Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

  • 568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stuart_wright776343
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 56 reviews
17th Sep 2017
8.6

Nice hostel. Kitchen and lounge were great, arrived at 6am and was able to sleep on one of the sofas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2017
9.7

We loved our stay here! Very clean, facilities were pretty awesome. The only downfall was the spotty wifi. I would lose wifi often, depending on what part of the building I was in. Otherwise it wasn't very fast, especially in my room. But the AC was great, as were the bathrooms, kitchen, laundry, security lockers, and lounge. Met a lot of friendly people, the staff were very friendly as well. Supermarket and corners stores a very short walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2017
8.9

Really spacious and comfortable common room, although the air conditioning could do with being improved in there. The map, in said room, is very helpful giving directions, price and travelling time to local attractions and cities. Spacious rooms (I was in a 6 people room), with great air con. Staff helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Self catering facilties were excellent. However, I could see the lack of showers being a problem when the hostel is busier (I was there in Sep). Would use again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.4

We had a great stay at this hostel. The twin private room was clean and spacious as were the bathrooms. The common room was lovely and even had a Wii and jenga! A great location, within walking distance of Gion and really well linked in terms of public transport. Would 100% recommend this place ☺

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Exactly the hostel I needed. 'Nuff said.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.9

Good location as it's near Gion and train stations. Staff were so lovely and helpful. The facilities were clean. Would definitely recommend staying here!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Great location and very welcoming. Bathroom cleanliness was good and staff were helpful. Luggage storage security was the only thing lacking, otherwise a lovely stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexponsford7930
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Nice place + got all the info you'll need for seeing Kyoto (awesome town)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Bien situé au centre ville de Kyoto, konbini & métro à proximité. Malgrè ses 4 étages: ambiance calme (pas de bruits aprés 10h) mais très conviviale (grande salle commune avec cuisine, canapés et tatami). Staff international et acceuillant. J'y retournerais sans hésitation !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel is conveniently located two blocks from the centre of Kyoto's shopping district and nightlife. The mixed dorms are spacious and clean. Beds are super comfy with privacy curtains. Rooms have strong A/C units which is really appreciated on hot summer days. The only downside is the atmosphere-- despite the large common room it was hard to meet people here. However it is easy to walk to the Khaosan Theater bar to meet other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×