Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3,457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3,457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Located at 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto.
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto-fu 600-8032 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward
91% 3457
35.0021970 135.7667469
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.9

Good points- the location is good, some staff are helpful, free tea and coffee, free shampoo and body wash Bad points- I arrived early in the morning, around 06:45 having taken the night bus and I informed the hostel of this. Whilst the website states they can accommodate early check ins etc, this is not the case. I was advised, via email, to wait in the McDonald's nearby. Reception could and should open early for people taking in the night bus and arriving early morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
7.1

pretty affordable, not great atmosphere or anything, just a place to sleep and shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Khaosan was absolutely awesome! Super friendly staff who went out of their way to help and provide tips. Was close to a metro and across the street from a lot of shops so great location, just a little bit of a trek to get to if coming straight from Kyoto. Beds were comfy and (like most hostels in Japan) was super quiet. What I loved most though was the common room. It was a great place to hang out and also ridiculously easy to make friends and talk to people for hours. Definitely stay here!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
8.6

Older building, rooms were cramped and you could feel cold air leaking in through windows and walls. Staff were very friendly/helpful. This hostel does not have a bar, the other location a few blocks over does. This hostel was a very quiet hostel, even in the tv room people sat quietly with books and computers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

Overall the hostel's staff was very friendly, the building was easy to find, the facilities were very clean, the rooms on the other hand smelled of old gym socks and the private room was very small. For the amount that I paid for a private room I expected it to be a little bit bigger, but other than that, it was a nice place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Great location right off the main street in Kyoto, great facilities with a huge common area and rooftop, helpful staff who I asked for directions multiple times. Would definitely go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location, very clean. Well organized with great suggestions of where to eat. Lots of information on tourist sites. Bathrooms are very clean with great hot water. Fast wifi. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Dec 2016
9.7

The hostel is just tucked away from the main street, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants, as well as a few attractions. The staff are really helpful and friendly. There's a really nice common room with a good sized kitchen and the rooms are nice and a good size. I was very happy with this hostel and would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Very nice location, friendly staff, great common area and kitchen facilities. Beds had curtains for privacy. Really enjoyed it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
10.0

I cannot recommend this place enough. They provide a rooftop area for drying laundry along with everything you would need for that (hangers, clips). They clean the showers what appeared to be multiple times a day. Quiet hours seem to be respected. The staff all seem to be fluent at English, which was helpful because my boyfriend didn't know any Japanese. Every bed had a power outlet and there were additional outlets in the room. Only small almost problem is that the lockers are small-ish

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.