X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ideal Youth Hostel Reviews

C/Unio No. 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1525 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Not a very Good bed. loudly because of nearly bathroom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Merci pour votre commentaire, cela nous importe de savoir comment s'est passé le séjour de nos clients, afin de toujours améliorer notre service. Le séjour en auberge de jeunesse implique forcément un confort un peu moindre que l'hôtel, cependant il permet un séjour agréable, empli de rencontres, et en plein centre ville de Barcelone Nous espérons donc vous revoir très bientôt dans notre belle ville. L'équipe IYH.

40%

- Lockers are not included in the price and are a must. CAREFUL because everybody buys lockers in the next shop and the same key opens any same locker type - Staff at our arrival was not friendly at all, not understanding, worst welcome ever - While we were sleeping, we got ripped off, around 200€. Of course, impossible to tell who did it

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest,We are a youth hostel with economic prices and shared services,you can buy all you need around the hostel we are in the center next to the Ramblas.For us the most important thing is the security of our customers, we have magnetic cards for rooms, cameras and free safe in reception for valuables that we advice in the rooms and all the common areas.Our reception is always open 24h for helping our guest in their necessities. We’re a dedicated team working hard to make your stay better

80%

The location was ideal, but other things are not that ideal


54%

Just your average hostel. Expect the basic service. Not much atmosphere there, location is very good though. Mattress is too soft, shower box tiny with water running too close to the wall. The terrace in our room was a great addition.


80%

great moment we had!! Good atmosphere, very well located, met lot's of great people from all over the world!! +: nice receptionists! The only thing was the bathroom...not very clean! Otherwise nice stay there!!!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment, your opinion is very important in order to help us to improve day by day. Regarding your remarks please note that we will take it in consideration to improve our services. We hope that your stay in Barcelona has been nice and that in your next visit you could find our facilities to your liking. See you soon.

89%

Very nice hostel, really willing and cool staff! The toilets and showers were a drawback given their size: one has to walk backward to sit down and if the main door is not closed, taking a shower might be freezing! Despite this, I would certainly recommend staying there!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for comment, your opinion is very important for us. The size of our bathrooms correspond to the standards of youth hostels. Said this, we hope to see you again as soon as possible. Kind regards from our staff.

89%

My friend stayed here previous year. I as a person liked it a lot. Location is the best close to best tourist destinations. Staff is helpful and so nice. The only and biggest problem is no WIFI in the rooms and worse is only one plug in the room. During my stay there i had no battery to charge my phone also it charges really slow i dont know why. Out of these, the bathrooms on my floor (2nd) was really dirty due to the customers not hostels fault.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your positive rate, we really appreciate it. We are glad to read that you loved our location and our staff! We don't provide wifi service in the rooms in order to allow our guests to socialize and talk between them! If you need next time, ask at the 24h open reception for more plugs and new cleaning service. We shall be happy to do it. Hope to see you very soon, kind regards from Barcelona.

46%

it was very noisy at night. They also need to improve the shower room as it was just like a cave!!


86%

Value for money and really near to metro station which is at las ramblas.They do serve breakfast even when we make booking its not stated no breakfast.Staff was good n really warm welcome us and keep our beg eventhough its not the time to check in yet.Only a very small shower room.Others fine for hostel rating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for giving us your feedback about IYH, it is very important for us! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here in Barcelona and with us too! We would like to see you again as soon as possible. Best regards from the staff.

86%

Price was great and they were really accommodating. Also, the location is really close to two central metro stations and it's only a 20 minute walk to the beach. I'll definitely come back.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are very glad to read your kind words! Thanks a lot for positive comment about our hostel, your rating encourage us to be better day by day and offer the best services to our guests and to fulfill their well-being in our hostel. We would like to have you again here with us! See you soon in Barcelona.

100%

Best hostel in Barcelona! Chill terrace cool staff! Stay there!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

51%

Although the hostel claimed to have a 24-hour security desk, the worker was constantly gone. Luckily, you needed your key to access different levels of the hostel. Our room most accurately smelled of smoke and farts. We did not sleep under the sheets because we were disgusted. I have stayed at three hostels in different cities for the same price and they were way cleaner. The best part of the hostel was the location.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your opinion but we don’t share it.Even if we are more a budget accommodation than a hotel,our reception is open 24h.We clean all private and shared spaces daily,and have cleaning staff in house all day.If you need extra cleaning,just tell at the reception we would be glad to clean one more time.We also would like remind you, you had made a reservation in a 10Bed Dorm and we gave you an upgrade one,at the same price, in private room.Regards IYH

80%

The wifi was not good, i missed the connection many times and in my room it didnt work well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your comment, our customers' opinion is very important for us.Regarding your remarks please note that we do not provide wi fi connection in the rooms in order to allow our guests to socialize between them and to create a friendly athmosphere.When a lot of people is connected at the same time the connection goes slowly and this is not our fault. We hope that your stay in Barcelona has been nice and in your next visit you could find our facilities to your liking.See you soon

86%

A fairly basic hostel, but for the price and location it's hard to argue. The reception and common areas are spacious and clean with a pool table in the former and sofas and cooking facilities in the latter, whilst the rooms are your typical hostel rooms., but with a (shared) patio area outside. The entire place was very clean. If you want somewhere more luxurious and up-market, you'd be best looking elsewhere, but for a well-priced, clean and well-located hostel this is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment, your rating encourage us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona! Many gretings from our staff.

100%

Excellent Hostel! Excellent Staff! Excellent Location! Excellent Service! Excellent Rooms! Excellent Value! If you are going to Barcelona then this is the place to stay. It is walking distance to everywhere. Will stay here again! A+++++

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel and our staff! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city very soon. Many greetings from the staff. IYH

83%

Amazing terrace!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, thanks for your nice comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at IYH. We hope to see you soon! Many greetings from the staff.

83%

Nothing really to complain about, helpful staff, great location.....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

29%

Go here if your only other option is the street. This place feels like a jail and smells like farts. There is no sign of handsoap in the washrooms so this place is covered in feces. Full of rowdy bros and creepy older men. The staff are very apologetic and nice however are thoroughly incompetent. Great if you're 19 and looking to get trashed, not so much if you're older and over it.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we respect your subjective opinion but we do not share it.Our services are suitable for a hostel.We not offer services like a soap,we are a youth hostel at an affordable price that offers most of its services on shared basis.We're at the center of Barcelona, there are many shops nearby where you can find everything you need for your personal use.The staff cleans the rooms,toilets and common areas every day.Our recepción is open 24h in order to help our guests in their necessities

74%

The overall experience was very nice, the hostel is safe, the staff is nice and the facilities are clean. The only thing I didn't like was that my room had three beds and only two lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, first of all thanks for giving us your review, it is very important for us in order to offer a better service. Be sure that we will take in consideration your comment to improve the services we offer. Hope to see you soon and kind regards from IYH's staff.

91%

Great staff, great location. Only thing to improve would be ti have some opportunity to cook your own meals.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for giving us a great rate and a great comment, we really appreciate it! Be sure that we will take in consideration your words in order to continue improving the service we offer. Kind regards from Barcelona and hope to see you again.



View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback