Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach Located at 1515 Discovery Street, Vancouver, Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach
Canada
Vancouver BC 1515 Discovery Street, Vancouver
77% 393
49.2728028 -123.2032370
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

WiFi works only in one small area. The place looks shabby and kitchen and bathroom are dirty Staff is extremely helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.1

Best hostel I've staid at in Vancouver. Staff were excellent, compared to other places. Although it's a couple busses to get to downtown, the ride pays off. 2 minutes from beautiful Jericho Beach. Excellent views and calm setting. There's a cafe on the lower level for drinks and pub food or breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
10.0

A little far out of the centre, but I liked that as it kind of made it necessary to see more of the city. It was a really beautiful location right by the beach. Really friendly staff there 24/7 good kitchen equipment and facilities, really liked it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
8.3

Really good hostel but obviously it's far out from downtown van but I prefer this location, wouldn't recommend if you want to be central. Really old building so facilities need updating but no big problems, I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Great guests and staff and culinary crew. My first hostel stay and it will not be the last. I am 62 years old but fit right in with a mixed group of worldly travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.7

This hostel was fabulous! Much better than expected. Location is great and there is so much to do! I would love to return here for an actual vacation as I was not able to take advantage activities that are available. I stayed here for three nights and brought my bike for transportation. I was not worried about my bike being locked up outside, and the location is close enough that it is a nice ride to downtown (which is where I was during most of my visit.) Downside is the noisy dorm doors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
6.3

My main issue is there is no power outlets near your bed. This is unacceptable in 2016

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
6.0

I loved the location, one bus and you are in the city, but otherwise you 200m from the beach and parks. Great! Don't come here if you look for a clean place, it's really not, nor the room nor the bathroom. Don't come here if you like a hostel where the staff actually like to interact with guests rather than looking annoyed by them. The only exception was an Aussie girl, Emma!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.0

HI Jericho is nice, clean, and close to the beach. The staff are very helpful. It is about a 20 minute bus ride or 4 mile walk to downtown Vancouver. They do not provide breakfast. If you're booking through Hostel World, you will not see all of the fees that need to be paid, so expect to spend about $10 more a night with the taxes and fees included. The 14 person rooms are a bit noisy. Overall feels a bit overpriced for a hostel because it is so bare-bones and inconveniently located.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.3

Really nice place to stay in a safe environment with locks on the doors to the rooms, where you keep your items. Very annoying that Hostelworld advertises a fake price of 30.6 $ pr night pr person, where the price in reality is 38.6 $ (if you don't have HI membership), because of taxes that Hostelworld already wrote was included and the apparently needed membership, which wasn't stated on Hostelworld. I had already paid the deposit, when the true price was stated, which left me infuriated.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.