Hostelworld.com

HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach Located at 1515 Discovery Street, Vancouver, Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach
Canada
Vancouver BC 1515 Discovery Street, Vancouver
82% 320
49.2728028 -123.2032370
HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2015
9.7

very friendly helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2015
8.0

Great stay, very helpful and accommodating staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2015
8.9

Stayed in the "18 bed mixed dorm" - the bunks were partitioned which gave them a great deal of privacy which was nice. Hostel is walking distance to Jericho beach and Spanish banks beach which are beautiful. Downtown is quite far, but can be reached by bus. Main problem with the facilities were the showers (not very clean, lack of pressure), however overall it was a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2015
8.6

Unclean kitchen. Guests didn't cleanup after themselves and no one was available to keep the kitchen clean. Very unsanitary.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2015
8.3

Interesting that they charged me up to 10 more per night than they had told me in my confirmation email. Which added over fifty bucks to the total. Fortunately I showed them the original email, and the girl was very nice about resolving it, though it took a few days. Makes me wonder if the system does that routinely and just hope you don't notice. But kudos for refunding me the money and altogether a pleasant stay. One day the whole room smelled strongly of homeless person, not sure why.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Aug 2015
9.1

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel, its a bit further out of the city but there's a bus that takes you straight through Kitsilano and into Downtown. They also run a pretty good pub crawl to Kitsilano, cheap beers at the first place so take full advantage there, second place a little more expensive and then i recommend avoiding the last venue as it has a cover charge. The only bad things were the high price (which is cheaper than everywhere else), and a rude traveller (no fault of the hostel).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2015
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. Staff was friendly, dorms were spacious and the kitchten was big and well equipped. The hostel is located next to the Jericho Beach, from where you can easily walk to the Spanish Banks. Perfect if you just want to relax or get over your jetlag, as I did. Downtown is a bit further away, but easily accessible by bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2015
7.4

The front desk staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2015
8.6

The location on Jericho beach was beautiful and I enjoyed being slightly outside of the city. I would stay here again but would love to bring my bike to bike into the city. Regardless it was easy to get where we wanted to go by bus and taxi. The hostel itself was clean and basic. I did feel slightly uncomfortable going to and from the bathroom/shower in the AM when several guests were upstairs in the seating area waiting to check in (I assume). Just felt a little awkward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your comments and feedback. The shared spaces upstairs are for guests who have already checked in and tend to have better wifi signal. Bringing your bike is a great way to get around the city, and in case you don't end up bringing it next time, we have rentals here at the hostel. Cheers, Stephen - Manager

  • stephd82605
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2015
8.3

The hostel was a decent trek to get downtown or to any kind of night life, but it was so close to the beach that it made up for it. The room was good, but the doors are so loud! Bring ear plugs and you will probably have a great stay! The collection of guests was a bit odd, lots of older people. Not a party hostel, but a great budget friendly choice for a weekend away. The staff were the best part for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. Yes, we are a bit of a journey to get downtown, but the beach and the neighborhood of Kitsilano tend to compensate for that. Of course, we agree that our staff are the best part! Stephen - Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.