X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ideal Youth Hostel Reviews

C/Unio No. 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1462 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The location of ideal youth hostel is great!! We just spent 3 days in the city, so it was great that we didn't have to spend time getting to the center (because we were already there!) The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and nice. The locks for the lockers have to be bought (1 Euro)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for money, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Zuzanna, Thank you for your coment. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona! Many greetins from Ideal Youth Hostel

100%

Amazing hostels with great atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff. Th hostel as well offers a great location with seconds of La Rambas. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Monika, we are very happy about your comment, thank you very much!!! We hope to see you again for spending our time together. Best regards from Barcelona!

86%

Good value for money, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zuzanna, We are very happy about your comment, thank you very much! We hope to see you soon in Barcelona! Best wishes from the staff of Ideal Youth Hostel!

100%

Nothing else to say about the place, but amazing atmosphere: great people, good service and a very nice group of guides and programs, provided by the hotel. Marcos and his team really made our trip special with the very social dinners every night and the tours. Just loved and totally recommend!

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fernanda! thank you for your nice comment that´s very kind of you, we are very happy you enjoy your stay. We hope you will come soon and shared with us your experience. Best wishes from Barcelona!

74%

Was good value for money and a good location. Negatives were that the bed squeaked every move you made and was very uncomfortable. and at around 6pm if your in the common area, where the only Internet is, you get hounded to have their dinner which isn't ready until 9pm and to go out clubbing with them after. It's alright value for money but you do get over being asked to have their dinner and being implied that all you ever have for dinner is KFC and mcds every night you stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sean, thank you for your comment, it's very important for us to know the point of view of our guests in order to improve our services! The activities proposed by our animator for our guests are optional. We hope to see you again in Ideal Youth Hostel for a better stay! Best regards from Barcelona!

31%

I have been to many hostels in different countries but I have never seen such a dirty one. Our food and beer was stolen from the fridge. The ideal place for your nightmares to come true

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Odett, we are very surprised about your comment, we take it in consideration to improve our services.Our cleaning staff cleans every day. We can assure you that our receptionists always do all their best to make your stay more comfortable (like changing your room if your roommates are disturbing you). In the shared areas we have security cameras and we trust the good use made by customers of such areas,we provide labels to identify products in the fridge. Best regards from Barcelona

91%

It's a nice place to stay. The location is very convenient. The worker of the hotel is very nice.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! We are very happy about your comment thank you very much! We hope you will come back soon!! Best wishes from Barcelona!!

94%

I stayed at Ideal Youth Hostel for 4 nights and was very pleased with the hostel. It is in a great location, a side street right in the middle of Las Ramblas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was as clean as you expect a hostel to be and there was dinner available as well as breakfast. There were individual lockers in the room I stayed in though not really enough power outlets. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alicia, thank you for choosing Ideal Youth Hostel. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for remarking our staff who does everything they can in order to make you feel like home. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona again! Receive our best regards.

100%

There was a great vibe in this hostel, very youthful and the staff were all very friendly. The location was also excellent.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachael, Thank you very much for your comment!. We are very happy you enjoy your stay and we hope you will come back soon at Ideal Hostel. Best regards from Barcelona!

100%

My friend and me really enjoyed the stay at the Ideal Youth Hostel. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and have perfect size. We really enjoyed the daily/ nightly "Entertainment" program and it was really helpful to get all people from the hostel together and have a good time there. Excellent stay ;-)

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Your rating encourage us to be every day better and offer the best services to our guests.

97%

If u like to feel yourself like in a big family is the thing u really need. Good people, everything is clean a lot of space. As for Marco and his animator team. These people are amazing and will help u with everything u need. They will teach how to cook paella, help with directions and of course will show u the secrets of nightlife of Barcelona. Thank u Marco for showing me around to understand how amazing Barcelona can be. Thank u and hasta pronto...

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your staying in our Youth Hostel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and feel like in a big family with us. Your rating courage us to be every day better and offer the best services to our guests. We hope to see you soon again in Barcelona!

100%

The Staff was very nice... the atmosphere awesome! Every night there is something fun to do :) Excelent hostel !!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tatiana we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

77%

Great location and easy to find, but it is so loud at night, as it is just off of the main street (La Rambla). The room was tiny for 6 people, but there was a balcony which was nice. The room got very hot one evening, even with the doors wide open! The next night it was fine, but very weird, not sure if the air con was working properly (if they even have it - I'm not sure) Be careful of the shared bathroom, as your room key unlocks it even if someone is using it!


86%

Hostel was in a great location on La Rambla. Rooms were pretty standard hostel rooms. Big common area with good wifi. The people there were really cool when I stayed. The rooftop is the best place to hang out if you don't want to head out for the day/night. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jake, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

31%

The worst hostel of my life. During the check in they advise you to buy a locker from themselves for safety. i did so and after three hours my laptop was stolen from the lockers in my room ( in which only who has the keys have access). After the stealing staff did not help at all. Moreover the location is near the ramblas an ONLY touristic venue..

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Manuel, Lockers inside of the room do not guarantee a 100% safety for your stuff, they only work as a wardrobe. That is why we always (as we did with you) recommend to our guests to put their own valued stuff in our own safety box in reception (free of charge). We try to take care of every single need that our guests can have. We assure you that we did everything we could in order to help you. We are located in the centre of Barcelona, right in the heart of Las Ramblas, the centre as you

60%

We stayed here after staying in one of Barcelona's other main hostel chains, and we were very disappointed. The location is great, situated in the heart of the city, and close to the metro, but this and the great staff were really the hostel's only good qualities. The rooms were not very clean, and extremely hot due to not fans/aircon, and the beds were old and dirty. There was little to no atmosphere and the small kitchen was also quite unclean. Great for 1 night but not for any longer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sophia, we are really surprised about your comment. You booked two beds in a ten mixed dorm with shared bathroom but for the same price we gave you an upgrade in a 6 mixed dorm, with private facilities and air conditioning. Our cleaning staff cleans every day and all the staff tries to do everything possible to ensure guests the best stay possible, but certainly in the most busy times we need the cooperation of all customers, too. Many greetings

100%

Great hostel! So much fun! thanks Marco!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marco Aurelio, Thak you for you nice comment.The atmosphere we get is thanks to guests like you. We hope to see you soon in our Hostel in Barcelona. Best regards from Ideal Youth Hostel

100%

Great hostel! They had the amazing idea to offer us a animator team! Amazing nights tours with new differents places every night. Definitely this is a amazing place for make new friends and discover Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marco, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

77%

No problems here other than the rooms being very humid which caused an unpleasant smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ryan, thank you for submitting your opinion, we will take it in consideration, since our guests' necessities are very important for us. We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona, Many greetings!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback