Hostelworld.com

Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto

  • 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto Located at 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 600-8304 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city
82% 668
34.9940477 135.7569944
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Two elderly Grandmas visiting Japan for the first time--staff here couldn't have been more friendly /helpful. Changed our room to accommodate bad backs etc, provided extra futons, yukatas to lounge in, helpful info about internet access. Lots of families staying there-from various countries. Everyone treated with equal efficiency and kindness. Excellent value for money. AND Very Clean!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
5.1

- Not a single photo on the page shows our actual room or the building we stayed in. - Weird rooms - one room requires climbing a ladder just to get into the room! Our room had two single beds on different floors, with a steep ladder separating them. - There was ONE shower for a building with about 12 guests! Since everyone went sightseeing during the day, it meant endless queueing for the shower in the evening. - You can hear EVERYTHING your neighbours say and do.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2016
8.3

Okay-convenient location. Very nice and beautiful staff members. Place has everything one needs to stay quite comfortably. Sadly the walls are too thin and neighbor's noises can easily be heard, but for the money spent... can't really complain much about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great evaluation. You are glad that you could comfortably stay with us in terms of our location, staff, or facilities. Due to its structural reason, the sound travels easily. To avoid that, we always forewarn every guests at check-in. Also, we would like our guests to ask us for any help if there is any noise trouble. We are willing to come over for the help at any time. We appreciate again your reasonable rating given. We hope to see you here at your next opportunity and make some better experiences.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2015
6.0

Room was very small and awkward, plus difficult to get into due to ladder covering half of doorway. Seemed very unsafe. As our building was detached from reception there were no staff present to regulate the other guests being quite loud at 11:30 pm and 6am.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest evaluation. Please excuse us to explain the facilities from our side to avoid unfairness. We need to apologize for the structural or artificial inconveniences first. Although we tell all guests to keep quiet at night or in the morning, there will be some problems occurred. It is true that we can only ask their cooperation, but please do not hesitate to contact us for them or even minor problems during your stay. It goes same for the room problem, and we might be able to change your room if the room does not suits you and there are other rooms available. We are willing to lessen your inconveniences as much as possible. Plus, if you ever have a chance to visit here, it is always better to contact us directly in advance, so that we can offer you the room following your preferences more flexibly. We appreciate your stay and review again in the end.

  • linhsiaoyi8374
  • Taiwan, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2015
9.1

a very nice histel with a good price and facilities. we stayed in a private room with a indrpendent bathroom. maybe the only two things i'd like to comment are: 1) our air conditionner's heater didn't really function (or we had to wait for a longer time?), but thank god that the temperature was bearable. 2 ) our toilet seat had one of its two sides loosened. but generally speaking, we definitely recommend this hostel and will come here again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We very thank you for your positive feedback. Although there were some downward points, you rated us fairly high. Regarding the mentioned points, even we are checking them in dairy cleaning checker, we will need to keep our conscious up more and constantly check them. We appreciate your comment again. We all look forward to seeing you again, too, and showing you our growth.

  • novakmartin5748
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2015
7.1

The place is incredibly noisy. You can hear everything in the house through the walls. Someones was slamming the doors all the time, you can hear the toilet flush directly at your head, you can hear people talking, shouting etc. etc. With any louder noise, you can even feel the house shaking. You can even hear people brush their teeth behind the thin wall. This happened on the evening when you try to sleep and in the morning when you are still sleeping. We have slept well for a single night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. In Ikoi-no-Ie, we do not normally get these opinions of the noise from guests. We feel slamming, or shouting with the extend of an unrealistic shaking feel is a problem of makers. These will make you feel even worse about the sound. It is also a shame we could not get asked for any help from you. We would like everyone to ask us for any helps without a hesitation, so that we can lessen any stresses during their stay. Hopefully, you could enjoy your experience in Kyoto.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.