Hostelworld.com

Ideal Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
Ideal Youth Hostel Located at Calle Unio 12, , Barcelona.
Ideal Youth Hostel
Spain
Barcelona 08001 Calle Unio 12
74% 1659
41.3799643 2.1736621
Ideal Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
6.0

Overall not too bad. Bathrooms seemed clean enough- although we did see some small cockroaches in there. The rooms were dark and kinda dingy. But we spent barely any time there as we were out and about most of the time. The location is very close to the metro so getting places is easy. As it is right off La Rambla- food is quite expensive. El Raval is a little dirty as well- but we found a nice place for dinner our first night. If you're just looking for somewhere to sleep at night- this is it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2016
7.7

You pay for what you get. Decent hostel, fantastic location! Could have more powerpoints in the dorm rooms (we only had 2 in our 6 bed dorm).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location, great security, and very helpful day time staff (the night staff didn't have the best English). Would definitely recommend! Good atmosphere but I wouldn't describe it as a party hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jun 2016
7.7

The staff were super helpful and nice! Prime location. Only down fall is the wifi, but being on vacation wifi in the room I sleep is not a priority!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dranupamkhandelwal
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
5.4

1. No ventilation in the dormitories 2. no power sockets at each bed . only one power socket in a 6 bed dormitory. 3. lockers in poor condition

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
4.6

Generally bad vibes from the stay. Did not feel clean, especially the bathrooms. The hallways and common rooms felt dark and dingy. Didn't consider our's and other's concerns. Lots of other hostels in the area that might have been better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Ideal youth hostel is really a good place to stay in. The security is high as only valid hostel stayers are allowed in after their dorm key cards are bar-code scanned. There's a camera everywhere in the hostel. The location is fantastic as it's less than a minute's walk away from Le Ramblas. It is really close to the metro station. The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is amazing and quite cool with all the games. The bedsheets were not clean enough. It is value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.0

No power points in the bathroom, 2 to share for 8 people in the room. Atmosphere of a library, staff do what's required, but for a youth hostel you expect to have fun with your stay. Only stayed because of the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
8.6

Great location, staff was helpful. Would have hoped for wifi in the rooms and not just in the common areas located on the 1st floor. Also had very few outlets in the room, and bathroom was old looking. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.