X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2319 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The Staff are really nice and willing to help and guide everything. People who staying there are also nice. The facilities are a bit average compare to everything. Because it was public and some hot and cold water function on 3F are not working very well.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Cozy, clean and very nice staffs. Especially wonderful location.!!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Too many dust in the room, feel uncomfortable to breathe. Try not to separate group members into different rooms.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Only bad thing WIFI didn't work properly for several days!


91%

It was nice staying, public area are everything is cleanness. And enough amenities, quite people and kindness people there. I'll absolutely stay there again when I come to Kyoto again.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is great as it's easy to reach the train station and bus stops. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. One thing though, we have to make our own bed as the sheets are not spreaded out.


86%

Excellent location!!! The staff was friendly and helpful. Bathroom was always clean. However, the private twin room was small and smelled of mildew.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I just spent 2 days at Khaosan Kyoto but it was great. Nice dorms and showers!


77%

It would be nice if they were more clear on the number of beds in each room.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel - spacious, clean, friendly staff and great facilities at a central location


97%

Great value for the money, and good location. Very close to Teramachi and Shijou station. Semi-close to Gion District. Within hiking distance to Kiyomizudera.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel in the center of Kyoto. Staff people are great and very helpful! Definitely recommend Khaosan to anyone staying in Kyoto for a few days!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very traditional place. Near the buses to go all around kyoto. The staff are very kind and helpful. I will come back.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean, good facilities provided and superb location which was minutes of walk from the shopping district. Staff was kind enough to open the rooftop for me at midnight to collect my clothes. However, I don't really feel connected during my stay in this hostel. Probably due to the fact that the lounge are not at the ground floor itself? I found this to be really weird as this makes the guests less likely to went and connect with others. Nevertheless, nice to know Chai-san! Cheers.


97%

Clean and convenient


100%

Absolutely loved this hostel, staff was friendly, centralised location that was easy to get to and from locations. Bags were secure. I would recommend to anyone looking for a great cheap place to stay near Gion.


100%

Exellent location close to major bus terminal, 24h conbini 5m from exit of hotel, clean and comfortable rooms with security lockers, all facilities that really matters, friendly and english speaking staff


97%

I felt very much at home here :) if I ever stay in Kyoto again, I'll definitely check this place again.


89%

An excelent adress in the heart of Kyoto. I recomand it, especialy for people who want to discover the "traditional" Kyoto.


89%

Really convenient location close to several train stations, a bus direct to kyoto station and walking distance from famous Ginza geisha district. Double private rooms are very affordable and have good heating/air con. Plenty of clean showers and toilets.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(183 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback