Hostelworld.com

Ideal Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.9

If you are looking a if you are looking a great location and a place where to sleep and take a shower this is the one you should select, close to every place you can imagine in the city, also supermarkets almost across from.... But if you are are planing at least take some time to rest at the room, definitely better look for another option: The toilet in general was quite small, while I stay there, people from the next room could be heard along the night (specially caused they were too noisy)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

The staff were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable, comfortable, relaxed and accommodating. 👌 They made good suggestions for local and authentic restaurants and assisted us with finding places we wanted to go to and the easiest way to get there! 👍Top people😀 Thanks for making our stay so good 🎯 They hit the mark for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Very clean. Friendly staff. Good value, brill location and not too noisy at all! Wifi not great but works at the right spot 😂 could do with a few more utensils as mainly spoons provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Oct 2016
6.0

Although this hostel is right off of La Rambla, I would advise staying elsewhere. There is no atmosphere and the staff do not help you feel welcome at all. Also the elevator was broken when I was there. There are better places for the same price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • veronicamina
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.1

I stayed at this place with several other friends for the Halloween holidays. The Hostel is really nice, has a good ambiance inside. I definitely recommend it if you're traveling to Barcelona with some friends for a few days! The rooms were kept pretty clean, our beds would always be remade by the time we got back to our room at the end of the day. The location is absolutely PERFECT. You are literally 5 seconds from Las Ramblas (so it can be loud at night too). Overall, I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment, your positive rating encourages us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona! Many gretings from our staff.

20th Sep 2016
5.4

Very loud, tiny bathrooms, no wifi in rooms, staff not very welcoming

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
7.1

The atmosphere was kind of weird like dark and not welcoming and our room was really small and the lockers were tiny(bring your own lock). Not what I was expecting from a Barcelona hostel. I thought it would be lively and such. Plus it smelled; the rooms, the bathroom, the common area. And maybe it was just that area of town but the whole place just smelled like urine and stale cigarettes and mildew. Also The kitchen area wasn't very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.1

Can put only food in the fridge, drinks are not allowed. Strange because there's is only a microwave in the kitchen. No possibility for cooking. Wifi is only at the mainfloor, doesnt work in the room. Location is very good, next to Ramblas. Safety is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.3

No AC in the rooms so was quite hot. Showers were limited - two 'cubicles ' each with 2 showers in. One person would go in and lock it because no one wants to shower with a stranger so there was only 2 showers for a floor of 4 rooms with about 8 people in each room. Otherwise was as good as any hostel I've stayed in before!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.