Hostelworld.com

Hostal El Arbol

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Hostal El Arbol Located at Calle Eduardo de la Barra # 29, , La Serena.
Hostal El Arbol
Chile
La Serena 1700000 Calle Eduardo de la Barra # 29
92% 515
-29.9048183 -71.2549853
Hostal El Arbol
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th May 2016
9.7

A lovely end to a horrible Turbus trip (I'm not sure what all the fuss is about the smelly, rude staff and unreliable Turbus! I was asked to leave my VIP and paid for seat, for a smelly semi-cama bus in the middle of the night with no explanation apart from "sorry"!). Great and cosy garden for my second Autumn. The cleaning lady never stopped cleaning and Victoria couldn't be any more helpful. Do stay here. Ensuite toilet? Not so sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Great place. Nice breakfasts with fresh fruit juice. Comfortable beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful. WiFi pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay here because it was so homely and clean with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms! It was so quiet when I was here which was a bit of a luxury but was a bit lonely at times! Didn't have a buzz about it due to this, it is out of season, but a lovely place to spend a few days and I would definitely go back. Breakfast excellent and wifi good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, great location, great breakfast, comfortable bed - do recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.7

Hostal El Arbol is a cute little hostel. The stand out feature for me was the staff. They were extremely helpful in planning tours and often offered cheaper options for how you could explore on your own. I had a unique situation where one of the dogs on the street bit me and the staff was extremely caring and helpful. They treated me like their daughter. It was a great experience, despite the dog bite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.4

Really cosy, small hostel with a nice atmosphere for breakfast And dinner times. Located near the town centre, buses to Humbolt, Elqui valley and supermarket! TV room to chill in was lovely. 8 bed dorm felt more like a 4 bed. Kitchen bit small but ok because not too many guests. Nice outdoor seating area too. Lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Staff are friendly and helpful, the woman who cooks breakfast in the mornings is utterly adorable and the breakfast is so good. Good location, good wifi, clean and nice rooms. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.3

As others have mentioned, one of the biggest advantages of this hostel is the sumptuous breakfast laid on for the guests; it's a really nice surprise! The staff are also great and there's a nice, relaxed feel to the place. Despite the rather cramped dorms and bathrooms (tip: there's a much bigger bathroom upstairs), I would recommend a stay at the el Arbol downtown: it's also well-situated halfway between the bus station and the downtown area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Really nice, small hostel halfway between the centre and the beach. Absolutely nothing wrong with it but probably lacks the 'extra' facilities that other top 9+/10 hostels have. The breakfast as others have mentioned is a welcome change to the typical bread/jam combo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • williamtaylor1990
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
25th Mar 2016
10.0

If you are coming to la Serena stay here. Great location. Rooms were super clean. Jaunita makes the best breakfast and kept the whole hostel spotless. We had views of the Japanese garden from our room. By far the best hostel we have had in a long time. Close to shops and they sorted all our tours out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.