Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • deanspeak1863
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.1

Decent place. Something didn't vibe right for me, so I left. Nice location though and giant common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House is everything we expected in a hostel stay. The staff were very friendly, welcoming, and could speak English. Everything was kept very clean. The rooms were very small and didn't leave much room for large suitcases but we didn't spend much time in the room anyways so wasn't a huge issue. The location is fantastic, short walk from everything you possibly need including transport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

A very clean, friendly, and comfortable guesthouse overall. I stayed in the all-female dormitory which was equipped with personal curtains, outlets, lockers, and lamps for each bed. Not much socializing going on between other guests, but that's nothing to complain about. The staff are very helpful and well-prepared with maps and tips for getting around Kyoto. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ysanchezzz
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.1

It took us quite a while to get into the hostel. It's kinda hard to find and we got lost. But the hostel is perfect. Big common area and clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

It is perfectly located, very close walking to Gion district, Donburi, several bus stops to Kyoto Station and some touristic areas. The staff is very nice and helpful, the room (I stayed in an individual room) is not so big but confortable and the place is clean. I definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.6

I must say the hostel is pretty standard, but I hated it. The first night, I was traveling with my brother, so we, kept asleep until 10 am, maybe 11 am. And, really, in no other hostel has ever happened this to me, but here, the staff arrived with one of his friend, and start to speak out loud, and making fun of us, saying "Hey good morning!!" and stuff, they opened the curtains, and freakin' opened the windows!! God!, outside it was at maybe 0º C or -1ºC!!! So, shortly, we were freezing!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.9

Good points- the location is good, some staff are helpful, free tea and coffee, free shampoo and body wash Bad points- I arrived early in the morning, around 06:45 having taken the night bus and I informed the hostel of this. Whilst the website states they can accommodate early check ins etc, this is not the case. I was advised, via email, to wait in the McDonald's nearby. Reception could and should open early for people taking in the night bus and arriving early morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
7.1

pretty affordable, not great atmosphere or anything, just a place to sleep and shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Khaosan was absolutely awesome! Super friendly staff who went out of their way to help and provide tips. Was close to a metro and across the street from a lot of shops so great location, just a little bit of a trek to get to if coming straight from Kyoto. Beds were comfy and (like most hostels in Japan) was super quiet. What I loved most though was the common room. It was a great place to hang out and also ridiculously easy to make friends and talk to people for hours. Definitely stay here!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
8.6

Older building, rooms were cramped and you could feel cold air leaking in through windows and walls. Staff were very friendly/helpful. This hostel does not have a bar, the other location a few blocks over does. This hostel was a very quiet hostel, even in the tv room people sat quietly with books and computers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.