X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ideal Youth Hostel Reviews

C/Unio No. 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1462 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The location was unbeatable, however the cleanliness was disgusting!! The beds themselves were nice and the room layout was decent but it looked as if under the beds hadn't been mopped/swept in about 2 years, the bathrooms always smelt strongly of urine and were kind of dirty, and the "kitchen" was swarming in flies. I don't understand why the ratings were so high. The location was great but for €20 a night I expected cleaner facilities and staff who were actually even remotely helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we always pay attention to our customers opinion, in order to improve our services. You were staying in a ten-bed mixed room, and as expected in this dates , the hostel was very busy with a lot of movement of customers. Our cleaning staff cleans every day. All the staff tries to do everything possible to ensure guests the best stay possible, but certainly in the most busy times we need the cooperation of all customers, too. Best Regards

71%

Bedroom should be cleaned more often, the breakfast is too early and IYH should organize evenments for people to meet. The staff is very nice

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Chloé, Thank you for choosing ideal youth hostel in first place. Cleaning staff do their best in order to assure a better stay. Breakfast is served in this time to provide a better organization. There is an animator every single night in our hostel since the month of August we are sorry that you could not catch him when you were here. Hope to see you in the future. Best regards

77%

We got rooms without air conditioning, instead in the site they tell us that they have. Yes, they have in the common areas, and it should be specified... The location is the best tip on this hostel; you’re in the heart of Barcelona. The staff either, is so kind and helpful! But with this money you can get better hostel in Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tiago, thank you for your comment, we will take it in consideration. In our web site you can see that we have some rooms with air conditioning and the others with fan. Our reception is open 24H and wealways try to satisfy our guests' necessities. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Best regards from our staff!

63%

Was ok... Late night arrival and early depart, nothing to write home about but was ok

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joe, thank you for choosing our hostel. We hope that the next time you can spend more time with us and the other guests of hostel and enjoy the beautiful city of Barcelona. Many greetings.

69%

other than the bed bugs incident which plagued my room,the lack of internet access in the rooms and the lack of air-conditioning thats runs when you're in the room in the day, this hostel is pretty decent & average.I understand the reasoning for the wifi spot being at the lobby area,perhaps,it's to facilitate interaction which is good.wish the air-con could be on earlier at around 8 pm onwards rather than 12 midnight.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Muhammed, we will take in consideration your comment, as we always do, in order to improve our services.Our cleaning staff cleans every single day. We have some rooms with air-conditioning and others with fan.Our reception is open 24H and we always try to satisfy our guests' necessities. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Many greetings from Ideal Youth Hostel.

91%

We really enjoyed our stay in the iDeal youth hostel. We where just staying for 1 day but still it was very Nice. Everything you need is near and the location is just perfect. The woman from te reception really make you feel welcome which was really Nice. We would stay here again.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Juliana, Thank you very much for your great comment. We are very happy that you enjoyed yor stay! We hope that the next time you can spend more time with us! Many greetings from Barcelona!

71%

The location of the hostel is superb, the atmosphere was also nice with some awesome people we met. But, in August it can really hot in afternoon there. Can't stay during that time of the day. The bathrooms were very compact but, for that price and location, I couldn't argue more. Inspite of Barcelona as a synonym for Party city, the hostel people at reception were simply unaware of any good clubs, pub crawls or good places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aditya, thank you for your comment, it's very important for us to know your point of view in order to improve our services!Every day we try to do the best for our guests. We have some rooms with air conditioning and others with fan. Every night there is an animator that offers optional activities for the guests. We would like to see you again in our hostel! Best regards from Barcelona!

89%

Helpful staff and great central location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica! Thanks for your comment! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in Barcelona! Many greetings from Ideal Youth Hostel staff!

91%

No wifi in the rooms is my only complaint and no wifi after 2 AM in lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hostel for your stay. Ideal Youth Hostel don't advertise wifi because we want to create for our guests an atmosphere of interaction in order that who travel alone can make new friends, so the wifi is only in the ground floor. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Best regards from our staff!

94%

Good place,awesome location close to trains and short walk to the beach and la rambla st is right next door. 10/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi John, thank you for your comment! We hope to see you again in Barcelona! Many greetings from Ideal Youth Hostel!

94%

What can I say, this hostel is very central, very clean and has nice/helpful people at the front desk. Check-in at any time whatsoever! Lockers in the rooms. Keycards for the doors. Public computers. All of this for a very competitive price! This was everything I was looking for so I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm in Barcelona. Other things to note: pool table, common areas, balcony in the rooms, A/C in the rooms, fridge for your food, computers, wi-fi (only in common areas).


86%

I was greeted by Astrid and her lovely staff, they were so helpful and kind. Highly recommend this hostel, the private rooms are particularly clean and well maintained.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

the staff was great, very helpfull! the location in barcelona is the best, right next to the main la rambla street and not far from the beaches ! rooms with a balcony and clean beds. there is nothing I would reproach !


89%

Staff, location, faculties were absolutely amazing however when I was there a girl had her valuables nicked from her while She was sleeping

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, helpful friendly staff, good facilities with lounge area and pool tables. Only thing is it's not as clean as I would usually like. But for the price you can't complain.


69%

This is a fantastic hostel to stay at if you are in Barcelona to stay out late and party. Having said that, if you are planning to get up early to sight-see, this hostel may not be the best choice. It is very loud at night (our window looked out to a street right around the corner from La Rambla) and people come into your room at all hours of the night. The bathrooms have no ventilation and are fairly dirty but the rooms themselves were clean and comfortable despite being very small.


74%

Perfect location, right next to the Rambla (main street in Barcelona). Place was clean and proper. Personnel was very slow but helpful.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, awesome staff The only drawbacks was that there were to many groups of teenage (8-12 and 14-17) and the hostel were full of them therefore the commun was not really usefull to meet new people which is essential for a hostel. The hostel should consider limiting the number of group allowed at the same time


89%

Air conditioning! splendid! employees like a family! super quiet!


77%

Great location. Near the main Avenue, yet without the noise of the hustle and bustle of the touristy activities. The rooms were spacious, the bunk beds were not at all comfortable. There was no ventilation whatsoever. There was one very old,malfunctioning ceiling fan. There is a large refrigerator, and a dining area.


(72 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback