Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal El Arbol

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
10.0

I had an overall great experience here. It was a clean hostel with very nice and genuine staff that were very helpful and planning trips and things to do in La Serena. Would recommend this hostel to anyone all the way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
10.0

I had a great stay! The staff was very helpful and kind, and the hostel is really close to downtown and the plaza de armas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
8.3

The hostel was so old at night! We asked the guy at the front desk to light the wood burning stove and heat the house but he said there were no small branches so he couldnt. Then he left to go party at the other hostel at the beach! There was no set curfew and my bed was in the dorm room right next to the common room;people stayed up until midnight making lots of noise until I went out and told them to please leave the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • clo1009489
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.7

The Hostal El Arbol is a house transformed into a Hostal which make it feeling like at a friend's place. The staff was really taking care about us feeling good. I was sad to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

The hostel was pretty nice and breakfast was great. It was convenient and neat the bus stop, downtown, and a huge supermarket. The only negatives are that there isn't too much space to hang out in (but there is some!), and the space between bottom and top bunks was scary- about a foot! I had to shimmy to get into my bottom bunk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
9.4

This is a family house that has been converted, and that's how it feels. Really clean and decorated nicely. Friendly staff, hot showers and a decent kitchen. Lockers in the room, but very little room for bags and being able to move. No plugs near the top bunks. A really lovely place to stay though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.4

very nice small hostal, very clean. Extremely friendly stuff who helped us a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Situated between the bus station and the center of the town, it's a small building in a quiet street near the Panamericana. Dorms and the kitchen are little. Staff is very good. You can leave the luggage after the checkout but you can't use kitchen and shower, I suggest to give the opportunity to use this services for a little sum of money, as it's possible to have a good breakfast if you arrive early for 2500 pesos

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is run by an all-women team. Very caring! I have to leave one morning at 6 something; the hostel normally serves breakfast at 7. The owner made arrangement to have a worker came in to prepare the breakfast for me at 6 something. She did it with a smile. I was impressed. A very rare find. 10++ in my book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

Pros: lovely garden, nice staff, close to a supermarket, close to buses that go to Pisco Elqui and the rest of the valley, close to the Plaza de Armas, upstairs bathroom/shower is fairly spacious. Cons: A spring in my mattress poking into me. Bunk beds make a LOT of noise. The kitchen is TINY. Like one-to-two people in there at a time, maximum. Fridge is small. 25 minute walk to lighthouse/beach. No outlets for top bunks, just bottom ones. TINY bathroom downstairs. Smokers ruin garden area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.