X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2944 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Large, friendly hostel with knowledgeable, friendly staff and many facilities. Wonderfully located for historic Gion district. Has a small bar in a separate building, good for meeting fellow travellers.


86%

stayed for 4 days in total. Very convenient location. Helpful staff to deliver nice advices. but got some problem abt the socket location, my dormmate also got this problem, and make noises at midnight. i think hostel hv responsibility to this seems tiny problem. And only two set of washing & drying machine, always full at night. But still value for money no doubt, i'll stay again if i visit Kyoto again.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Location was very close the station. And very kind staff:D

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Bad wifi connection in the room, time open the laundry is too late and closing hour laundry is too early.


100%

Great hostel! The location is fantastic, and the staff are great. Nice kitchen and lounge area. Lots of tourist information. Beds with curtains and big lockers for your stuff. The only complaint I had is that my room had a strange smell, though not very strong. The other rooms may be fine though. Overall this is definitely a great place to stay in Kyoto!


66%

Good location, near city center, far from kioto station (but well conected). Very small rooms.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel, but rather impersonal. Private rooms are kinda small are "basic", but I guess it was OK for the price. Very good location, in the center of Kyoto.


80%

This is a good hostel in general, but due to it's huge size, it's a lot less personal and individually caring than some of the other guesthouses. The location is amazing and the value and security are both top notch. But the first floor private (2 person) room we had smelled like cigarette smoke and other bad smells. The social room was sufficient but very quiet. It's very good that the showers on floor 2 are plentiful and quality. Overall I would choose Len Kyoto first, but this is good too.


100%

Good place. Would stay again. No complaints!

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice location in Kyoto, not too far from MetroMetro, nice common room


71%

A really nice hostel with a helpful staff.


66%

Excellent location, cheap cost. Thanks all!


97%

People working at the Hostel was great! We really want to thank them for their sweetness and for being so helpful

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

So, I felt like this hostel was a 2.5 out of 5. The good parts about it: it was clean, had a good location, it was safe, and the facilities were good. However, the value for the money wasn't great, especially in the private rooms. My biggest issue with Khaosan Kyoto was the atmosphere. The staff was standoffish, especially the men, who would grunt one word answers to my questions. I felt awkward asking them for anything, and the environment was more impersonal than I think a hostel should be.


97%

Excellent value. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was clean. Overall an excellent choice to stay.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Our room was very musty smelling. Otherwise it is a great place and we were really happy with our experience.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

recommended, is clean and staff kind!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

great house, well located, really nice. just a thing, the bathroom was not in the same building as my dormitory was so a little annoying but.beside that, perfect.


94%

Stayed here while in Kyoto, and it was just around the corner from the Gion festival which was great. Close to local subway lines but no so close to JR station. Still though, fantastic value


86%

Second time staying there. It was great


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(131 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback