X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ideal Youth Hostel Reviews

C/Unio No. 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1489 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

It's a nice place to stay. The location is very convenient. The worker of the hotel is very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! We are very happy about your comment thank you very much! We hope you will come back soon!! Best wishes from Barcelona!!

94%

I stayed at Ideal Youth Hostel for 4 nights and was very pleased with the hostel. It is in a great location, a side street right in the middle of Las Ramblas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was as clean as you expect a hostel to be and there was dinner available as well as breakfast. There were individual lockers in the room I stayed in though not really enough power outlets. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alicia, thank you for choosing Ideal Youth Hostel. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for remarking our staff who does everything they can in order to make you feel like home. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona again! Receive our best regards.

100%

There was a great vibe in this hostel, very youthful and the staff were all very friendly. The location was also excellent.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachael, Thank you very much for your comment!. We are very happy you enjoy your stay and we hope you will come back soon at Ideal Hostel. Best regards from Barcelona!

100%

My friend and me really enjoyed the stay at the Ideal Youth Hostel. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and have perfect size. We really enjoyed the daily/ nightly "Entertainment" program and it was really helpful to get all people from the hostel together and have a good time there. Excellent stay ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Your rating encourage us to be every day better and offer the best services to our guests.

97%

If u like to feel yourself like in a big family is the thing u really need. Good people, everything is clean a lot of space. As for Marco and his animator team. These people are amazing and will help u with everything u need. They will teach how to cook paella, help with directions and of course will show u the secrets of nightlife of Barcelona. Thank u Marco for showing me around to understand how amazing Barcelona can be. Thank u and hasta pronto...

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your staying in our Youth Hostel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and feel like in a big family with us. Your rating courage us to be every day better and offer the best services to our guests. We hope to see you soon again in Barcelona!

100%

The Staff was very nice... the atmosphere awesome! Every night there is something fun to do :) Excelent hostel !!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tatiana we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

77%

Great location and easy to find, but it is so loud at night, as it is just off of the main street (La Rambla). The room was tiny for 6 people, but there was a balcony which was nice. The room got very hot one evening, even with the doors wide open! The next night it was fine, but very weird, not sure if the air con was working properly (if they even have it - I'm not sure) Be careful of the shared bathroom, as your room key unlocks it even if someone is using it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Megan, Thank you for choosing Ideal Youth Hostel. We will take your comment in consideration in order to improve our services. Our reception is open 24H and we always try to satisfy our guests' necessities. We hope to see you again in our hostel. Many greetings from Barcelona!

86%

Hostel was in a great location on La Rambla. Rooms were pretty standard hostel rooms. Big common area with good wifi. The people there were really cool when I stayed. The rooftop is the best place to hang out if you don't want to head out for the day/night. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jake, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

31%

The worst hostel of my life. During the check in they advise you to buy a locker from themselves for safety. i did so and after three hours my laptop was stolen from the lockers in my room ( in which only who has the keys have access). After the stealing staff did not help at all. Moreover the location is near the ramblas an ONLY touristic venue..

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Manuel, Lockers inside of the room do not guarantee a 100% safety for your stuff, they only work as a wardrobe. That is why we always (as we did with you) recommend to our guests to put their own valued stuff in our own safety box in reception (free of charge). We try to take care of every single need that our guests can have. We assure you that we did everything we could in order to help you. We are located in the centre of Barcelona, right in the heart of Las Ramblas, the centre as you

60%

We stayed here after staying in one of Barcelona's other main hostel chains, and we were very disappointed. The location is great, situated in the heart of the city, and close to the metro, but this and the great staff were really the hostel's only good qualities. The rooms were not very clean, and extremely hot due to not fans/aircon, and the beds were old and dirty. There was little to no atmosphere and the small kitchen was also quite unclean. Great for 1 night but not for any longer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sophia, we are really surprised about your comment. You booked two beds in a ten mixed dorm with shared bathroom but for the same price we gave you an upgrade in a 6 mixed dorm, with private facilities and air conditioning. Our cleaning staff cleans every day and all the staff tries to do everything possible to ensure guests the best stay possible, but certainly in the most busy times we need the cooperation of all customers, too. Many greetings

71%

Booked a 'standard twin private' which was actually just a 4 bed dorm (2 sets of single bunk beds) so we just moved the bunks next to each other to make a twin bed kind of thing. Wifi only worked in common room but is a hotel nearby without locked WiFi that we managed to get onto from in our room which was great. Great location just In a side street off La Ramblas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Ideal Youth Hostel. Wifi only works downstairs but we are managing to put wifi in the rooms as well very soon. Also thank you for apreciate our location. We hope to see you back soon in Barcelona. Best regards

100%

Great hostel! So much fun! thanks Marco!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marco Aurelio, Thak you for you nice comment.The atmosphere we get is thanks to guests like you. We hope to see you soon in our Hostel in Barcelona. Best regards from Ideal Youth Hostel

100%

Great hostel! They had the amazing idea to offer us a animator team! Amazing nights tours with new differents places every night. Definitely this is a amazing place for make new friends and discover Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marco, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ideal Youth Hostel, thank you for your comment, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona!! Many greetings

77%

No problems here other than the rooms being very humid which caused an unpleasant smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ryan, thank you for submitting your opinion, we will take it in consideration, since our guests' necessities are very important for us. We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona, Many greetings!

57%

The location was unbeatable, however the cleanliness was disgusting!! The beds themselves were nice and the room layout was decent but it looked as if under the beds hadn't been mopped/swept in about 2 years, the bathrooms always smelt strongly of urine and were kind of dirty, and the "kitchen" was swarming in flies. I don't understand why the ratings were so high. The location was great but for €20 a night I expected cleaner facilities and staff who were actually even remotely helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we always pay attention to our customers opinion, in order to improve our services. You were staying in a ten-bed mixed room, and as expected in this dates , the hostel was very busy with a lot of movement of customers. Our cleaning staff cleans every day. All the staff tries to do everything possible to ensure guests the best stay possible, but certainly in the most busy times we need the cooperation of all customers, too. Best Regards

71%

Bedroom should be cleaned more often, the breakfast is too early and IYH should organize evenments for people to meet. The staff is very nice

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Chloé, Thank you for choosing ideal youth hostel in first place. Cleaning staff do their best in order to assure a better stay. Breakfast is served in this time to provide a better organization. There is an animator every single night in our hostel since the month of August we are sorry that you could not catch him when you were here. Hope to see you in the future. Best regards

77%

We got rooms without air conditioning, instead in the site they tell us that they have. Yes, they have in the common areas, and it should be specified... The location is the best tip on this hostel; you’re in the heart of Barcelona. The staff either, is so kind and helpful! But with this money you can get better hostel in Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tiago, thank you for your comment, we will take it in consideration. In our web site you can see that we have some rooms with air conditioning and the others with fan. Our reception is open 24H and wealways try to satisfy our guests' necessities. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Best regards from our staff!

63%

Was ok... Late night arrival and early depart, nothing to write home about but was ok

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joe, thank you for choosing our hostel. We hope that the next time you can spend more time with us and the other guests of hostel and enjoy the beautiful city of Barcelona. Many greetings.

69%

other than the bed bugs incident which plagued my room,the lack of internet access in the rooms and the lack of air-conditioning thats runs when you're in the room in the day, this hostel is pretty decent & average.I understand the reasoning for the wifi spot being at the lobby area,perhaps,it's to facilitate interaction which is good.wish the air-con could be on earlier at around 8 pm onwards rather than 12 midnight.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Muhammed, we will take in consideration your comment, as we always do, in order to improve our services.Our cleaning staff cleans every single day. We have some rooms with air-conditioning and others with fan.Our reception is open 24H and we always try to satisfy our guests' necessities. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Many greetings from Ideal Youth Hostel.

91%

We really enjoyed our stay in the iDeal youth hostel. We where just staying for 1 day but still it was very Nice. Everything you need is near and the location is just perfect. The woman from te reception really make you feel welcome which was really Nice. We would stay here again.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Juliana, Thank you very much for your great comment. We are very happy that you enjoyed yor stay! We hope that the next time you can spend more time with us! Many greetings from Barcelona!

(42 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback