X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ideal Youth Hostel Reviews

Calle Unio 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1621 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Bathrooms too small and had no places to place belongings when showering. Had no place to leave my belongings under key like an own locker so I had to put it on reception. Internet works only in lobby which makes it super crowded.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Yes security oh well on new year eve I had to say good bay also to my netbook there because someone stole it and everything after 0.5h to explained to stuff because thete English was so poorly I just hered Aha someone stole your laptop sorry is fine for you ..... I don't what to write here the more I thing is enough Why I ratting it the worst .... Only localisation is good

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The biggest advantage is localization near the main street and close to the port as well. Friendly staff and reception open 24 hour was very helpful for our stay. Disadvantage is that if you want to use included to you stay breakfast that you have to be as early as possible because the hostel probably have limited food to serv. Furthermore very small toilets.


86%

The hostel is huge, very secure, the location is very conviniant and the staff was very nice. definitely I would stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

80%

Pros -great location for price (right next to La Rambla which is filled with shops and restaurants -flexibility (asked for a single room, got a 4 bed room just for me) -good security -opened 24h Cons -nothing special -poor breakfast (just bread, jam, butter, juice and coffee) -the room was very small 4mx2.5m, small table and just 2 chairs for 4 ppl

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment.We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We do provide some services and facilities, tables are not included in these.Anyway, we wanted also to remind you that there is plenty of space and tables in the common area on the ground floor that you can use whenever you need it! About breakfast it is not included the reservation, we do not publish breakfast in our web, we offer a tiny appetizer appetizer in the morning for free.Many reetings IYH

89%

The staffs are so nice and helpful, the bed room and the bathroom are very clean. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks you for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to know you had a great experience in Barcelona and enjoyed your stay by us! Our team always work hard in order to make our customers' as comfortable as we can. We hope to see you in the city soon! Many regards from Ideal Youth Hostel

66%

This hostel was in a great location so if that is what your main concern is I would go for it. but I was not too thrilled about the cleanliness of the place. The bathroom always felt sort of gross, the shower door was broken and sometimes barely any water came out of it at all. The door to the balcony also would not close, so when the air conditioning was on (which was great and super cold) would do nothing unless we could get the door to stay shut. There is also no kitchen to cook food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brittany, thanks for sharing your opinion with us! We are happy to know you enjoyed the city. We'd like to inform you that our cleaning staff works daily, anyway you should always feel free to ask in the reception for a second cleaning if you think the toilets might need it! We are here to make your stay as pleasant as we can. As we publish on our reservation pages, we do not have a kitchen but a fridge and a microwaves for our clients' common use. Hope to see you soon, Kind regards IYH

74%

Annoying how they advertise wifi but you cannily get it in the reception down the street from the apartments.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We thank you shared your opinion about our hostel. We inform you we only have wifi in the common areas, and we also remind you this wifi is used by other customers. It is not supposed to be used in the street. We hope you find everything else in order, we work hard to make our clients' stay as pleasant as we can. Kind regards from IYH Staff

89%

Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment, your positive rating encourages us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona! Many gretings from our staff.

69%

No internet in the rooms, at least not in mine. The room was not small, but it was very narrow with too many beds for it's size. There was barely enough space for the guests bags in the room. The bathrooms were always dirty and one day there was no water at all in my floor. I had to go take a shower two floors down. The location of the hostel is amazing though. And the price is not that bad.


80%

The location where perfect. walkingdistance to the beach, and to all the wonderful small restaurants in the gothic area. Me and my friend had such a good time there. The staff was very helpfull and friendl. We loved to chillout at the rooftop, but the firniture where a bit old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your comment to you stay in Ideal Youth Hostel. We are glad to know you and your friend enjoyed your stay and also the facilities in the nearby! It's great to know our rooftop were comfortable to you. We always work in order to make your stay as pleasant as we can, our staff is always here for you! Come again and visit whenever you want, we'd love to share new experiences with you. Kind regards. IYH Staff

89%

I had an excellent stay at Ideal Youth Hostel. Great location, great price, great staff, great people in the room... It's too bad that there is not a proper kitchen to make your own meals, and you have to bring your own padlock for the locker. But except for that I recommend this place !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Julia, we wanted to thank you for your positive feedback to our hostel! This encourages our team to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. As we publish in our pages, there is no kitchen in the hostel but we have a frigde and a microwave for our customers' common use. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH and also the services we offer! We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona! Warm regards from Ideal Youth Hostel



View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback