X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2352 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The direction given to reach hotel from Kyoto station was incorrect. I was lost for awhile before I found the place. There is also another tourist whom I met on the bus alighted at the wrong bus stop to look for the place. Unfortunately, he & his friends took even longer to locate your place. Perhaps you can write, Look for train station exit 10 outside Takashimaya shopping mall and turn in or something like this . Thanks

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The place was noisy and has few restrooms/showers. You can hear passersby and some rowdy residents even late into the night. You also had to queue for the restroom/shower at times. However, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything is wonderful except that the room is a bit smelly (bearable though). We think that the air conditioner might be the cause. Other than that, the overall experience is great! =D

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay, you can meet so many people from every corner of the world in a real chill atmosphere, the living room is hard to leave since it's so cosy, it's near everything in Kyoto and the employees are always wanting to help you (plus their english is perfect). And you can stay in for free as a staff member for a really good deal (see conditions on the website). :)

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Place was great! Good Location and friendly people :)

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Definitely will stay here again. The hostel location is unbeatable. But i hope they will add rest rooms and showers especially in dormitory area.


86%

I am very satisfied when I stay khaosan guest house. Especially with the staff, they are friendly and welcome ;)

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, facilities and very nice staff!


83%

Continue with the good work.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse is a really friendly place. The staff are helpful and speak good English. The facilities are clean and well-presented. The whole place is bright and cheerful and seems fairly new. There is an elevator making travel between floors a breeze. There is a hang-out spot on the 4th floor with a kitchen, dining table, TV, couches, large floor cushions and 5 PCs. We used this facility everyday because of the lift :)


91%

A little bit hard to find the hostel


100%

Staying in a private room. Small but great price. Close 2 minute walk to busy downtown shops restaurants and bars. Ac worked great. Wifi worked in rooms. You can borrow cell chargers. Free soap and shampoo. Great common room. Security was great! Japanese toliets! Were also clean as well as the showers. Couldn't get the water to be perfect temperature. It was either hot or cold with a quick 10 seconds of in the middle. By the time you were done it regulated. Weird. Tried 3 different showers.


83%

The Staff are really nice and willing to help and guide everything. People who staying there are also nice. The facilities are a bit average compare to everything. Because it was public and some hot and cold water function on 3F are not working very well.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel with reasonable friendly price. Best location nearly Lowson 100Y

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

it would be nice if there is some tooth brush and tooth paste for us

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staffs are friendly and very helpful. I had a lot of problem about the air conditioning in my room and they came to help fix it out. I first thought it was broken. Maybe it is different from my home country. In overall the atmosphere looks friendly. You have a chance to meet other travelers because it's shared bathroom which is some thing I don't like. I visited the kitchen once and I was not very impressed. The refrigerator is dirty. The guests put all the stuff in there


100%

Cozy, clean and very nice staffs. Especially wonderful location.!!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location was great. The hostel offered many informations on the wall and the staff was very kind and helpful. A very bad thing at the hostel was, that during my 6 night stay in that hostel the Wifi was 5 days really terrible and often not working. Not very useful if you want to prepare your trips or writing your blog. I would stay again in that hostel, but they really have to fix the wifi issue.


80%

Internet didn't work


83%

Too many dust in the room, feel uncomfortable to breathe. Try not to separate group members into different rooms.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(174 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback