfectly clean and safe. Location is about a 10-15 minute walk from Kyoto station. No real common area to hang out in. The owner has a dog, which he keeps chained upstairs on the patio virtually all day and night. The owner said that keeping your dog outside is the common practice in Japan, but I am dubious. The dog seemed cold and lonely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
9.4

V friendly owner - he printed info for us to help us get to a restaurant. Clean room. Washing machine only 200¥ - drying area on roof. No common room but there's seating & a dog on roof too! Microwave in kitchen. Fridge/freezer, free tea/coffee in hall. Quiet location 15min walk to Kyoto train station. Kyoto aquarium/convenience store/bus stop around the corner but buses are v busy. Tonkatsu restaurant opp. open 11:30-8 only 650¥. No safe, bed not the comfiest. Showers on 1 flr only.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
7.1

Somewhat lacking in character and overpriced. The owner spoke good English but was not very welcoming. Free tea and coffee which was welcoming. Clean rooms. You have to put a deposit down for a key to lock your door (you are not automatically given one), which shows a lack of trust. Otherwise fairly clinical hostel without much character

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

I chose Guest House Kyoto because of its affordability, but I was very impressed by it. It was very clean with several amenities for light travelers like myself. The area is quiet, and about a 10-15 minute walk from Kyoto Station, but it's located near a nice park with attractions such as the Kyoto Railway Museum and the Kyoto Aquarium. A few of Kyoto's most famous shrines are within walking distance as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I had a lovely stay here while in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.3

It's OK, but the best is a small local restaurant in front of hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Quite good value for money, nice and clean, but quite basic and not a lot of common areas. But fine for a night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.9

Staff is very serious about the cleanliness and helpful. Good facilities. A bit distance from the station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.4

Great location and very clean! However: the common room is also the owners own kitchen and has restricted times for visitors. We stayed 2 nights and on both nights the owners daughter (I presume) was doing her homework in the kitchen and the Mom was preparing food. This made us feel quite awkward, as we didn't wanna disturb them and the kitchen only offered seating for maybe 7 people. If this doesn't bother you then I would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.