Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ideal Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
Ideal Youth Hostel Located at Calle Unio 12, , Barcelona.
Ideal Youth Hostel
Spain
Barcelona 08001 Calle Unio 12
74% 1691
41.3799643 2.1736621
Ideal Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Amazing location, strict cleanliness, good facilities, very friendly and truly helpful staff. I don't think you can ask for too much more when you are looking for a place to spend your nights in a city like Barcelona. I was not there to party but to explore the city, and the Ideal Youth Hostel was all I need for that, and more. I arrived way to early for the check in, and the lady in the front desk was particularly nice to me. Only not so good thing? WiFi only in common room. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
2.9

This hostel was terrible. Women beware! First impression walking in was a dozen either young or old men laying in very dirty furniture. The rooms have no air and barely allow space to walk from the door to bunks. Everything was old, worn and dirty, absolutely nothing like any of the images online. Showers were available but the cement floors were covered in dirt, additionally you have to hold the button on the wall to continue having water. No soap is provided anywhere. Overall very grimy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
7.4

I think they need to get new mops to clean coz after every clean it was smelling bad, shower presión was horrible, at the lobby they had couple of leaking, good roof terrace to chill out, it would be perfect if they had a pool or jacuzzi 😁

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2016
5.4

Staff was not helpfull. Location is cool but cleanless is so bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

They should have Air conditioner in all the rooms!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.3

We booked this hostel very last minute, it was one of the only hostels with two available beds. The location is amazing, couldn't get a better location. We did however book for an all girls dorm and then there was a boy in with us. The communal kitchen only has a microwave so you can't cook anything in there. The staff were very slow at checkout, I've never had to wait so long anywhere. The room was basic but you get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

Staff were rude and not very helpful, when they did help there was a certain attitude about it. Mainly the older lady

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.9

Amazing location, close to the beach, port and some nightlife! Very secure with entry via buzzer 24/7. Rooms were a little tight with limited spaces for luggage, massive lockers although they all seemed broken and didn't close with 2 power points for the whole room. Kitchen area was clean but almost no atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2016
5.7

Way to expensive for what it is, there are cheaper ones for much better experience

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Didn't spend too much time in the hostel itself due to its amazing position right on Las Ramblas but overall it was a great stay in barcelona and I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.