Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal El Arbol

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Mar 2017
9.1

The hostel was pretty nice and breakfast was great. It was convenient and neat the bus stop, downtown, and a huge supermarket. The only negatives are that there isn't too much space to hang out in (but there is some!), and the space between bottom and top bunks was scary- about a foot! I had to shimmy to get into my bottom bunk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
9.4

This is a family house that has been converted, and that's how it feels. Really clean and decorated nicely. Friendly staff, hot showers and a decent kitchen. Lockers in the room, but very little room for bags and being able to move. No plugs near the top bunks. A really lovely place to stay though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.4

very nice small hostal, very clean. Extremely friendly stuff who helped us a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Situated between the bus station and the center of the town, it's a small building in a quiet street near the Panamericana. Dorms and the kitchen are little. Staff is very good. You can leave the luggage after the checkout but you can't use kitchen and shower, I suggest to give the opportunity to use this services for a little sum of money, as it's possible to have a good breakfast if you arrive early for 2500 pesos

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is run by an all-women team. Very caring! I have to leave one morning at 6 something; the hostel normally serves breakfast at 7. The owner made arrangement to have a worker came in to prepare the breakfast for me at 6 something. She did it with a smile. I was impressed. A very rare find. 10++ in my book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

Pros: lovely garden, nice staff, close to a supermarket, close to buses that go to Pisco Elqui and the rest of the valley, close to the Plaza de Armas, upstairs bathroom/shower is fairly spacious. Cons: A spring in my mattress poking into me. Bunk beds make a LOT of noise. The kitchen is TINY. Like one-to-two people in there at a time, maximum. Fridge is small. 25 minute walk to lighthouse/beach. No outlets for top bunks, just bottom ones. TINY bathroom downstairs. Smokers ruin garden area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.9

I liked the staff and location but everything was cramped. The dining room was small so if everyone wanted to eat at a similar time you'd have to wait for someone else to leave. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm. There were 12 lockers but each individual locker was tiny and right in the door way of the room, so you'd always be in the way. There was no where to put your back pack because of the size of the room. The bathroom was clean and the beds comfortable. The kitchen was clean but again small!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel in perfect location. Situated within walking distance of main square, the beach, mall with supermarket/cinema etc. Good breakfast and clean and spacious rooms. Two slight criticisms are that with it being quite a small building it gets a little noisy in the mornings and secondly do not ask the hostel for bike rentals details. We were given details for what turned out just to be a guy renting out his two sons bikes and they are in very poor condition. Find your own in town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
9.7

Would (and did) go back. The ladies who run this place are amazing. Juanita was so kind and welcoming, I felt like her long lost daughter. The hostel is super clean, the breakfast is great (whole wheat bread! Sometimes even eggs!), really good wifi, and the sheets! I didn't realize how much I missed soft sheets. Cozy living room and nice little patio. Close to Plaza de Armas but far enough that it's very quiet. A great place to relax and recharge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pteo842656
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Dec 2016
6.6

Having stayed in the "party hostel" passing through La Serena the 1st time, I can say that this hostel did not compare. I prebooked both options as I thought I would prefer a sensible hostel where poss. But it was louder! Avoid the dorm room in the main building - its between kitchen and indoor social area; and very loud. Cleaner did her thing prior to checkout time while we tried to sleep. Felt the springs in the bed. Bathroom so tiny I had to put one foot in the shower. Wow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.