X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto Reviews

885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
661 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Okay-convenient location. Very nice and beautiful staff members. Place has everything one needs to stay quite comfortably. Sadly the walls are too thin and neighbor's noises can easily be heard, but for the money spent... can't really complain much about it.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great evaluation. You are glad that you could comfortably stay with us in terms of our location, staff, or facilities. Due to its structural reason, the sound travels easily. To avoid that, we always forewarn every guests at check-in. Also, we would like our guests to ask us for any help if there is any noise trouble. We are willing to come over for the help at any time. We appreciate again your reasonable rating given. We hope to see you here at your next opportunity and make some better experiences.

60%

Room was very small and awkward, plus difficult to get into due to ladder covering half of doorway. Seemed very unsafe. As our building was detached from reception there were no staff present to regulate the other guests being quite loud at 11:30 pm and 6am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest evaluation. Please excuse us to explain the facilities from our side to avoid unfairness. We need to apologize for the structural or artificial inconveniences first. Although we tell all guests to keep quiet at night or in the morning, there will be some problems occurred. It is true that we can only ask their cooperation, but please do not hesitate to contact us for them or even minor problems during your stay. It goes same for the room problem, and we might be able to change your room if the room does not suits you and there are other rooms available. We are willing to lessen your inconveniences as much as possible. Plus, if you ever have a chance to visit here, it is always better to contact us directly in advance, so that we can offer you the room following your preferences more flexibly. We appreciate your stay and review again in the end.

91%

a very nice histel with a good price and facilities. we stayed in a private room with a indrpendent bathroom. maybe the only two things i'd like to comment are: 1) our air conditionner's heater didn't really function (or we had to wait for a longer time?), but thank god that the temperature was bearable. 2 ) our toilet seat had one of its two sides loosened. but generally speaking, we definitely recommend this hostel and will come here again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We very thank you for your positive feedback. Although there were some downward points, you rated us fairly high. Regarding the mentioned points, even we are checking them in dairy cleaning checker, we will need to keep our conscious up more and constantly check them. We appreciate your comment again. We all look forward to seeing you again, too, and showing you our growth.

71%

The place is incredibly noisy. You can hear everything in the house through the walls. Someones was slamming the doors all the time, you can hear the toilet flush directly at your head, you can hear people talking, shouting etc. etc. With any louder noise, you can even feel the house shaking. You can even hear people brush their teeth behind the thin wall. This happened on the evening when you try to sleep and in the morning when you are still sleeping. We have slept well for a single night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. In Ikoi-no-Ie, we do not normally get these opinions of the noise from guests. We feel slamming, or shouting with the extend of an unrealistic shaking feel is a problem of makers. These will make you feel even worse about the sound. It is also a shame we could not get asked for any help from you. We would like everyone to ask us for any helps without a hesitation, so that we can lessen any stresses during their stay. Hopefully, you could enjoy your experience in Kyoto.

94%

Both the lodging house and the Reception house around the corner were extremely sweet and pretty buildings, in a lovely quiet neighbourhood of Kyoto, near to transport links and the main Kyoto rail station. You go to the reception to check in and have breakfast/use the bar. The staff are all wearing traditional kimonos, and they are v helpful in suggesting sights and bus/subway. We were only there for 2 nights - not enough, but if u were there to party or stay out late it wouldn't be so ideal..

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are grateful that you dropped such a good review. There is no negative points in your statement, you might have made the most of it. We surely ask our guests' cooperation with the quietness during your stay, but have no curfew. We cannot say our place is ideal for the night owls, but it is not impossible. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

86%

The staffs were very kind and helpful. The bathroom, toilet, and rooms were maintained so clean that I was mildly surprised. Thank you very much. I really enjoyed my stay :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for your stay, too. We focus our one enforced education on the cleaning, so your comment is a very big complement for us. We believe that this micro point, cleanness, must make you feel good during your stay. We will be expectedly waiting for your future visit without any changes of our cleanness. Hopefully, it comes soon.

83%

I had so much fun stay in Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto.. The staffs really nice and helpful. The most important, they can speak English fluently so it's really easy to comunicate with them. The hostel really cute, perfect place for people who wants to try to stay in Japanese style house. Perfect location, near 24 hours supermarket. I will definitely stay there again if I come to Kyoto again. Thank you Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your stay and such a big complement on each factors. There is no need for us to add any explanations of our place. We simply wait for your next visit here, and will welcome you with better service at staff. Thank you very much again.

97%

- very nice hotel only few streets away from the train station and subway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review. The easy access to the transportations is one of our strength, so we are glad that you found it convenience, too. We expectedly wait for your next stay with us.

77%

Clean and nice place, with good facilities. The check in process is messy and should be definitely improved. They make you arrive to one place. Once you're there (after dragging your lugagge through cobblestones streets), you find a signal that says you should go somewhere else, 2 blocks away. Then, you arrive to the reception, do the check in and have again to move to the final place where you'll be staying. Even everything is close, I don't see the reason for the treasure hunt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you rated us at a clean and nice place. Regarding the locational points, it is true we need to ask for your cooperation. However, this does not mean we do not help you. If needed, we are willing to come and help luggage carrying, for instance. We wish we had noticed your concern while you were around. We take your comment seriously and will improve our service. We again appreciate your comment and hopefully meet you again with our service improved.

74%

So, we were 3 persons. Room was big enough and very beautiful, althoug the sliding doors of the balcon came off quickly and we were really afraid that we broke it ( we didn't) but still it wasn't very pleasant. Some of the staff spoke good english, but one girl really had problems. Futon had hair on it :/ All in all it was good, despite the hairs, it was clean. Bit pricey.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate a feedback. Though you had a good stay overall, we are sorry for points. In regards to the fall off of the slide door, reminding hairs, we need to strengthen a education even we check rooms after a cleaning. About our staff, we try the best to offer guests good service. However, we are sometimes in tense especially for our new staffs.We are always motivated for our growth because of your review. We again thank you for the comment. We hope to welcome you again after our growth.



View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback