X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2733 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great location & friendly staff


100%

It's quite clean, convenient, friendly and affordable. Greatly recommend!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is a very good option in Kyoto, as it has a great location: very easy to reach from the train station and walking distance to many touristic sights and night life. The room was very clean, the shared toilets and showers were not always super clean, depending if you are arriving right after the cleaning shift. Suggestion: to add more cleaning shifts when there are a lot of guests. The staff were nice and avaiable to give tips on where to go etc. Excellent value for Japan standards.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and good lovation

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The only complaint here is that there was one toilet and one shower for two rooms with six people in each. Otherwise the beds were comfortable, the room had small lockers in for valuables. The common room upstairs was lively, the reception was large and used as another common room so there was a place to escape to if required. The location was bang in the middle of town and had 24 hour convenience stores located nearby.


100%

Nice place to stay!!!


89%

very valueble choice. just a few steps down KAWAHARA CHO and near Gion area, it's very convinent for sightseeing, shopping or dinning. The facilities are simple and clean and the price is very reasonable.


97%

Great location, wonderful and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms. The only backdrops were that the washrooms and the lounge tended to be overcrowded while we were there and the Wifi did not work in our room. Still, we had a really good time and you will hardly get better value for your money.


91%

Very accommodating staffs. Good english

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is a little bit dark. Too many people in the peak season I guess and we feel this place is too crowded. The location is great.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is really a nice place.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I like like the japanese style common area and the big map on the wall.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

overall i am very satisfied except no space to hang my clothings and also the room lighting not bright enough, will recommend this hotel to my friends

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, but most of the showers in the building were out of order which was very inconvenient.


69%

Not that of a atmosphere, smelly room, a bit dirty, great location, staff is average friendly.


83%

Nice little hostel, basic but clean, very close to Kyoto's many sights.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel. Beds a comfortable, each one has a curtain for privacy. There is a free walking tour that meets at the hostel (possibly seasonal).


100%

Perfect location, nice place, staff very friendly and helpfull. Thanks a lot!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was definitely one of the smallest but everything else was fine! Located in busy Kawaramachi and 20 min walk to Gion-Shijo/Gion area, tonnes of food and shopping within walking distance. Buses available to go to Arashiyama, Kinkakuji and other major tourist attractions. Showers and toilets are clean. Huge common area with a decent kitchen. Family Mart and 7-11 are right down the road!


86%

the location is really good, very convenient! Staffs could speak English, so no worry! I will definitely come back while visiting Kyoto.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(149 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback