Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion Located at Tokiwacho170 Higashiyama Kyoto, , Kyoto.
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
Japan
Kyoto 605-0079 Tokiwacho170 Higashiyama Kyoto
78% 485
35.0049104 135.7723742
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Jul 2016
4.9

The staff were all a bit cold and not very knowledgeable when asking quesions about the local transport and area. At one point the lady from downstairs walked into the dorm without knocking, looked in the toilet and then left without a word. Signs with rules all a bit aggressive. The dorms were very basic and the kitchen was tiny with only space for 3 people. The place wasn't very clean. I wouldn't want to stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

The location is perfect, underground station just in front of it, next to the river and the main street Shijo dori. The staff is very helpful, we needed to recieve a package from France and that was a struggle but they helped us a lot. The room are very simple but they have everything you need. I would definitly go back there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.3

Didn't like the atmosphere at all. With all that threatening signs around, it's like that they take for granted that their guest are uneducated and vandals. The "common room" is a teeny-tiny kitchen facing a wall and very sad looking. Good thing is a bed in mixed dormitory is cheap, but I wouln't spend more than one night there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice place, has everything you need and the location is good! Would recommend if you want to explore the Gion area in Kyoto. The entrance is a long staircase up though, so fair warning if you have a luggage, you're going to have to carry it up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

They didn't really have a kitchen, but a small room with a fridge and kettle. Not really any privacy since the bed didn't have any curtains, and no individual lamps by the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
7.4

Some of my hostelmates and I felt neglected by the staff. We had the feeling that the primary business venture was the bar downstairs and the hostel was an afterthought. The common space is tiny and cramped, so no one hangs out there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
5.1

No idea what the high ranking comes from. No breakfast included (stated, but for the price it should), reception not open 24/7 (even closed during the day). The place is fine, but not much more than that and certainly not top.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.1

Great guys. I left my bag on the train when arriving in Kyoto and they phoned up and tracked it down for me so I could pick it up the next day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2016
8.0

Nice spot. Very near the river and the cbd and night life areas and also near a sweet temple with walks and nice spots to chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
9.1

Clean and close to convenience stores, the bar district and bike rental shops. Kyoto's landmarks are fairly spread apart and this hostel is situated kind of in the middle of them, so you can do West-side attractions one day and East-side attractions the other. Staff were friendly and facilities are very clean and safe. There is a bar downstairs that has some good sake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.