X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hangzhou International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.101-3 Nanshan Road, Hangzhou, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
807 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This hostel was fantastic - except for our room. We loved the location, the staff, the restaurant/bar arean, but our twin en-suite room was so damp and mouldy that it was unpleasant to be in. One whole corner was covered with damp and it was hard to breathe properly because of the damp smelling air. A real shame, because otherwise the hostel is great.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel


86%

Bonne hotel pas cher bien localise, toilette et douche hors chambre, cuisine communautaire avec un refrigerateur.


74%

Great Location, rooms very basic and in a bad condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91%

Great location right next to the lake. Also has a really nice bar, though avoid the 'American' breakfast. Staff were friendly but a little slow, it took about half an hour to check in. Really nice cosy room (single) with good air conditioning.


80%

Room was clean. But TV was not working. Since I was travelling alone, I`ve found it not super good thing. Also unfortunately was too loud in the room because of sounds coming from the street. Also place of airconditioner in the room was not super - right infront of the bed. I was not able to use it during night because was afraid to get cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

80%

A decent and inexpensive hostel located so close to West Lake, and other attractions like HefangStreet. Stayed in a twin private ensuite, it was no frills, but clean and comfortable. The staff were okay, mostly helpful, although I should add that those on the day shift seemed more helpful. The staff in the evening shift were hardly helpful with their bored looks and monosymbolic responses to our queries about various attractions.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

83%

I had a single room which was really small with a huge window facing the hallway near the stairs..... I go to bed late - so people coming up the stairs didn't bother me, but the light in the hall outside the window was on all night. Not good. Bath towels were really old and sheets sort of dingy. Good pizza in restaurant - nice atmosphere. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

94%

It was a great experience there, staff speak english!!! Its very difficult find someone there who speak english

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

89%

Hope Staff can have more smiles....^_^ Good Day....

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

83%

The hostel is in a great location and the building is great. The stuff didn't had much knowledge, and couldn't help us with much information about attraction and transportation.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

63%

The staff was very poor service!!! The first day we supposed to stay in mix dorm, but they changed our booking to be male and female dorm, and told us we don't have mix dorm...!? So, if don't have how we booked it via internet! Finally, we got the mix dorm room after waiting for 30mins. Anyway, I never had this experience in hostel around the world. I can say if you come to stay here, please don't expect the service and cleanliness, it will make you disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and do better!

94%

Friendly and helpful staff, great cafe, and a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91%

위치, 시설 등 훌륭하고 방도 다른 호스텔들보다 크고 좋으나 직원들이 허둥대는 모습이 보였습니다.


83%

The double rooms are wonderful, but the shared rooms are just ok. They are dark and small, but the common zone is comfortable and cosy. The food there was tasty.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

89%

The bed was very, very comfortable, and the room I stayed at had WiFi. A TV with many Chinese-speaking channels and CCTV channel in English, French, Spanish, Russian, and other languages were great to have. The location is in a very secure, great area. The room itself was small, and you could hear people talking from outside the window. Nonetheless, it was good for the money's worth, especially since it's litteraly right there at West Lake, where it's gorgeous and quiet. I recommend it.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

51%

I expected more from this place. I think I got the worst room in the hostel. Also the whole hostel it is not clean. Staff are not helpful, and they might give you useless information or even not correct one. The restoration that they have as a part of the hostel, works completely independent from the hostel and might be a good place for Chines to get a feeling on the food in the rest of the world. But for us coming to Chine, I think it is absolutely not interesting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for your inconvenience, we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

97%

Great location, next to the West Lake and near the free public bicycles, bus stop, Metro and restaurants. Our twin-bed room and the attached bathroom was spacious and clean. Good self-service kitchen, but no wifi in room. Staff was really friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant stay here. The direction to hostel should add the Chinese address to show the taxi driver. Metro stop is only 1km away, but little escalator so If you have lot of luggage, taxi or bus to hostel is recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support. We will now send greetings letter mail to the guests, e-mail address will be detailed route in Chinese^^

100%

Really clean and great hostel. They were extremely helpful even when there was a problem with our booking. Fantastic staff and fantastic place to stay. It's near town as well as the lake.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

71%

In general i am okay woth my stay-- the staff are helpful and the location is superb. Yet wifi isnt easily accessed though it claimed wifi in the dorms. Only three bathrooms on a floor-- but the warm water is sufficiently supplied. A bit dark in the corridor but it is fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your suggestion.

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Hangzhou Hostels

Please give us your feedback