Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Our stay in the hostel was great. There were 6 of us staying in now of the private dorm rooms, which was very spacious. The beds were comfy and the facilities were all very clean and modern. The staff were super friendly and very helpful, giving us advice on where visit around town. I would very much recommend this hostel to anyone, and hope to stay there again one day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.4

This location was absolutely great. Minute walk to the Main Street in Kyoto. Facilities were great and the staff was even better. First time at a khaosan after a friend recommended it to me. They go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Definitely recommend if you're in Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kandiwyatt20
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.6

This place is a little off the beaten path from the train station, but is fairly close to decent shopping, food and entertainment. Luckily, we had our own show in our dorm (all female) but there didn't seem to be very many showers in the place, at all. Dozens and dozens of people sharing showers. Staff are sweethearts! They offered to accept mail that I needed delivered and allowed us to store our bags, after we had checked out, in their storage room for the entire day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
10.0

Really great place to stay, very impressed with the price and value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.7

It's my second time staying here and I really enjoyed my stay. The location is very good, as it is near the shopping districts and Gion district. The showering facilities were ample and they have a huge common area to hang around at! Most of all, the staffs were all very friendly and helpful, even with questions about your travel itinerary! The guesthouse also has tons of recommendations for dining as well as sightseeing! Definitely worth a stay here if you're in Kyoto!:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Good: close to metro and shops for anything you could need .. good security and clean beds .. nice kitchen and lounge Bad : construction out front makes sleeping past 7 or 8 am impossible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
9.1

Very friendly staff, spoke to us both in English and Japanese. Common space/lounge area was quite nice. Free coffee was also a plus! Would definitely stay here again, especially with such a convenient location (near major shopping district).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.9

The staff are amazing, so kind and helpful and always ready to recommend places to go and eat. The beds and pillows and overall room set up with individual curtains was very comfortable. Smoking is prohibited anywhere in the building including roof top and balcony which can be good or bad depending on who you are. The only reason I wouldn't give it a perfect 10 is because the wifi didn't reach our room which was very annoying and the showers were only hot/ warm 50% of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Wonderful staff. Great atmosphere. Best common area ever. Superb hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
10.0

This is in a great location as it's right next to Gion and all the nightlife district. It's also near the river which is lovely to stroll around, day or night. The kitchen and bathrooms are always clean and the bedrooms are comfortable. I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.