Hostelworld.com

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3,269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3,269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Located at 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto.
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto-fu 600-8032 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward
89% 3269
35.0021970 135.7667469
Khaosan Kyoto Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.9

We stayed for one night here and overall we are really satisfied. Comfortable double room and the staffs are helpful in giving us tips on how we should move around town. Keep up the good work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

Best Hostel In the World !!! GO GO GOMEZ!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
8.9

good location, cleanest, helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

This was a fairly clean location very close to the gion district of kyoto. They have a map of famous places around kyoto and how long it takes to get there as well as entrance cost. There are events that seem to run regularly (though we were unable to attend). The location was perfect for exploring kyoto. If you have a JR pass have your suica pass loaded up. The quickest way is usually by subway that is not covered (but reasonable). Small but clean room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel. It was easy to find and it is close by a bus stop, which is the most convenient method of transport around Kyoto. Also it has lots of restaurants and shops at a walking distance. The staff was always cheerful and helped us with our questions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
6.3

It's not that there was anything truly awful about this guesthouse, just a lot of little things that compared badly to other guesthouses we stayed in during our time in Japan, and a general vibe of industrialised human hosting that really turned us off compared to some of the quirky, personal places we stayed. Half the toilets on our floor were not functioning, it's "make your own bed" and no clean sheets even if you stay for a week, no bins in rooms, room light not working.. No characters l

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location for sites, not so close for Kyoto station (stayed in two hostels and preferred this location as your closer to the heart of the action. Staff were helpful and friendly - great boards in reception helping with places to eat, things to do and a blossom chart. Rooms were good - black out curtains, rooms were probably more on the small side than others but we had a twin. Bathrooms standard for around Japan, limited numbers of showers and toilets but didn't really wait much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.6

Good location, you can walk most places of interest or catch the bus nearby. Lots of food places nearby too. There was not much of a social atmosphere here but a convenient place to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

This place is awesome!!! The place is really convenient close to subway, mall & restaurant. The room & toilet very clean and beds are comfortable. Staff is very friendly. And we can leave our luggage before check in. Would definitely recommend staying at this place...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice hotel.. Is just opposite of the train station.. Walkable to places like kiyomizu dera, gion.. Nice place to stay with free walking tour as well..:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.