Hostelworld.com

Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto

  • 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto Located at 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 600-8304 885 Ushitora-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto city
84% 675
34.9940477 135.7569944
Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Staff were excellent giving us a good explanation on the rules of the hotel and a little book with all the instructions even how to turn the a/c on! All with cute drawings handmade. Our room was ryokan inspired so we had futons clean and comfortable! Has good kitchen facilities although we never cooked ;). Great location, very close to the train station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2016
5.7

We were saying in a double private room in number 16. The room was clean but extremely small. We had nowhere to put our suitcases out when we laid out the futons. The walls of this place were extremely thin and we could near everything going on in the building at all times. The biggest thing that we thought was an issue was the location whilst close to a train station wasn't close to the JR. Also the map on the door to reception was actually incorrect and led to nowhere wasting 30 minutes!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and comment. Please excuse us to explain our place from our side, too. First of all, the rooms are not spacious as western hotels. This is because we would like to offer our guests the casual joyful at reasonable cost in comparison with other hotels or Ryokans in Kyoto. Also, your room booked is the economy twin room, which means economically friendly and small for a 2 people use. Regarding the sound trouble, these problems sometimes happen even we forewarn every guests to keep quiet at check-ins. However, we are very sad that we could not get asked for any helps during your stay, but after your stay. We are always ready to help our guests to sort out the problems. Thus, we would like all to feel free to ask us for helps. Although we get these downward comments, we thank you for your positive comment for the cleanness. Concerning the map or access, it might be difficult for some people to read the map precisely in Kyoto. This can be same that we can assist you with. If you do not have confidence to find our reception yourself, you can ask us to pick you up in front of Ikoi-no-Ie. We are willing to do so. If you cannot figure out the way from Kyoto station, we are more than happy to back you up in advance by e-mail or phone. Therefore, please do not hesitate to ask us for any helps even it is a minor concern. We appreciate again your stay this time. We hope that you could have enjoyed your trip in Kyoto at least.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2016
9.4

Very nice but small private room in a traditional Japanese style with shared (very clean) bathroom facilities. We hired bikes which were very handy for exploring Kyoto. I stayed for 3 days but would happily have stayed for longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very thankful for your great feedback. We constantly care about the cleanness for guests and are very glad that we got your complement about this. It seems that you could enjoy your stay with us and it leads us to accelerate our motivation even more. We truly appreciate that. We all expectedly await your stay again at your next convenience.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Two elderly Grandmas visiting Japan for the first time--staff here couldn't have been more friendly /helpful. Changed our room to accommodate bad backs etc, provided extra futons, yukatas to lounge in, helpful info about internet access. Lots of families staying there-from various countries. Everyone treated with equal efficiency and kindness. Excellent value for money. AND Very Clean!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We thank you very much for your perfect feedback. We are merely glad that we get these comments from you. There is nothing we need to explain from our side. We simply appreciate your stay this time from England and look forward to accommodating you again at your future opportunities.

25th Mar 2016
5.1

- Not a single photo on the page shows our actual room or the building we stayed in. - Weird rooms - one room requires climbing a ladder just to get into the room! Our room had two single beds on different floors, with a steep ladder separating them. - There was ONE shower for a building with about 12 guests! Since everyone went sightseeing during the day, it meant endless queueing for the shower in the evening. - You can hear EVERYTHING your neighbours say and do.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2016
8.3

Okay-convenient location. Very nice and beautiful staff members. Place has everything one needs to stay quite comfortably. Sadly the walls are too thin and neighbor's noises can easily be heard, but for the money spent... can't really complain much about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great evaluation. You are glad that you could comfortably stay with us in terms of our location, staff, or facilities. Due to its structural reason, the sound travels easily. To avoid that, we always forewarn every guests at check-in. Also, we would like our guests to ask us for any help if there is any noise trouble. We are willing to come over for the help at any time. We appreciate again your reasonable rating given. We hope to see you here at your next opportunity and make some better experiences.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.