X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion Reviews

Tokiwacho170 Higashiyama Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
394 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A little common room but otherwise a nice hostel nearby a very traditional part of town


69%

With good location, you will easy to find them. The spaces in the bed room was not enough, when someone packed their luggage, others cannot find a place to stand and you need to go back to your bed. The place of eating and chatting was in a same room with 4 people capacity. Not favorable for making self food or enjoy food in the place and it was the only place you can boiled some water. They provide all basic things while the limited spaces in the unit was the limitation.


91%

Awesome location. Close to bus stops, train stations and a lively part of Kyoto. Friendly staff and a sake bar just next door!


77%

Great loccation, the hotel staff was helpful when needed. The room was ok, nothing much to say about it, clean and well presented. There were no much facilities and you do don't really need them as you are out all the time.


91%

Jam is very strict on rules (no outside guests under any circumstances; breakages incur a 200% charge), but it's well-located and the staff are excellent. A comfortable stay.


97%

The location is perfect, just near Gion. People of staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms and shower are clean. Rooms are spacious. The only "negative" point is the common room a bit small. It is limited to the kitchen: 1 table and 4 chairs. But if you want to meet people you can go to the sake bar of the hostel!


46%

No common area so not good for meeting other travelers. The owner of this hostel is more interested in making money (by running a hostel) instead of running a nice hostel (and making money). Only 1 toilet for many many people. No window in one of the showers. "Lounge" area the size of a doghouse with no window. Expensive towel rental and pay for luggage if you have to check out. Location is great.


37%

Worst (and most expensive!) hostel of our entire trip in Japan. No atmosphere at all. The is a common room which they call a "lounge" but can barely sit 4 people and no windows. You could sit in the sake-bar but that would be very expensive because you also want/have to order drinks while there. Renting a towel is three times more expensive then in other places in Japan (why?). You have to pay if you want to store your luggage there (other hostels anywhere in the world it is free). Bad hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for your uncomfortable. We NEVER charge to store guests luggage. DON'T confuse other hostel. The rental bath towel is 150yen. Plese let us know the hostel 50yen for rental. We notice " If you are hostel guest, we don't require your order " on menu at bar. We're available free tea, coffee and green tea at bar for hostel guests anytime. The premium Japanese "Ebisu" beer 500yen (the general price from 700yen).

89%

Excellent Location but we have to wait until 3 pm to check-in, so have to carry the luggage to sight seeing.


54%

according to japanese standard, i think this hostel is not clean enough. the provided bathroom is not that good in functional, they even do not provide a hook or hanger and small useful object that easily find and install. they dont have elevator and you have to climb up on upper floor with your big luggage. the space in public area and in room is so tiny. for those how hold JR Pass, you will need to pay extra for subway fee in order to reach this place.


83%

This was my first encounter with a hostel. Albeit a little small (I stayed in a four-bed female dorm), the rooms and washroom facilities were meticulously clean. There is air con and lockers, and there's no curfew. It lacks a bit of the lively hostel atmosphere I was expecting, but that didn't stop me from making friends with other people at the hostel. Location is right outside the Gion Shijo Keihan station, so pretty convenient. Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

not being able to check-in until 3pm could be a nightmare if you're stuck outside with your bags. but it is a good hostel in a good location. and the bar downstairs is fun.


100%

I stayed in the mixed dormitory. Overall experience at the hostel was very positive. Shower rooms and toilets were kept clean. Laundry service was good. On certain nights, I found that the room was a little warm. I brought it up to the receptionist and the issue was immediately resolved. On my check-out date, I was late an hour due to the rain and train delay that held my return to the hostel. They were kind enough to not charge me the late-charges. I am very grateful and appreciative of them.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

You can find better and cheaper options in kyoto.


91%

Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for my first visit to Kyoto. The ownership and their staff were very accomadatimg and would recommend Jam Hostel to any friend or family member. Will look forward to my next visit

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice Sake bar downstairs. Only thing lacking for us was a ricecooker or a microwave. The staff warmed up our breakfast for us during the morning though,


74%

It's central... Small, No many facilities but it's ok and affordable for this location in kyoto...


89%

Great location on the border of downtown and Gion. Easy bus ride from Kyoto Station. Great walking areas nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were kept clean. Small lockers were available. Nice little balcony with great view. No kitchen, but toaster oven, tea kettle, and fridge were handy. Showers and toilets were clean. Sake bar was also cozy and tasty. Would definitely stay here again.


97%

Great place to stay, with an excellent and nice staff. The bar downfloor is a good way to meet other guests.


89%

Great place in superb location. Great friendly staff.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback