Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Located at 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto.
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto-fu 600-8032 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward
90% 3377
35.0021970 135.7667469
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.9

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a good experience. I've stayed a nicer places, the bed in my dorm was a bit old and there wasn't much space. However it's sort of evened out by the cool common area, helpful staff and really friendly people who stay at the hostel. I'd definitely recommend if you're looking for somewhere cheap and fun to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
9.1

Very good base to visit Kyoto and around, you can also chill out in their big shared spaces or prepared your own food in the well equipped modern kitchen. Stuff very nice and helpful. Ready to come back !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
10.0

Incredibly comfortable stay. Bathrooms are immaculate and well equipped, dorm beds and pillows are soft, staff is friendly and prepared, location actually can't be beaten. Couldn't recommend more! One downside is that the lockers won't fit traditionally sized carry-on luggage (at least the ones in my all women's dorm room didn't). But I didn't really feel worried, since a) hostel security is pretty good and b) it's Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.4

Great location. Stayed in the double room, small but air conditioned and big comfortable beds. Shared bathrooms had very private bathrooms. Kept forgetting the shoes off rule, sorry!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.9

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House is an option I would recommend for anyone visiting Kyoto. They have a very friendly and helpful staff and good facilities all around: + clean bathrooms + great common room + cheap laundry - thin walls The location is good. It's hard to have a perfect location in Kyoto as the temples are all so far apart but being close to Nishiki market is good enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel, good location, very friendly staff. There is a board in the lobby with great lunch and dinner recommendations in local area. Room dark and smelled damp but was otherwise clean. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
8.9

Nice place. Close to the main street in Kyoto, the staff was also very welcoming. Big security locker that can fit a 44L backpack in there. Bathroom and showers on every floor. Did not have a problem with WiFi. I did wish the A/C was stronger in the bedrooms itself, and there isn't a lot of space between the beds. The atmosphere was really backpacker-ish. The laundry door does lock at 9 PM, but you can hang dry on the roof stairs. The bed has two outlets, a light, and a very small night stand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.3

Good hostel, friendly staff i would recommend the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Never caught his name, but the guy on staff when we arrived was really friendly and nice to chat with. We talked to him several more times during our stay, and he was always helpful and kind. We ended up leaving our Lonely Planet Cambodia book with him :-) Great common area and clean bathrooms with plenty of showers and sinks so you never have to wait. Free coffee in the mornings is a plus! Overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

This was my first hostel and it was absolutely amazing. Staff were extremely nice and helpful and although I knew some Japanese, most were bilingual speakers and were able to help me out when checking in and checking out. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I also had a fairly good view of Kyoto tower from my window. The location is extremely convenient and it's basically in the perfect spot to get anywhere you would want to go. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.