Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel is in a good location, and the staff is kind and helpful. I did not realize it was such a family friendly hostel until I saw young kids in the hallway and families brushing teeth together in the bathroom - wasn't super crazy about that. There isn't much of a social atmosphere, so just be aware of that if you are a solo traveler looking to meet others. Overall, it was an okay place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.1

Stayed here for a week. The staff were all very kind and helpful, and there are a lot of good suggestions around the hostel of places to visit or restaurants to eat at. One of the guests broke a shower door, and once staff knew, the door was replaced in record time. It's a little bit of a walk from the stations (between 7-10 minutes), but it's still pretty close to Shijo, Gion-Shijo, and Kawaramachi stations, allowing for one to be very versatile in traveling. All in all, a very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel, good location, and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.7

I would highly recommend this hostel. Centrally located in Kyoto with friendly staff and good facilities. The social area on the fourth floor was a bit hit or miss, but I met some really cool people there during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jeffmoore_3138811
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.6

The hostel was well positioned close walking distance to all things in the core of the city. Hostel was great but did lack a encouraged atmosphere. They could have done more to make it a bit more welcoming and friendly, something simple as playing some music or what not. Still had a great time and met some awesome people while staying here. Beds bit stiff but fine everything was very clean and staff very helpful. Would def recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Really cool place, great staff, great atmosphere. Awesome location. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Will definitely choose this hostel again. Everything was perfect for me. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

The location of this hostel is super. I love it. It's in the center of the city. Train bus and subway all available. Many restaurants around here. I will choose to stay in this area next time definitely. I stayed in girl's dorm and single room. I prefer dorm because the space and air con. I think single room is too small too dark and a little bit humid. Staff was helpful and smily. There's a kitchen and public space to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • painija_ukkeli
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.7

Place is basically at the heart of Kyoto, right next to Gion distirct and a walking distance from Imperial Palace. Staff was friendly, facilities clean and beds really comfy. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

This was my third time staying here and it was great as always -super clean, warm comfy beds and a whole kitchen and living room so you can basically be at home. Location is unbeatable which is why I'm back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.