Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • murraycharlotte
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

If you want to go out at night, stay at Khaosan Theater down the road. This hostel doesn't have a bar and I'll send you there (5-10 min walk). I stayed in both and this one was definitely more peaceful. The lounge area is really chill and spacious. The staff are really friendly and will help you with whatever. Good luggage storage area. The bunk beds have curtains but light pours in. Not dark once the sun is up

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.4

My favorite thing about this place is that it had so many resources for travelers. There were maps citing all the major destinations in the city, and exactly how to get there, recommendations for local restaurants, and there was always a staff member downstairs who spoke English. My only complaint is that the beds could have been more comfortable. Free individual lockers were nice, the kitchen was great, and the curtains around the beds made it really comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.4

This hostel is great location and has very nice staff. I stayed in two different rooms, one was amazing and clean and new. The other was old, smelly and not very nice. I think most of the rooms are new so just ask for a newer one and then it will be a great stay. The bathrooms were clean as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
6.3

The location was great, the beds were very comfy. My only remarks were that it was very very crowded and the bathrooms were small and kinda dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.6

Good hostel - was here 4 nights. Nice bathrooms and rooms are relatively spacious. Each bed has own plug+light which is handy and also individual lockers which fit laptop. internet is super spotty so don't expect it to work AT LEAST 50% of the time - this was ridiculously frustrating..don't expect/plan to be able to get anything done over the internet while here. Common area is always super busy. The location was very central to all things in Kyoto and some staff members were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
9.4

Nice location, helpful staff, nice facilities. Would recommend to other travellers (esp solo travellers)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel, great common area and kitchen. They could do with more showers on some floors and whoever designed the bedside plugs obviously never travelled with a heave adaptor but apart from that, it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • saumiljp9868
  • India, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2017
9.4

Great location - close to public transport, convenient store and centrally located close to shopping,food market and restaurants. Clean comfortable place. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
9.7

It was a pleasure stay although the room was a bit smelly. Friendly and helpful staff. The best part is the lounge area where i meet all the travelers. Good place to break the ice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel in a very convenient location. Lots of resources to help plan out our days and the staff are very kind and friendly! The rooftop and common room were great hangout spots too!! This hostel is way more secure than most others I've stayed at, locked front door with code to get into after 10pm, and large locked storage in our shared room so I never had to worry about my belongings getting taken. Thanks Khaosan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.