Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ideal Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
Ideal Youth Hostel Located at Calle Unio 12, , Barcelona.
Ideal Youth Hostel
Spain
Barcelona 08001 Calle Unio 12
72% 1706
41.3799643 2.1736621
Ideal Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
5.4

Very loud, tiny bathrooms, no wifi in rooms, staff not very welcoming

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
7.1

The atmosphere was kind of weird like dark and not welcoming and our room was really small and the lockers were tiny(bring your own lock). Not what I was expecting from a Barcelona hostel. I thought it would be lively and such. Plus it smelled; the rooms, the bathroom, the common area. And maybe it was just that area of town but the whole place just smelled like urine and stale cigarettes and mildew. Also The kitchen area wasn't very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.1

Can put only food in the fridge, drinks are not allowed. Strange because there's is only a microwave in the kitchen. No possibility for cooking. Wifi is only at the mainfloor, doesnt work in the room. Location is very good, next to Ramblas. Safety is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.3

No AC in the rooms so was quite hot. Showers were limited - two 'cubicles ' each with 2 showers in. One person would go in and lock it because no one wants to shower with a stranger so there was only 2 showers for a floor of 4 rooms with about 8 people in each room. Otherwise was as good as any hostel I've stayed in before!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
2.9

Nothing included except a bad mattress. The lockers don't close ( I mean all the 8 lockers of the dorm are broken open but still there). The hygiene was awful. All in all it s a crapy bunker with no cosiness at all and almost no space to meet anyone in the middle of la Rambla. We left after two days to change hostel after having paid for 3. And I've been through A LOT of hostels.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Amazing location, strict cleanliness, good facilities, very friendly and truly helpful staff. I don't think you can ask for too much more when you are looking for a place to spend your nights in a city like Barcelona. I was not there to party but to explore the city, and the Ideal Youth Hostel was all I need for that, and more. I arrived way to early for the check in, and the lady in the front desk was particularly nice to me. Only not so good thing? WiFi only in common room. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
2.9

This hostel was terrible. Women beware! First impression walking in was a dozen either young or old men laying in very dirty furniture. The rooms have no air and barely allow space to walk from the door to bunks. Everything was old, worn and dirty, absolutely nothing like any of the images online. Showers were available but the cement floors were covered in dirt, additionally you have to hold the button on the wall to continue having water. No soap is provided anywhere. Overall very grimy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
7.4

I think they need to get new mops to clean coz after every clean it was smelling bad, shower presión was horrible, at the lobby they had couple of leaking, good roof terrace to chill out, it would be perfect if they had a pool or jacuzzi 😁

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2016
5.4

Staff was not helpfull. Location is cool but cleanless is so bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

They should have Air conditioner in all the rooms!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.