X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2492 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Met some great people here and the hostel is well located in kyoto and so easy to get around the city with the information the guest house provides.


100%

My wife and I have a pleasant stay with helpful staff and clean room and environment.


91%

except the computer is too old and when using internet at computer is really slowly..... (but WIFI is quick!) &Kitchen is not clean.... closet is dirty. Staff is really nice,bed is good. other things are all nice!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Like it a lot with nice staff and full set facilities. Even have their own bar! Though the open hour is short ;p

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the room was so damp and smelly


63%

sometimes u will get cold water during shower; the laundry service only till 9pm; a bit dirty of the shower rooms and toilets; those beds are very old (seems can breakdown anytime)


91%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Location is very convenient, staff was very helpful, and the lounge/kitchen area is really really great! For that price, it is impossible to beat.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really great central location, very clean shared bathroom, small but comfortable bedroom, helpful staff

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location, right near the main part of town. We stayed in the mixed dorm. The dorm itself is quite nice, with quite private beds with large curtains for each bed, and there is a small locker supplied for each person, as well as sufficient space in the room to store suitcases. Each bed also had a light, and a powerpoint. The main issue was the wifi, which was very inconsistent and weak. Bathrooms (unisex) were clean and there were alot of showers and toilets.


83%

I had a great time here. The staffs are really nice.


89%

The location nearly to go to many place of visit. And easy to go to another place by bus. Good straff and very comfortably.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

適合步行前住河原町八坂神社一帶的人。因為位處鬧區中的一條小街,就算晚歸感覺也頗安全。


97%

This is an excellent hostel - central location, great value, and friendly staff. The bed in the 10-bed mixed dorm was comfortable, and the spacious living room/lounge was one of the nicer ones I've seen at a hostel. The only suggestions I have would be to add more slippers and more consistent Wi-Fi.


97%

One of the best hostels I have ever lived in, excellent English-speaking staff, great location, and cleanliness. I wished that water pressure in the showers were a bit more stronger and there's more hangers in the bathrooms. Still, highly recommended.


89%

Nice Guest House. Very friendly english speaking staff. Excellent ocation. Would it recommend to friends of mine.l

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice staff in a hostel located in a city centre. The only problem with Khaosan hostels is that you need to make your reservation in advance, far in advance but it is worth it.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Room was extremely small and smelly. The air con location meant that the person in the top bunk was blown at the whole time. Found a giant spider on the bed.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

There are some cultural activities that let guests and local unversity students do together; when I stayed there, they have Japanese food cooking, language exchange corner, walking around the area etc. Very creative ones.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved our time here, being so close to Gion really helped us see as much as possible in a short time. The staff recommendations were amazing. They helped us hire bikes and do day trips out of Kyoto. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Kyoto.


100%

GooD place..

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(158 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback