Hostelworld.com

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule Located at 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
Japan
Tokyo 111-0043 2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku
71% 873
35.7103412 139.7971844
Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2016
8.6

You get what you pay for. If you're looking for a centrally located place to crash for a few hours a night and lockup a backpack - this is the spot. The no-smoking is loosely enforced, but that's not an invitation for you to smoke, just a heads up. The staff knows little English, but very friendly Tips: when you leave the hotel, leave your locker key at the desk. Shower super late or super early. Ask for a lower bunk if you're not limber.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

I think some of the reviews for this place are a little harsh... The building's kind of old and there's no real attempt to create atmosphere. But the place is clean, well-located, and about as cheap as it's possible to find in Tokyo. Plus, there's a cute little common area with free tea and coffee. The staff are friendly, but pretty inflexible (they absolutely won't let you keep bags in the hostel after check-out (10am)).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
5.1

It's an acceptable place to stay for a night but don't bother for a longer stay. You have to leave your key at the front desk every time you go out, very annoying. The top bed was difficult to get into - and I'm a good climber. The sheets smelled of sweat from previous guest. The lights keep turning off once a minute in the common room, and in the shower the water only runs for 10 seconds before you have to push a button again. On a plus side, they did give me a free umbrella when I left.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
6.0

Nothing much about this place, a crampy capsule bed, the common area is so limited.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2016
7.7

great location, could need more english speaking staff members

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Mar 2016
6.3

AC was broke and it's hot inside the capsules. No plug inside capsule besides the TV plug. Dirty toilet and only 1 shower room and 1 public bath.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
8.3

I took a capsule which was kinda fun (there's a TV, light and phone in what is essentially a glorified bunk-bed ;)) The place is well-worn but clean; the common room is quirky ("backpacker-y") - there was hot water to make noodles etc, dishes and cutlery, books to read, a big TV and free coffee (and tea, I think)... also free wifi :))) The night guy was very friendly and helpful and the little Japanese ladies on during the day were a bit grumpy but AUTHENTIC ;) Hipsters will love it ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.6

I'm not picky- This place was exactly what I needed once I arrived- a quick and easy place to stay. In my opinion, people who stay at capsule hotels for the novelty are probably not going to enjoy it. however, my bed was comfortable enough, the showers were accessible, the facilities clean, and the front desk people were kind enough. I'd stay here again in a pinch-

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
4.9

I stayed three nights, and it was definitely the shabbiest hostel I've been to in Japan.The walls were basically just insulation, and the only outlet was hanging out of a hole in the wall, and was used for the TV. It also stopped working during my last night there. The shower was shared onsen style, so no privacy. Check in is entirely paper-based, so it takes a while. It wasn't a horrible experience, but there are other hostels at the same price with way better facilities and atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jolumarroquin
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Mar 2016
5.4

If you are planning to stay more than a day avoid this place. The building is old and smells bad but it's localed and a very good spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.