Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule Located at 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
Japan
Tokyo 111-0043 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku
72% 882
35.7103412 139.7971844
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Good place. Great location. A stone's throw away from a major metro station and from restaurants, shops, bars and a nice temple. Only point that left me confused and somewhat frustrated is the staff. I love hostels with awesome friendly polite staff and I can manage staying in a place with neutral, dull staff but this place was one of a kind in the fact that out of 4 staff members I met, two of them were lovely (deserving a 10/10 score) but the two others were kinda rude (seriously, like 2/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
7.1

Stayed for a little over a week! The best thing with this place is the price and the location! Paid 1900 yen on weekdays and 2200 on weekends (Friday/Saturday). I couldn't find a bed for cheaper in Tokyo. The location is literally 1 minute from the metro line, which is amazing! And Asakusa is quite a nice place and well connected to the rest of Tokyo by metro! Most people stay here for a night so it's not social and if you want to connect with other travellers this is not your spot at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
4.0

Pretty awful place. Obviously this is a budget hostel but it's still easy to get the basics right for this price, which this place does not. Really dirty and the staff were the only rude Japanese I met in japan!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th May 2016
8.3

You will get what you paid for. For some reason sleeping room was smelt like sweat, but my capsule did not. This was biggest issue. A lot of people there complaining about cleanliness, but furniture is just old, not dirty. Staff tries to speak English, but if you speak just little bit Japanese, everything is much easier. Capsule are really old school, so you can try 80's Tokyo. Capsule ladder is on left side and since you climb up, surprise! There is TV. So climbing can be little bit hard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jamesmarkey1020
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2016
10.0

Fun experience. Wouldn't stay much longer than a couple of nights but a stay in a capsule has to be done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.6

You get what you pay for. If you're looking for a centrally located place to crash for a few hours a night and lockup a backpack - this is the spot. The no-smoking is loosely enforced, but that's not an invitation for you to smoke, just a heads up. The staff knows little English, but very friendly Tips: when you leave the hotel, leave your locker key at the desk. Shower super late or super early. Ask for a lower bunk if you're not limber.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

I think some of the reviews for this place are a little harsh... The building's kind of old and there's no real attempt to create atmosphere. But the place is clean, well-located, and about as cheap as it's possible to find in Tokyo. Plus, there's a cute little common area with free tea and coffee. The staff are friendly, but pretty inflexible (they absolutely won't let you keep bags in the hostel after check-out (10am)).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2016
5.1

It's an acceptable place to stay for a night but don't bother for a longer stay. You have to leave your key at the front desk every time you go out, very annoying. The top bed was difficult to get into - and I'm a good climber. The sheets smelled of sweat from previous guest. The lights keep turning off once a minute in the common room, and in the shower the water only runs for 10 seconds before you have to push a button again. On a plus side, they did give me a free umbrella when I left.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
6.0

Nothing much about this place, a crampy capsule bed, the common area is so limited.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2016
7.7

great location, could need more english speaking staff members

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.