Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hekerua Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 90 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 90 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
Hekerua Lodge Located at 11 Hekerua Road, , Waiheke Island.
Hekerua Lodge
New Zealand
Waiheke Island 1081 11 Hekerua Road
76% 90
-36.7863463 175.0229036
Hekerua Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jun 2016
8.9

The hostel location isn't brilliant for town-conveniency but this is because the hostel is surrounded by nature. The staff often offered lifts into the town which was only a 5-minute drive. There is free unlimited wifi which is fast! And pool + spa on site! Atmosphere was amazing. Really felt like I was at home, everyone there was cool and made my stay great. Definitely would stay here again if I return to Waiheke and will defo recommend to friends and people I meet. Thanks for the experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
3.4

Hostel with the right location to be a paradise but the stuff was terrible! Partiets until late late night and noise from 8in the morning. Smoke smell in all rums and it alcohol smell too! Really bad, like a bad home party that had gone to long! Really small kitchen!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.9

Good facilities and large communal area, nice walk through the woods to the main road to the town and bus stop although not so easy to get to later at night, recommend taking a taxi if on your own.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Mar 2016
9.1

This is a really beautiful hostel - not only the location, but also the buildings themselves. There was even a pool. The atmohsphere was really positive and staff was very friendly. During my stay there was even a delicious barbeque for everyone for only 10$ per person. I also found it very clean, and the kitchen area was lovely.They are very big on saving water though, so be prepared for max. 2minute showers etc. Only minus points would be that the wifi often wasn't working properly (but it w

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
7.1

Septic tank was very smelly and tap water was cloudy and dirty - no one seemed sure if it was safe for drinking. Staff very kindly provided me with a bath towel though as I didn't have one, and rooms were clean and comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
9.1

I stayed with two other friends here and we adored it! It is a cozy, small hostel decorated with so much love! The staff was very nice and relaxed. Location was awesome, it was right in nature and not too far from Oneora, but still quite a walk (which was totally okay). We enjoyed it and we would sty there again!:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
9.4

I just wished I was still as young as most of the others staying here. A really cool place. In its own grounds in a forest a short walk from Little Onerua Beach. With a pool, hot tub, covered verandah with plenty of tables, perfect. Even yoga classes in the garden! I would have stayed longer if I could have.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2016
6.9

Only two showers/toilets for all the people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Feb 2016
7.1

Nice hostel in good location. A little ridiculous to ask all guest to take off their shoes though, as the floor especially in the kitchen was not at all clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
7.7

Good hostel.....would recommend they put dampers on the shared bathroom doors beside the dorm rooms to prevent them from slamming. Good quality mountain bikes for hire.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.