Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule Located at 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
Japan
Tokyo 111-0043 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku
72% 891
35.7103412 139.7971844
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Quaint, old school style capsule hotel. The capsules themselves are pretty dated, though they come with modern flatscreen TVs. Pluses include: Nice location in Asakusa, clean, wifi actually works, cool lounge. Minuses: Japanese style communal bath and showers could be strange for newcomers to Japan. Though they have a private shower available. The interior itself is a bit dingey. But, I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
4.3

I would not stay here again. Some staff are nice, some are very rude. Everything is a ancient and smelly. It seems like a place where men crash for the night. Not a holiday/traveler environment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
3.7

Absolutely atrocious. The woman at the front desk confiscated my violin because I was late to check out and the police had to get involved. Nasty person.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
8.3

Staff have limited English, but are friendly and helpful - offering umbrellas when raining, adapters for power, tickets for events. Wifi is very good. Microwave and fridge available. Toilet floor needs scrubbing occasionally - filth builds up. Capsules are functional and good value. Location close to metro and local attractions. Best value in Tokyo. Prudish american boys lock the public bath door. Smoke drifts in to dorm from smoking area sometimes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.7

In Tokyo standard a cheap option and in good location next to river, sight seen spot and metro. Easy to find from the airport. If one likes kind of a 70s style capsule with hot shower - good place. If one is looking to meet people and party - maybe somewhere else is better place. Over all I stayed there 4 nights (2+2) and it was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
7.4

You're paying for the location--easily the best of any hostel in Tokyo. The place is on top of the metro, it's extremely convenient. Besides that, the place is moderately clean and had just OK facilities. Staff speaks only very basic English and is not very friendly--don't expect to be able to ask for advice or travel tips. Comfortable beds, and staying in a capsule hotel is a must-do for Tokyo. Good for 1-2 nights, but anything more than that might be too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Good place. Great location. A stone's throw away from a major metro station and from restaurants, shops, bars and a nice temple. Only point that left me confused and somewhat frustrated is the staff. I love hostels with awesome friendly polite staff and I can manage staying in a place with neutral, dull staff but this place was one of a kind in the fact that out of 4 staff members I met, two of them were lovely (deserving a 10/10 score) but the two others were kinda rude (seriously, like 2/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
7.1

Stayed for a little over a week! The best thing with this place is the price and the location! Paid 1900 yen on weekdays and 2200 on weekends (Friday/Saturday). I couldn't find a bed for cheaper in Tokyo. The location is literally 1 minute from the metro line, which is amazing! And Asakusa is quite a nice place and well connected to the rest of Tokyo by metro! Most people stay here for a night so it's not social and if you want to connect with other travellers this is not your spot at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
4.0

Pretty awful place. Obviously this is a budget hostel but it's still easy to get the basics right for this price, which this place does not. Really dirty and the staff were the only rude Japanese I met in japan!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2016
8.3

You will get what you paid for. For some reason sleeping room was smelt like sweat, but my capsule did not. This was biggest issue. A lot of people there complaining about cleanliness, but furniture is just old, not dirty. Staff tries to speak English, but if you speak just little bit Japanese, everything is much easier. Capsule are really old school, so you can try 80's Tokyo. Capsule ladder is on left side and since you climb up, surprise! There is TV. So climbing can be little bit hard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.