Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3,353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3,353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Located at 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto.
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto-fu 600-8032 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward
90% 3353
35.0021970 135.7667469
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel, good location, very friendly staff. There is a board in the lobby with great lunch and dinner recommendations in local area. Room dark and smelled damp but was otherwise clean. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

This was my first hostel and it was absolutely amazing. Staff were extremely nice and helpful and although I knew some Japanese, most were bilingual speakers and were able to help me out when checking in and checking out. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I also had a fairly good view of Kyoto tower from my window. The location is extremely convenient and it's basically in the perfect spot to get anywhere you would want to go. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Probably the nicest Hostel ill stay in. It was incredibly clean and fairly modern. The common room was absolutely massive and had a fulfledged kitchen as well as a large seating area. The staff were also very polite, helpful and also seemed genuining interested to have a chat. My only complaint is how poor the air con was in the rooms. They felt as if they had been limited as they simply never actually successfully cooled down the rooms making it uncomfortable to sleep. A small but real issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2016
6.9

It felt like the hostel provides the bare minimum of facilities. Was nice to have a fully equipped common kitchen and a hang-out area, but the room was tiny with nothing but a bed and a side-table and it also heavily smelled of fleas. Excellent location though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel, great atmosphere, location's great for getting around Kyoto and the staff are incredibly attentive and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

Very nicely located and staff is great. Guests don't follow the hygiene standards, so you'd often find a pissed toilet seat, etc. Bummer. The A/C in the bedroom is not powerful enough so the air circulation suffers a bit. Anyway, I still highly recommend the hostel, would definitely go back there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
9.7

A good hostel with excellent facilities at a fairly good price. Smallish kitchen, but a large common area. Located pretty close to the subway, so easy enough to get around Kyoto. You can't go wrong choosing this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Very conveniently located in downtown Kyoto, walking distance from Nishiki market and the Gion/geisha district. My 6-person dorm was very clean and comfortable, and there are plenty of showers and bathrooms as well as a big shared lounge and kitchen. The hostel has many evening activities as well for meeting people. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mikekenney1154
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Good location. Great helpful staff. Nice small single room but walls so thin the man snoring next door rattled the windows.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.