X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hekerua Lodge Reviews

11 Hekerua Road, Waiheke Island, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Great place, awesome pool and hot tub; very good for cooling off in the heat! The bush path led right to the bus stop on Ocean View Road, so that was very convenient. The showers were constantly grimy and the bath mats were always soaked. There are a LOT of mosquitos, so be sure to bring some bug spray. Good distance to Oneroa and both Oneroa Beach and Little Oneroa Beach. The WiFi was a bit dodgy at times, but when it worked, it worked well. Great place!


80%

Good location, hotel clean and friendly, a bit isolated but that s what we all looking for whzn we come in Waiheke. The Hekerua provides unlimited Wi fi which is very appreciable. Nevertheless, the rooms are poorly furnished in security (lockers, locked boxes, windows and doors always opened), this is quite scary when you are carrying all your travel life with you. Beds a inch too short for tall peoples.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel! Pool, hot tub, big kitchen, communal area, volleyball court, BBQ, and great staff makes this a lovely place to stay. Travelled all over the world and this hostel is up there with the best of them.


94%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've been so far, very peaceful place, friendly and open-minded staff, always party and fun. Sometimes because of this it was a little dirty, but all in all, felt really well and would always come back


63%

The hostel itself is great , very new furnitures and lovely rooms. The location is also great. The staff is lazy and does not clean up regularly. The kitchen was really dirty because the staff prefers partying at the beach rather than working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, On that day, we decided to close the office earlier and take all our guests to the beach since the weather was incredibly beautiful. We offered free BBQ, chance to try paddle-boarding and have good time. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't join us. Sometimes we have guests who do not respect the other guests and they leave dirty dishes and mess behind after cooking if we are not there asking politely to clean after the cooking. Unfortunately that day we had such guests. In Hekerua Lodge, we value cleanliness and good atmosphere.

89%

A bit difficult to access if you travel with lots of gear 🙈 but you can get a taxi from the ferry for around $15. Room of 4 was really small but everyone was well organised so all good. Except from that good hostel with a great atmosphere. Great communal areas where you can't not socialise. 👍🏻 Wish I could have stayed longer!


100%

Had a great time at Hekerua lodge, friendly, clean and great fun. Would recommend to anyone going to Waiheke to stay here. Good facilities, friendly staff and the rooms were spacious and clean. Free wifi is always a bonus also free tea and coffee. Nice pool and hot tub too.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

After five minutes here I already felt like family. The welcoming and cleaning staff were friendly and truly cared about the quality of the hostel and each person's experience there. Tina and Johanna in the office were very approachable with any questions or recommendations. I ended up staying at Hekerua longer than I intended and wish I could have stayed even longer. The Monday night community dinners are not to be missed. Any backpacker coming to Waiheke will find a home at Hekerua.

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Waiheke Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback